Alan Wake Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1160 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Alan wake is a very enjoyable game, I hadn't played it but saw that it had good reviews so recently got it on XBL, the game was not that long but it kept my interest, the plot and take on the storyline is a very interesting mixture. One of my favourite parts of the game is once you finish a chapter yoàu get an alan wake logo on screen and a song plays from start to finish itAlan wake is a very enjoyable game, I hadn't played it but saw that it had good reviews so recently got it on XBL, the game was not that long but it kept my interest, the plot and take on the storyline is a very interesting mixture. One of my favourite parts of the game is once you finish a chapter yoàu get an alan wake logo on screen and a song plays from start to finish it just adds an extra relief and a little while to relax before starting up again. Found the game to be like a mini tv series of which you are the main character, no doubt the intention of the producers and the gameplay, the story and gameplay mesh well together with the creative directing. There are a few niggles, the gameplay does begin to get repetitive by the end and I couldn't bring myself to replay the game, once through was enough. So.... Not perfect but an enjoyable gaming adventure, if you find it on the cheap it's worth picking it up. Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    8
    If I was allowed only one word to describe Alan Wake, "atmospheric" would always come to mind. If there is one thing that Alan Wake nails down perfectly, it is firmly placing the player within it's world, not letting go until the credits roll. With great use of fog, lighting, sound and art design, the game does an absolutely fantastic job realizing the world Remedy was trying to create,If I was allowed only one word to describe Alan Wake, "atmospheric" would always come to mind. If there is one thing that Alan Wake nails down perfectly, it is firmly placing the player within it's world, not letting go until the credits roll. With great use of fog, lighting, sound and art design, the game does an absolutely fantastic job realizing the world Remedy was trying to create, and it is a rather satisfying one at that. While the game more or less sells itself on story and atmosphere alone, the are some relatively minor gripes with design and gameplay that hold it back a bit. The game introduces an interesting light mechanic, requiring you to dispel, usually through means of a flashlight, the darkness that surrounds the bulk of enemies found in the game. It adds a little something to the game that changes the feel of combat when compared to your typical third-person shooter. There is also a nice dodge mechanic, giving you a chance to slip out of incoming attacks, considering you time things just right. Overall, the action and gunplay elements of the game work well, and while the game itself is pretty straight-forward, combat feels very satisfying. That said, while the gunplay was handled rather well, traversing the environment can sometimes feel a bit clunky. Things like jumping feels more than a little off. At it's worse, the small number of platforming sections in the game can be a bit of a headache. For the most part though, the time spent navigating Alan through the world with sometimes be greeted with some awkward looking jumping animations. Also, your spring can sometimes be halted when making contact with walls, which can add unnecessary tension to chase scenes. Overall, Alan Wake is a fantastic game. There are a few noticeable issues, but most are rather minor. If you are looking for an interesting story and great atmosphere, this game is for you. If you are looking for a good third-person shooter, and can deal with a few issues, this game is also for you. Being one of the more interesting titles I have played in a long while, I can easily recommend this to anyone interested. Expand
  3. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This is really one of the best games I've ever played. Done by the same guys who did the Max Payne series, the character development, the story, the creepiness, the graphics. Everything about this game was a winner for me. For those who enjoyed the series Twin Peaks, you'll see multiple references and similarities. Incredibly polished, enjoyable cinematic/gaming experience.
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    For those of you who haven't played this game, go out and play it right away. This may not have the greatest game-play but the story and pacing is top notch. A top complaint is the repetitive game-play, but it is really easy to look past it if you just focus on what's going on around the protagonist. The environment is great and the eerie tone is not scary, but it has some near-scaryFor those of you who haven't played this game, go out and play it right away. This may not have the greatest game-play but the story and pacing is top notch. A top complaint is the repetitive game-play, but it is really easy to look past it if you just focus on what's going on around the protagonist. The environment is great and the eerie tone is not scary, but it has some near-scary moments. Character models, other than Alan, seem a bit dated but it still looks better than a lot of games that have come out in the past. Buy or rent it, you probably won't regret it. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    To start off Alan Wake is one of the best games I have ever played, yeah the camera angles are annoying and yes you run through the same forest over and over but the fact is, you play Alan Wake for the story and it sure does deliver. The gun play is pretty solid with a decent range of weapons for someone who has never fired a gun, the flares and flash bangs are cool additions. The enemiesTo start off Alan Wake is one of the best games I have ever played, yeah the camera angles are annoying and yes you run through the same forest over and over but the fact is, you play Alan Wake for the story and it sure does deliver. The gun play is pretty solid with a decent range of weapons for someone who has never fired a gun, the flares and flash bangs are cool additions. The enemies were not the best with only a few types but they were I believe well balanced providing some tense encounters. The story is probably the best story in any game I have played which is over 230 on the Xbox 360 (not including the N64, Sega MegaDrive, SNES, Gameboy, Gamecube, Dreamcast, PS1, PS2, PS3, PC and the PSP) so I think I have a pretty decent history with game stories and Alan Wake's narration and the manuscripts were really well done. Making the game like a book was a great idea and was executed perfectly with some great twists and cliff-hangers. The ending at first was a disappointing but when I thought about it, the ending made sense and was rather good at sprouting questions in the brain. This is a game that everyone that likes a good story should play but if you're for action, you have come to the wrong place.
    A most definite 10/10. GOTY 2010
    (I got the game on release, collector's edition but I didn't do reviews on here then but I felt I had to put it)
    Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    I couldn't be more satisfied with this game, survival horror and adventure games aren't scary anymore, this game changes that. The story is great and suspenseful, I always wondered what would happen next and how would the ending continue. The combat system having the mix of light and guns is perfect and the controls i found then to be perfect. The graphics are wonderful and the atmosphereI couldn't be more satisfied with this game, survival horror and adventure games aren't scary anymore, this game changes that. The story is great and suspenseful, I always wondered what would happen next and how would the ending continue. The combat system having the mix of light and guns is perfect and the controls i found then to be perfect. The graphics are wonderful and the atmosphere and environments can't be better. This is a must buy for any xbox owner, buy it now. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    This game is no doubt a masterpiece. It's a brilliant story mixed with amazing gameplay and realistic graphics. It is a truly scary game. This game has had me stressed more than nay other, due to its edge of your seat and jumping out of it style. PLAY IT!
  8. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    When I finally Picked this game up and played it I wasn't sure what to expect. I read the reviews mostly saying it was great, so I went in with high hopes and expectations. All of those expectations were reached. The story is told as a T.V. show narrated by Alan Wake. It's very well written as if Alan Wake, the famous author wrote it. If you've done your homework on the game then you knowWhen I finally Picked this game up and played it I wasn't sure what to expect. I read the reviews mostly saying it was great, so I went in with high hopes and expectations. All of those expectations were reached. The story is told as a T.V. show narrated by Alan Wake. It's very well written as if Alan Wake, the famous author wrote it. If you've done your homework on the game then you know that the enemies have a dark shield on them, only penitratable with light. This never gets old. Fights make you feel like you are being hunted, adding to your fear. A clever thing about this game is the way it scares you. It isn't in your face scary like is popular with a lot of movies today, it's mood scary, which creates fear the way classic authors like Poe and Lovecraft did. Further, nothing in the game works bad, and the game itself is great in both sound and appearance. Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Alan Wake is by far one of my favorite games of this generation, maybe it can get a little repetitive but the story is so compelling that you just can't move from the chair, the graphics are awesome and the game play works well.
  10. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game that shows the power of atmosphere. The immersion was great, the environments dragged me in so well I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, while still being able to frighten the hell out of me. Brilliantly paced and written, with strong gameplay mechanics and beautiful environments, the minor flaws like facial animations are nearly completely forgotten it what is aA brilliant game that shows the power of atmosphere. The immersion was great, the environments dragged me in so well I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, while still being able to frighten the hell out of me. Brilliantly paced and written, with strong gameplay mechanics and beautiful environments, the minor flaws like facial animations are nearly completely forgotten it what is a game that deserves more praise than it gets. Expand
  11. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This game really shows what Remedy can do, it will leave you wanting for more but not in a bad way. The story is one of the most interesting stories you will ever experience, with cliffhangers, great writing and intriguing characters, you will not want to stop playing. It pulls you into the world and you will never want to leave. With manuscripts fore-telling events to come and radios toThis game really shows what Remedy can do, it will leave you wanting for more but not in a bad way. The story is one of the most interesting stories you will ever experience, with cliffhangers, great writing and intriguing characters, you will not want to stop playing. It pulls you into the world and you will never want to leave. With manuscripts fore-telling events to come and radios to fill you in an the events there is plenty of reasons to go back and play again. Technically the game is beautiful with big long vistas and sun swept landscapes. This is down to the lighting effects, it almost looks like real life at times. It introduces a unique way fo fighting off enemy's that creates tense moments, your most powerful tool isn't your gun but your flashlight. This game is a masterpiece and creates a new standard of storytelling in not only video games but all forms of media. This is a most buy game! Expand
  12. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I really liked this game. It keeps you in the dark, figuratively and literally. Not the scariest game I've played but it definitely has its moments. The gameplay is good, but be warned - it takes some getting used to. The flashlight combat is very unique, and satisfying once you get it down. The length is good, it's not a short game by any means. It mixes in the occasional open worldI really liked this game. It keeps you in the dark, figuratively and literally. Not the scariest game I've played but it definitely has its moments. The gameplay is good, but be warned - it takes some getting used to. The flashlight combat is very unique, and satisfying once you get it down. The length is good, it's not a short game by any means. It mixes in the occasional open world scene with a heavily linear story, which I also liked. The game pulls you in, lulls a bit for the first few chapters, but picks up and finishes strong. 9/10. Expand
  13. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Maybe when you play this game, you do not immediately appreciate it highly. But after the passage of it will come out of your memory for a long time. Alan Wake - incredibly atmospheric game, with great plot and interesting characters. The visual effects look very nice, and landscapes of Bright Falls to remember for a long time. The game may not have a lot of memorable moments, there are noMaybe when you play this game, you do not immediately appreciate it highly. But after the passage of it will come out of your memory for a long time. Alan Wake - incredibly atmospheric game, with great plot and interesting characters. The visual effects look very nice, and landscapes of Bright Falls to remember for a long time. The game may not have a lot of memorable moments, there are no interesting bosses. But it is an adult story, great atmosphere, excellent professional videos, a great soundtrack and excellent presentation of the plot. Maybe Alan Wake - the best exclusive for the XBOX360 and one of the best games of recent times. Expand
  14. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    What a great game. Excellent atmosphere, okay lenght (9 to 10 hours), and well-telled history. Batteries and ammo are not something that you can find anywhere and there are epic boss fights. You will want to come back because of the challenge of Insane difficulty, but not so more as the game is not that long. There are a few bugs, and the physic is not perfect, but there are a few games asWhat a great game. Excellent atmosphere, okay lenght (9 to 10 hours), and well-telled history. Batteries and ammo are not something that you can find anywhere and there are epic boss fights. You will want to come back because of the challenge of Insane difficulty, but not so more as the game is not that long. There are a few bugs, and the physic is not perfect, but there are a few games as unique as this one. Expand
  15. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    Alan Wake is a major success for being a psychological thriller thats plays out like a tv show. The story line for this game is interesting and is full of twists in the plot. You play the role of Alan Wake, a writer, who is looking for his wife who went missing when they were vacationing in a Bright Falls. Bright Falls is a small town in Washington that holds many mysteries, namelyAlan Wake is a major success for being a psychological thriller thats plays out like a tv show. The story line for this game is interesting and is full of twists in the plot. You play the role of Alan Wake, a writer, who is looking for his wife who went missing when they were vacationing in a Bright Falls. Bright Falls is a small town in Washington that holds many mysteries, namely Cauldron lake which is in the center of the town. The game's mood is creepy and dark which really is the only "scary" part of it. The gameplay works but could be better and glitches occur occasionally sometimes creating issues. The music also contributes to the eerie feeling of Bright Falls. Though it is a short game and has a rather unfulfilling ending, the DLC should keep you happy but only for a few more hours. The best part of the game in my opinion is the light vs dark theme which involves you racing to sources of light to escape the darkness and removing the darkness from the taken to defeat them. Overall, loved this game, hoping for a new one. What kept this from a perfect 10/10 was the short story and the poor ending. Expand
  16. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Finally the makers of Max Payne 1 and 2 have returned.Their latest game Alan Wake hasn't made as big an impact as Max Payne yet but the franchise has a lot of potential. Right off the bat you will notice Alan Wake's story is well written. I can't remember the last time a video game's story was told like Alan Wake. The atmosphere and graphics of the game just add to the experience. I can'tFinally the makers of Max Payne 1 and 2 have returned.Their latest game Alan Wake hasn't made as big an impact as Max Payne yet but the franchise has a lot of potential. Right off the bat you will notice Alan Wake's story is well written. I can't remember the last time a video game's story was told like Alan Wake. The atmosphere and graphics of the game just add to the experience. I can't go any further without mentioning the lighting system. It's one of the best lighting systems I have seen in a video game. Not to mention the combat system is based on the use of light. Although the story of the game is told well there is something that takes away from the cutscenes/storytelling. That is lip syncing. A lot of games don't have good lip syncing but in Alan Wake in just has an odd look to it. Some gameplay mechanics aren't very good as well. Such as jumping. It's good for clearing gaps but when it comes to jumping over something it is a little annoying and the animation doesn't look right even though the animations in every other aspect of the game is done very well. What more can you ask for from a game? There is a well written story plus good gameplay (with a little errors) and amazing looking graphics. This could possibly lead to one of the best franchises ever and I have high hopes that Remedy can strike gold with it if they put in the effort. I wouldn't say it is a must own but it is a should own game if you like great stories. 9/10 Expand
  17. Nov 16, 2015
    9
    I will never forget playing Alan Wake for the very first time in 2010. From start to finish, the creepy atmosphere, intriguing setting, perfect pacing and interesting characters had me hooked. To this day, I have beaten the game three times. As a matter of fact, I am going for my fourth now. That is how great I consider this game to be. The fun factor is undeniable, especially for gamersI will never forget playing Alan Wake for the very first time in 2010. From start to finish, the creepy atmosphere, intriguing setting, perfect pacing and interesting characters had me hooked. To this day, I have beaten the game three times. As a matter of fact, I am going for my fourth now. That is how great I consider this game to be. The fun factor is undeniable, especially for gamers who like single-player campaigns. Remedy Entertainment’s head honcho Sam Lake is the brains behind this wonderful game.

    Alan Wake is a famous writer with the dreaded writer’s block, so he and his wife Alice decide to take a vacation in the quaint little town of Bright Falls in a fictional Washington state. The setting couldn’t be better. The town feels alive, real and genuine. That small-town feel is definitely present, with advertisements everywhere for the annual Deerfest, a cozy little diner, a backwoods trailer park and a “secluded” aura among the townsfolk. Mr. Wake is undoubtedly out of place on his vacation, as he and his wife call New York City their home. Massive mountains, dense fog, flowing streams and small storefronts are just a few of the highlights in the somewhat creepy town of Bright Falls. When a dark presence shrouds the place, Wake’s wife goes missing as he is thrust into a psychological thriller unlike no other, where he must save her and reclaim his sanity. The main cast of characters consists of Alan Wake, Alice Wake, Barry Wheeler, Thomas Zane, Barbara Jagger and Emil Hartman. Of course, there are several others. Aside from Alan and Alice Wake, we have Barry Wheeler, who is Alan’s manager and literary agent. He is a standout because of his sens of humor and screen presence. He is a fan favorite. Thomas Zane is a famous poet who visited Bright Falls in the ’70’s and former owner of Bird Leg Cabin, the location of Alan and Alice’s vacation. This character is shrouded in mystery and his face is never seen. Barbara Jagger was Zane’s lover and long-time Bright Falls resident. She died after drowning in Cauldron Lake (where Bird Leg Cabin sits). Emil Hartman is a psychiatrist who owns and operates Cauldron Lake Lodge, a psychiatric institution.

    Alan Wake’s presentation is impeccable with its TV-like episodic storytelling which moves along in chapters or “episodes”. We already talked about the excellent setting in the pacific Northwest. Gameplay centers around the idea of light vs darkness. Alan is usually equipped with a revolver, flashlight, some flares and batteries. The enemies are known as the “Taken” and are invincible at first, but when Wake’s flashlight hits them long enough, they become vulnerable and you are able to kill them. Since the Dark Presence has engulfed Bright Falls, your enemies sometimes become the townsfolk who have been consumed. The game has a perfect difficulty level. It doesn’t hold your hand yet at times it seems as if you may not have enough resources to get out of certain areas alive. You will rely on batteries and small amounts of ammo to keep you going. Combat and controls are great. Wake isn’t an athlete, he is a writer, so don’t expect him to run very far for long. You will have to time your movements and escapes well. The gameplay elements are diverse and engaging, as it’s all very fun and rewarding. There things to collect such as thermoses and manuscript pages (which tell you more about the story). You will also encounter televisions and radios that further engross you in the experience and enhance the storytelling. I especially like the “Night Springs” television show and KFB-FM radio. These little additions go a long way in the production quality of Alan Wake.

    The game has a brilliant audiovisual presentation. The awesome setting only makes it easier to love. The frame rate never falters, the lighting effects are second to none and the overall sound design is impeccable. I really enjoyed the music, radio station, horrifying and sometimes funny dialogue from enemies and the top-notch voice acting. Everything is so believable and lifelike. Alan Wake makes for a very likable and awesome protagonist too. Get ready to lose yourself in one awesome gaming experience!

    Overall, Alan Wake is nearly flawless and offers one heck of a good time. It’s like taking a vacation to the Pacific Northwest with a huge psychological twist that eventually turns into a flat-out nightmare. You get varied environments, a great cast, superb visuals and sound design, a cool setting and fantastic gameplay. All of Alan Wake’s strengths come together in what culminates as a truly engaging and unforgettable experience, one you will want to revisit time and time again. Let’s hope Alan Wake 2 is in the works.
    Expand
  18. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Alan Wake es un titulo nuevo dentro del genero de terror psicologico.
    Sin duda que Remedy tomo bastante tiempo para terminarlo, pero finalmente crearon un juego
    totalmente inmersivo, increiblemente bien logrado grafica y fisicamente con una historia atrayente y un terror sobrenatural raya entre la realidad y la locura.

    Aunque resulta un tanto corto el juego es totalmente recomendado.
  19. May 1, 2012
    10
    This game sucked me in for three days... and I don't regret even one second spend in this masterpiece. It was like reading one of early King's works. Unique story, combat mechanics are enjoyable to (till) the end. Overall - 10 out of 10. There were some flaws, but that wasn't enough to spoil the fun.
  20. Nov 15, 2015
    8
    Personally really loved every moment of this game. Loved the atmoshere and the story telling ellements and the fact that its basically like an episode of the Twilight zone with a bit of Twin Pecks in their. Nothing is quite like this game which is why it truly is an amazing jem.
  21. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    "Alan Wake" is a psychological horror game from the makers of "Max Payne". Storywise, it is a blend of Stephen King novels and TV's "Twin Peaks". But the gameplay and overall look recalls the video game "Silent Hill". Made exclusively for the XBOX 360, it features a good twisty story that's presented much like a TV show. Before a new "episode" begins, there is a brief recap of previous"Alan Wake" is a psychological horror game from the makers of "Max Payne". Storywise, it is a blend of Stephen King novels and TV's "Twin Peaks". But the gameplay and overall look recalls the video game "Silent Hill". Made exclusively for the XBOX 360, it features a good twisty story that's presented much like a TV show. Before a new "episode" begins, there is a brief recap of previous story events. The presentation is a gimmick but it's done well enough. The developers at Remedy Entertainment have produced an extremely polished game with "Alan Wake", but it's too bad that it never reaches its true potential. Unfortunately, repetitive tasks robs the game of much needed tension. Its spooky to be sure, but once Alan has turned on a light source for the umpteenth time, it becomes obvious the makers focused more on the story than gameplay. In that regard, the company's "Max Payne" and its first sequel are more satisfying experiences. But despite its shortcomings, "Alan Wake" is still a trip worth taking. It may not be a great XBOX exclusive, but it's good enough to play through at least once. 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  22. May 6, 2013
    10
    Loved the game shame about people who score it 0 and score bad games 10
    I've voted 10/10 just to help recover the scoring and help generate normality here.
  23. May 29, 2013
    9
    Alan Wake was a one of a kind experience and I enjoyed it immensely. The story, characters and the plot were more than enough to make the game very enjoyable and despite not being the scariest game that's ever existed, it sets an atmosphere that just doesn't quite go away. However, the only downside to this game is its lack of replay value. Once you beat the game, all you have left to doAlan Wake was a one of a kind experience and I enjoyed it immensely. The story, characters and the plot were more than enough to make the game very enjoyable and despite not being the scariest game that's ever existed, it sets an atmosphere that just doesn't quite go away. However, the only downside to this game is its lack of replay value. Once you beat the game, all you have left to do is go on a scavenger hunt for items and what not. Overall this is a must play game and is highly recommended. Expand
  24. Nov 21, 2015
    9
    Alan Wake is one of my all-time favorite games on the Xbox 360. The game is made by the brilliant people at Remedy who also created the Max Payne series. Like the latter, Alan Wake absolutely nails storytelling and atmosphere to a tee! I loved the Bright Falls setting and the characters. The gameplay is a lot of fun and I thought it was quite original and inventive how they incorporatedAlan Wake is one of my all-time favorite games on the Xbox 360. The game is made by the brilliant people at Remedy who also created the Max Payne series. Like the latter, Alan Wake absolutely nails storytelling and atmosphere to a tee! I loved the Bright Falls setting and the characters. The gameplay is a lot of fun and I thought it was quite original and inventive how they incorporated the role of light in the gameplay. Although I have finished the game and its two DLC chapters multiple times, it's a game that I keep getting back to every once in a year purely for the story and atmoshpere. Highly recommended! Expand
  25. Apr 14, 2016
    8
    My Favorite Xbox 360 Exclusive, Alan Wake is an action-adventure psychological horror third-person shooter video game developed by Remedy

    + Atmosphere
    + Flashlight and Dark Mechanics
    + Feel Like TV Show
    - Ending
    - The Facial Animation and Lip Synching
  26. Apr 5, 2016
    10
    If you are a fan of games with great stories then look no further. Alan wake is in my opinion one of the best games released on the 360/PS3 generation. It's probably in my top 3. I have replayed Alan wake on many occasions over the years and always seem to come back for more. Remedy have made an awesome gaming experience here and I recommend it 100%.
  27. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    Ni mas ni menos el mejor survival horror de la generación pasada, personajes profundos, historia atractiva, gráficos espectaculares. compré Xbox 360 por este juego.
  28. Feb 17, 2011
    8
    For the amount of hype that this game has received, I must admit that I'm somewhat disappointed. When this game first came out, all I ever saw on anything that has to do with video games is "ALAN WAKE" plastered everywhere. I forced myself to not purchase this game at full price, waiting till it dropped into the bargan bin for a mere $20 before i made my purchase. In the end, I'm glad thatFor the amount of hype that this game has received, I must admit that I'm somewhat disappointed. When this game first came out, all I ever saw on anything that has to do with video games is "ALAN WAKE" plastered everywhere. I forced myself to not purchase this game at full price, waiting till it dropped into the bargan bin for a mere $20 before i made my purchase. In the end, I'm glad that I did, seeing as how this game has very little replay value and can be completed in a mere 8-10 hours. I read that it's supposed to be a psychological thriller, shooter, action, and horror game. While it definitely is all of these, it really doesn't do any of them well except psychological thriller. The game isn't scary in the slightest, mainly because the enemies are all exceptionally annoying. Or, it could be that the main character is constantly talking, giving you the sense that you're not fully enveloped in the world. Either way, the game never gave me chills, nor did it ever make me jump, even a little. I was expecting some insane mind-twisting story that would leave my mouth agape, but it was actually quite predictable and uninspired. You'll catch yourself in the game thinking, "OK, there's no way that's going to happen next, it's waaaayyy too obvious." And then, to your dismay, it does happen. Exactly as you imagined that it would. I can't say that the entire story is like this, but the majority of it definitely is. The collectible thermos' are boring to collect, but the manuscript pages are somewhat interesting. The voice acting is decent, but nothing spectacular, and lip-synching is hilariously bad. The actual game's graphics are excellent, and the environment was tremendously well-done. Lighting in the game is remarkable, and the shadowing is near flawless. The gunplay and core mechanics in the game all work extremely well and definitely gives you more of a movie-esque vibe with all of the slow-motion cinematics during combat. The general idea of light vs. dark is prevalent in this one, and seems a little cliche. The ending was OK, but wasn't pieced together too well, as I felt that some things weren't explained as properly as they should have been. One thing that ground out my nerves was when you were swarmed by enemies that swing their weapons over and over. A dodge is great once or twice, but then you run into the third guy who is swinging as well. The general gameplay tends to get a little repetitive at times, consisting of you running through the woods shooting at seemingly endless amounts of enemies that aren't even scary to fight. Overall, I enjoyed the story to a degree and it was worth paying $20 for. The gameplay is good and the graphics are great. If you're looking for another horror game to satisfy your need to leap out of your chair, this is not recommended at all. I feel this game is targetted more towards adults who enjoy a decent psychological thriller with some shooting sprinkled in, and so that is the only audience I can recommend this game to. In the end, a disappointment to myself, but still a solid game. Expand
  29. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    this game is great inspired by stephen king & the tv show lost it has such an edge of your seat story it will keep u guessing 2 the end & beyond great acting,graphics,story & mechanics any1 who hates this game truly don't understand what a thriller is & the 2 dlc packs r amazing must buys
  30. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But itThis is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But it has amazing graphics, characters and locations. The music is also 1st class. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. Alan Wake is finally here, and it's as good as we expected. Rich environments, great story, superb gameplay, many areas to explore, interesting characters... A great game that is not the ambitious project Remedy wanted it to be, but it's glorious anyway.
  2. Alan Wake lacks that little spark of genious that distinguishes a good game from a masterpiece, an H.P. Lovecraft from your average Stephen King.
  3. While its not the generation defining game the epic development schedule might've hyped, Alan Wake is still a fantastic, 10-hour-plus play-it-on-the-couch linear action game - with brains required or not depending on your preference.