User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 233

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    A well-made installment to the Alien & Predator franchise that pays respect to the fans and the series.
  2. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this game very much. Being a long time fan of the Alien movies, and the previous games for PC, I had to buy this game. All 3 campaigns were great. I enjoyed the Marines and the Aliens one the best. Most people would probably disagree, but thats just my opinion. The multiplayer was fun, however i felt that the predator was a bit overpowered. In the end though, i think the game deserved a better rating than the 64 that the critics gave it. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    While this game is not as strong as its predecessors, there is still plenty of fun to be had here, unfortunately the single player campaigns are all far too short and linear to hold your attention for long, but at least the multiplayer makes up for that by being a very solid offering indeed. If you tire of just killing people with guns then you can take a Predator or Xenomorph for a whirl. The game is not for everyone, and Alien versus Predator fans will certainly get more out of it, but you could do worse than give it a try. Expand
  4. Oct 15, 2011
    3
    When it comes in entertainment AvP takes the absurdity of boring action, to the broken gameplay . I never thought that being a Predator could be so frustrating, the gameplay is broken and fractured . Don't even ask how the Alien part plays , it's just , bad. Meanwhile the Marine version could be a passable terror in the corridors , but after all thats good in short heigh . This game , turned off me in being a believer of the series . Expand
  5. May 24, 2011
    10
    I have enjoyed this game. Yes, its not the most polished, the graphics are average. however, the sound is very atmospheric as you would expect with Alien type connections. the gameplay is different providing a different slant on the first person shooter. Playing and the predator and alien is a real gameplay stroke. it makes the gameplay refreshingly different abd a change from the current alternatives on the market. The alien is incredibly difficult to control properly, not because of awkward controls but due to the games and changes in orientation to move on walls and ceiling. It takes a while for you brain to truely be at ease in this format. the game play is frustrating, because death can occur very often, particularly on the marine missions. I await a further game, but with expanded campaigns and a bit more faith in the game to generate sales. I believe with the predator and alien name, they are on to a potential blockbuster game, great game, clearly undervalued by the expert critics. it has the X Factor in a game, could have been a truely great game with a bigger buget and a bit more faith. Graphics 7.5 - average but the alien movement is excellent, Predator visual excellent,
    Sound 9.5 - just like the film, great
    gameplay - 8.0, short but the gameplay varied and different, Which is a good thing, yes. I believe gameplay is hard, which may deter some game fans,
    presentation 7.0, could have had a afew more option, video etc
    online N/A - dont play online
    Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    Campaign is same style as before, each race has their own campaign which are now really short, each takin' 1-2 hours to finish. Predator has finaly a very good campaign where you must use stealth if you want to survive. Marine campaign is a medicore horror which is disappointing, because other AvP games had great marine campaigns where there really was moments where I scared. Xenomorph has a decent campaign, once again. Characters turns too slowly. It's annoying, because in multiplayer, I got killed some times only, because xenomorph turned too slowly so I could avoid finishing move. Fighting system is now like rock-sciccors and paper. Light attack beats heavy attacks, heavy attack beats block and block beats light attack. This would work other wise fine, but these attacks hits enemy automatically which is really annoying if you're trying to step back trying to avoid enemy attacks. You can also do jump attacks with xenomorph and predator. Funny thing about the marine in close combat is, that you can defeat predators and xenomorphs easily as you can block light attacks and shoot the enemy before he can hit with his heavy attack. Weapons are also dissapointing. You have only 4 weapons for Predator (Plasma cannon, disc which doesn't lock-on anymore, spear which you can't use as a close combat weapon, mines), no spear gun, no net shootig gun, no plasma pistol means predator fans will get dissapointed. Marine doesn't also have minigun and smart gun doesn't have same sound as in the movies. Online multiplayer features same old death matches, survivors and predator hunt game modes. Survivor is named now infection, because there is survivor game mode where you must survive againts xenomorph hordes. Easy, but fun to play game mode. Unfortunely, it takes ages to gather players to play with in ranked matches. What you unlock from playing those? Skins, but unfortunely, unlike in avp2 where each skin had their own weapon arsenal and powers, these has nothing special powers and weapon arsenals. Weapons are also obtained by searching them over the map like in the old times. Aliens vs Predator is a good game, but it can't be compared to the early AvP games. Online multiplayer is also dying so I don't really recommend buying this game. Expand
  7. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Campaign mode for the Aliens and Predators are cool, however you should stay away from marine mode. This is a beast game that's also cool to play on live, and that has awesome graphics.
  8. Sep 25, 2010
    8
    The graphics are a little bit dated, and yes the marines can block the Alien/Xenomorph attacks and a few sounds ands animations aren't right (mainly marine) the predator and Alien gameplay make up for a the parts of the game where the marine didn't do it. Overall very nice game
  9. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    All what I have to say... Underrated.

    Since this have to be at least I will tell you. The Multiplayer is a bomb, it is balanced (if all 3 species are in-game) and it is very fun...

    Aliens feel very animalistic, Predators feel like hunters and humans feel like, you know, overwhelmed.

    The campaign is alright, but I recomend you to stick with the multiplayer.
  10. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Any gamer who enjoys stealth type game-play, that involves turning invisible or crawling on walls, in the darkness to stalk your prey, is going to have a hell of a gory, good time with this one. Fans of the movies should also enjoy this bloody, satisfying, Si-fi, adventure.
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    it is not bad, and for people that like shooting games it will be really enjoable, but i simply dont like shooting games and i probably never will. i certainly think that it is good that you can play as marine, alien and predator as it gives you a few different views to the story. not a masterpiece, but it is still acceptable.
  12. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    My final score is a 9.5 for the following reasons: Human gameplay is hard and boring Predator gameplay is confusing High learning curves for the alien species gameplay Game is too short Other that those it's definitely in my top 3 favorite Xbox games, I don't care about the average graphics, the gameplay is awesome, my fav was the alien storyline, it just seemed a lot funner than the rest, AND IT WAS! It was too short, I beat the alien mode in only 2 hours, but that was one of the funnest 2 hours of my life! I definitely recommend this game to any fan of the series or player of Xbox! Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    Now don't want to get any hate from you AvP fans but I thought this game was a bit disapointing. So you have three campaigns Aliens, Predator and the Marines. The Aliens campaign easily had the weakest story and the control were bit annoying and it was the shortest out of the three. But grabing your enemeys and eatch them scream befor you cut of their or head bitting them was great to see and had fun stealth killing the poor marines as well, but still was the worst campaign Predator was alright. Enjoyed the frist mission and felt like a predator, but rest were alright. Completely wrong enviorments for the rest of the missions (well maybe except for the temple one). Felt a bit too OP and did not die once when playing as predator. Liked the Predator gaggets tho and had fun using them for the 1 and a half long campaign (bit longer then alien one). The Marine campaign as easily the best one. I had a great expeience as the surviving Marine. First two missions were great and felt like I was in the films. Then third mission was good, having the first encounter with the predator then it turns into you shooting robots and just ruined it for me. Still had great time when I was not killing robots and I thoght Marine campaign was the best one, and is the longest campaign out of the three. Multiplayer is not great, but sometimes is fun but predator is OP. Overall disapointing, but without Marine campaign this game would have gotten a 4/10. Alien vs Predator 6.2/10 Expand
  14. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    Underrated game the marine survival horror campaign is the strongest part of the game. Being a Predator is the coolest part of the game, and then the Alien campaign with the wall hugging feature is an art to be mastered but sill great evil fun nonetheless.
  15. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    For fans of the series only. Having campaigns for the three different species did successfully result in three small First Person games, each with a different feel.
    The marine campaign was very scary and delivered the feeling of being hunted by aliens that could be anywhere. The predator campaign provided the satisfaction of hunting humans whilst also being vulnerable to aliens, whilst
    the alien campaign was the easier, purely because there were no other aliens hunting you.!

    I wish they had made a better use of the score system by linking it to achievements as it made stealth kills pointless.
    Expand
  16. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    Avp is a game that gets your hopes up only to balls it up by too obvious mistakes. The good points are the soundtrack, the moments that remain faithful to the original movies, and the fun bits which really bring out the campaigns. For example, it is brilliant to be an alien species with inhuman powers,running up walls or jumping up ledges. Gorily tearing your enemies heads off is also fun. At the start of each campaign it is promising, as you really feal like part of the films, but all atmoshpere is lost later on as the game becomes a shoot and run/ hack and slash / arena boss fight game. Why the developer just threw all of the atmoshpere he had away like that is lost on me, other than the fact that they were just lazy. Overall the campaigns are fun and is at first a healthy dose of alien and pred action for all of the fans dissapointed by the recent movies. But then again, due to a mixture of tedious controls, and lazy level designs it becomes somewhat a dissapiontment itself.
    The multiplayer is fun, at least, but it really brings about the problems from the campaign onto a competetive match. The controls are weak and often unresponsive or overresponsive. This really messes games up for people, and they seem to especially disfavour the aliens movement, which is also its only advantage. The matchmaking means you will spend more time waiting for a game than playing one and the mechanics turn standerd death matches into a line of people "stealth" killing eachother. This means walking behind some one and pressing x. Another problem i find is the crazy imbalance in species. It seems that despite ist rock paper scissors approach to fighting the game goes by a predator beats all format too, not to mention that the marine can beat an alien easily in melee. The predator has an arsenal of overpowered weapons, each one basicly a one hit kill. Combi stick is often used to just throw it at an alien while in melee, and boom its gone. The plasma caster automatically locks on an one shot kills anything, ideal for campers. The marine also has a habit of blocking and beating an alien to death (how?!), but the predator is still the easy option, with the marine and alien about equal. This imbalance in species and stealth killing can really take the point out of the block- counter style of fighting.
    Some modes stand ouy, and infestation, pred hunt and survivor all finally use the species strengths in the right way. The combat, despite its faults is fun and provides a chance to employ more skill in battle than an ordinary shooty game. The online is enjoyable, but beware of the faults in it. To a fan of the series this is a good buy, as it will give you a bit more alien/ predator action, which comes across in a classic movie style way for some parts. Combat is interesting snd the gamestyle is one of kind, however it needs tweaking to iron out some annoying problems. It has so much potential, but is let down by lazy issues.
    Expand
  17. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    I was really looking forward to the release of this game back in 2010 and was very satisfied with what it had to offer. It is awesome how it has three campaigns to play and how all three of them cross paths with one another. It is a very entertaining game with quite a good story for each character. Online is also fun to play as the game is unique where you can have all three species face off against each other as one of the game modes. However, i wish the campaigns were all longer because you can finish them really fast and there needs to be more people playing the online multiplayer. Expand
  18. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    It seems the AvP franchise will almost always be stuck in mediocrity. AvP as a whole is OK. The Marine section is done pretty well and play more or less exactly the way you expect is would, like a FPS in the Aliens universe. Both the Alien & Predator campaigns are really fun to play, just a real shame they are not given the same amount of attention as the Marine campaign. In my opinion, this is really its biggest let down. The game is called Alien vs Predator, yet the Marine gets the focus? A real shame. This game could have been allot more than it was, but instead decided to settle with a boring unfinished FPS. If it had not been for the Alien & Predator Missions I would have told people to avoid this game, but they are decent and give the game some redeeming qualities. Overall: A slightly above average title that is at best a rental. Expand
  19. May 14, 2013
    7
    After years of waiting a new game in AvP universe was released and there had been a reason to expect this game, because it was developed by the team that years earlier had given us first AvP for PC.
    Commonly to the other games in the series singleplayer campaign is divided into three separate parts. Each one gives unique gameplay and original story. The game provides us with much gore and
    very good animations that make you want to get more into the game (the one I remember most is alien holding a marine so that facehugger could jump on his face).
    Storyline provides us with some new stuff that had never been shown in either movies or games.
    At release date the game looked very good, sound effects were true to the genre.
    I never tried multiplayer, so after completing singleplayer part there was nothing else for me. Unfortunately, singleplayer left nothing that could make a solid game worth replaying. "Aliens vs. Predator" is not original in any way, but somehow I would recommend it to anyone who likes games and AvP universe. If you don't expect much originality, you will not be disapointed.
    Expand
  20. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    Aliens vs. Predator has been a cool concept ever since it hit the big screen a few years ago. The only problem every time these two alien species clash, it does turn out to be the best. The plot is similar to the first movie. Dealing with the Weyland Corporation and the Xenomorphs breaking lose and the predators hunting them down, while the marines are just caught up in the middle. There are three different campaigns: marines, xenomorphs, and predators. The marine campaign is basically a Call of Duty clone with a few scares here and there. The Xeno campaign is sort of a stealth game, as you sneak around in the dark taking out enemies. The predator campaign also deals with stealth, but instead of using dark corners you use the iconic weapons seen in the films. All three campaigns are solid and they connect at a few places, so it does not matter what order you play them in. The multiplayer is actually the best part of the game. When all three species are fighting each other it becomes really fun. All the maps seem well balanced, but the predators seem to have the edge as they are a bit overpowered. In the end Aliens vs.predator is a solid game that might not represent the iconic creatures well, but you will still have some fun. Expand
  21. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    Alien Vs. Predator is a fun game that suffers from some misdirection. The entire single player portion, i guess it's fair to say, is only average. It only gives you a taste, or a demo of a couple of senarios from the perspective of the 3 species. The story is weak, each campaign is short individually. The marines seem to be only species with a decent, make sense, story attached to it. All other species, aliens especially, seem to only be reliving some of the battles the marines faced from there perspective. The endings for alien predator also didn't make much sense, not really ending the storylines. Gameplay is enjoyable. Playing as a marine is like playing as a merc in Splinter Cell. Aliens are the spies. Playing as them in SP wasn't really fun, but MP changes that, as you have the upper hand, in knowing where everyone is, it makes you feel very powerful. Predator is a power character, overpowered in MP however. Equiping lock on laser cannons, powerful melee stealth attack capabilities, not to mention camoflague. Multiplayer is a blast to play, but definitely unbalanced. Predator is easy to use beats all, but a good marine turns the tables on him. It's still very fun to play. Overall, AVP is only an average game, some nice gameplay is plagued by balance issues, the story could've been longer more plot focused, still, I liked playing this game. Review Score: 52/100 Expand
  22. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this very much. It has nice graphics, good gameplay (especially as Predator), and probably ONE of the best games involving killing. The weapons are sweet! Tail spike as Xenomorph, claws as Xenomorph, wrist blades as Predator, plasma cannon as Predator, combi stick as Predator, smart disc as predator. And also some effective guns for the Marines, like the Shotgun. But the reason why I didn't give it a 10/10 is because of it's difficult gameplay: this game can be very difficult. Even when you follow the arrows, it can still be hard to find where you are supposed to go. And another reason is because your health can drain quite quickly (though you can heal as predator). Expand
  23. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game quite a bit, the campaign being split into three gives the game longevity, and gives it much more variety in the levels and I highly enjoyed playing as the three...still now I play multiplayer and co-op with friends and we have a good laugh when playing together and making up our own game modes :D
  24. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    The game is fun, despite it's failings in certain areas. It is fun to play the single player as all 3 species. Graphics are dated, but the weapons feel real and the story isn't too bad. Multiplayer/challenge maps weren't too bad if nothing original. Once again, not worth the original retail price, but at it's current $20 price range, it is still worth it for the single player missions.
  25. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    AvP is a solid game, especially if you're an Alien or Predator fan. The human campaign is creepy, the Predator campaign is exciting and the Alien is exciting. Also the graphics are better than Colonial Marines.
    The multiplayer is fun (Unless you're a marine) but sadly no one really plays it anymore.
    There are problems though. For some reason Marines can block melee attacks. There are
    STILL a lot of falling through floor glitches. The Alien and Predator Melee attacks feel more like punches. The stealth gameplay is sometimes broken. And the stories are almost completely forgettable. Also near the end you fight humans for some reason?
    So yeah this only gets a recommendation if you like the Alien and Predator franchises.
    Expand
  26. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    The human campaign isn't anything special, but the Predator and Xenomorph campaign's are fun and one of a kind. Challenging and interesting, this game definitely pleases me and sticks out of the crowd. Worth a go.
  27. May 29, 2014
    7
    3 campaigns who are all quite enjoyable. Visuals are decent, story is decent, and the gameplay is good. If you are looking for a good singeplayer shooter, this may be for you. If you are looking for a good multiplayer shooter, this may also be yours. Multiplayer is pretty good and a lot of fun.
  28. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, I am a huge fan of the Alien universe. I absolutely love this game! I know the graphics aren't the best, but the experience of being a xenomorph and playing the different stages of one are pretty satisfyingly and brilliantly done in this game. Also, you'd think that being a predator would sound a little off-putting at first (thats what I thought), but it was pretty good as well. Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 64
  2. Negative: 3 out of 64
  1. Like an antithesis to Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, it proves that two great flavors don't always taste great together. [Issue#203, p.87]
  2. 85
    A game that's going to stoke the hearts of anyone who ever fell in love with the original films – which is likely anyone who's ever picked up a game pad.
  3. The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them.