User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 411 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    2
    So, apparently it takes years of delays and disappointment before you can release a truly awful game. Aliens: Colonial Marines is exhibit A. This comes from a big Aliens fan who has waited and waited for this title to be released.
    The graphics and textures make you think you're playing on the original Xbox, the story for the woefully short game is also dire (yes, a game with less than 6
    hours of gameplay), no tension in the game and the motion tracker is a waste of time.
    Looks like Sega replaced their 'QA' dept with a 'Do we look bothered about the product' department.
    Don't get me started with the strange option to put a supressor onto your pulse rifle, only to find that you can't take it back off). Leave this load of rubbish well alone and keep your hard earned cash in your pocket.
    Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    2
    finished the single player mode yesterday. Game is very short (5 hours wtf!?), has really bad graphics and the gameplay feels like in low budget pc fps game. There is no horror atmosphere in this game bacause it was made as 4 player co op game (something like Dead Island but much much worse!). Multiplayer sucks, finding players takes you 1,5 minute and the lag kills the fun. No dedicated servers. Just simple p2p matchmaking like in CoD but created worse. There are multiplayer modes where you can play as alien versus humans. To tell you the truth, nobody wants to play as aliens because marines are way to powerfull. If marine players stick together, they always wins the match. The only option to win the multiplayer match as an aliens is when it is match where aliens have bigger numbers than marines (ex. 2 marines vs 6 aliens). In multiplayer match 6 vs 6 marines ALWAYS win. You can't choose sides, game does it for you like the developers knew that nobody would like to be alien.

    Oh! And one more funny thing! This game WAS NOT CREATED by Gearbox but 5 different developers. You can see their names in the campaign intro. Gearbox was supporting them with their brand. F*ck you SEGA and gearbox. Lost respect for those companies.
    Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    2
    Arrived in the post yesterday, I heard some bad reviews but as a fan I thought this was exaggeration. Well I wish I never opened it and got a refund. The campaign is 5 hours long with an AI that terrible for both your squad and the enemy. I should be saying Aliens rather then enemy, but half the game you arnt fighting aliens!!! Thats right, an aliens game and you spend half of it fighting other marines on the Corporation. The end boss as well... just over one minute to beat... the games just painful. I want to give it a good review, I pre-ordered this on nostalgia and the fact that this looked like it was the aliens game that would be it! Multiplayer is the only thing that can make this game fun and it wears thin fast. The marines are very overpowered and while you can take out lone wolves, if they stick in a group and are organized playing as an alien is just not fun. Other players give up quick and it makes it impossible. Basically if you stay in a group then its an instant win. High hopes. Crushed by technical problems (screen tear), poor AI, poor graphics with missing textures and retcons. Dont get me started on who they bring back from the dead! Oh and those awesome early previews which got everyone excited, guess what not in the game!! Poor poor show. I pray the DLC can partially redeem this game especailly as its supposed to be cannon! Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    1
    A complete LIE! Gearbox lied gamers by showing amazing Demos at E3 and other events, at the very last end the game showed up completely different. ALCM has horrible in game design, lots of glitches, frame rate issues and no resemblance at all with the Demos showed by Gearbox. Graphics are horrible and gameplay is even worst. Gearbox should get sued by SEGA, for creating such a terrible game and running such a big scam on gamers. Expand
  5. Feb 13, 2013
    3
    This game is total GARBAGE! Anyone who rates this game over a 5 either works for Gearbox/Sega or knows nothing about videogames. I rented this thinking how bad can it really be...ohhh how I found out. Finished the campaign on hardest difficulty with about 30/50 achievements in about five hours. There are really about three levels in the game that you go back and fourth through three times with different lighting. All you do is shoot wave after wave of the same enemies over and over again then the credits role.. after the worst final boss encounter in years. Multiplayer is nothing that hasn't been done in every other game this generation. The only redeeming value to this experience was the sound effects which are spot on with the films. Believe it or not the terrible Alien Vs. Predator game from a few years back seems like a masterpiece compared to this trash. Shame on Gearbox for this terrible letdown of a product for all the fans of the Aliens franchise, fans of their previous work, and ruining the opportunity to create canon material for a movie franchise. THIS IS THE CANDIDATE FOR WORST GAME OF THE YEAR!! Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    0
    I almost threw up in my mouth when I heard about this game. The gaming industry takes a whack at an Aliens game every few years, and it always ends up a heaping pile of burning slag. Crappy plot, crappy game play, crappy graphics. It's just a cluster-pile of badness. Anyone who gave this a "positive rating", I seriously question their neutrality as feedback. They're most likely shills for the developers. And when the overall score was as bad as this, uh, yes I WILL listen to the critics. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    0
    The demo footage that was shown at E3 for this game looked absolutely amazing. There was dynamic lighting, the game had tonnes of atmosphere the enemy AI was slick. The same unfortunately cannot be said for the finished product which has no resemblance to the demo whatsoever and could be a completely different game all together. Put briefly, this is another FPS COD clone but so much worse to the point of unplayability, the graphics are so outdated poor that explosions look like they are from an N64 game, with jagged textures and bugs rearing their heads at every possible moment. Gearbox have clearly LIED outright to gamers everywhere with the demo of this game I for one will not be purchasing a game from them in future, as a fan of the ALIENS franchise I found this not only hugely disappointing but also grossly offensive, it is one giant spit in fans' gamers' faces alike. Expand
  8. Jun 16, 2013
    2
    This game promised so much, and then completely fell on it's face. The graphics are very good, but nothing like was promised by the "demo" videos show prior to release. In game they were par for FPS, and it seem great detail was paid to recreate the atmosphere and tension of the movies. The first levels on the Sulaco weren't too bad story wise, but the game was already showing it's weaknesses. The NPC AI is broken beyond repair, and the Alien AI is nonexistent. Duck Hunt was more challenging. By the end of the Sulaco levels, the story was quickly devolving into idiocy. The story makes no sense what so ever and is a slap in the face to fans of the movies. And my biggest complaint is the lack of immersion. They went to all of the trouble to model the dropship and the APC, yet they are only set dressing. The only time the player gets to ride in these vehicles is in cut scenes, never mind flying/driving them. It is because of this game that I will never buy another title from GearBox for full price, and will share their future games used with all of my friends. Shame on them for stealing from consumers, as this game is a complete ripoff. Expand
  9. Apr 10, 2013
    3
    When game developers get pushed into making a public apology for a "misleading" trailer, This pretty much marks the scene for a game. Yes, I got hold of Alien: Colonial Marines a good period of time after release and after this announcement. Immediately I could see what the big uproar was about. First thing that is thrown in front of you with any game is the graphics, which feel like it has been thrown together from the 64 bit era. The trailer of this game showed amazing graphics, amazing game play and intense scenes. With the graphics been first the rule out that the trailer showed, what would be next? Well, to be honest, I failed to find one aspect of this game that made it "good". Controls are sluggish, hit detection is just pure awful, voice acting is laughable, story is bland and just the general play of the game is, well, almost unplayable. The AI are some of the worst I've seen in a game and the enemies are so unpredictable and mostly, unavoidable which makes the overall game play extremely frustrating and boring. I understand that this game also has an online multiplayer feature but I didn't couldn't try it due to lack of interest in the game as a whole and the fact the one time I tried to play an MP game, after half an hour it didn't find me a game. Overall, this game is a failed struggle to save a dying franchise. Expand
  10. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    don't know how they could screw up any more than they did.

    terrible AI, terrible graphics, mediocre multiplayer, mediocre story, and they have the nerve to sell DLC.
    gearbox shouldn't be allowed to make games.
  11. Mar 8, 2013
    3
    Feels like a 2002/3 Xbox game and would only have been average then. Very poor for a recent release. I thought it looked poor on preview sites, I couldn't beleive it when the full release so shoddy. 6 years for this, what a shame! When it hits the bargain buckets, it may be worth picking up for a fiver?
  12. Mar 3, 2013
    4
    A game that looked so good at its E3 demos, that was so heavily anticipated, and, let's face it, that is rooted so well in a legendary piece of sci-fi almost couldn't fail. And yet, somehow, Gearbox managed to pull off a total misfire with Colonial Marines. While it'd be easy to turn this entire review into a complaint festival, there are some admirable things about the game, so we'll start with those. It's clear that someone paid attention to the tech manual when they put the weapons and equipment together; it's consistent with the Colonial Marines Technical Manual released years ago with the blessing of those involved. Sound in all its aspects, foley and mixing alike, is a grand slam home run. The score is absolutely outstanding, something that should make Horner proud in how his film score was lovingly adapted to a game score. The levels that overlap the films are consistent and show continuity with events in the film. The weapons are generally faithful to the films, with the Smartgun particularly well implemented. The weapon modification/customization system is thin, but adequate and makes a difference. There are enough little toss-ins to make you feel like you're in the film. That is, until you add in gameplay, graphics, and programming. Then it's wrecked. For a game that was supposed to be a squad-based tactical shooter, A:CM is instead a generic rail shooter dressed up in Aliens clothes. There's no tactical anything in here; your allies are under AI control at all times, and won't even take a suggestion from you (not that there's a way for you to suggest squat). Graphics are horribly disappointing...more like abysmal. This is a console that handles high-power graphics Crysis 2, Crysis 3, Far Cry 3, and Enslaved so there's no excuse. Textures are unbelievably low-res; monitors are unreadable, props are blurry and pixelated. Lighting is good, but implementation of volumetrics appears to have been left off the to-do list. Voice acting is good, but the script, by and large, is the pits, chock full of macho-military cliches and stereotypes. The checkpoint save system was developed by a sadist; there are no checkpoints immediately prior to boss fights and checkpoints are spread far apart, meaning you will have to redo significant sections (and hear the same bloody audio) again and again. The AI is outright defective; it's a good thing that your squadmates are immortal, because an alien will be chewing on their helmets and they won't open fire. Expect no help from them. Overall, Aliens: Colonial Marines is valuable only to those who are diehard fans of the film. As a game, a 4 is a generous rating, earned more or less entirely by the audio department and a pity point. This game fell so far short of expectations and promise that it's just sad. It is worth playing if you're a fan, but not worth the $60 release price. Wait until it descends to the $20 range (which shouldn't take long), then go for it. I'm not mad about the game, just disappointed. It could have, should have, been much more. Expand
  13. Feb 14, 2013
    2
    This has to be one of the worst first person shooters I've ever played on the Xbox. I'm really disappointed because I love the Alien franchise and I've been looking forward to this game for months. Firstly, everything feels very outdated... it's an extremely basic first person shooter with graphics that belong on the PS2. The checkpoint system is just a mess; the last thing I want to do is have the same firefight over and over again just because a checkpoint didn't activate after I'd pressed three or so switches (perhaps acceptable on lower difficulties, but if you like a challenge this is a nightmare). Which brings me to my next point: switches! The entire game is simply going through corridor after corridor, activating switches and cutting through broken doors. It's nothing like the horror-survival/FPS hybrid I expected. There are no jump-out-of-your seat moments, despite the potential, since y'know... it's a game set in the world of Alien. The characters are all two-dimensional couldn't give a flying sh*t about any of them. What forced my hand to write a bad review was the glitches; if it's not a non-moving elevator, it's an NPC not doing what he's programmed to do, ultimately forcing you to restart from the last checkpoint that was two fights ago, do them again, and hope it works the second time around! (again, a nightmare if you're on a challenging mode). Really, it just feels like you're playing a very rushed, cheap, glitchy movie cash-in. I'm glad I rented it before deciding to buy it. Expand
  14. Apr 4, 2013
    2
    What's wrong with this game:
    1- Ridiculous story line that messes up the film story and makes no sense, and offers no explanation, with a terrible cut and dry ending. It's cannon by the way. 2- Terrible alien AI that is not scary, but ridiculous, with hilarious glitches. 3- Glitchy graphics with muddy textures, esp. on consoles 4- Fighting humans for at least 50% of the game!? its called
    ALIENS! 5- Friendly AI characters: O'Neil, you are a useless and fundamentally unlikable. 6- The E3 2011 demo was the biggest lie in gaming Expand
  15. Apr 25, 2013
    4
    Quick review I did after 2/3 days of having and completed campaign and multiplayer of this game a while ago.

    Someone said that Batman Arkham series has set the standard for license based games and this game falls massively short of that standard. Also Dead Space is a good comparison in terms of visuals and tension atmosphere that this game could have emulated. Oh, what could have been.


    Overall be very wary of review embargos and over delayed games in future, it's a huuuuuge warning sign!

    The Good:
    -Fun with a buddie (not sure I would care to play this solo)
    -Sound effects are excellent
    -Guns fire nice and has the feel of the Movies
    -Good Lighting and some tense scenes
    -Decent level-up attachments challenge system
    -Mulitplayer has potential
    -Loads of attention to detail in-terms of nods to original Alien movies.

    The Bad:
    -Over strong soldier AI
    -AI Enemies can shoot you through walls or sometimes stands there confused
    -Sometimes you get stuck on corners map sections
    -Too many invisible walls
    -Multiplayer needs massive tweaks and serious fixes as well as content, the maps are hideous and the marines feel over-buffed in comparison to the freaking aliens!
    -Visuals are average overall and have plenty of texture issues popups here and there and poor likeness and model designs
    -NPC's are just plan horrible, animations look weird on them and will often block your shooting view, teleport you and your buddie(s) or stand still while enemies are near by ripping you up.
    -Forgettable, average dialogue
    -Very, very poor story and even worst ending
    -Too much focus on boring human combat rather then Aliens

    It's not worth £40 $70/80, only buy if your a hardcore fan, have a buddy to play it with and can get it for £15 or less. Closing, not as bad as most say but not very far off either.
    Expand
  16. Mar 7, 2013
    1
    How to write 150 words on this game? AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE AWFUL TERRIBLE
  17. Feb 19, 2013
    2
    I wonder how much SEGA paid EGM to rate this awful game a 90. Anyway this game is really bad. Screen tear is noticeable and the graphics is bad. If you're an Alien/s fan probably get this on PC with all the mods, which I guess wouldn't save this unfinished mess
  18. Jun 20, 2013
    4
    Ok for 20 mins until I realized how bad the A.I. was. The NPC don't support you adequately wait till you get to the 1st Boss vs Loader Overall ACM. Aliens tactics are so facepalm compared to the AvP 2010. The worst Alien game I have ever played to date. I probably have more fun standing in the trading queue than going for a replay.
  19. Feb 19, 2013
    1
    This game feels like it was made five years ago, and in game development timelines that is an eternity. The animation of the characters is stilted and jerky. I actually couldn't believe my eyes when the main character is cutting down someone attached to the wall and the 'sparks' are just round circles. What?! I hope that's some strange effect of having a DX10 graphics card because otherwise that's just embarrassing. I lost interest in this game very quickly indeed. The aliens rush at you either faster than you can see or they creep like they're lethargic, presumably so you can actually get a shot at them before having to batter 'e' or 'v' to try and fight them off. All in all, a very poor game. Expand
  20. Feb 23, 2013
    3
    A Complete putrid POS. What the hell were they thinking?! Awful story, horrible graphics, and inept AI left this game in shambles. Multiplayer was a joke. And a bad joke at that. And it being an 'Aliens' game where the hell were they for the first 3 missions out of the 11? It is an Aliens game right? So why does it turn out to be a CoD? Who sabotaged this game?! I want to know who did it! But the game's environment and sound samples where dead on. But those two things could not save this game. Its a complete mess. Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    What else is their to say? Many reviewers and fans have panned this game to death, in a such a quick succession. But I feel, as avid Alien fan, I need to have a say in regarding this title and that it is one of the biggest disappointments in gaming history. I have never known a game can suck so much with such an interesting premise. The enemy AI was awful, including ally AI, which frustrated the living hell out of me. They get in your way, fail to assist you in any way or my personnel favorite, being shot multiple times in the back. I'm no snob by any means, but the games looks awful in animation and graphically. The story was average until the last few missions when you have to rescue a prisoner and his reveal is complete an utter and makes no sense. I wanted to like this game, honestly I did, because I didn't want to fall on the back wagon in bashing this game, in fact I wanted to give it an average rating, maybe a 5 or 6 because there were a couple of levels I enjoyed, the soundtrack was amazing which added that nesscary atmosphere that made the Aliens films so successful and certain enviorments were not bad, plus multiplayer can be quite fun albeit rather frustrating when playing as the Xenomorphs and online 4 player co op is also not to bad. But it wasn't enough to salvage this farce. Gearbox and Sega have a lot to answer for and if your still curious about playing this game, I suggest a rental or if your alien fan and feel the need to check it out, then wait for a price drop. But in my honest opinion, don't buy it. Collapse
  22. Mar 6, 2013
    0
    Don't buy this game. Shocking A.I, rubbish story, it looks sounds and plays like an old PS1 game....and that isn't even fair to most PS1 games. I am a fan of the Alien movies, but this just wipes it arse with all the best bits from the movies. This game was 7 years in production and it is a disgrace to the industry. Should never been allowed to come out. Do yourself a favour and stay away.
  23. Mar 20, 2013
    2
    Stay away from Aliens even if you are a fan of the franchise. I made the mistake thinking it'd be fun but the game is terrible. The campaign is just 5 hrs of mindless shooting, cutscenes look like they were made on last gen consoles, your AI team mates never shut the hell up and are uninteresting and the ending was awful. Co-op makes the experience even worse as you are constantly shoving your friends into walls because nearly 75% of the game will take place in incredibly tight corridors. Multiplayer is also a bummer as playing as the xenomorphs is clunky and awful and the online community will probably be dead in a couple of months or less. What you see in the trailers and vidocs is not what is in the game. It is a lie as the game was outsourced to developer TimeGate and Gearbox only worked on portions of the multiplayer. This is arguably one of the worst games I have ever played and no one should suffer through this excuse of a game. Save your $60 or just play the AVP videogame that came out a couple years ago. Yes, even that game is better the Colonial Marines Expand
  24. Feb 25, 2013
    0
    I wasted $60 of my hard earn money and 30 mins of my life.I was expecting this game for many years so it comes up with such a great disappointment. The kills don't look realistic, there are motion glitches on the aliens, repetitive game play, terrible multiplayer system. The thing i enjoyed was a big alien startling me and being cautious at the sewers, of course reviving the places of the movie; but after that, its predecessor aliens vs predator, its way much better than this huge mistake that will sink the aliens franchise Expand
  25. Feb 27, 2013
    4
    For apparent "fans" of the franchise, they really did drop the ball with this big heap of crap. leaving graphics alone and moving to mechanics it's terrible.. ai is awful gameplay feels sluggish and you don't at any point in time, feel like you're in the aliens universe..
  26. Feb 13, 2013
    0
    Look, this is the game that Duke Nukem Forever has nightmares about. It looks mediocre, it plays mediocre, it's developed by a mediocre company, and we didn't want mediocre. It doesn't do the films justice, it's just stupid and a huge letdown.
  27. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    For the past 6-7 years, I've been waiting for this game to come out since it was first announced. I was amazed by the gameplay demo from E3. It looked genuinely terrifying. Marines were getting picked off from the shadows by lurking xenomorphs, the lighting was dark and atmospheric, you got to wield iconic weapons and equipment to fight off the monstrosities. The whole thing looked amazing.

    But then the game came out and I got the biggest kick in the nuts from any game I have ever played in my life. The final product is in no way similar to that magnificent demo we saw. In fact, it was much worse and practically unfinished. The textures are horribly outdated by at least 6 years. The adaptive lighting we saw was nowhere near as impressive as the demos. Even the AI suffered horribly. Xenomorphs mindlessly Zerg rush you rather than sneak around in the shadows, and your AI controlled teammates are practically useless. There's no real details on what happened, but the fact remains that Gearbox has somehow managed to rush a game that has been in development for over 6 years.

    To say that this game is buggy is an understatement. I've been left wondering if anyone has even playtested this prior to release. Probably the most damning of problems with this game is how easy it is to lose your progress in this game. Rather than creating a save file onto the hard drive like ever other game on the 360, ACM instead saves directly to your cache. This means that whenever you start the game without signing in to your gamertag, you lose everything. Campaign progress, multiplayer ranks and unlocks, everything, gone. You'd think it could be avoided by simply turning off auto-run and being careful to sign in before playing, but you'd be wrong. Mandatory updates for the game automatically sign you out before installation and are effectively a death sentence for your saves.

    I seriously hate calling anything a "COD clone", but what else can I say? Guns have attachments and different skins and half of the game is spent on fighting Weyland Yutani mercenaries. That's right, you fight other humans in an Aliens game. Sure, I expected Wey-Yu to make an appearance in the story at some point, but these guys show up on the second level and utterly destroy any sense of fear that the xenos built up in the introductory level. There's hardly any tension in the game as you carry all of your weapons on your back. So, whenever one gun is low on ammo, you just switch it out for another until you find more ammo for it.

    You'd think that since the game's story was approved by Fox as being the canonical sequel to Aliens and Alien 3, that the writers would go all out to make sure the story was amazing, right? Sadly that's not the case. Indeed, most of the game's plot seems like an excuse to just revisit locations from the movies. ACM hardly answers any questions from the movies, nor does it add anything exciting. They had even brought back a supposedly dead character from Aliens and handwaved the details of his survival with him literally saying, "That's a story for another time". If that's not a copout in story writing then I don't know what is. Even the characters aren't that interesting. They could be amusing at times due to their banter, but there's not much for the player to get attached to.

    The multiplayer is probably the only thing that's genuinely worthwhile with this game. Playing with your friends in versus mode is great fun. While playing as Marines, you organize together a survival strategy, and as Xenos, you work together to harass and hunt down the marines. It kind of like running a haunted house and feels familiar with playing as an special infected in Left 4 Dead. Fun aside, the multiplayer also suffers from it's share of problems. Just like the campaign, bugs are prevalent and quite common. Also, lag is a major factor that can severely break the balance of the game and make it almost impossible to play properly.

    All in all, I'd say rent the game if you are still interested in playing it. But if you insist on buying, please wait for the price to drop and more patches to be released. Because at this point in time, this game needs a lot more work to be worth considering spending money on. From what I'm seeing Gearbox is still working on more patches to clear up the bugs. They have already tweaked the AI, but probably won't do much to improve the graphics on the 360. If I notice any fixes worthy of changing my score, I'll edit as I deem appropriate. But for now, my score stands as is.
    Expand
  28. Feb 13, 2013
    4
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is a colossal disappointment. But I shouldn't of expected more seeing as how it is an outsourced game from the always reliable(NO) Gearbox Software, with only one game that is decent, borderlands. Anyway, they up with Duke Nukem, and they up just as bad and sadly, possibly worse with Aliens. Jesus, why can't there be a decent Alien franchise game? Would it be that hard to put some effort into a game and not use last generation graphics? or perhaps at least ATTEMPT to immerse us in the Aliens world? well, hopefully this is the last batch of from Gearbox for a while. Expand
  29. Feb 12, 2013
    1
    Nothing short of Call of Duty: Aliens. -Terrible AI -NPCS are unaware of whats happening -No scares, no frightening moments that you would expect from this game -HOLD DOWN TRIGGER TO KILL MINDLESS ENEMIES -Lazy Level Design, only 5hours. I repeat 5hours. -Lazy writing -BS ending -2 maps in multiplayer. enough said. This is another case of a developer trying to F*ck gamers and fanboys of a well beloved franchise, putting in little effort and hoping to cash in on poor helpless fans. a 5 hour campaign is disgraceful for a 60.00 pricepoint. What's even more insulting is the 29.99 "season pass"
    Thanks for giving us a completely barren multiplayer experience and expect us to hand over the dough. I don't think so. F*ck you gearbox.THIS GAME IS GARBAGE AND DESERVES A 2/10
    Expand
  30. Mar 18, 2013
    2
    I had high hopes for Aliens: Colonial Marines, but like most people who played this game, I am deeply disappointed. The story is so bare bones it does not even matter if it is cannon or not. The graphics have a numerous amount of problems like screen tearing, slow down, and low resolution textures. I also experience a lot of glitches will playing, sometimes it would shut the whole game down. The fellow marines that are controlled by the AI are terrible and tend to get in the way a lot. The enemy AI is not any better. Xenomorphs do not act like their counterpart in the films, running right in front of you waiting to be shot. The 3 boss fights are also a walk in the park, giving the player no challenge. The gunplay is alright, the weapons blend well into the universe, and the shooting is not half bad. The co-op campaign is useless as another player is unnecessary and does not add to the experience. The multiplayer has one good mode that is worth playing. The Escape mode is similar to Left 4 Dead but with enemy controlled aliens. The other multiplayer modes feel unbalanced and there is only 4 maps for each mode. Aliens: Colonial Marines might have a few easter eggs for die hard Aliens fans, but besides that I would avoid this game, especially if you are a fan of the franchise. Expand
  31. Feb 18, 2013
    0
    What else is their to say? Many reviewers and fans have panned this game to death, in a such a quick succession. But I feel, as avid Alien fan, I need to have a say in regarding this title and that it is one of the biggest disappointments in gaming history. I have never known a game can suck so much with such an interesting premise. The enemy AI was awful, including ally AI, which frustrated the living hell out of me. They get in your way, fail to assist you in any way or my personnel favorite, being shot multiple times in the back. I'm no snob by any means, but the games looks awful in animation and graphically. The story was average until the last few missions when you have to rescue a prisoner and his reveal is complete an utter and makes no sense. I wanted to like this game, honestly I did, because I didn't want to fall on the back wagon in bashing this game, in fact I wanted to give it an average rating, maybe a 5 or 6 because there were a couple of levels I enjoyed, the soundtrack was amazing which added that nesscary atmosphere that made the Aliens films so successful and certain enviorments were not bad, plus multiplayer can be quite fun albeit rather frustrating when playing as the Xenomorphs and online 4 player co op is also not to bad. But it wasn't enough to salvage this farce. Gearbox and Sega have a lot to answer for and if your still curious about playing this game, I suggest a rental or if your alien fan and feel the need to check it out, then wait for a price drop. But in my honest opinion, don't buy it. Collapse
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 47
  2. Negative: 22 out of 47
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    40
    There was a lot of hope for Aliens: Colonial Marines but it seems the gaming world is let down with another attempt to make a successful film tie in. The review should give you a few good reasons why the game suffers but other aspects such as the overused catchphrase ‘Stay frosty!’ and anticlimactic ending are a couple more to add to the list and this is why you should wait until this game gets thrown into the bargain bin before you purchase.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    20
    I'm not that witty, but I am pretty vulgar—as a result, all I can say is that if Aliens: Colonial Marines had been fished out of a Marine's colon during emergency surgery it wouldn't surprise me in the least.
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    62
    An unremarkable FPS plagued by dim AI and repetitive set-pieces. [Apr 2013, p.68]