Alice: Madness Returns Xbox 360

Alice: Madness Returns Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 162 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: American McGee's Alice returns, with his own brand of creepy supernatural Victoriana.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Alice: Madness Returns Final Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    92
    Alice: Madness Returns reminds me a lot of classic N64 platformers like Mario 64 and Banjo Kazooie in the best of ways. By mixing a dark reimagining of a literary classic with stylish combat and rock-solid platforming, EA and Spicy Horse have created a gaming experience quite unlike any other. At any rate, its miles better than the lacklustre Tim Burton movie released last year. This is one rabbit hole worth tumbling down.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    82
    All in all it's a decent game with only a few nagging issues to prevent it from being great. Comparatively, I think that the original did it better, but Spicy Horse has done a respectable job with the sequel.
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    Truly the definition of a sleeper hit. I enjoyed the twisted atmosphere and the solid mechanics. Sure, the tricks the game uses get repeated far too often, but it is easy to overlook when you weigh the value of the entire package.
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    70
    Alice: Madness Returns is, overall, a good game. It has many good things, but it's a bit unpolished and rushed, kind of repetitive and lacking originality in some areas. It delivers much fun, but not as much as it should.
  5. Jul 4, 2011
    70
    Wonderland itself, the way it changes visually and the way it changes Alice, is the game's most important feature.
  6. Jun 16, 2011
    67
    Provides a visually interesting world, with competent gameplay mechanics, but it ultimately fails to completely draw the player into the depths of its promised insanity to satisfaction.
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Outdated action platformer that despite all its talk of madness is far too mundane in both design and visuals to justify its mammoth playing time.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 52
  2. Negative: 3 out of 52
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Reviewers are somehow blind to what makes a game actually good I guess. Every game is repetitive, and yet only certain games does it seem toReviewers are somehow blind to what makes a game actually good I guess. Every game is repetitive, and yet only certain games does it seem to make the reviewer call it out. Black OPs is shooting bad guys for the entire campaign absolutely no change and yet it does not get hit with a lower score. Alice is an absolute joy to play each level you play has a very distinct art direction and makes you feel like your truly in Alice's twisted world. The combat is smooth and fluid and actually makes you think about how to beat each enemy, you have to utilize each thing they give you even the block button which I admit I never use in other hack and slashes. There are a few graphical glitches but it doesn't detract from the gameplay, and if you've played the first Alice the games story is intriguing and makes you feel like an absolute continuation of the original story building on it The art is beautiful, the fighting engaging, the mini games give a nice change of pace but don't feel out of place. Don't listen to what paid reviewers have said about this game, instead look at what users are saying everyone is enjoying it and there's a reason!! This is a buy, especially since you get the first alice with it!! Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Un juego excelente, es el claro ejemplo que critica y usuarios no siempre están de acuerdo. La historia es muy madura y absorbeUn juego excelente, es el claro ejemplo que critica y usuarios no siempre están de acuerdo. La historia es muy madura y absorbe desde el principio. Una ambientación preciosa donde se nota el trabajo artístico que hay detrás del juego. Sobre la jugabilidad cabe destacar que los movimientos de Alice responden a la perfección, los puzzles son entretenidos y las peleas contra los enemigos muy variadas ya que cada uno tiene diferentes debilidades y nos obliga a utilizar el coco en vez de machacar botones.
    Sobre el único defecto que tiene el juego, y a sido sobre explotado por los medios para bajarle la puntuación, es la carga de textura que en mi opinión no son tan extenuantes como la prensa nos quiere hacer creer. Sinceramente es mi GOTY del 2011.
    Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    A beautiful platformer with brilliant ideas which was exactly what I needed. It's such a breath of fresh air to see such art and passion putA beautiful platformer with brilliant ideas which was exactly what I needed. It's such a breath of fresh air to see such art and passion put into a project compared to the sea of shooters and terrible movie cash-ins. Alice is a great game with some niggling flaws (repetition, pacing, Unreal engine quirks), but it does so much right that it far outweighs the flaws. A personal 10 for me, and the fact new copies include the rare and brilliant original game only makes it that much sweeter. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2016
    8
    Alice: Madness Returns is the sequel to the critically acclaimed American McGee's Alice. It takes place a year after original game in 1875Alice: Madness Returns is the sequel to the critically acclaimed American McGee's Alice. It takes place a year after original game in 1875 were Alice has been released from the asylum and now lives in an orphanage under the care of Dr Bumby. Alice is still traumatised by the fire that killed her entire family and Dr Bumby encourages her to go to Wonderland in her mind as a coping mechanism. However in her visions Wonderland has changed and is much darker and twisted than how she left it. After several hallucinations of the Jabberwock Alice once again arrives in Wonderland.

    Story: 8/10
    Madness Return's storyline is very strong but it does have some minor pacing issues. New players to the series will have no trouble keeping up with the storyline as it references the first game and the Lewis Carroll novels at the start of the game and through collectable memories found throughout the game. The storyline is quite engaging and you'll want to play on to continue Alice's adventure. However I found myself wanting the game to pick up pace as I progressed towards the later chapters. The characters and voice acting however are superb and actually likeable compared to most games these days. American McGee gives an interesting edge to each of Lewis Carroll's original characters such as Hatter who is a mechanical genius who is obsessed with time and clockwork.

    Gameplay: 8/10
    From what I have played, Madness Returns's gameplay is quite similar to the first game but it has much more emphasis on hack n slash combat aswell as platforming. Like most hack n slash games it several basic moves such as a light attack, heavy attack, ranged attack aswell as dodge and block. Alice can equip several weapons and items at a time such as the Vorpal Blade and Pepper Grinder etc. The game has a basic upgrading system were Alice can upgrade several weapons by collecting "teeth" throughout the game. Personally I am a huge fan of the combination of hack n slash, platforming and RPG elements that Madness Returns uses however it does have several problems that bring it down. The camera angles and targeting system are very flawed and can be quite frustrating, for example when in a semi-large area and facing 3 or more enemies the targeting system can irrationally target far off enemies.

    Graphics: 9/10

    The environment and character designs for Madness Returns are very unique when compared to other games on the market. The artistic design really brings Lewis Carroll's Wonderland to life with a unique darker edge that only McGee can achieve. There is a wide range of environments that Alice travels through ranging from classic Wonderland forests to harsh arctic wastelands making each stage very different. Every new environment brings with it new diverse enemies that look and act differently such as goblins that use cutlery as weapons, undead card soldiers and sharks that hide in ice. The designs for characters in both Wonderland and London have their own unique style. Both the environments and character designs remind me of the Fable and Medevil series but with a refreshing edge.

    Extras: 7/10

    Madness Returns only has a singleplayer campaign but due to the diverse levels and the long length of story this is to be expected. I also cannot imagine however a multiplayer or co-op feature would play into the story so I am happy with just the singleplayer mode. However if you buy a new copy of the game on either the PS3 or Xbox 360 you are entitled to a free download of the original American McGee's Alice. This much appreciated extra expands the average play time of about 10-15 hours to about 20-25 hours. It is a simple port of the original game without any graphical updates which is slightly disappointing but not a problem.

    Enjoyment: 8/10
    Personally I found Alice: Madness Returns extremely enjoyable but this is my type of game because its a little bit of everything as I mentioned earlier such as hack n slash, platforming and minor aspects of an RPG and a 3rd person shooter. The characters and environment design of this game really made the storyline very intriguing to me and I will definitely be buying my own copy of this for the PS3. As I mentioned earlier the problems with pacing and the targeting system are the only things that brought the enjoyment of this game down because at times they can be a big issue. I would recommend this to fans of the Fable series and platforming games such as Crash Bandicoot, Medievil and A Series Of Unfortunate Events.

    Overall Rating: 8/10
    Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    I knew the critic reviews for this were not going to be great for this game. I have played for quite a few hours now and it is a wonderfulI knew the critic reviews for this were not going to be great for this game. I have played for quite a few hours now and it is a wonderful game, the colour and art is beautifully twisted as is expected and the combat is very fun. I think the reason the critic reviews are so low is because they are reviewing it as new IP since its been so long since the original was released but I believe it shouldn't be reviewed this way. If you read the interviews with American McGee about this game he states he has no intentions of reinventing the wheel with this game. This is game is meant to be compared to the original, and is meant for the people who loved the original. If you play even just the first chapter of the original and then start playing this you'll see it's worth at least an 8. Now I know there will be people saying that a game shouldn't be reviewed this way but any true fans of the original will understand what I mean, and will probably buy it no matter what the reviews say. Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    The twisted aesthetic may be played out, but it is done with such a level of detail and refinement that one has to excuse the dated gameplayThe twisted aesthetic may be played out, but it is done with such a level of detail and refinement that one has to excuse the dated gameplay and two (out of five) lackluster chapters. Yeah, I'm looking at you, Chapters 2 and 3. The industry is hard up on 3d platformers as of late but unfortunately t his doesn't excuse Alice from not doing anything new; collectibles and weapon-heavy combat are abound and can become repetitive while light challenges, puzzles, and sidescrolling sequences break things up a bit. Nonetheless a wholeheartedly original and lurid narrative awaits you in Alice: Madness Returns, playing out with as much variety and spirit as the gameplay attempts to provide. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2017
    2
    Atmosphère très glauque pour cette Alice de retour au pays des maboules, musique sinistre, VF de qualité, graphismes... vilains (encoreAtmosphère très glauque pour cette Alice de retour au pays des maboules, musique sinistre, VF de qualité, graphismes... vilains (encore l'Unreal Engine utilisé par des branques... beuuurk) qu'une direction artistique de bon aloi ne parvient pas à sauver, maniabilité médiocre et en retrait du précédent épisode d'il y a plus de 10 ans (c'est ça le progrès ?)... précédent épisode d'ailleurs inclus (enfin, à télécharger avec un code à la con), lequel réussit l'exploit d'être aliasé et d'avoir un problème sur les voix (uniquement sur le canal gauche).

    Cela étant, Alice RPF s'avère plutôt sympathique mais devient assez vite répétitif à souhait jusqu'à plus soif. On n'en voit pas le bout et on s'emmeeeerde. Je préconise de passer la camisole à l'adolescente psychotique une bonne fois pour toute, qu'on en parle plus et qu'on ne ponde plus d'autre jeu : bouclez la folledingue et pour de bon cette fois !!
    Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.