User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1014 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    0
    I'm honestly aghast at all the people who think this game represents the pinnacle of good storytelling in a video game. If this is all writers have to do to impress the gaming world, then future game stories are doomed, and blowhards like Ebert will be right in saying that video games cannot be art. Just because you make a game play out like a movie or some hyper-dramatic televisionI'm honestly aghast at all the people who think this game represents the pinnacle of good storytelling in a video game. If this is all writers have to do to impress the gaming world, then future game stories are doomed, and blowhards like Ebert will be right in saying that video games cannot be art. Just because you make a game play out like a movie or some hyper-dramatic television series, does not make it a good story; cinematic drama is not synonymous with a good story. Additionally, Alan Wake is grotesquely overwritten, failing to understand the power of subtlety, while beating the player over the head with cliched ideas of "light versus darkness". Was everyone too dumbfounded by the beautiful trees to notice that the human animation and lip-syncing is amateur for this allegedly high standard production? Environments, while pretty, lack the variety and meaning as they did in true masterpieces like Silent Hill 2 and Shadow of the Colossus. The game's plot-line is a contrived piece of crap. It has a pointless metaphysical idea driving it nowhere (i.e. I'm a writer writing myself out of my own story). It relies too heavily on other writers to build its shoddy sense of depth, which, despite its attempts, fails. If anything, I can call this game comedy for all the times the ridiculous commentary of the enemies made me laugh. I have to quote off a few: "Farmers are the opposite of hunter-gatherers"
    "Omega 3 Fatty Acids are good for your heart"
    "Fishing is both a sport and a hobby"

    Seriously, did anyone else pay attention to how ridiculous the enemies are? No, seriously, did you? You can't go five minutes into the game without troupes of enemies barraging you with corny dialogue. Add to this that Alan Wake himself can never shut up, and continually has to state the obvious (i.e. I had to turn on the generator, he said in a narrative voice), and you have a script that, if used for any other medium (such as a book or film) would be laughed at and regarding as juvenile. Ultimately the game lacks focus. It does not know what it wants or what it takes to get there.
    Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Alan wake is a very enjoyable game, I hadn't played it but saw that it had good reviews so recently got it on XBL, the game was not that long but it kept my interest, the plot and take on the storyline is a very interesting mixture. One of my favourite parts of the game is once you finish a chapter yoàu get an alan wake logo on screen and a song plays from start to finish itAlan wake is a very enjoyable game, I hadn't played it but saw that it had good reviews so recently got it on XBL, the game was not that long but it kept my interest, the plot and take on the storyline is a very interesting mixture. One of my favourite parts of the game is once you finish a chapter yoàu get an alan wake logo on screen and a song plays from start to finish it just adds an extra relief and a little while to relax before starting up again. Found the game to be like a mini tv series of which you are the main character, no doubt the intention of the producers and the gameplay, the story and gameplay mesh well together with the creative directing. There are a few niggles, the gameplay does begin to get repetitive by the end and I couldn't bring myself to replay the game, once through was enough. So.... Not perfect but an enjoyable gaming adventure, if you find it on the cheap it's worth picking it up. Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2010
    2
    After hearing a lot of positive reviews, I was really surprised what a disappointment this game was. It's like a cross between a second rate FPS and an simple adventure game. Go here, pick up the keys, return the keys, shoot some bad guys between here and there... repeat. And the special collectible bonus item is a what?? a thermos. That's right... they've scattered bonus thermosAfter hearing a lot of positive reviews, I was really surprised what a disappointment this game was. It's like a cross between a second rate FPS and an simple adventure game. Go here, pick up the keys, return the keys, shoot some bad guys between here and there... repeat. And the special collectible bonus item is a what?? a thermos. That's right... they've scattered bonus thermos containers around the world for you to collect. If you're even THINKING about buying this game, save yourself some money and rent it first. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But itThis is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But it has amazing graphics, characters and locations. The music is also 1st class. Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2011
    8
    For the amount of hype that this game has received, I must admit that I'm somewhat disappointed. When this game first came out, all I ever saw on anything that has to do with video games is "ALAN WAKE" plastered everywhere. I forced myself to not purchase this game at full price, waiting till it dropped into the bargan bin for a mere $20 before i made my purchase. In the end, I'm glad thatFor the amount of hype that this game has received, I must admit that I'm somewhat disappointed. When this game first came out, all I ever saw on anything that has to do with video games is "ALAN WAKE" plastered everywhere. I forced myself to not purchase this game at full price, waiting till it dropped into the bargan bin for a mere $20 before i made my purchase. In the end, I'm glad that I did, seeing as how this game has very little replay value and can be completed in a mere 8-10 hours. I read that it's supposed to be a psychological thriller, shooter, action, and horror game. While it definitely is all of these, it really doesn't do any of them well except psychological thriller. The game isn't scary in the slightest, mainly because the enemies are all exceptionally annoying. Or, it could be that the main character is constantly talking, giving you the sense that you're not fully enveloped in the world. Either way, the game never gave me chills, nor did it ever make me jump, even a little. I was expecting some insane mind-twisting story that would leave my mouth agape, but it was actually quite predictable and uninspired. You'll catch yourself in the game thinking, "OK, there's no way that's going to happen next, it's waaaayyy too obvious." And then, to your dismay, it does happen. Exactly as you imagined that it would. I can't say that the entire story is like this, but the majority of it definitely is. The collectible thermos' are boring to collect, but the manuscript pages are somewhat interesting. The voice acting is decent, but nothing spectacular, and lip-synching is hilariously bad. The actual game's graphics are excellent, and the environment was tremendously well-done. Lighting in the game is remarkable, and the shadowing is near flawless. The gunplay and core mechanics in the game all work extremely well and definitely gives you more of a movie-esque vibe with all of the slow-motion cinematics during combat. The general idea of light vs. dark is prevalent in this one, and seems a little cliche. The ending was OK, but wasn't pieced together too well, as I felt that some things weren't explained as properly as they should have been. One thing that ground out my nerves was when you were swarmed by enemies that swing their weapons over and over. A dodge is great once or twice, but then you run into the third guy who is swinging as well. The general gameplay tends to get a little repetitive at times, consisting of you running through the woods shooting at seemingly endless amounts of enemies that aren't even scary to fight. Overall, I enjoyed the story to a degree and it was worth paying $20 for. The gameplay is good and the graphics are great. If you're looking for another horror game to satisfy your need to leap out of your chair, this is not recommended at all. I feel this game is targetted more towards adults who enjoy a decent psychological thriller with some shooting sprinkled in, and so that is the only audience I can recommend this game to. In the end, a disappointment to myself, but still a solid game. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2011
    3
    Episode 2 of Pokemon had better writing. Seriously, this is just a game dressed like a tv show with repetitive as hell gameplay. Apparently the cancer of casual gaming is spreading faster than I thought. You should be embarrassed to review this well.
  7. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    this game is great inspired by stephen king & the tv show lost it has such an edge of your seat story it will keep u guessing 2 the end & beyond great acting,graphics,story & mechanics any1 who hates this game truly don't understand what a thriller is & the 2 dlc packs r amazing must buys
  8. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    This game is simply unremarkable, repetitive as hell, and boring. Not to mention the 'awesome writing'. I've seen better stories from 8th graders. This should only appeal to people that haven't read anything better than a Goosebumps book.
  9. May 15, 2012
    8
    If I was allowed only one word to describe Alan Wake, "atmospheric" would always come to mind. If there is one thing that Alan Wake nails down perfectly, it is firmly placing the player within it's world, not letting go until the credits roll. With great use of fog, lighting, sound and art design, the game does an absolutely fantastic job realizing the world Remedy was trying to create,If I was allowed only one word to describe Alan Wake, "atmospheric" would always come to mind. If there is one thing that Alan Wake nails down perfectly, it is firmly placing the player within it's world, not letting go until the credits roll. With great use of fog, lighting, sound and art design, the game does an absolutely fantastic job realizing the world Remedy was trying to create, and it is a rather satisfying one at that. While the game more or less sells itself on story and atmosphere alone, the are some relatively minor gripes with design and gameplay that hold it back a bit. The game introduces an interesting light mechanic, requiring you to dispel, usually through means of a flashlight, the darkness that surrounds the bulk of enemies found in the game. It adds a little something to the game that changes the feel of combat when compared to your typical third-person shooter. There is also a nice dodge mechanic, giving you a chance to slip out of incoming attacks, considering you time things just right. Overall, the action and gunplay elements of the game work well, and while the game itself is pretty straight-forward, combat feels very satisfying. That said, while the gunplay was handled rather well, traversing the environment can sometimes feel a bit clunky. Things like jumping feels more than a little off. At it's worse, the small number of platforming sections in the game can be a bit of a headache. For the most part though, the time spent navigating Alan through the world with sometimes be greeted with some awkward looking jumping animations. Also, your spring can sometimes be halted when making contact with walls, which can add unnecessary tension to chase scenes. Overall, Alan Wake is a fantastic game. There are a few noticeable issues, but most are rather minor. If you are looking for an interesting story and great atmosphere, this game is for you. If you are looking for a good third-person shooter, and can deal with a few issues, this game is also for you. Being one of the more interesting titles I have played in a long while, I can easily recommend this to anyone interested. Expand
  10. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Although Alan Wake has an incredible amount of room for improvement, it's a deep game, and it's honestly terrifying in it's own way. The use of the flashlight in the game as your ultimate weapon is very unique, this game wanted it's own feel and got it, they have started there own unique gameplay that they simply just have to build on like every other game that had ideas to make somethingAlthough Alan Wake has an incredible amount of room for improvement, it's a deep game, and it's honestly terrifying in it's own way. The use of the flashlight in the game as your ultimate weapon is very unique, this game wanted it's own feel and got it, they have started there own unique gameplay that they simply just have to build on like every other game that had ideas to make something different, in almost all ways Alan Wake succeeded and it met my expectations which were fairly high for a series starter like Alan Wake. I loved the game and can't wait to see what they do in the future with this title. Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    Alan Wake's attempts at paying homage to Stephen King come off as being more self-serving than sincere. Almost as if the developers were trying to distract you from what is basically a boring presentation by reminiscing about the halcyon days of King's best novels. The environments are an absolute creepy kind of joy to look at, but it leaves you wishing that they could have worked harderAlan Wake's attempts at paying homage to Stephen King come off as being more self-serving than sincere. Almost as if the developers were trying to distract you from what is basically a boring presentation by reminiscing about the halcyon days of King's best novels. The environments are an absolute creepy kind of joy to look at, but it leaves you wishing that they could have worked harder on the character models; faces in particular are jarring to look at. Expand
  12. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a game that captures you as soon as it begins. The first thing you will notice is that this game looks absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting is some of the best I have heard in any game. Everything about Alan Wake is believable. And most importantly the story is excellent. This is the one aspect of the game that drove me to complete the game quickly to see the ending (which isAlan Wake is a game that captures you as soon as it begins. The first thing you will notice is that this game looks absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting is some of the best I have heard in any game. Everything about Alan Wake is believable. And most importantly the story is excellent. This is the one aspect of the game that drove me to complete the game quickly to see the ending (which is conclusive and pretty satisfying). I really do believe that this game has set standards in how a story is told in the video game medium. If you like your games with an engrossing narrative and game-play so smooth you feel as if you are Alan Wake then this game is a must buy. Expand
  13. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    The best story-driven game i have ever played. Alan Wake wont let you go before you finish it, and even after that you still want more. This game has great controls,very good graphics, Superb story and character you want to se more of. Just go buy it. Nuff said
  14. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    As an avid stephan king reader, i appreciate the fiction this game puts forth. I know good storytelling and this game raises the bar on it. The graphics have a specific art style and complement the engaging music. To some one with no knowledge on video games, the combat and enemies seem generic and not varied. These people are idiots. this game is engaging and awesome in presentation. IAs an avid stephan king reader, i appreciate the fiction this game puts forth. I know good storytelling and this game raises the bar on it. The graphics have a specific art style and complement the engaging music. To some one with no knowledge on video games, the combat and enemies seem generic and not varied. These people are idiots. this game is engaging and awesome in presentation. I pity the fool who rates this game low. Expand
  15. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    I really enjoyed playing this game it has a fine storyline and great controls.The graphics are very atmospheric and the lighting effects are a joy to behold.All in all I'd recommend this game to anybody that's a fan of the genre
  16. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    this game is brilliant. Many have wrongly complained about the voice acting which is brilliant. Second the game play isn't repetitive that much i mean seriously its only as repetitive as resident evil 4 which everyone said was brilliant. Overall this game is brilliant with very good graphics, a great story and great game play.
  17. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best XBOX 360 games I've played. Great story and execellent atmosphere. Recommended if you liked Condemned.

    Perhpas a little short, although on the hardest level it does take longer.

    Brilliant. Will definitly buy AW2 when its released.
  18. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are uniqueAlan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  19. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    Alan Wake. Alan Wake,
    About 5 years in the making, Alan Wake has finally reached our store shelves. Created by famed developer Remedy, responsible for gems such as Max Payne, Alan Wake is a psychological thriller about a writer called Alan Wake who takes a much needed holiday with his wife to Bright Falls. As soon as they arrive, nothing goes to plan, his wife is kidnapped by a mysterious
    Alan Wake. Alan Wake,
    About 5 years in the making, Alan Wake has finally reached our store shelves. Created by famed developer Remedy, responsible for gems such as Max Payne, Alan Wake is a psychological thriller about a writer called Alan Wake who takes a much needed holiday with his wife to Bright Falls. As soon as they arrive, nothing goes to plan, his wife is kidnapped by a mysterious force known as the Darkness and Alan brings it upon himself to discover her whereabouts.
    The game was originally conceived as an open world, sandbox title and I was a little disappointed upon release when it was revealed that this had been taken out. The game takes place as episodes like a tv series with daytime being your story progression and night-time being the action orientated fight against the Taken, the name given to the people who have been overcome by the Darkness. This, ruined one of the strongest appeals for me. I had envisaged taken my car out for a drive to suddenly being overcome by the Darkness, with light the only source of comfort.
    But Alan Wake is good, but not great. The daytime sequences only exist to expand the narrative and provide a sense of a believeable open world which in fact is quite linear. The night is the main bulk of the game and is where Alan Wake's story lies. Armed with only a torch and a few weapons, Alan must traverse a variety of woodland environments to meet his objectives to try to find his wife, Alice. The environments are incredibly spooky and the game is very atmospheric but unfortunately it is just not scary. I played the game on the 'Normal' setting and this is what most people will play and the game constantly tells you when the Taken are going to ambush you, defeating the element of suprise. I don't know if this can be turned off.
    Despite this, the game is still an enjoyable experience. I think, had the game not spent so much time in development, then it would be getting 9's across the board.
    The only other negative is the story. The story is good but incredibly confusing if you don't analyse everything. About half way through I didn't really have a clue what was going on!
    However, in an industry saturated with 'space marine shooters', Alan Wake is a refreshing change. It's not a masterpiece but it is a brilliant experience not to be missed.
    FeelinLuckyPUNK
    Expand
  20. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are uniqueAlan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  21. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I don't like the final....but only because is confusing. This game is for "twin peak's fan" or every person that wanna play a well narrated story. A must buy.
  22. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This is really one of the best games I've ever played. Done by the same guys who did the Max Payne series, the character development, the story, the creepiness, the graphics. Everything about this game was a winner for me. For those who enjoyed the series Twin Peaks, you'll see multiple references and similarities. Incredibly polished, enjoyable cinematic/gaming experience.
  23. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    Alan Wake was almost more of a cinematic experience than anything else. The game play itself wasn't all that difficult, and the linear path of the story left me feeling that I had little control over the outcome. I still enjoyed it and can appreciate the artistic value of this game.
  24. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    I highly recommend this game! This game has a great story with plenty of question that keeps you thinking, the gameplay is ok in a fact you destroy people with a flashlight. The flaws with this game is the repetztive walk in the woods with enemies from every direction, this is almost what you are doing 80% off the time. This game overall did not truly live up to its height as i thoughtI highly recommend this game! This game has a great story with plenty of question that keeps you thinking, the gameplay is ok in a fact you destroy people with a flashlight. The flaws with this game is the repetztive walk in the woods with enemies from every direction, this is almost what you are doing 80% off the time. This game overall did not truly live up to its height as i thought it would be one of the greatest games i've ever played especialy through all the delays it went through. Expand
  25. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    amazing graphics, amazing story. Smoke and fog effects are great and add to the spooky supernatural feel of the game. They did their homework - their fictional town looks much like small towns in the pacific northwest.
  26. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Alan Wake is an outstanding and absolutely polished, beautifully written thriller story from Remedy - makers of previous best seller Max Payne. I must say I was totally stunned by the beautiful graphics, the most realistic lights and shadows, the crisp audio, but the secret weapon for me was the STORY itself, without doubt. All the characters and mechanics, the background story, the smartAlan Wake is an outstanding and absolutely polished, beautifully written thriller story from Remedy - makers of previous best seller Max Payne. I must say I was totally stunned by the beautiful graphics, the most realistic lights and shadows, the crisp audio, but the secret weapon for me was the STORY itself, without doubt. All the characters and mechanics, the background story, the smart talking-names, the minor referrals to Remedy's previous blockbuster action, the narration and the beautifully crafted lines, the lost manuscripts, all of them feels like straight from the hand of a Real writer! Alan Wake is a must have for not just the ones who like survival-horror action, but especially for the ones who loves watching, reading and feeling the adventure, the moving, heart pounding stories - spiced with bits inspired by the best of Stephen King's.
    Everybody have to try this one!
    Expand
  27. Jan 12, 2012
    1
    Alan Wake's sole redeeming feature is its use of full motion video to pastiche shows most gamers will only know of through cultural osmosis. Every other aspect of the game is woefully undeveloped or simply incompetent in execution. There's no satisfaction to the combat, which is dull, repetitive and constant. And the writing is tragically bad and self-indulgent, ultimately bereft of anyAlan Wake's sole redeeming feature is its use of full motion video to pastiche shows most gamers will only know of through cultural osmosis. Every other aspect of the game is woefully undeveloped or simply incompetent in execution. There's no satisfaction to the combat, which is dull, repetitive and constant. And the writing is tragically bad and self-indulgent, ultimately bereft of any redeeming value - a judgement that can be extended to the game as a whole. Avoid. Expand
  28. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    I couldn't be more satisfied with this game, survival horror and adventure games aren't scary anymore, this game changes that. The story is great and suspenseful, I always wondered what would happen next and how would the ending continue. The combat system having the mix of light and guns is perfect and the controls i found then to be perfect. The graphics are wonderful and the atmosphereI couldn't be more satisfied with this game, survival horror and adventure games aren't scary anymore, this game changes that. The story is great and suspenseful, I always wondered what would happen next and how would the ending continue. The combat system having the mix of light and guns is perfect and the controls i found then to be perfect. The graphics are wonderful and the atmosphere and environments can't be better. This is a must buy for any xbox owner, buy it now. Expand
  29. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    One of the most amazig games on xbox 360, is a masterpiece, have amazing moments, is scary, the gameplay wow, is awesome, the graphics fantastic, but the better is the story, is epic. Fantastic game.
  30. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    This game is no doubt a masterpiece. It's a brilliant story mixed with amazing gameplay and realistic graphics. It is a truly scary game. This game has had me stressed more than nay other, due to its edge of your seat and jumping out of it style. PLAY IT!
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. Alan Wake is finally here, and it's as good as we expected. Rich environments, great story, superb gameplay, many areas to explore, interesting characters... A great game that is not the ambitious project Remedy wanted it to be, but it's glorious anyway.
  2. Alan Wake lacks that little spark of genious that distinguishes a good game from a masterpiece, an H.P. Lovecraft from your average Stephen King.
  3. While its not the generation defining game the epic development schedule might've hyped, Alan Wake is still a fantastic, 10-hour-plus play-it-on-the-couch linear action game - with brains required or not depending on your preference.