Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Aliens: Colonial Marines, players are part of a United States Colonial Marine squad and must prepare to face an Aliens assault more intense and horrific than ever before. Driven by an original story penned by renowned writers Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, Aliens: Colonial MarinesIn Aliens: Colonial Marines, players are part of a United States Colonial Marine squad and must prepare to face an Aliens assault more intense and horrific than ever before. Driven by an original story penned by renowned writers Bradley Thompson and David Weddle, Aliens: Colonial Marines retains the atmospheric look and feel of the original films while leveraging next-generation technology to create an entirely new interactive Aliens experience. Packing classic Aliens weaponry ranging from pulse rifles to flamethrowers as well as brand-new equipment and skills all within a squad-based combat system, players become an elite United States Colonial Marine. Featuring claustrophobic environments, a brooding soundtrack, and a multitude of surprises and shocks, players battle against menacing alien hordes in levels that include the stark interiors of the abandoned Sulaco and unique environments created specifically for the game. Aliens: Colonial Marines features a story driven single-player mode and an all-new four player co-op mode allowing players to share the chilling experience with three friends. In co-op mode, each player assumes the persona of a United States Colonial Marine and have a distinct role to play in the completion of every mission. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 47
  2. Negative: 22 out of 47
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    90
    Like most successful license-based games, Aliens: Colonial Marines is much more than a loving homage; it serves as one of the most robust story-driven co-op experiences to date. The concept definitely has room to grow, but as maiden voyages go, Colonial Marines is a clear winner.
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    64
    It’s a shame that a title seven years in the making could result in something so lackluster. Aliens: Colonial Marines had the foundations of a solid game, involving writers (David Weddle and Bradley Thompson from Battlestar Galactica fame) and a talented artist (Syd Mead from Blade Runner, Aliens and Tron). It even had the right voice talent bringing back Lance Henriksen as a Bishop-model clone...But it appears that the elongated, ‘stop-start’ development ultimately resulted in an inconsistent and disappointing final result.
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    With solid shooting mechanics, well-designed environments and a tense atmosphere, it’s a fine first-person shooter, but its repetitiveness, glitches, substandard graphics and insubstantial story make it a far cry from anything close to matching the prestige of James Cameron’s beloved film.
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    I haven’t been this disappointed in a game in a long, long time. Not only does the campaign welch on its opportunity to create interesting and additive content in the Aliens universe, but the multiplayer is languid, broken, and laughably frustrating. Colonial Marines plays it as safe as possible and still can’t manage to copy successfully proven ideas.
  5. 44
    Fundamentally, it is flawed with poor design and weak content. Colonial Marines feels dated, and fails to capture any essence of what an Alien game should be. Though Aliens: Colonial Marines has been crafted with the fans in mind, it just needed a stronger approach in its design, accompanied by some serious polish.
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    40
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is a slap in the face to anyone who put the game on their Most Wanted list at any point since 2007. It’ll be remembered for a long time, but for all the wrong reasons. What a shame. I just feel sorry for those who bought the Season Pass… since there probably won’t be a Season now.
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    20
    A disaster worthy of the Nostromo if you allow me to reference.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 172
  2. Negative: 92 out of 172
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    Definitely a marmite game but as a fan of the series I can say that I loved this game, the environments from the film, the xenos themselvesDefinitely a marmite game but as a fan of the series I can say that I loved this game, the environments from the film, the xenos themselves and little attentions to detail such as Bishops legs, Newts doll etc all make this a fans dream. The gunplay is essentially the same as any other FPS, but why fix what isn't broken.

    For everyone who is saying the game sucks because the graphics are poor, yes the game doesn't match the graphical strengths of Far Cry 3, Dead Space 3 or Crysis 3 but that shouldn't matter good graphics don't make a good game. Also every single environment that features in both the film and game is almost perfectly recreated inch by inch, does it look photo realistic? No, but at least it shows that Gearbox put the effort in to make good environments.

    Overall a lot of people will definitely hate this game, but personally I love it. If I had to some up this game in ten words I would say "Another glorious day in the Corps. I love the Corps."
    Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    It really is a shame that this game didn't get the polish it deserved because that's pretty much all its missing. I grew up with the firstIt really is a shame that this game didn't get the polish it deserved because that's pretty much all its missing. I grew up with the first two Aliens movies and if you're like me in this respect you'll probably enjoy this game. You'll forgive it for glitchy graphics, odd sound now and again and some screen tear because it'll bring you back to those first films, Newt, Ripley, Hicks, motion trackers and the scream of a xenomorph.

    To enjoy this game you have to be invested in the Alien Universe. That doesn't excuse the unfinished nature of the product but the poor reviews shouldn't put Aliens fans off playing this game.
    Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    This is going to be one of those "love or hate" type games, which to me is a complete surprise. I will admit I am a huge fan of the AlienThis is going to be one of those "love or hate" type games, which to me is a complete surprise. I will admit I am a huge fan of the Alien universe and I actually think Gearbox have done a good job of making this game. The story is quite enjoyable and even though there is the occasional animation glitch etc overall I think the game is really polished. You can tell that the people who designed this game like the Aliens lore too. There are some nice and subtle throw backs to Aliens. Co-op is good fun and holds up well although the teleporting back together when people split up too much is a bit of a let down. I'm really enjoying the VS multiplayer as there are plenty of decent unlocks and it is done a lot better than AvP's efforts. Controlling the Xenomorphs is now easier thanks to a 3rd person view.

    I do think the campaign is pretty short but having split screen 2 player co-op, plus 4 player online co-op and 5 vs 5 VS multiplayer makes up for the short campaign. I think this is a must if you are an Aliens fan and perhaps take a look first before deciding if you are not.
    Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2013
    4
    I rented Aliens before I would spend another sixty dollars for a game I wasn't too sure about. I am glad I did because I wouldn't have spentI rented Aliens before I would spend another sixty dollars for a game I wasn't too sure about. I am glad I did because I wouldn't have spent thirty dollars on this game. While I did have a little bit of fun with a few hours of multiplayer matches the overall quality of game was not fully up to the sixty dollar price tag. As a gamer I am telling you to wait until this game is cheaper or to rent it like I did. Collapse
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    Not sure what I can say that hasn't been said already. Maybe this game needed another 6 years of development. I could forgive the horribleNot sure what I can say that hasn't been said already. Maybe this game needed another 6 years of development. I could forgive the horrible graphics if everything else wasn't just as bad. The player animations are terrible. The lip synching is almost laughable. The AI(both friendly and enemy) has to be the worst part of this game....almost to the point of making it unplayable. The single player portion of this game is a 3/10. I'd give it a 2/10 if it wasn't an Aliens game.

    The multiplayer is really the only playable part of this game. Taking out the game's horrible AI and replacing it with human player AI shows signs of how great the game could have been. Unfortunately the multiplayer suffers from it's own set of problems and is unable to save the game overall. Matchmaking is pretty bad, as is the lag once you do get into a match. There are some pretty big balancing issues as well. Also, when playing as an alien the controls are inconsistent at best. There are only 4 modes to play as well, and although there is some customization and unlocks, after playing for a couple hours you will see the multiplayer portion of the game is not very deep at all.

    Don't make the mistake I did by buying this at full price. If you are a diehard Aliens fan either rent it, or wait for a price drop, which won't take long. This game is on the fast track to the bargain bin.
    Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2013
    2
    I think its worth a rent, just to have a few laughs at how bad it is. Then after the laughs fade to boredom, you can simply return it. This isI think its worth a rent, just to have a few laughs at how bad it is. Then after the laughs fade to boredom, you can simply return it. This is a game that should never have seen the light of day; literally, there is no reason for this game to exist. If they released it as an Arcade game, for under $15, I would be willing to give it a 5/10, but as a full priced game, Gearbox is laughing in your face. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2013
    0
    If you've played AVP, then you'll remember that the Marine campaign wasn't that great and not very entertaining. Well imagine playing as thatIf you've played AVP, then you'll remember that the Marine campaign wasn't that great and not very entertaining. Well imagine playing as that the entire game. What you get is This is more than this is a station. Over 9000 glitches, bland graphics, and non challenging enemies, this makes me face palm at the entire Alien franchise. I borrowed this game from a friend and I still felt ripped off. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this game. Not even if it's free. If you want to play a good game with Xenomorph's and Predators, try AVP Expand

See all 172 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.