User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 238

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TonyM
    Mar 3, 2010
    9
    I don't know what critics want, but this game is great. I know, everyone will be disappointed with the ratings but this game is worth 8 or 9. The single-player campaign of Marines is great. Predator's campaign is good too, as Aliens are aliens they don't seem to have sense to tell a story :D. Anyway, this game is worth the money. Don't be disappointed with the ratings. I don't know what critics want, but this game is great. I know, everyone will be disappointed with the ratings but this game is worth 8 or 9. The single-player campaign of Marines is great. Predator's campaign is good too, as Aliens are aliens they don't seem to have sense to tell a story :D. Anyway, this game is worth the money. Don't be disappointed with the ratings. The multiplayer is quite different and superb actually. Buy it! Expand
  2. May 24, 2011
    10
    I have enjoyed this game. Yes, its not the most polished, the graphics are average. however, the sound is very atmospheric as you would expect with Alien type connections. the gameplay is different providing a different slant on the first person shooter. Playing and the predator and alien is a real gameplay stroke. it makes the gameplay refreshingly different abd a change from theI have enjoyed this game. Yes, its not the most polished, the graphics are average. however, the sound is very atmospheric as you would expect with Alien type connections. the gameplay is different providing a different slant on the first person shooter. Playing and the predator and alien is a real gameplay stroke. it makes the gameplay refreshingly different abd a change from the current alternatives on the market. The alien is incredibly difficult to control properly, not because of awkward controls but due to the games and changes in orientation to move on walls and ceiling. It takes a while for you brain to truely be at ease in this format. the game play is frustrating, because death can occur very often, particularly on the marine missions. I await a further game, but with expanded campaigns and a bit more faith in the game to generate sales. I believe with the predator and alien name, they are on to a potential blockbuster game, great game, clearly undervalued by the expert critics. it has the X Factor in a game, could have been a truely great game with a bigger buget and a bit more faith. Graphics 7.5 - average but the alien movement is excellent, Predator visual excellent,
    Sound 9.5 - just like the film, great
    gameplay - 8.0, short but the gameplay varied and different, Which is a good thing, yes. I believe gameplay is hard, which may deter some game fans,
    presentation 7.0, could have had a afew more option, video etc
    online N/A - dont play online
    Expand
  3. EnderS
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    Having finally played AVP, I have to disagree with my two favorite review sources. I am one of those people who has been waiting for the past two years since Game Informer first ran a cover on Aliens: Colonel Marines, for any news on the franchise's fate. While the alien controls are definitely hard to master, that was the allure in 1994, and the mechanic retains its distinction from Having finally played AVP, I have to disagree with my two favorite review sources. I am one of those people who has been waiting for the past two years since Game Informer first ran a cover on Aliens: Colonel Marines, for any news on the franchise's fate. While the alien controls are definitely hard to master, that was the allure in 1994, and the mechanic retains its distinction from other games today. The level of freedom of movement is, to some, disorienting, but it can also make for some of the most enjoyably mind warping fights I have ever seen. The new Last Man Standing mode in MP is also a standout and has kept all the horror and fun from the original. My only real beef is that most ancient of beefs, the need for splitscreen gameplay; this is especially painful in the new co-op marine mode. I think fans of the franchise will agree with me for the most part. Newcomers who are looking for a simple fps, however, will likely find GameSpot and Informer's reviews more helpful than IGN. Expand
  4. DavidB
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    I would give this a 9.5, but I rounded up. This is a great title, and regardless of its Metascore, this is a must play. This is one of those few times when the game reviewers get it wrong, and this is one of those times.
  5. EthanS
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Game is amazing, campaign is a tad bit short, but exciting. Infestation is brilliant, especially when on the pyramid map. Nothing scares you more than running down the hallway just to have the door come down right in front of you.
  6. KaiS.
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    It is the best game I've ever played.
  7. JimM
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent game, worth every penny. If your fan of the movies and what avp movies should have been, this is your game.
  8. PR
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Solid game, epic MP. Campaigns longer than cod and halo odst. Variety of multiplayer games rule.
  9. MathewD.
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    AVP is a great game that really stays true to it's franchise. While the graphics aren't the greatest, the single player is merely mediocre, the game has a wonderful multiplayer experience. Seven different game modes allows endless fun and allows you to enjoy the experience without feeling like it's getting repetitive. These game modes are Infestation, Predator Hunt, Death AVP is a great game that really stays true to it's franchise. While the graphics aren't the greatest, the single player is merely mediocre, the game has a wonderful multiplayer experience. Seven different game modes allows endless fun and allows you to enjoy the experience without feeling like it's getting repetitive. These game modes are Infestation, Predator Hunt, Death Match, Team Death Match, Mixed Death Match, Domination, Survival Mode Infestation is a new take to the classic zombie mode. Instead of facing off with one shambling zombie that slowly overwhelms your team as more and more players drop there's one fast moving and lethal alien. 17 marine players face off against a Xenomorph and if that Xenomorph scores a kill, more players join it's rank. What makes this, in my opinion, interesting than most games "Zombie" modes is that the Xenomorphs are extremely fast, aggressive, and can pop out of anywhere. This makes the fight for survival and to be the last man standing increasingly more difficult as more of your friends join their rank. Predator Hunt is another interesting take on the classic known as Juggernaut. If a marine scores a kill on the Predator he becomes the next Predator. What makes it different is that the Predator can cloak, has highly advanced weapons, and a good well placed mind can take out most of the marine team. Even more, he has a plasma shoulder canon that can score multiple kills at one, the classic combi stick that many players simply don't see coming and much more. Death Match, not much to say about this, it's easily in my opinion the weakest mode in the game. It allows you to pick one of the three species and go head to head in a free for all against one another. It's fun but I find it gets boring after all. It's also very anti-thematic compared to the other modes. Team Death Match on the other hand is very fun and here is where it differs from other fps games! You don't play with one team but THREE. It's humans/Aliens/Predators in an all out fight to out score the other team via kills. Six humans against Six Aliens against Six Predators for a total of 18 players. With the difference between the species fighting styles you never know what to expect. This definitely ranks up there as one of the top game modes. Mixed Team Death Match is the classic Team Death Match. Two sides fighting it out but the difference here is that each Team can be any species you want. I dislike this mode buuut I find that it's better than regular Death Match. It can be really fun if you have friends who refuse to play the same species as yourself in the other team death match and this way you can all get together with your preferred species and have fun. Domination is the same as other games. Try to hold several points to outscore the other team. Other people might be thrilled with this addition but I feel it could have been done without. It's not my cup of tea and there's not much to say about it. Finally there's survival mode. You and three friends group up to fight wave after wave of Xenomorphs. Each wave forcing you to be more frantic and desperate than the last as you try to stay alive and make it through. So why didn't I give the game a 10/10? There's one massive flaw to this otherwise fun game but we already knew about it before it released, right? The single player is short. I mean, really short. 5 hours average for each campaign but can be completed in a total of 8 hours if you're a skilled gamer. The level designs are very linear and within an hour of playing there's not much surprises left in store. The old school addition of bosses are fun but you'll be done with this in a few hours. If you're in it for the single player experience? The game is worth a rent. If you love Multiplayer? This is one of THE must have FPS games. Expand
  10. DanteR.
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    I can't BELIEVE this game is getting such weak reviews from so many "professional" reviews. Sure, each campaign might be a little short but there are three of them. Also, the rich and diverse multiplayer modes extend the shelf life of this one a LONG way. I will still be playing this come this time next year. Predator Hunt is the most fun I've ever had with clothes on. (And, I can't BELIEVE this game is getting such weak reviews from so many "professional" reviews. Sure, each campaign might be a little short but there are three of them. Also, the rich and diverse multiplayer modes extend the shelf life of this one a LONG way. I will still be playing this come this time next year. Predator Hunt is the most fun I've ever had with clothes on. (And, about the graphics... for some reason no one is talking about the outdoor levels which ARE NOT ugly.) I seldom disagree this much with metacritic. (In fact, this is my first review because SOMEONE has to correct this nonsense.) They did a beautiful job respecting the source material too. (Something not even the AVP movies did.) Expand
  11. SkullScience
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, I firstly played the online multi-player demo of this, and even though I thought the graphics were somewhat average, I found the game and the diversity of styles engrossing. So today I got myself the Hunter Edition. The game is fantastic. The graphics are sharper with more lighting than the demo. Still not the best out there but more than good enough, with some fantastic animation, Ok, I firstly played the online multi-player demo of this, and even though I thought the graphics were somewhat average, I found the game and the diversity of styles engrossing. So today I got myself the Hunter Edition. The game is fantastic. The graphics are sharper with more lighting than the demo. Still not the best out there but more than good enough, with some fantastic animation, especially on the Aliens. The Marine level is full of atmosphere and can be very tense, just how it should be. Don't listen to the poor reviewers. I have been playing games for over 20 years and know a good game when I see it. AvP is not a good game, it is a great game!!! A must for fps fans and Online Multi-Player fans! Buy it!! Expand
  12. mangomanyears
    Feb 20, 2010
    10
    Survivor mode is just mad, absolutely relentless you don't get time to breathe, you finish a game with that "just one more go feeling". If you don't play online consider renting as I'm sure theres only so many times to play the campaigns, but if you do enjoy online play this is a must buy for any shooter fans collection.
  13. ZacharyD.
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    This game is great, I can't believe people can even think of giving it a bad review. Those people have either NEVER seen the movies (*cough*Game Informer's Ben Reeves *cough*) or rented it and played it for 5 minutes before giving up because they are wimps (when playing as an Alien, IT ISN'T THAT DISORIENTING! STOP BEING A WUSS!) or they are crying because it isn't This game is great, I can't believe people can even think of giving it a bad review. Those people have either NEVER seen the movies (*cough*Game Informer's Ben Reeves *cough*) or rented it and played it for 5 minutes before giving up because they are wimps (when playing as an Alien, IT ISN'T THAT DISORIENTING! STOP BEING A WUSS!) or they are crying because it isn't like Modern Warfare 2. For those of you who LOVED the first two AvP games on the PC, heck, even the AvP Extinction and Predator Concrete Jungle games, then you will love this game. It has minor flaws, but nothing that breaks the game. If you don't like the game, then I guess I will be hearing you scream "GAME OVER MAN, GAME OVER!" while I kick your butts. See ya there marines! Expand
  14. JohnnyT
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    Have never wrote a review until now because this is such a great game I almost didn't by because of the reviews Quote "GameSpot" The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may Have never wrote a review until now because this is such a great game I almost didn't by because of the reviews Quote "GameSpot" The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them. Glad I didn't listen to them, I Love this game Expand
  15. MedardoR
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent Horror Game and great action. People complain about the controls, They are very simple and take a very short learning curve. Awesome Multiplayer Modes.
  16. James
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    You no what really grinds my gears, people giving games reveiws before they are even out yet. I refuse to give this game a grade lower than 10 because I am really excited about avp, and it will raise the average rating. The actual game has strong gameplay is strong on all three species. In fact they are so different in their controls, that the campains feel like three different games. You no what really grinds my gears, people giving games reveiws before they are even out yet. I refuse to give this game a grade lower than 10 because I am really excited about avp, and it will raise the average rating. The actual game has strong gameplay is strong on all three species. In fact they are so different in their controls, that the campains feel like three different games. They all have special stuff such as: Predator: cloaking device heat vision modes and strongest in combat, Aliens: run on walls and celing, Marine: plenty of weapons, and a heartbeat sencer. It also has seven stunning multiplayer modes which are: Deathmatch (free for all), 3-way species team death match, Mixed species team death match, hunt mode, survivor mode, infestation mode, domination. Because of all the amazing multiplayer modes (and more for dlc soon) and campains, do not listen to a bad reveiw of this unmissable game. Expand
  17. AndreasW
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I`m just a huge fan of avp and like this game. Predator is the best species of those three!!!
  18. MattP
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I personally do not understand all of the hate towards this game, it is a breath of fresh air in the FPS genre. It is something original, unlike the more popular FPS shooters such as Modern Warfare and Halo, and is fun to boot. I wont go into a long review of the game, as there are plenty of websites that will do that for me, all i can say is that if you are a fan of either the Aliens or I personally do not understand all of the hate towards this game, it is a breath of fresh air in the FPS genre. It is something original, unlike the more popular FPS shooters such as Modern Warfare and Halo, and is fun to boot. I wont go into a long review of the game, as there are plenty of websites that will do that for me, all i can say is that if you are a fan of either the Aliens or Predator universe, or are simply looking for a shooter that differs from the popular HALO or COD franchises, then this game will certainly be for you. Expand
  19. JordanH
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Finely crafted game. Especially if you're a fan of the originals. Tricky at first, once mastered you will do great with any of the three species.
  20. JohnH
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    This game is not Mw2, its better, it takes skill and time to master each species style of play. the main campaigns highlight is the marine yeah, but the nostalgic value of the alien and predator is great to, Mp is what shines, with 3 different species you have to be quick and adapt fast, sure there may be small techical issues, but it dosnt prevent the game from being fun, buy this game This game is not Mw2, its better, it takes skill and time to master each species style of play. the main campaigns highlight is the marine yeah, but the nostalgic value of the alien and predator is great to, Mp is what shines, with 3 different species you have to be quick and adapt fast, sure there may be small techical issues, but it dosnt prevent the game from being fun, buy this game so that the sequel will be even more refined. Expand
  21. MikeB.
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    People need to see this game for what it is. A nice tribute to the two movie franchises. For every reviewer who complains about the controls stop whining and just learn how to play the damn game. Mixed species TDM is also one of the most interesting game types i have played recently since with a good team everyone accounts for the others weaknesses. Must have for movie and multiplayer People need to see this game for what it is. A nice tribute to the two movie franchises. For every reviewer who complains about the controls stop whining and just learn how to play the damn game. Mixed species TDM is also one of the most interesting game types i have played recently since with a good team everyone accounts for the others weaknesses. Must have for movie and multiplayer fans. Also as a last rant... I know Game informer complained about a lack of crouch or Iron sights for the marine. If you were being hunted by freakin aliens you cant tell me you would precision aim while you get jumped or move slower for no reason. they can see you anyway dude! It doesn't help! Expand
  22. tcoffee
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to the reviews! If you are a fan of the series definitely check out this game. The maps are incredible as is the predator! The alien and marine controls are definitely difficult to get used to, but not impossible. This game is worth your time and money, metacritic mofos.
  23. SimonJ
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Have to give this game a 10. I'm so glad I had this pre-ordered for months because I wouldn't have bought it based on the meta score. I mean it's not perfect , thats true but it's sooo much fun to play. The graphics for me are on a par with most next gen titles so I don't know what all the complaints with this aspect are about. For me its fresh and gives a unique Have to give this game a 10. I'm so glad I had this pre-ordered for months because I wouldn't have bought it based on the meta score. I mean it's not perfect , thats true but it's sooo much fun to play. The graphics for me are on a par with most next gen titles so I don't know what all the complaints with this aspect are about. For me its fresh and gives a unique multiplayer experience you just can't get with any other game. No self respecting fan of the franchise can be dissapointed with this game. They have really done a great job. Hats off to you. Expand
  24. LinzD
    Feb 19, 2010
    9
    I really don't get these "Professional" reviews. I LOVE this game! The single player campaigns are very good fun to play (especially the Marine,very atmospheric) they're not groundbreaking, but nonetheless great fun. As for multiplayer, this is the most fun I've had online since spending hours on Gears of War1, and Survivor mode is just mad, absolutely relentless you I really don't get these "Professional" reviews. I LOVE this game! The single player campaigns are very good fun to play (especially the Marine,very atmospheric) they're not groundbreaking, but nonetheless great fun. As for multiplayer, this is the most fun I've had online since spending hours on Gears of War1, and Survivor mode is just mad, absolutely relentless you don't get time to breathe, you finish a game with that "just one more go feeling". If you don't play online consider renting as I'm sure theres only so many times to play the campaigns, but if you do enjoy online play this is a must buy for any shooter fans collection. Expand
  25. AlexC
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    I found AvP to be a very enjoyable experience. Although short, the campaigns are quite fun. The multiplayer is brilliant, with unique gametypes sutied for AvP. The graphics aren't the best ever, but they are still quite good. In addition, I found the gory kills to be oddly satisfying.
  26. COGITOERGOSUM
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    OK here is the low down on AVP. This game is for the Alien and Predator franchise fans; if you are among them, you will rate this game highly. Make no mistake however, the flaws that the critics have picked up on are indeed there and for all to see, but the thing about that is, you are either a fan and wear rose colored glasses, or not, and if so the flaws are all you are left with. To be OK here is the low down on AVP. This game is for the Alien and Predator franchise fans; if you are among them, you will rate this game highly. Make no mistake however, the flaws that the critics have picked up on are indeed there and for all to see, but the thing about that is, you are either a fan and wear rose colored glasses, or not, and if so the flaws are all you are left with. To be fair, the game IS an excellent attempt at a polished addition to a now tiresome franchise, if you loved the Ridley Scott and James Camerons heralded Alien films, and like me, consider Predator as a must-have classic in the DVD collection, you won't put down the controller. **Cogito Ergo Sum. Expand
  27. BartekC.
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Just the way it had to be.
  28. Matt
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    Game is original and brinsg a new type of FPS into this gen. Reviews from "proffesionals" are mixed. I have enjoyed this game more then any other online FPS recently(including MW2 and H3).Its well balanced, everyone starts off on a level playing feidl EVERY GAME, no one is ever going to have the upper hand on you before you enter the fight. The game requires you to think and be on your Game is original and brinsg a new type of FPS into this gen. Reviews from "proffesionals" are mixed. I have enjoyed this game more then any other online FPS recently(including MW2 and H3).Its well balanced, everyone starts off on a level playing feidl EVERY GAME, no one is ever going to have the upper hand on you before you enter the fight. The game requires you to think and be on your toes ALL GAME. Survivor is more intense and fun then Nazi Zombies, and the Death Match modes are all excellent. Domination is fun as well, so are the infestation modes and Pred Hunt is a blast as well, whether or not your the predator. The only mode I dont think works well for this particular type of game is FFA, it just doesnt flow well with the way the species are and it can be hindered by those trying to run around and do nothing but a stealth kill. Stealth kills are great, they are fun to do in team games, can get you killed FAST in FFA. They are no different then a knife kill in MW2 or BFBC2, or an assasination in Halo, they are just longer in duration, be stealthy and it wont be a problem. Trophy kills(stealth kill from the FRONT) can be broken out of. Game is the best looking, but its fine overal. You wont be wowed, but you will be far from disgusted with the graphics, they are well done Sounds are AMAZING, taken directly from the movies. Game is ALOT of fun. SP is fun, the Marin campaign is the best, the other 2 are somewhat mediocre. The online game modes are what make this game so much fun. With how mixed the reviews are I can only say to go try the game for yourself, it has a learning curve, but once you have the hang of it im sure you will enjoy it. AvP is one of this years great games, that is original, and is being penalized for not being like other FPS's. Dont let several bad reviews(out of many rather good ones) sway you, this is a game you really have to try out for yourself because some people just dont get it. Expand
  29. NickK
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Very fun game and looks visual impressive most of the time. I don't know what these silly reviewers are talking about. Multiplayer is a blast! 8.5/10 for me, giving it a 10 because reviewers these days can only give good marks to the same simple mechanic games and not the ones that try new things.
  30. Jeff
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Do not go into this game looking for a great single player experience. Each campaign is enjoyable, with the marine being the best, but they are all training for multiplayer. The game is wonderfully balanced, with each species having advantages and disadvantages. There is a wide range of multiplayer game modes. There are not too many maps, but enough to mix it up. With the promise of Do not go into this game looking for a great single player experience. Each campaign is enjoyable, with the marine being the best, but they are all training for multiplayer. The game is wonderfully balanced, with each species having advantages and disadvantages. There is a wide range of multiplayer game modes. There are not too many maps, but enough to mix it up. With the promise of content to come it looks like this game will continue to thrive with a good community and amazing gameplay. Expand
  31. DeanS
    Feb 18, 2010
    9
    Nowhere near the metacritic review score... I found myself drawn to keep playing it even though the similarities of 99` are embedded into its core. However, that was a great game when that was released and after playing hundreds of first person shooters since then, I can vouch for at least an enjoyable, scary and traumatising experience depending on which campaign you are drawn to at that time.
  32. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    All what I have to say... Underrated.

    Since this have to be at least I will tell you. The Multiplayer is a bomb, it is balanced (if all 3 species are in-game) and it is very fun...

    Aliens feel very animalistic, Predators feel like hunters and humans feel like, you know, overwhelmed.

    The campaign is alright, but I recomend you to stick with the multiplayer.
  33. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    My final score is a 9.5 for the following reasons:
    Human gameplay is hard and boring
    Predator gameplay is confusing High learning curves for the alien species gameplay Game is too short Other that those it's definitely in my top 3 favorite Xbox games, I don't care about the average graphics, the gameplay is awesome, my fav was the alien storyline, it just seemed a lot funner than the
    My final score is a 9.5 for the following reasons:
    Human gameplay is hard and boring
    Predator gameplay is confusing
    High learning curves for the alien species gameplay
    Game is too short
    Other that those it's definitely in my top 3 favorite Xbox games, I don't care about the average graphics, the gameplay is awesome, my fav was the alien storyline, it just seemed a lot funner than the rest, AND IT WAS! It was too short, I beat the alien mode in only 2 hours, but that was one of the funnest 2 hours of my life! I definitely recommend this game to any fan of the series or player of Xbox!
    Expand
  34. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this very much. It has nice graphics, good gameplay (especially as Predator), and probably ONE of the best games involving killing. The weapons are sweet! Tail spike as Xenomorph, claws as Xenomorph, wrist blades as Predator, plasma cannon as Predator, combi stick as Predator, smart disc as predator. And also some effective guns for the Marines, like the Shotgun. But the reason why I didn't give it a 10/10 is because of it's difficult gameplay: this game can be very difficult. Even when you follow the arrows, it can still be hard to find where you are supposed to go. And another reason is because your health can drain quite quickly (though you can heal as predator). Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 64
  2. Negative: 3 out of 64
  1. Like an antithesis to Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, it proves that two great flavors don't always taste great together. [Issue#203, p.87]
  2. 85
    A game that's going to stoke the hearts of anyone who ever fell in love with the original films – which is likely anyone who's ever picked up a game pad.
  3. The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them.