Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67
  1. Jun 16, 2011
    67
    Provides a visually interesting world, with competent gameplay mechanics, but it ultimately fails to completely draw the player into the depths of its promised insanity to satisfaction.
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    71
    While Alice: Madness Returns has a number of problems, its artistic side and its genuine concept calls off the bad. This is a game that truly could have outshined American McGee's Alice with its interesting production values, but instead it leaves us slightly disappointed.
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    70
    Had Madness Returns cut its length by half and tossed in a few more gameplay mechanics, it could have easily been one of the best titles released this year.
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    70
    American McGee, I really wanted to love Alice: Madness Returns, truly I did. And while I can say that in it there were instances of fun and moments of wonder, these were eclipsed by an excess of repetition, a surfeit of crummy-looking textures and a general lack of polish. And so I admit to you with a heart full of regret, that Madness Returns has failed to live up to either my dreams or its own potential.
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    78
    Alice's second trip into madness isn't quite as satisfying or fresh as her first. Everything feels dated and there's an unfinished, even hurried quality to the game that's more than a little disappointing. That doesn't mean there's a shortage of great moments or fantastic ideas, because Madness Returns has both in spades.
  6. 61
    Breathlessly imaginative in everything but gameplay. Only die-hards need to journey down this particular rabbit hole.
  7. Dec 12, 2011
    79
    The levels are creative and artistic direction is solid, but the actual gameplay suffers from a lack of diversity and being clumped into big chunks.
  8. Jul 10, 2011
    60
    I did not regret playing Madness Returns, nor could I earnestly recommend it. There's incentive to brave a secondary play through to obtain more unlockables – by way of memories and opening up new nooks by shooting pig snouts, naturally – but the problem is thus: we've been blessed – daresay spoilt – by better action/adventure titles over the past few years for Madness Returns to ever compete. Hopefully we see Alice again. I sensed a great game in Madness Returns and occasionally played one but this spicy gift horse would be best looked in the mouth.
  9. Jun 16, 2011
    70
    Fans of the original Alice will find plenty of here to love, and will certainly want to return to Wonderland to work towards a satisfying narrative conclusion. For others, putting up with the game's monotonous design may prove to be a personal spiral into madness they may want to avoid.
  10. Jun 17, 2011
    50
    The game's visual and combative energy spark the urge to see where it goes next. If only there was something to do when you get there.
  11. Jun 14, 2011
    50
    Worst of all is that exploring Wonderland is, in practice, about as full of wonder as watching paint dry. Paint the colour of blood and dreams, but paint nonetheless.
  12. Jul 1, 2011
    50
    Alice: Madness Returns a visually stunning game with great art direction. However, the game is far too long and repetitive, and due to the uninspiring and outdated level design, it never reaches its full potential.
  13. Jun 14, 2011
    76
    Alice: Madness Returns is not a masterpiece at all but, thanks to fine gameplay mechanics and a peculiar art design, it can be really engaging and funny.
  14. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    Alice Madness Returns should please fans of the original while captivating some new gamers with its macabre storytelling.
  15. Jun 14, 2011
    68
    What starts out as a promising romp through a demented Wonderland devolves into a few good ideas stretched across redundant gameplay.
  16. Jun 23, 2011
    78
    And that, in a nutshell, can be used to sum up Alice: The Madness Returns. There are moments of brilliance; of clever design, fiendish platforming, loads of secrets, and intense combat. At others, though, Alice's adventure can be an unpolished, frustrating exercise in repetition. To say Alice is trippy would be more than a slight understatement. I have to say I enjoyed my journey into madness as I plunged further and further down the proverbial rabbit hole more than I thought I would initially. Still, I can't help but feel like it could, and probably should, have been better.
  17. Jun 14, 2011
    91
    The overall quality of Alice: Madness Returns is high, despite it feeling rushed. The qualities that made American McGee's Alice so enjoyable-the gory hack-'n'-slash combat, the gorgeous design, the rich dialogue, the menacing mood-are present and abundant.
  18. Jun 20, 2011
    60
    Ten years. That's what it took for a follow-up to the original American McGee's Alice to be born. A great day for the fans, who will immediately recognize the trashy-gore touch of the developer. They won't be disappointed by the singular atmosphere, which captures imagination right from the start of the game. But its terrible lack of polish and technical shortcomings may also frighten a lot of people. The fans will probably forgive those, but others may not.
  19. Jul 15, 2011
    65
    Alice: Madness Returns is still a mad ride worth taking, but from start to finish, I never stopped thinking how much better it could have been with help from a strong editor's hand.
  20. Jun 22, 2011
    73
    Madness Returns' presentation won't please everybody and the average gamer might feel out of place with the unique horror-theme. Since there are very few games on the market like it presentation-wise, Alice's newest adventure is worth checking out.
  21. Jul 5, 2011
    80
    All and all, Alice Madness Returns is an exquisite alternative point of view of a classical story, given as a twisted gaming extravaganza. The constant platforming can be tiring, but the rich content repays the gamer.
  22. Jun 27, 2011
    75
    When the wondrous becomes the familiar and we begin to peek behind the warped Victorian-Gothic façade, we discover an action platformer that lacks strong differentiation.
  23. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    Far from a bad game. Stellar art and a darkly unique stage help set it apart from the brown and bloom of this console generation, and Spicy Horse should no doubt be commended for their approach to an underfed genre in the HD-gen platformer.
  24. Jun 17, 2011
    60
    At the end of the day, Alice: MR has a lot of good ideas from a lot of other good games, but never really executes them as well as the originals did. Unless you're a hardcore fan of the original, or a dedicated platforming junkie, you'll want to skip this return to wonderland.
  25. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    Impressive. This darker spin on a classic tale is full of great atmosphere and some well-designed platforming.
  26. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Alice: Madness Returns should please fans of the original and newcomers alike. The game can feel a bit dated and tedious at times, but the incredibly dark Wonderland that American McGee has crafted is just begging to be explored.
  27. Jun 28, 2011
    79
    If as much imagination had been applied to the gameplay that was put into the art design, Madness Returns would have been a phenomenal game.
  28. Jun 17, 2011
    79
    Alice - Madness Returns is the kind of game that's retro in both a good sense and a bad: It's a tough game to beat, but lacks innovations and better graphics.
  29. Jul 8, 2011
    76
    Not quite the return we were hoping for, but still a fun run, jump and dash-through for fans. [Aug 2011, p.88]
  30. Jun 17, 2011
    70
    For all its inventive turns and standout moments, however, much of Alice's return feels a little too templated for it to truly embrace the nonsensical.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 49
  2. Negative: 3 out of 49
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Reviewers are somehow blind to what makes a game actually good I guess. Every game is repetitive, and yet only certain games does it seem toReviewers are somehow blind to what makes a game actually good I guess. Every game is repetitive, and yet only certain games does it seem to make the reviewer call it out. Black OPs is shooting bad guys for the entire campaign absolutely no change and yet it does not get hit with a lower score. Alice is an absolute joy to play each level you play has a very distinct art direction and makes you feel like your truly in Alice's twisted world. The combat is smooth and fluid and actually makes you think about how to beat each enemy, you have to utilize each thing they give you even the block button which I admit I never use in other hack and slashes. There are a few graphical glitches but it doesn't detract from the gameplay, and if you've played the first Alice the games story is intriguing and makes you feel like an absolute continuation of the original story building on it The art is beautiful, the fighting engaging, the mini games give a nice change of pace but don't feel out of place. Don't listen to what paid reviewers have said about this game, instead look at what users are saying everyone is enjoying it and there's a reason!! This is a buy, especially since you get the first alice with it!! Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    I would not be writing this review if i didn't feel that the critic scores grossly misrepresent the quality of this title. I feel as thoughI would not be writing this review if i didn't feel that the critic scores grossly misrepresent the quality of this title. I feel as though low scores will be given simply because a game does not innovate--rather than it just being a bad game. Alice: Madness Returns is an excellent game and does not claim to, or want to push any new boundaries in gaming. Madness Returns offers a very nostalgic "oldschool" 3d platformer feel with slick combat to back it up. The puzzles in this game were quite lackluster and are a part of the reason why I will not give this game a 10. The points of Madness Returns that need to be highlighted are the art direction, sound, and story. The atmosphere that the art evokes in this game is simply stunning. I had similar feelings gazing into the distance in "Cardbridge" as I did perched atop a building overlooking a beautiful Italian vista in Assassin's Creed 2. Aiding the stunning landscapes in creating that feeling of Wonderland; is an amazing score, in addition to great character voice acting. (I have never said 'what' so delightfully, SO many times to the things the characters said)
    All of these great aspects of Madness Returns are nothing without a spine, without a story. The tale following the events of American McGee's Alice is an incredibly fun, creepy, and intriguing adventure that will keep you playing.

    To top everything off the game is bundled with a code for American McGee's Alice... how can you go wrong with this game?
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    I have finished this game and I am confused because I thought it was absolutely wonderful. It felt like a flash back to older platforms withI have finished this game and I am confused because I thought it was absolutely wonderful. It felt like a flash back to older platforms with better graphics, great story, and controls that don't get in the way and feel very natural. I see the invisible walls which often bother me in most games but here the world is so very interesting I don't really care that I can't go somewhere that it appears I might be able to. Also they have a great system that shows you important things so if there isn't a hint nearby you clearly can't go there.

    I wonder it the same people that complain about how formulaic games are getting yet give all the COD games 9-10 scores and give wonderful games like this crappy ones. I only came hear after playing the game because I wanted to see if other people thought the game was as absolutely amazing as I did. I was expecting to see 80s, 90s from all the reviewers and was completely caught off guard by the low marks.
    Full Review »