Alan Wake Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alan Wake is a psychological action thriller, a unique new take in the world of gaming. The game is set in an idyllic all-American small town and its surroundings in the state of Washington. Alan Wake, the game's protagonist, is a bestselling horror writer, who writes a novel about hisAlan Wake is a psychological action thriller, a unique new take in the world of gaming. The game is set in an idyllic all-American small town and its surroundings in the state of Washington. Alan Wake, the game's protagonist, is a bestselling horror writer, who writes a novel about his darkest nightmares. In the game, those nightmares come true. As with Remedy's previous games, story and atmosphere are fundamental elements. The game features a massive, open world for the players to explore. The game design is mission based with the player as the driving force behing the action, and as with their previous games, Remedy again focuses completely on delivering the best possible single player experience. The use of light is a significant gameplay element. Remedy has developed proprietary new technology to support the gameplay of the title and to push the high definition visuals to the next level. [Remedy] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Alan Wake: The Writer - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. A brilliantly told story, excellent voice acting, and an atmosphere so unnerving you'll sleep with the lights on for a month. If only it came with a bottle of instant amnesia so that you could play it for the first time more than once.
  2. Despite it's flaws, Alan Wake is not a game you can miss out on.
  3. While its not the generation defining game the epic development schedule might've hyped, Alan Wake is still a fantastic, 10-hour-plus play-it-on-the-couch linear action game - with brains required or not depending on your preference.
  4. 85
    A challenging and genuinely frightening experience...As a survival horror, Alan Wake succeeds admirably, and comes highly recommended. But as a self-proclaimed "psychological action thriller", it falls short of its ambition.
  5. Alan Wake is a strange beast - a great story, told clumsily and strewn with odd characters saying vaguely unbelievable things in an earnest way that might or might not be a joke. However, as baffling as it can be, it really does hold its own, keeping you nervous, excited and rolling your eyes indulgently so regularly that it simply won't occur to you to stop playing.
  6. There’s certainly a feeling throughout the experience that what the game gives you with one hand, it quickly takes away with the other. Ultimately though, the survival-horror genre is in desperate need of a new poster boy, and Alan Wake just about fills that remit.
  7. 60
    When presented with an infinite number of possible resolutions, any answer is going to feel arbitrary. Alan Wake starts strong but finishes weak; neither the gameplay nor the story deliver on their potential by the time the credits roll.

See all 100 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 134
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    The Best XBOX 360 Exclusive Game...EVERYTING IN THIS GAME IS AWESOME, EVERYTHING...one of the best story in a video game ever made, gameplayThe Best XBOX 360 Exclusive Game...EVERYTING IN THIS GAME IS AWESOME, EVERYTHING...one of the best story in a video game ever made, gameplay awesome, soundtrack, EVERYTHING...But it's just one bad thing...this game was originally Open World and they remove that thing from the final version..what the hell the did that, I love every place in this game, the forests looks amazing, I'd love the explore the map..if this game was open world, it will be my favourite open world video game ever

    P.S. an Multiplayer will be good too :(
    Expand
  2. JohnNikkelson
    Oct 25, 2008
    10
    I use a PS3 not a 360. However it disgusts me that fellow PS3 users have to troll onto the 360 section. Makes me wonder if any of them haveI use a PS3 not a 360. However it disgusts me that fellow PS3 users have to troll onto the 360 section. Makes me wonder if any of them have heard of the saying "2 wrongs don't make a right"

    I've voted 10/10 just to help recover the scoring and help generate normality here.
    Expand
  3. GunGraveTZA(JackW.)
    May 18, 2010
    10
    This game is truely a masterpiece. It has one of the most exciting and satisfying stories for any video game (and the ending isn't crap This game is truely a masterpiece. It has one of the most exciting and satisfying stories for any video game (and the ending isn't crap nor does it require the DLC, it just doesn't answer some questions clearly, and that's great as it opens up the ending to interpretation and makes it even more interesting), the gameplay is simple yet always fun, and the graphics are really wow for a game that's been in development for 5 years. Truely one of the best games of this generation. Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    After almost a year, I still think about the visuals and story of this game. It was a complete surprise and one I will definitely return to inAfter almost a year, I still think about the visuals and story of this game. It was a complete surprise and one I will definitely return to in the future. The DLC was interesting but lacked the feeling of the main story. Expand
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    "Alan Wake" is a psychological horror game from the makers of "Max Payne". Storywise, it is a blend of Stephen King novels and TV's "Twin"Alan Wake" is a psychological horror game from the makers of "Max Payne". Storywise, it is a blend of Stephen King novels and TV's "Twin Peaks". But the gameplay and overall look recalls the video game "Silent Hill". Made exclusively for the XBOX 360, it features a good twisty story that's presented much like a TV show. Before a new "episode" begins, there is a brief recap of previous story events. The presentation is a gimmick but it's done well enough. The developers at Remedy Entertainment have produced an extremely polished game with "Alan Wake", but it's too bad that it never reaches its true potential. Unfortunately, repetitive tasks robs the game of much needed tension. Its spooky to be sure, but once Alan has turned on a light source for the umpteenth time, it becomes obvious the makers focused more on the story than gameplay. In that regard, the company's "Max Payne" and its first sequel are more satisfying experiences. But despite its shortcomings, "Alan Wake" is still a trip worth taking. It may not be a great XBOX exclusive, but it's good enough to play through at least once. 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  6. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    Alan Wake encapsulates imagination. And with such comes great originality. The story has a tendency to go a bit all over the place, thoughAlan Wake encapsulates imagination. And with such comes great originality. The story has a tendency to go a bit all over the place, though overall it comes across as something few developers dare to explore these days - a brand new vision. The characters have strong personalities, and the atmosphere draws you into the world with a presentation that holds up well even by today's standards. The gameplay succeeds in being quite different from the norm, and although it doesn't vary as much as I would have liked it to throughout the game, it manages to remain challenging and enjoyable. Personally I would have liked a Focus button that did not require me to hold it down for minutes on end, and a more alarming notification of enemies approaching from behind - though this is nitpicking really. I'm not yet certain where Remedy is going with the narrative, but consider me intrigued. All in all Alan Wake is a rarity, and its approach to episodic content reminiscent of television shows should be encouraged throughout the video gaming industry where fit. Much props to Remedy for taking their time to fulfill their vision, and perhaps it will help encourage the rest of the industry to take some notes on how originality is achieved - instead of having the only remaining ambition in this sequel-filled industry being the constantly reappearing selling point "bigger and better". Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2011
    0
    I'm honestly aghast at all the people who think this game represents the pinnacle of good storytelling in a video game. If this is all writersI'm honestly aghast at all the people who think this game represents the pinnacle of good storytelling in a video game. If this is all writers have to do to impress the gaming world, then future game stories are doomed, and blowhards like Ebert will be right in saying that video games cannot be art. Just because you make a game play out like a movie or some hyper-dramatic television series, does not make it a good story; cinematic drama is not synonymous with a good story. Additionally, Alan Wake is grotesquely overwritten, failing to understand the power of subtlety, while beating the player over the head with cliched ideas of "light versus darkness". Was everyone too dumbfounded by the beautiful trees to notice that the human animation and lip-syncing is amateur for this allegedly high standard production? Environments, while pretty, lack the variety and meaning as they did in true masterpieces like Silent Hill 2 and Shadow of the Colossus. The game's plot-line is a contrived piece of crap. It has a pointless metaphysical idea driving it nowhere (i.e. I'm a writer writing myself out of my own story). It relies too heavily on other writers to build its shoddy sense of depth, which, despite its attempts, fails. If anything, I can call this game comedy for all the times the ridiculous commentary of the enemies made me laugh. I have to quote off a few: "Farmers are the opposite of hunter-gatherers"
    "Omega 3 Fatty Acids are good for your heart"
    "Fishing is both a sport and a hobby"

    Seriously, did anyone else pay attention to how ridiculous the enemies are? No, seriously, did you? You can't go five minutes into the game without troupes of enemies barraging you with corny dialogue. Add to this that Alan Wake himself can never shut up, and continually has to state the obvious (i.e. I had to turn on the generator, he said in a narrative voice), and you have a script that, if used for any other medium (such as a book or film) would be laughed at and regarding as juvenile. Ultimately the game lacks focus. It does not know what it wants or what it takes to get there.
    Expand

See all 134 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Alan Wake: Inside the Reviews

    Alan Wake: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: May 10, 2010
    The embargo is over, and reviews are pouring in for the moody new thriller "Alan Wake," one of the year's most-anticipated 360 exclusives. Does the game live up to the hype?