Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: American McGee's Alice returns, with his own brand of creepy supernatural Victoriana.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    92
    Alice: Madness Returns reminds me a lot of classic N64 platformers like Mario 64 and Banjo Kazooie in the best of ways. By mixing a dark reimagining of a literary classic with stylish combat and rock-solid platforming, EA and Spicy Horse have created a gaming experience quite unlike any other. At any rate, its miles better than the lacklustre Tim Burton movie released last year. This is one rabbit hole worth tumbling down.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    82
    All in all it's a decent game with only a few nagging issues to prevent it from being great. Comparatively, I think that the original did it better, but Spicy Horse has done a respectable job with the sequel.
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    80
    Truly the definition of a sleeper hit. I enjoyed the twisted atmosphere and the solid mechanics. Sure, the tricks the game uses get repeated far too often, but it is easy to overlook when you weigh the value of the entire package.
  4. Jun 15, 2011
    70
    Alice: Madness Returns is, overall, a good game. It has many good things, but it's a bit unpolished and rushed, kind of repetitive and lacking originality in some areas. It delivers much fun, but not as much as it should.
  5. Jul 4, 2011
    70
    Wonderland itself, the way it changes visually and the way it changes Alice, is the game's most important feature.
  6. Jun 16, 2011
    67
    Provides a visually interesting world, with competent gameplay mechanics, but it ultimately fails to completely draw the player into the depths of its promised insanity to satisfaction.
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    40
    Outdated action platformer that despite all its talk of madness is far too mundane in both design and visuals to justify its mammoth playing time.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Reviewers are somehow blind to what makes a game actually good I guess. Every game is repetitive, and yet only certain games does it seem to make the reviewer call it out. Black OPs is shooting bad guys for the entire campaign absolutely no change and yet it does not get hit with a lower score. Alice is an absolute joy to play each level you play has a very distinct art direction and makes you feel like your truly in Alice's twisted world. The combat is smooth and fluid and actually makes you think about how to beat each enemy, you have to utilize each thing they give you even the block button which I admit I never use in other hack and slashes. There are a few graphical glitches but it doesn't detract from the gameplay, and if you've played the first Alice the games story is intriguing and makes you feel like an absolute continuation of the original story building on it The art is beautiful, the fighting engaging, the mini games give a nice change of pace but don't feel out of place. Don't listen to what paid reviewers have said about this game, instead look at what users are saying everyone is enjoying it and there's a reason!! This is a buy, especially since you get the first alice with it!! Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Alice: Madness Returns is a game that needs to be experienced. It's a wonderful journey through a weird and haunting place. This is a game that feels fresh in today's gaming world. So please, pick it up and give it a try. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Ok so I took a jump on this game, with the art style and story being the appealing factor and wow did I find a hidden Gem. I seriously cant believe these "reviewers" scores! The minor negatives surely don't negate a drop in score so vast as to score it as a mediocre title? I mean negatives of similar volume appear in their precious CoD titles and yet they still score that pathetic franchise highly!!?

    Alice is a breath of fresh air and shows what an adventure platformer should and was like. New copies come with the original copy of the game which is just sheer brilliance. If you love the story of Alice and are into Adventure platformers then do yourself a favour and pick this game up. For me so far this year it has been my favourite release!
    Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    Alice: Madness Returns certainly has a unique art style and stunning visuals. The gameplay itself is agreeably varied and fun. However, some attempts at varying the pace, such as a few 2D platforming and pinball stages, are boring and start to drag near the end of the game. Storyline, however, is quite well done. Definitely one of the most underrated games I've played on this console, and it's certainly worth at least a rent. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2011
    8
    Original review update: I've got 15 hours of play time in since picking up the game at release and I haven't seen anything here that warrants such negativity of these reviewers. Does Alice: Madness Returns suffer the same minor foibles of just about every 3D platformer since Mario 64? Yeah, it sure does, but why is that making this game, in particular, get such a negative response? I have played FAR, FAR worse platformers this generation than this. Anyone remember Kameo when it came out - fun, odd, but wonky and full of bugs that never got patched? Sure, I've had some frustrating moments due to camera issues but, again, that's been an issue in every platformer since 1996 - even games like Uncharted and Uncharted 2 suffered issues like this, and those are almost universally lauded for their gameplay. Some reviewers go so far as to say that the platformer style of the game is too cookie cutter and mundane. Do these folks not realize there's only SO MUCH that can be done with a third person action/platformer in terms of coding? If Alice: Madness Returns gets slammed for "cookie cutter" gameplay, then I respectfully submit all these reviewers go back and modify their scores for the ENTIRE God of War franchise, as that franchise is as cookie cutter as it gets (yet gets rated 9-9.5 for every iteration). Thus far the game has been a visual treat, the story has been solid, and the gameplay fluid. All in all, it's a great sequel to the original and, unless the macabre style isn't your thing (which I can completely understand), people who are avoiding this game because of the professional reviews are just robbing themselves of a fun game. And they can't even hide behind the excuse that they never played the first one, since that comes along with it! Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    8
    I too feel the critics missed the overall evaluation and quality of this game. Alice: Madness Returns is not only visually well done, but the game grabs the attention of the player and keeps them entertained. It does not innovate in any category, but instead is a well polished, delightful experience that turns out to be a wonderful surprise. In particular the audio and music is noteworthy, gameplay is well done and the fighting mechanics are really nice. One downfall is the lack of overall combat options. More upgrading/ability to do special moves would have been welcome. Really the game is well done for a platformer. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2013
    3
    I'm giving this game a lower score because everyone seems so taken back by just the "interpretation" of the story and the visuals. Yes, you can spray paint a turd gold, but in the end, it's just a pretty turd. This game is simply a grinder. Despite some customizable elements, the gameplay itself is a grinder and I found myself just trying to get to the end of the game so I could retire this on my shelf after one play. I would never recommend this game to anyone, it's just too dull to play. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.