User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 238

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, I am a huge fan of the Alien universe. I absolutely love this game! I know the graphics aren't the best, but the experience of being a xenomorph and playing the different stages of one are pretty satisfyingly and brilliantly done in this game. Also, you'd think that being a predator would sound a little off-putting at first (thats what I thought), but it was pretty good as well. Expand
  2. May 29, 2014
    7
    3 campaigns who are all quite enjoyable. Visuals are decent, story is decent, and the gameplay is good. If you are looking for a good singeplayer shooter, this may be for you. If you are looking for a good multiplayer shooter, this may also be yours. Multiplayer is pretty good and a lot of fun.
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    5
    Aliens vs. Predator has been a cool concept ever since it hit the big screen a few years ago. The only problem every time these two alien species clash, it does turn out to be the best. The plot is similar to the first movie. Dealing with the Weyland Corporation and the Xenomorphs breaking lose and the predators hunting them down, while the marines are just caught up in the middle. ThereAliens vs. Predator has been a cool concept ever since it hit the big screen a few years ago. The only problem every time these two alien species clash, it does turn out to be the best. The plot is similar to the first movie. Dealing with the Weyland Corporation and the Xenomorphs breaking lose and the predators hunting them down, while the marines are just caught up in the middle. There are three different campaigns: marines, xenomorphs, and predators. The marine campaign is basically a Call of Duty clone with a few scares here and there. The Xeno campaign is sort of a stealth game, as you sneak around in the dark taking out enemies. The predator campaign also deals with stealth, but instead of using dark corners you use the iconic weapons seen in the films. All three campaigns are solid and they connect at a few places, so it does not matter what order you play them in. The multiplayer is actually the best part of the game. When all three species are fighting each other it becomes really fun. All the maps seem well balanced, but the predators seem to have the edge as they are a bit overpowered. In the end Aliens vs.predator is a solid game that might not represent the iconic creatures well, but you will still have some fun. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    The human campaign isn't anything special, but the Predator and Xenomorph campaign's are fun and one of a kind. Challenging and interesting, this game definitely pleases me and sticks out of the crowd. Worth a go.
  5. May 14, 2013
    7
    After years of waiting a new game in AvP universe was released and there had been a reason to expect this game, because it was developed by the team that years earlier had given us first AvP for PC.
    Commonly to the other games in the series singleplayer campaign is divided into three separate parts. Each one gives unique gameplay and original story. The game provides us with much gore and
    After years of waiting a new game in AvP universe was released and there had been a reason to expect this game, because it was developed by the team that years earlier had given us first AvP for PC.
    Commonly to the other games in the series singleplayer campaign is divided into three separate parts. Each one gives unique gameplay and original story. The game provides us with much gore and very good animations that make you want to get more into the game (the one I remember most is alien holding a marine so that facehugger could jump on his face).
    Storyline provides us with some new stuff that had never been shown in either movies or games.
    At release date the game looked very good, sound effects were true to the genre.
    I never tried multiplayer, so after completing singleplayer part there was nothing else for me. Unfortunately, singleplayer left nothing that could make a solid game worth replaying. "Aliens vs. Predator" is not original in any way, but somehow I would recommend it to anyone who likes games and AvP universe. If you don't expect much originality, you will not be disapointed.
    Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    AvP is a solid game, especially if you're an Alien or Predator fan. The human campaign is creepy, the Predator campaign is exciting and the Alien is exciting. Also the graphics are better than Colonial Marines.
    The multiplayer is fun (Unless you're a marine) but sadly no one really plays it anymore.
    There are problems though. For some reason Marines can block melee attacks. There are
    AvP is a solid game, especially if you're an Alien or Predator fan. The human campaign is creepy, the Predator campaign is exciting and the Alien is exciting. Also the graphics are better than Colonial Marines.
    The multiplayer is fun (Unless you're a marine) but sadly no one really plays it anymore.
    There are problems though. For some reason Marines can block melee attacks. There are STILL a lot of falling through floor glitches. The Alien and Predator Melee attacks feel more like punches. The stealth gameplay is sometimes broken. And the stories are almost completely forgettable. Also near the end you fight humans for some reason?
    So yeah this only gets a recommendation if you like the Alien and Predator franchises.
    Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    The game is fun, despite it's failings in certain areas. It is fun to play the single player as all 3 species. Graphics are dated, but the weapons feel real and the story isn't too bad. Multiplayer/challenge maps weren't too bad if nothing original. Once again, not worth the original retail price, but at it's current $20 price range, it is still worth it for the single player missions.
  8. Apr 5, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game quite a bit, the campaign being split into three gives the game longevity, and gives it much more variety in the levels and I highly enjoyed playing as the three...still now I play multiplayer and co-op with friends and we have a good laugh when playing together and making up our own game modes :D
  9. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    My final score is a 9.5 for the following reasons:
    Human gameplay is hard and boring
    Predator gameplay is confusing High learning curves for the alien species gameplay Game is too short Other that those it's definitely in my top 3 favorite Xbox games, I don't care about the average graphics, the gameplay is awesome, my fav was the alien storyline, it just seemed a lot funner than the
    My final score is a 9.5 for the following reasons:
    Human gameplay is hard and boring
    Predator gameplay is confusing
    High learning curves for the alien species gameplay
    Game is too short
    Other that those it's definitely in my top 3 favorite Xbox games, I don't care about the average graphics, the gameplay is awesome, my fav was the alien storyline, it just seemed a lot funner than the rest, AND IT WAS! It was too short, I beat the alien mode in only 2 hours, but that was one of the funnest 2 hours of my life! I definitely recommend this game to any fan of the series or player of Xbox!
    Expand
  10. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I enjoyed this very much. It has nice graphics, good gameplay (especially as Predator), and probably ONE of the best games involving killing. The weapons are sweet! Tail spike as Xenomorph, claws as Xenomorph, wrist blades as Predator, plasma cannon as Predator, combi stick as Predator, smart disc as predator. And also some effective guns for the Marines, like the Shotgun. But the reason why I didn't give it a 10/10 is because of it's difficult gameplay: this game can be very difficult. Even when you follow the arrows, it can still be hard to find where you are supposed to go. And another reason is because your health can drain quite quickly (though you can heal as predator). Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    Now don't want to get any hate from you AvP fans but I thought this game was a bit disapointing. So you have three campaigns Aliens, Predator and the Marines. The Aliens campaign easily had the weakest story and the control were bit annoying and it was the shortest out of the three. But grabing your enemeys and eatch them scream befor you cut of their or head bitting them was great to seeNow don't want to get any hate from you AvP fans but I thought this game was a bit disapointing. So you have three campaigns Aliens, Predator and the Marines. The Aliens campaign easily had the weakest story and the control were bit annoying and it was the shortest out of the three. But grabing your enemeys and eatch them scream befor you cut of their or head bitting them was great to see and had fun stealth killing the poor marines as well, but still was the worst campaign Predator was alright. Enjoyed the frist mission and felt like a predator, but rest were alright. Completely wrong enviorments for the rest of the missions (well maybe except for the temple one). Felt a bit too OP and did not die once when playing as predator. Liked the Predator gaggets tho and had fun using them for the 1 and a half long campaign (bit longer then alien one). The Marine campaign as easily the best one. I had a great expeience as the surviving Marine. First two missions were great and felt like I was in the films. Then third mission was good, having the first encounter with the predator then it turns into you shooting robots and just ruined it for me. Still had great time when I was not killing robots and I thoght Marine campaign was the best one, and is the longest campaign out of the three. Multiplayer is not great, but sometimes is fun but predator is OP. Overall disapointing, but without Marine campaign this game would have gotten a 4/10. Alien vs Predator 6.2/10 Expand
  12. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    Alien Vs. Predator is a fun game that suffers from some misdirection. The entire single player portion, i guess it's fair to say, is only average. It only gives you a taste, or a demo of a couple of senarios from the perspective of the 3 species. The story is weak, each campaign is short individually. The marines seem to be only species with a decent, make sense, story attached to it. AllAlien Vs. Predator is a fun game that suffers from some misdirection. The entire single player portion, i guess it's fair to say, is only average. It only gives you a taste, or a demo of a couple of senarios from the perspective of the 3 species. The story is weak, each campaign is short individually. The marines seem to be only species with a decent, make sense, story attached to it. All other species, aliens especially, seem to only be reliving some of the battles the marines faced from there perspective. The endings for alien predator also didn't make much sense, not really ending the storylines. Gameplay is enjoyable. Playing as a marine is like playing as a merc in Splinter Cell. Aliens are the spies. Playing as them in SP wasn't really fun, but MP changes that, as you have the upper hand, in knowing where everyone is, it makes you feel very powerful. Predator is a power character, overpowered in MP however. Equiping lock on laser cannons, powerful melee stealth attack capabilities, not to mention camoflague. Multiplayer is a blast to play, but definitely unbalanced. Predator is easy to use beats all, but a good marine turns the tables on him. It's still very fun to play. Overall, AVP is only an average game, some nice gameplay is plagued by balance issues, the story could've been longer more plot focused, still, I liked playing this game. Review Score: 52/100 Expand
  13. Jan 24, 2013
    5
    It seems the AvP franchise will almost always be stuck in mediocrity. AvP as a whole is OK. The Marine section is done pretty well and play more or less exactly the way you expect is would, like a FPS in the Aliens universe. Both the Alien & Predator campaigns are really fun to play, just a real shame they are not given the same amount of attention as the Marine campaign. In my opinion,It seems the AvP franchise will almost always be stuck in mediocrity. AvP as a whole is OK. The Marine section is done pretty well and play more or less exactly the way you expect is would, like a FPS in the Aliens universe. Both the Alien & Predator campaigns are really fun to play, just a real shame they are not given the same amount of attention as the Marine campaign. In my opinion, this is really its biggest let down. The game is called Alien vs Predator, yet the Marine gets the focus? A real shame. This game could have been allot more than it was, but instead decided to settle with a boring unfinished FPS. If it had not been for the Alien & Predator Missions I would have told people to avoid this game, but they are decent and give the game some redeeming qualities. Overall: A slightly above average title that is at best a rental. Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this game very much. Being a long time fan of the Alien movies, and the previous games for PC, I had to buy this game. All 3 campaigns were great. I enjoyed the Marines and the Aliens one the best. Most people would probably disagree, but thats just my opinion. The multiplayer was fun, however i felt that the predator was a bit overpowered. In the end though, i think the gameI enjoyed this game very much. Being a long time fan of the Alien movies, and the previous games for PC, I had to buy this game. All 3 campaigns were great. I enjoyed the Marines and the Aliens one the best. Most people would probably disagree, but thats just my opinion. The multiplayer was fun, however i felt that the predator was a bit overpowered. In the end though, i think the game deserved a better rating than the 64 that the critics gave it. Expand
  15. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    While this game is not as strong as its predecessors, there is still plenty of fun to be had here, unfortunately the single player campaigns are all far too short and linear to hold your attention for long, but at least the multiplayer makes up for that by being a very solid offering indeed. If you tire of just killing people with guns then you can take a Predator or Xenomorph for a whirl.While this game is not as strong as its predecessors, there is still plenty of fun to be had here, unfortunately the single player campaigns are all far too short and linear to hold your attention for long, but at least the multiplayer makes up for that by being a very solid offering indeed. If you tire of just killing people with guns then you can take a Predator or Xenomorph for a whirl. The game is not for everyone, and Alien versus Predator fans will certainly get more out of it, but you could do worse than give it a try. Expand
  16. Oct 27, 2012
    7
    For fans of the series only. Having campaigns for the three different species did successfully result in three small First Person games, each with a different feel.
    The marine campaign was very scary and delivered the feeling of being hunted by aliens that could be anywhere. The predator campaign provided the satisfaction of hunting humans whilst also being vulnerable to aliens, whilst
    For fans of the series only. Having campaigns for the three different species did successfully result in three small First Person games, each with a different feel.
    The marine campaign was very scary and delivered the feeling of being hunted by aliens that could be anywhere. The predator campaign provided the satisfaction of hunting humans whilst also being vulnerable to aliens, whilst the alien campaign was the easier, purely because there were no other aliens hunting you.!

    I wish they had made a better use of the score system by linking it to achievements as it made stealth kills pointless.
    Expand
  17. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    I was really looking forward to the release of this game back in 2010 and was very satisfied with what it had to offer. It is awesome how it has three campaigns to play and how all three of them cross paths with one another. It is a very entertaining game with quite a good story for each character. Online is also fun to play as the game is unique where you can have all three species faceI was really looking forward to the release of this game back in 2010 and was very satisfied with what it had to offer. It is awesome how it has three campaigns to play and how all three of them cross paths with one another. It is a very entertaining game with quite a good story for each character. Online is also fun to play as the game is unique where you can have all three species face off against each other as one of the game modes. However, i wish the campaigns were all longer because you can finish them really fast and there needs to be more people playing the online multiplayer. Expand
  18. Aug 29, 2012
    6
    Avp is a game that gets your hopes up only to balls it up by too obvious mistakes. The good points are the soundtrack, the moments that remain faithful to the original movies, and the fun bits which really bring out the campaigns. For example, it is brilliant to be an alien species with inhuman powers,running up walls or jumping up ledges. Gorily tearing your enemies heads off is also fun.Avp is a game that gets your hopes up only to balls it up by too obvious mistakes. The good points are the soundtrack, the moments that remain faithful to the original movies, and the fun bits which really bring out the campaigns. For example, it is brilliant to be an alien species with inhuman powers,running up walls or jumping up ledges. Gorily tearing your enemies heads off is also fun. At the start of each campaign it is promising, as you really feal like part of the films, but all atmoshpere is lost later on as the game becomes a shoot and run/ hack and slash / arena boss fight game. Why the developer just threw all of the atmoshpere he had away like that is lost on me, other than the fact that they were just lazy. Overall the campaigns are fun and is at first a healthy dose of alien and pred action for all of the fans dissapointed by the recent movies. But then again, due to a mixture of tedious controls, and lazy level designs it becomes somewhat a dissapiontment itself.
    The multiplayer is fun, at least, but it really brings about the problems from the campaign onto a competetive match. The controls are weak and often unresponsive or overresponsive. This really messes games up for people, and they seem to especially disfavour the aliens movement, which is also its only advantage. The matchmaking means you will spend more time waiting for a game than playing one and the mechanics turn standerd death matches into a line of people "stealth" killing eachother. This means walking behind some one and pressing x. Another problem i find is the crazy imbalance in species. It seems that despite ist rock paper scissors approach to fighting the game goes by a predator beats all format too, not to mention that the marine can beat an alien easily in melee. The predator has an arsenal of overpowered weapons, each one basicly a one hit kill. Combi stick is often used to just throw it at an alien while in melee, and boom its gone. The plasma caster automatically locks on an one shot kills anything, ideal for campers. The marine also has a habit of blocking and beating an alien to death (how?!), but the predator is still the easy option, with the marine and alien about equal. This imbalance in species and stealth killing can really take the point out of the block- counter style of fighting.
    Some modes stand ouy, and infestation, pred hunt and survivor all finally use the species strengths in the right way. The combat, despite its faults is fun and provides a chance to employ more skill in battle than an ordinary shooty game. The online is enjoyable, but beware of the faults in it. To a fan of the series this is a good buy, as it will give you a bit more alien/ predator action, which comes across in a classic movie style way for some parts. Combat is interesting snd the gamestyle is one of kind, however it needs tweaking to iron out some annoying problems. It has so much potential, but is let down by lazy issues.
    Expand
  19. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    it is not bad, and for people that like shooting games it will be really enjoable, but i simply dont like shooting games and i probably never will. i certainly think that it is good that you can play as marine, alien and predator as it gives you a few different views to the story. not a masterpiece, but it is still acceptable.
  20. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    A well-made installment to the Alien & Predator franchise that pays respect to the fans and the series.
  21. Oct 15, 2011
    3
    When it comes in entertainment AvP takes the absurdity of boring action, to the broken gameplay . I never thought that being a Predator could be so frustrating, the gameplay is broken and fractured . Don't even ask how the Alien part plays , it's just , bad. Meanwhile the Marine version could be a passable terror in the corridors , but after all thats good in short heigh . This game ,When it comes in entertainment AvP takes the absurdity of boring action, to the broken gameplay . I never thought that being a Predator could be so frustrating, the gameplay is broken and fractured . Don't even ask how the Alien part plays , it's just , bad. Meanwhile the Marine version could be a passable terror in the corridors , but after all thats good in short heigh . This game , turned off me in being a believer of the series . Expand
  22. Aug 23, 2011
    8
    Any gamer who enjoys stealth type game-play, that involves turning invisible or crawling on walls, in the darkness to stalk your prey, is going to have a hell of a gory, good time with this one. Fans of the movies should also enjoy this bloody, satisfying, Si-fi, adventure.
  23. May 24, 2011
    10
    I have enjoyed this game. Yes, its not the most polished, the graphics are average. however, the sound is very atmospheric as you would expect with Alien type connections. the gameplay is different providing a different slant on the first person shooter. Playing and the predator and alien is a real gameplay stroke. it makes the gameplay refreshingly different abd a change from theI have enjoyed this game. Yes, its not the most polished, the graphics are average. however, the sound is very atmospheric as you would expect with Alien type connections. the gameplay is different providing a different slant on the first person shooter. Playing and the predator and alien is a real gameplay stroke. it makes the gameplay refreshingly different abd a change from the current alternatives on the market. The alien is incredibly difficult to control properly, not because of awkward controls but due to the games and changes in orientation to move on walls and ceiling. It takes a while for you brain to truely be at ease in this format. the game play is frustrating, because death can occur very often, particularly on the marine missions. I await a further game, but with expanded campaigns and a bit more faith in the game to generate sales. I believe with the predator and alien name, they are on to a potential blockbuster game, great game, clearly undervalued by the expert critics. it has the X Factor in a game, could have been a truely great game with a bigger buget and a bit more faith. Graphics 7.5 - average but the alien movement is excellent, Predator visual excellent,
    Sound 9.5 - just like the film, great
    gameplay - 8.0, short but the gameplay varied and different, Which is a good thing, yes. I believe gameplay is hard, which may deter some game fans,
    presentation 7.0, could have had a afew more option, video etc
    online N/A - dont play online
    Expand
  24. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    All what I have to say... Underrated.

    Since this have to be at least I will tell you. The Multiplayer is a bomb, it is balanced (if all 3 species are in-game) and it is very fun...

    Aliens feel very animalistic, Predators feel like hunters and humans feel like, you know, overwhelmed.

    The campaign is alright, but I recomend you to stick with the multiplayer.
  25. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    Campaign mode for the Aliens and Predators are cool, however you should stay away from marine mode. This is a beast game that's also cool to play on live, and that has awesome graphics.
  26. Sep 25, 2010
    8
    The graphics are a little bit dated, and yes the marines can block the Alien/Xenomorph attacks and a few sounds ands animations aren't right (mainly marine) the predator and Alien gameplay make up for a the parts of the game where the marine didn't do it. Overall very nice game
  27. Aug 12, 2010
    6
    Campaign is same style as before, each race has their own campaign which are now really short, each takin' 1-2 hours to finish. Predator has finaly a very good campaign where you must use stealth if you want to survive. Marine campaign is a medicore horror which is disappointing, because other AvP games had great marine campaigns where there really was moments where I scared. XenomorphCampaign is same style as before, each race has their own campaign which are now really short, each takin' 1-2 hours to finish. Predator has finaly a very good campaign where you must use stealth if you want to survive. Marine campaign is a medicore horror which is disappointing, because other AvP games had great marine campaigns where there really was moments where I scared. Xenomorph has a decent campaign, once again. Characters turns too slowly. It's annoying, because in multiplayer, I got killed some times only, because xenomorph turned too slowly so I could avoid finishing move. Fighting system is now like rock-sciccors and paper. Light attack beats heavy attacks, heavy attack beats block and block beats light attack. This would work other wise fine, but these attacks hits enemy automatically which is really annoying if you're trying to step back trying to avoid enemy attacks. You can also do jump attacks with xenomorph and predator. Funny thing about the marine in close combat is, that you can defeat predators and xenomorphs easily as you can block light attacks and shoot the enemy before he can hit with his heavy attack. Weapons are also dissapointing. You have only 4 weapons for Predator (Plasma cannon, disc which doesn't lock-on anymore, spear which you can't use as a close combat weapon, mines), no spear gun, no net shootig gun, no plasma pistol means predator fans will get dissapointed. Marine doesn't also have minigun and smart gun doesn't have same sound as in the movies. Online multiplayer features same old death matches, survivors and predator hunt game modes. Survivor is named now infection, because there is survivor game mode where you must survive againts xenomorph hordes. Easy, but fun to play game mode. Unfortunely, it takes ages to gather players to play with in ranked matches. What you unlock from playing those? Skins, but unfortunely, unlike in avp2 where each skin had their own weapon arsenal and powers, these has nothing special powers and weapon arsenals. Weapons are also obtained by searching them over the map like in the old times. Aliens vs Predator is a good game, but it can't be compared to the early AvP games. Online multiplayer is also dying so I don't really recommend buying this game. Expand
  28. TonyM
    Mar 3, 2010
    9
    I don't know what critics want, but this game is great. I know, everyone will be disappointed with the ratings but this game is worth 8 or 9. The single-player campaign of Marines is great. Predator's campaign is good too, as Aliens are aliens they don't seem to have sense to tell a story :D. Anyway, this game is worth the money. Don't be disappointed with the ratings. I don't know what critics want, but this game is great. I know, everyone will be disappointed with the ratings but this game is worth 8 or 9. The single-player campaign of Marines is great. Predator's campaign is good too, as Aliens are aliens they don't seem to have sense to tell a story :D. Anyway, this game is worth the money. Don't be disappointed with the ratings. The multiplayer is quite different and superb actually. Buy it! Expand
  29. JamesC
    Mar 2, 2010
    8
    Before I start I have to say some of the critic reviews seem to be so out of whack with my opinion iit really isn't funny. I think this must be the first example of a game where I don't agree with the critic reviews. Other critics seem to contradict themselves by pointing out a lot of good points about Aliens vs Predator, only to give it a really low score based on a couple of Before I start I have to say some of the critic reviews seem to be so out of whack with my opinion iit really isn't funny. I think this must be the first example of a game where I don't agree with the critic reviews. Other critics seem to contradict themselves by pointing out a lot of good points about Aliens vs Predator, only to give it a really low score based on a couple of faults. If you like the Alien / Predator movies - you will love this game. The Marine campaign for me is the most intense survival horror game yet (mainly because the Xenomorph is such a memorable character) - in terms of providing dread and checking every corner as you make your way slowly in the dark, it is unsurpassed (Dead Space is a very close 2nd). The Predator and Alien campaigns offer a different take and control completely differently. If you want to give your heart a break from freezing with fear at the end of the level you can switch over and play a level from one of the other campaigns. Playing as an Alien is just great because you can cause the fear you were only minutes ago feeling as a Marine. Multiplayer is great fun - the melee combat does take a bit of getting use to and you have to time things right but in multiplayer it is a blast when you get up nice and close to your rival. It is such a nice change to be able to go toe-to-toe with your opponent to see who comes out in top instead of always shooting from a distance (which you can still do of course). Single player is decent - not overly long but nightmare mode will keep you going for some time. Multi is good fun and the Survival mode is a great 'horde' mode. What better way to try and play co-operatively than holding off waves of the most recognisable sci-fi horror monsters in film? This game does have some bugs / glitches - I won't deny that, and the AI at times is plain stupid, but it doesn't stop it from being a real worthwhile purchase, particularly if you are half a fan of the associated movies. Expand
  30. Marc.D.
    Mar 1, 2010
    6
    Like most of the readers who have submitted their 2 cents, I'm a huge fan of the Aliens and Predator film franchises. The previews, screenshots and videos for this game had me so hyped up for it's release. Unfortunately, the final product falls short on a number of levels. Firstly, the graphics are flat, muddy and uninspiring. The environmental textures leave alot to be desired Like most of the readers who have submitted their 2 cents, I'm a huge fan of the Aliens and Predator film franchises. The previews, screenshots and videos for this game had me so hyped up for it's release. Unfortunately, the final product falls short on a number of levels. Firstly, the graphics are flat, muddy and uninspiring. The environmental textures leave alot to be desired and look downright ugly when viewed upclose. Of the 3 species, the human character models look the least convincing and move in a very robotic fashion. Lip synching is also poorly executed and destroys any potential level of immersion which might have been created by the excellent sound. The sound effects might be the single best thing about the entire experience. Faithful recreations of the audio samples from the films help to recreate the movie universes. Unfortunately, the voice cast is largely underwhelming (save for a stellar turn from Lance Henricksen as Bishop) with rather stiff deliveries on all their lines. The music is decent but will not leave a strong impression after the game is over. The biggest issues with the game lie in the archaic gameplay design and the overly complicated controls. Gameplay feels like it was lifted straight out of the late 90s. Many of the Marine levels feel exactly like Doom 3, right down to the need for a flashlight to illuminate dark corridors. The lack of a crouch or cover system to avoid incoming fire is really perplexing as it has become one of the most rudimentary of gameplay designs in modern FPS games. The melee combat plays a prominent part in the Alien and Predator campaigns and comes off feeling like the feeble strikes from Oblivion. Hits and impacts feel weak and lack the power you would expect from such deadly creatures. Of the 3 species, the Alien suffers from the worst controls. Overly sensitive in some parts while moving like a tank in others...the Alien has an extremely steep learning curve. The Predator is a little easier to get used to but feels clunky throughout. Overall, only true die-hards should pick this up...and even they might want to consider renting this disappointing title. Expand
  31. AugustoC.
    Feb 26, 2010
    8
    This game could have been the perfect game, but it has so much small flaws that can be really annoying sometimes.Graphics: 7.0 - The animations look pretty bad sometimes and the scenarios are the same in all of the campaings, but it's not terrible.Sound: 9.5 - The best thing about this game is it sound, almost perfect. The sounds of the alien, the predator and even the pulse rifle This game could have been the perfect game, but it has so much small flaws that can be really annoying sometimes.Graphics: 7.0 - The animations look pretty bad sometimes and the scenarios are the same in all of the campaings, but it's not terrible.Sound: 9.5 - The best thing about this game is it sound, almost perfect. The sounds of the alien, the predator and even the pulse rifle are the same from the movies, the only problem is the voice acting, which is pretty weird. Gameplay:8.5 - There are three campaings for each race, each of them with a unique gameplay, my personal favorite is the alien. Enjoyment:8.5 - The game takes around eight or ten hours to be finished and there's the multiplayer, which is very fun.Story:5.5 - There's no story in the aliens e predator campaing and in the marines campaing you will prefer there was no story too because the story is really bad.Overall:7.8 Expand
  32. PsychicX
    Feb 26, 2010
    3
    Summary: If you liked those stupid AvP movies you'll probably get off on this. Otherwise, avoid. To expound: On the plus side: it's quite pretty in a cartoony sort of way. And if you have a busy life, the single-player campaigns are very short. But it's also stupid, dated, plays like a half-baked mix of beat-em-up and uninspired shooter, and wastes its source material. And Summary: If you liked those stupid AvP movies you'll probably get off on this. Otherwise, avoid. To expound: On the plus side: it's quite pretty in a cartoony sort of way. And if you have a busy life, the single-player campaigns are very short. But it's also stupid, dated, plays like a half-baked mix of beat-em-up and uninspired shooter, and wastes its source material. And not once is it remotely scary. The voice acting is largely terrible: Lance Henriksen phones it in and everyone else is either flat and dull or wildly overcompensating, but then bearing in mind the universally poor script it's not surprising. The dialogue sounds like someone shovelled every cliche available into their word processor - it's like Starship Troopers without the humor. Audio logs pepper the levels supposedly enhancing the 'story', but said story is paper-thin and the logs are mostly one sentence. Yes that's right. One sentence. Usually badly acted. The sound is a bizarre mix of musics with false 'stings' that generally happen when no event to trigger them, and original movie sounds (good) mixed in with very poor replacements (the marine Smartgun now sounds like a WW2 MG42. Why? Oh, and Aliens now grunt and growl like hobos). Levels are small and funnel you down one path: rooms are often cluttered with shelves or machines to make you take a tediously winding route through them. As a marine you will start the level with the weapons the game thinks you should have, not the ones you finished the last level with. So if you were getting used to your flamethrower and saved your ammo for the next level then hard luck, because you now have a sniper rifle or some such crock. There is no ability to crouch, so get used to being shot constantly, though the Alien can do nothing but run on all fours, meaning that you are largely looking at your enemies' backside or crotch. 'Special moves' by the aliens and predators take the form of canned animations, which you can't skip, and during which you can still be hurt, and once you've seen them a few times get old very quickly even for the most sadistic adolescent. All races can jump, though it appears that predators and marines must be recruited from the elderly as they can only muster a short hop. No vaulting that box for you, around it you go. Predators can jump to 'focus points' highlighted by their HUD, and Aliens can jump to surfaces when their icon changes, but there doesn't seem to be much consistency between what you can jump to and what you can't. AI is extremely weak, especially for the Aliens who generally just run at you and jink occasionally. Humans wander around spouting the same three phrases and are easily removed or ignored. Sentry guns are now unbreakable but seem to be nowhere near as dangerous as in the first game. I could go on, but it breaks my heart. God knows how much money was plowed into this by Sega, and it's a clunker. The original Half-Life will give you more scares and excitement than this waste of a DVD. If you're a fan of the source material , get AvP Gold from Steam and ignore this turd. Expand
  33. JimH.
    Feb 25, 2010
    2
    First FPS in years, maybe a decade, that didn't have a "down the sights" mode when using a gun. You basically aim from the hip, with a tiny crosshair in the center of the screen. Fighting regular Aliens isn't a problem, but try shooting those facehuggers without a zoom function. Add to that poor lighting, and you end up wasting a clip killing one facehugger. Then there is the First FPS in years, maybe a decade, that didn't have a "down the sights" mode when using a gun. You basically aim from the hip, with a tiny crosshair in the center of the screen. Fighting regular Aliens isn't a problem, but try shooting those facehuggers without a zoom function. Add to that poor lighting, and you end up wasting a clip killing one facehugger. Then there is the combat droids, that can one-shot kill you from like 30 feet away with a shotgun. Try shooting off their heads without decent gun controls. Alien moved like it was drunk/drugged. Predator didn't get much time, as I traded this in as quickly as possible, so no idea on how he plays. Rogue Warrior may be bad, but at least it makes me laugh while I play, so thats some sort of enjoyment. This has none. I give it a 2 as it has color/sound and didn't crash. Expand
  34. ZacharyD.
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    This game is great, I can't believe people can even think of giving it a bad review. Those people have either NEVER seen the movies (*cough*Game Informer's Ben Reeves *cough*) or rented it and played it for 5 minutes before giving up because they are wimps (when playing as an Alien, IT ISN'T THAT DISORIENTING! STOP BEING A WUSS!) or they are crying because it isn't This game is great, I can't believe people can even think of giving it a bad review. Those people have either NEVER seen the movies (*cough*Game Informer's Ben Reeves *cough*) or rented it and played it for 5 minutes before giving up because they are wimps (when playing as an Alien, IT ISN'T THAT DISORIENTING! STOP BEING A WUSS!) or they are crying because it isn't like Modern Warfare 2. For those of you who LOVED the first two AvP games on the PC, heck, even the AvP Extinction and Predator Concrete Jungle games, then you will love this game. It has minor flaws, but nothing that breaks the game. If you don't like the game, then I guess I will be hearing you scream "GAME OVER MAN, GAME OVER!" while I kick your butts. See ya there marines! Expand
  35. AlexD
    Feb 24, 2010
    8
    I can understand why this game recieved such low scores, it's obvious that the graphics need improving, some of the maps lack variety & can be difficult to move on (mainly when the alien). However, the gameplay is very unique and really provides a lot of entertainment! If your a fan of any of the alien/predator movies then you will with out a doubt enjoy this game.
  36. MichaelR.
    Feb 23, 2010
    8
    While missing some features that would have made the game more enjoyable, and some features that seem to be standard in FPS's, this game is still fun and well balanced enough to allow the game to be a worthwhile purchase. I am unashamed to admit that I -LOVE- this game. Though I will not admit that there are some twitchy moments and some small issues that detract from the overall experience.
  37. RobertS
    Feb 23, 2010
    8
    While this game definitely has some postiives with the stealth kills and trophy kill system, the lackluster campaigns (not even that difficult on Nightmare), and the technical glitches present in the game bring the game down overall. However, the multiplayer experience truly makes this game worth buying, even more so if they patch some of the glitches and give us the DLC some time soon. While this game definitely has some postiives with the stealth kills and trophy kill system, the lackluster campaigns (not even that difficult on Nightmare), and the technical glitches present in the game bring the game down overall. However, the multiplayer experience truly makes this game worth buying, even more so if they patch some of the glitches and give us the DLC some time soon. However, if you aren't a hardcore fan of the Aliens vs Predator series, then I would recommend waiting until the price drops to $40 or so, then buying it. It's not really worth the full price unless you are a hardcore fan. Expand
  38. PaulB.
    Feb 22, 2010
    7
    Being a fan of the original AVP game franchise, and the films was looking foreward to this game. This review is from playing 3/4 of the campaigns so far. Out of the 3 campaigns, the marines is the most polished - very atmospheric - the aliens are terrifying, and prety hard to hit with the pulse rifle! Great use of sound and lighting really amps up the atmosphere - and compensates for the Being a fan of the original AVP game franchise, and the films was looking foreward to this game. This review is from playing 3/4 of the campaigns so far. Out of the 3 campaigns, the marines is the most polished - very atmospheric - the aliens are terrifying, and prety hard to hit with the pulse rifle! Great use of sound and lighting really amps up the atmosphere - and compensates for the grapics, which are a looking a bit dated compared to some of the newest titles. Predator missons are fun, but hes clumsy to use - often falling from treetops and ledges when engaing the aliens, which i found frustrating. The over the top quick kills get old pretty quick - even more so, when marines dont even express shock at the sight of a freshly beheaded comrade! Still old predator favorites like the razor disk and shoulder cannon were very satisfying to use. Aliens finish off the trio, and are fun, especially with being able to run on the walls and ceiling - a feature from the original series which is pretty disorienting! All in all a nice little game, not groundbreaking by any means, but great fun for anyone who loved the original series. Expand
  39. DeanS.
    Feb 21, 2010
    8
    The graphics are amazing the, the multiplayer game modes are great, and the maps are all amazing. Currently severs are an issue but that has been promised a fix asap, and there is one map that has a graphics programming problem which ATI and Nvidia are currently working to fix Single player is ok, i haven't played much to be honest, Audio logs are terribly acted but overall the The graphics are amazing the, the multiplayer game modes are great, and the maps are all amazing. Currently severs are an issue but that has been promised a fix asap, and there is one map that has a graphics programming problem which ATI and Nvidia are currently working to fix Single player is ok, i haven't played much to be honest, Audio logs are terribly acted but overall the marine mission is crap your pants scary with the correct set up Finally if your still uming and ahing, get a video of Infestation game mode on the map Pyramid, if they promis more maps like this the game will be a killer. Life expectancy: 1-2months ++with frequent content. Expand
  40. COGITOERGOSUM
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    OK here is the low down on AVP. This game is for the Alien and Predator franchise fans; if you are among them, you will rate this game highly. Make no mistake however, the flaws that the critics have picked up on are indeed there and for all to see, but the thing about that is, you are either a fan and wear rose colored glasses, or not, and if so the flaws are all you are left with. To be OK here is the low down on AVP. This game is for the Alien and Predator franchise fans; if you are among them, you will rate this game highly. Make no mistake however, the flaws that the critics have picked up on are indeed there and for all to see, but the thing about that is, you are either a fan and wear rose colored glasses, or not, and if so the flaws are all you are left with. To be fair, the game IS an excellent attempt at a polished addition to a now tiresome franchise, if you loved the Ridley Scott and James Camerons heralded Alien films, and like me, consider Predator as a must-have classic in the DVD collection, you won't put down the controller. **Cogito Ergo Sum. Expand
  41. ChrisC,
    Feb 20, 2010
    1
    Found it really hard to even give this a 1. By far the worse game Ive bought in years. I was seduced by the demo which promised so much that the game failed to deliver. Avoid Avoid Avoid, but if you really must rent it first.
  42. AlexC
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    I found AvP to be a very enjoyable experience. Although short, the campaigns are quite fun. The multiplayer is brilliant, with unique gametypes sutied for AvP. The graphics aren't the best ever, but they are still quite good. In addition, I found the gory kills to be oddly satisfying.
  43. mangomanyears
    Feb 20, 2010
    10
    Survivor mode is just mad, absolutely relentless you don't get time to breathe, you finish a game with that "just one more go feeling". If you don't play online consider renting as I'm sure theres only so many times to play the campaigns, but if you do enjoy online play this is a must buy for any shooter fans collection.
  44. CrisC.
    Feb 20, 2010
    7
    This game is made for fans of the movies and/or comics, but even as a fan it didn't quite live up to my expectations. DO NOT purchase this game for the campaign. The 3 campaigns are mediocre at best and offer little to no replay value. The multiplayer is where its at in this game. It harkens back to the older styles of multiplayer a bit and can feel very nostalgic for veterans of the This game is made for fans of the movies and/or comics, but even as a fan it didn't quite live up to my expectations. DO NOT purchase this game for the campaign. The 3 campaigns are mediocre at best and offer little to no replay value. The multiplayer is where its at in this game. It harkens back to the older styles of multiplayer a bit and can feel very nostalgic for veterans of the old pc games. The controls/mechanics of this game are its downfall as I feel the learning curve is just a bit steep for casual players. The co-op survivor is easily the highlight of the game and what I enjoyed playing the most, but even that can't save this game completely from its lack of refinement and content. Its a decent game but I can't recommend it for everyone. Expand
  45. GabrielU
    Feb 20, 2010
    8
    This game was amazing. The game feels very classic in terms of the shooting and puts you back in the days of 007 and Halo Ce when you didn't have to scope down your sights. Unlike every other unoriginal shooter that comes out nowadays like Cod, Medal Of Honour, Farcry etc. This one mixes in unique aspects like Tri species combat. In the multiplayer component this game has a very This game was amazing. The game feels very classic in terms of the shooting and puts you back in the days of 007 and Halo Ce when you didn't have to scope down your sights. Unlike every other unoriginal shooter that comes out nowadays like Cod, Medal Of Honour, Farcry etc. This one mixes in unique aspects like Tri species combat. In the multiplayer component this game has a very impressive variety of game types but the lack of customizeable classes or features for your character gives very little incentive to rank up and is unfortunate. Overall a must buy though Expand
  46. JohnnyT
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    Have never wrote a review until now because this is such a great game I almost didn't by because of the reviews Quote "GameSpot" The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may Have never wrote a review until now because this is such a great game I almost didn't by because of the reviews Quote "GameSpot" The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them. Glad I didn't listen to them, I Love this game Collapse
  47. LinzD
    Feb 19, 2010
    9
    I really don't get these "Professional" reviews. I LOVE this game! The single player campaigns are very good fun to play (especially the Marine,very atmospheric) they're not groundbreaking, but nonetheless great fun. As for multiplayer, this is the most fun I've had online since spending hours on Gears of War1, and Survivor mode is just mad, absolutely relentless you I really don't get these "Professional" reviews. I LOVE this game! The single player campaigns are very good fun to play (especially the Marine,very atmospheric) they're not groundbreaking, but nonetheless great fun. As for multiplayer, this is the most fun I've had online since spending hours on Gears of War1, and Survivor mode is just mad, absolutely relentless you don't get time to breathe, you finish a game with that "just one more go feeling". If you don't play online consider renting as I'm sure theres only so many times to play the campaigns, but if you do enjoy online play this is a must buy for any shooter fans collection. Expand
  48. SimonJ
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Have to give this game a 10. I'm so glad I had this pre-ordered for months because I wouldn't have bought it based on the meta score. I mean it's not perfect , thats true but it's sooo much fun to play. The graphics for me are on a par with most next gen titles so I don't know what all the complaints with this aspect are about. For me its fresh and gives a unique Have to give this game a 10. I'm so glad I had this pre-ordered for months because I wouldn't have bought it based on the meta score. I mean it's not perfect , thats true but it's sooo much fun to play. The graphics for me are on a par with most next gen titles so I don't know what all the complaints with this aspect are about. For me its fresh and gives a unique multiplayer experience you just can't get with any other game. No self respecting fan of the franchise can be dissapointed with this game. They have really done a great job. Hats off to you. Expand
  49. SkullScience
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, I firstly played the online multi-player demo of this, and even though I thought the graphics were somewhat average, I found the game and the diversity of styles engrossing. So today I got myself the Hunter Edition. The game is fantastic. The graphics are sharper with more lighting than the demo. Still not the best out there but more than good enough, with some fantastic animation, Ok, I firstly played the online multi-player demo of this, and even though I thought the graphics were somewhat average, I found the game and the diversity of styles engrossing. So today I got myself the Hunter Edition. The game is fantastic. The graphics are sharper with more lighting than the demo. Still not the best out there but more than good enough, with some fantastic animation, especially on the Aliens. The Marine level is full of atmosphere and can be very tense, just how it should be. Don't listen to the poor reviewers. I have been playing games for over 20 years and know a good game when I see it. AvP is not a good game, it is a great game!!! A must for fps fans and Online Multi-Player fans! Buy it!! Expand
  50. ManeaA
    Feb 18, 2010
    2
    Must be the stupidest single player campaign ever. The atmosphere with marine is gone (stupid chick keeps talking in my ear), aliens are like little old men walking on wheelchairs and take forever to get to me. The predator campaign starts ok but as soon as it beacomes a tomb raider it gets stupid also. The alien campaign would be decent if you actually felt like an alien and not a robot Must be the stupidest single player campaign ever. The atmosphere with marine is gone (stupid chick keeps talking in my ear), aliens are like little old men walking on wheelchairs and take forever to get to me. The predator campaign starts ok but as soon as it beacomes a tomb raider it gets stupid also. The alien campaign would be decent if you actually felt like an alien and not a robot with hud display ans markers everywhere. The hud is justified only for predators and marines with high technology. Anyway, biggest dissapointment of the year, maybe the miultiplayer will save it but... Expand
  51. DeanS
    Feb 18, 2010
    9
    Nowhere near the metacritic review score... I found myself drawn to keep playing it even though the similarities of 99` are embedded into its core. However, that was a great game when that was released and after playing hundreds of first person shooters since then, I can vouch for at least an enjoyable, scary and traumatising experience depending on which campaign you are drawn to at that time.
  52. Jeff
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Do not go into this game looking for a great single player experience. Each campaign is enjoyable, with the marine being the best, but they are all training for multiplayer. The game is wonderfully balanced, with each species having advantages and disadvantages. There is a wide range of multiplayer game modes. There are not too many maps, but enough to mix it up. With the promise of Do not go into this game looking for a great single player experience. Each campaign is enjoyable, with the marine being the best, but they are all training for multiplayer. The game is wonderfully balanced, with each species having advantages and disadvantages. There is a wide range of multiplayer game modes. There are not too many maps, but enough to mix it up. With the promise of content to come it looks like this game will continue to thrive with a good community and amazing gameplay. Expand
  53. EvM.
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    I can understand some of the criticisms of this game, but maybe it's because I am a huge fan of the Alien and Predator films (although both AVP films were trash) but I'm really enjoying this game. It's not perfect, but it's a lot of fun, has good variety, and there's a bunch of moments in the marine campaign where I was definitely creeped out because of how I can understand some of the criticisms of this game, but maybe it's because I am a huge fan of the Alien and Predator films (although both AVP films were trash) but I'm really enjoying this game. It's not perfect, but it's a lot of fun, has good variety, and there's a bunch of moments in the marine campaign where I was definitely creeped out because of how engrossed I was into the gameplay. Multiplayer is cool as well. Don't listen to all the haters. Expand
  54. ScuffPuppy
    Feb 18, 2010
    3
    The Alien vs Predator reboot, is a total disaster from start to finish. The 'old skool' approach is simply a vale with which to hide gameplay mechanics that were never good to start with. Don't get this crapy title confused with the GotY award winning AvP2 back in '99, developed by the skillful studio Monolith. This is from, quite possibly, the worst developer around The Alien vs Predator reboot, is a total disaster from start to finish. The 'old skool' approach is simply a vale with which to hide gameplay mechanics that were never good to start with. Don't get this crapy title confused with the GotY award winning AvP2 back in '99, developed by the skillful studio Monolith. This is from, quite possibly, the worst developer around at the moment. Rebellion. 3 dreadful campaigns, each shorter than the last. All using the same rehashed environments, all woven around a terrible plot that doesn't stick with the Alien or Predator canon, but attempts to write it's own. Whatever you do, DO NOT spend your hard earned cash on this trash. Even diehard Alien and Predator fans like myself will weep. Rebellion, call it a day. Stick to comics. Expand
  55. NickK
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Very fun game and looks visual impressive most of the time. I don't know what these silly reviewers are talking about. Multiplayer is a blast! 8.5/10 for me, giving it a 10 because reviewers these days can only give good marks to the same simple mechanic games and not the ones that try new things.
  56. NickM.
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    Solid game. The controls feel good and the animations and graphics are up to par with meany of todays top games. it is hard to find many down sides to this game. the storys are deep enough to give any AVP fan bang for there buck, and the multiplyer has enough modes to keep any online gamer at the plastic box for a while. the only down side I see is that there are some modern conventions Solid game. The controls feel good and the animations and graphics are up to par with meany of todays top games. it is hard to find many down sides to this game. the storys are deep enough to give any AVP fan bang for there buck, and the multiplyer has enough modes to keep any online gamer at the plastic box for a while. the only down side I see is that there are some modern conventions that are missing from this game. Like a swaying camera, and a lack of an aiming mode for the Marienes keeps this game from being a 10 in my book. That being said this game is still on my list for best of 2010 so far. If that is the case then 2010 is going to be a greate year for gaming. Expand
  57. MattL
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    Definitely an underrated game by reviewers. This game kicks ass. It has 3 very nicely done single player campaigns and extremely fun multiplayer modes. The graphics aren't the best thats for sure, but nevertheless they are very good. Not great, but good. The gameplay is very fun. Its extremely fun to play as every species and its VERY balanced. The learning curve isn't that bad Definitely an underrated game by reviewers. This game kicks ass. It has 3 very nicely done single player campaigns and extremely fun multiplayer modes. The graphics aren't the best thats for sure, but nevertheless they are very good. Not great, but good. The gameplay is very fun. Its extremely fun to play as every species and its VERY balanced. The learning curve isn't that bad and jeez people come on, isn't it fun to learn something new every once in a while. There is no doubt a learning curve but it isn't hard nor frustrating to learn. And once you learn it its a blast!! Expand
  58. tcoffee
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to the reviews! If you are a fan of the series definitely check out this game. The maps are incredible as is the predator! The alien and marine controls are definitely difficult to get used to, but not impossible. This game is worth your time and money, metacritic mofos.
  59. EthanS
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Game is amazing, campaign is a tad bit short, but exciting. Infestation is brilliant, especially when on the pyramid map. Nothing scares you more than running down the hallway just to have the door come down right in front of you.
  60. CR
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    A fun and exciting game. Takes a while to get a grip of the alien, but when you do it is awesome! However I felt some dissapointment in the predator campaign only being like 3h tops. Otherwise a fairly enjoyable game!
  61. Matt
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    Game is original and brinsg a new type of FPS into this gen. Reviews from "proffesionals" are mixed. I have enjoyed this game more then any other online FPS recently(including MW2 and H3).Its well balanced, everyone starts off on a level playing feidl EVERY GAME, no one is ever going to have the upper hand on you before you enter the fight. The game requires you to think and be on your Game is original and brinsg a new type of FPS into this gen. Reviews from "proffesionals" are mixed. I have enjoyed this game more then any other online FPS recently(including MW2 and H3).Its well balanced, everyone starts off on a level playing feidl EVERY GAME, no one is ever going to have the upper hand on you before you enter the fight. The game requires you to think and be on your toes ALL GAME. Survivor is more intense and fun then Nazi Zombies, and the Death Match modes are all excellent. Domination is fun as well, so are the infestation modes and Pred Hunt is a blast as well, whether or not your the predator. The only mode I dont think works well for this particular type of game is FFA, it just doesnt flow well with the way the species are and it can be hindered by those trying to run around and do nothing but a stealth kill. Stealth kills are great, they are fun to do in team games, can get you killed FAST in FFA. They are no different then a knife kill in MW2 or BFBC2, or an assasination in Halo, they are just longer in duration, be stealthy and it wont be a problem. Trophy kills(stealth kill from the FRONT) can be broken out of. Game is the best looking, but its fine overal. You wont be wowed, but you will be far from disgusted with the graphics, they are well done Sounds are AMAZING, taken directly from the movies. Game is ALOT of fun. SP is fun, the Marin campaign is the best, the other 2 are somewhat mediocre. The online game modes are what make this game so much fun. With how mixed the reviews are I can only say to go try the game for yourself, it has a learning curve, but once you have the hang of it im sure you will enjoy it. AvP is one of this years great games, that is original, and is being penalized for not being like other FPS's. Dont let several bad reviews(out of many rather good ones) sway you, this is a game you really have to try out for yourself because some people just dont get it. Expand
  62. JohnH
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    This game is not Mw2, its better, it takes skill and time to master each species style of play. the main campaigns highlight is the marine yeah, but the nostalgic value of the alien and predator is great to, Mp is what shines, with 3 different species you have to be quick and adapt fast, sure there may be small techical issues, but it dosnt prevent the game from being fun, buy this game This game is not Mw2, its better, it takes skill and time to master each species style of play. the main campaigns highlight is the marine yeah, but the nostalgic value of the alien and predator is great to, Mp is what shines, with 3 different species you have to be quick and adapt fast, sure there may be small techical issues, but it dosnt prevent the game from being fun, buy this game so that the sequel will be even more refined. Expand
  63. JakeA.
    Feb 17, 2010
    2
    This game would've been better if they didn't try so hard to make it such a "different" game from everything that's already out right now. The complicated controls, and the lighting is just horrible, I wish i could have actually enjoyed this game. If you want a good shooter with mediocre online play your better off getting Bioshock 2 or even Modern Warfare 2 because this This game would've been better if they didn't try so hard to make it such a "different" game from everything that's already out right now. The complicated controls, and the lighting is just horrible, I wish i could have actually enjoyed this game. If you want a good shooter with mediocre online play your better off getting Bioshock 2 or even Modern Warfare 2 because this game has absolutely NO replay value. Expand
  64. DanteR.
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    I can't BELIEVE this game is getting such weak reviews from so many "professional" reviews. Sure, each campaign might be a little short but there are three of them. Also, the rich and diverse multiplayer modes extend the shelf life of this one a LONG way. I will still be playing this come this time next year. Predator Hunt is the most fun I've ever had with clothes on. (And, I can't BELIEVE this game is getting such weak reviews from so many "professional" reviews. Sure, each campaign might be a little short but there are three of them. Also, the rich and diverse multiplayer modes extend the shelf life of this one a LONG way. I will still be playing this come this time next year. Predator Hunt is the most fun I've ever had with clothes on. (And, about the graphics... for some reason no one is talking about the outdoor levels which ARE NOT ugly.) I seldom disagree this much with metacritic. (In fact, this is my first review because SOMEONE has to correct this nonsense.) They did a beautiful job respecting the source material too. (Something not even the AVP movies did.) Expand
  65. RickR.
    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    The critics that threw AVP under the bus are the same that praised Modern Warfare 2 for being the best thing since sliced bread and wrestling. It is not really a surprise to see AVp get low scores because it obviously doesn't sport the same mechanics as teh aforementioned title but it does have its moments. AVP is the ultimate fan service but those who expect a run of the mill The critics that threw AVP under the bus are the same that praised Modern Warfare 2 for being the best thing since sliced bread and wrestling. It is not really a surprise to see AVp get low scores because it obviously doesn't sport the same mechanics as teh aforementioned title but it does have its moments. AVP is the ultimate fan service but those who expect a run of the mill shooter with a sprinkle of horrer will be in for a major disappointment. Expand
  66. MikeB.
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    People need to see this game for what it is. A nice tribute to the two movie franchises. For every reviewer who complains about the controls stop whining and just learn how to play the damn game. Mixed species TDM is also one of the most interesting game types i have played recently since with a good team everyone accounts for the others weaknesses. Must have for movie and multiplayer People need to see this game for what it is. A nice tribute to the two movie franchises. For every reviewer who complains about the controls stop whining and just learn how to play the damn game. Mixed species TDM is also one of the most interesting game types i have played recently since with a good team everyone accounts for the others weaknesses. Must have for movie and multiplayer fans. Also as a last rant... I know Game informer complained about a lack of crouch or Iron sights for the marine. If you were being hunted by freakin aliens you cant tell me you would precision aim while you get jumped or move slower for no reason. they can see you anyway dude! It doesn't help! Expand
  67. BE
    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    Great game. I really don't see where the negative reviews come from. Single player, each campaign plays differently from one another; the marine is the tense Doom 3 style shooter, the predator is the stealth based one, and the alien is just chaotic kill sprees. But, the multiplayer is where this game shines. Truly amazing, each characters is completely different from the other and it Great game. I really don't see where the negative reviews come from. Single player, each campaign plays differently from one another; the marine is the tense Doom 3 style shooter, the predator is the stealth based one, and the alien is just chaotic kill sprees. But, the multiplayer is where this game shines. Truly amazing, each characters is completely different from the other and it makes for a fun, fresh and unique gaming experience. There are some slight balance issues, but I really don't see why the reviewers are bashing this game? Expand
  68. KaiS.
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    It is the best game I've ever played.
  69. BartekC.
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Just the way it had to be.
  70. [Anonymous]
    Feb 16, 2010
    2
    Terrible game. Too many other great games to spend money on. Unpolished design and balance
  71. MedardoR
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent Horror Game and great action. People complain about the controls, They are very simple and take a very short learning curve. Awesome Multiplayer Modes.
  72. JordanH
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Finely crafted game. Especially if you're a fan of the originals. Tricky at first, once mastered you will do great with any of the three species.
  73. JacobF
    Feb 16, 2010
    4
    Played it in one stint. All I can say is disappointing. For fans this is maybe still a good game but there are a lot of annoying things and very bad design. Maybe they will fix it hopefully.
  74. MathewD.
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    AVP is a great game that really stays true to it's franchise. While the graphics aren't the greatest, the single player is merely mediocre, the game has a wonderful multiplayer experience. Seven different game modes allows endless fun and allows you to enjoy the experience without feeling like it's getting repetitive. These game modes are Infestation, Predator Hunt, Death AVP is a great game that really stays true to it's franchise. While the graphics aren't the greatest, the single player is merely mediocre, the game has a wonderful multiplayer experience. Seven different game modes allows endless fun and allows you to enjoy the experience without feeling like it's getting repetitive. These game modes are Infestation, Predator Hunt, Death Match, Team Death Match, Mixed Death Match, Domination, Survival Mode Infestation is a new take to the classic zombie mode. Instead of facing off with one shambling zombie that slowly overwhelms your team as more and more players drop there's one fast moving and lethal alien. 17 marine players face off against a Xenomorph and if that Xenomorph scores a kill, more players join it's rank. What makes this, in my opinion, interesting than most games "Zombie" modes is that the Xenomorphs are extremely fast, aggressive, and can pop out of anywhere. This makes the fight for survival and to be the last man standing increasingly more difficult as more of your friends join their rank. Predator Hunt is another interesting take on the classic known as Juggernaut. If a marine scores a kill on the Predator he becomes the next Predator. What makes it different is that the Predator can cloak, has highly advanced weapons, and a good well placed mind can take out most of the marine team. Even more, he has a plasma shoulder canon that can score multiple kills at one, the classic combi stick that many players simply don't see coming and much more. Death Match, not much to say about this, it's easily in my opinion the weakest mode in the game. It allows you to pick one of the three species and go head to head in a free for all against one another. It's fun but I find it gets boring after all. It's also very anti-thematic compared to the other modes. Team Death Match on the other hand is very fun and here is where it differs from other fps games! You don't play with one team but THREE. It's humans/Aliens/Predators in an all out fight to out score the other team via kills. Six humans against Six Aliens against Six Predators for a total of 18 players. With the difference between the species fighting styles you never know what to expect. This definitely ranks up there as one of the top game modes. Mixed Team Death Match is the classic Team Death Match. Two sides fighting it out but the difference here is that each Team can be any species you want. I dislike this mode buuut I find that it's better than regular Death Match. It can be really fun if you have friends who refuse to play the same species as yourself in the other team death match and this way you can all get together with your preferred species and have fun. Domination is the same as other games. Try to hold several points to outscore the other team. Other people might be thrilled with this addition but I feel it could have been done without. It's not my cup of tea and there's not much to say about it. Finally there's survival mode. You and three friends group up to fight wave after wave of Xenomorphs. Each wave forcing you to be more frantic and desperate than the last as you try to stay alive and make it through. So why didn't I give the game a 10/10? There's one massive flaw to this otherwise fun game but we already knew about it before it released, right? The single player is short. I mean, really short. 5 hours average for each campaign but can be completed in a total of 8 hours if you're a skilled gamer. The level designs are very linear and within an hour of playing there's not much surprises left in store. The old school addition of bosses are fun but you'll be done with this in a few hours. If you're in it for the single player experience? The game is worth a rent. If you love Multiplayer? This is one of THE must have FPS games. Expand
  75. PR
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Solid game, epic MP. Campaigns longer than cod and halo odst. Variety of multiplayer games rule.
  76. JasonK
    Feb 16, 2010
    5
    As a huge Aliens fan this has to be one of the most disappointing Aliens games I have played. While the MP can be kind of fun, it does grow old fast. There
  77. MattP
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I personally do not understand all of the hate towards this game, it is a breath of fresh air in the FPS genre. It is something original, unlike the more popular FPS shooters such as Modern Warfare and Halo, and is fun to boot. I wont go into a long review of the game, as there are plenty of websites that will do that for me, all i can say is that if you are a fan of either the Aliens or I personally do not understand all of the hate towards this game, it is a breath of fresh air in the FPS genre. It is something original, unlike the more popular FPS shooters such as Modern Warfare and Halo, and is fun to boot. I wont go into a long review of the game, as there are plenty of websites that will do that for me, all i can say is that if you are a fan of either the Aliens or Predator universe, or are simply looking for a shooter that differs from the popular HALO or COD franchises, then this game will certainly be for you. Expand
  78. JimM
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent game, worth every penny. If your fan of the movies and what avp movies should have been, this is your game.
  79. EnderS
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    Having finally played AVP, I have to disagree with my two favorite review sources. I am one of those people who has been waiting for the past two years since Game Informer first ran a cover on Aliens: Colonel Marines, for any news on the franchise's fate. While the alien controls are definitely hard to master, that was the allure in 1994, and the mechanic retains its distinction from Having finally played AVP, I have to disagree with my two favorite review sources. I am one of those people who has been waiting for the past two years since Game Informer first ran a cover on Aliens: Colonel Marines, for any news on the franchise's fate. While the alien controls are definitely hard to master, that was the allure in 1994, and the mechanic retains its distinction from other games today. The level of freedom of movement is, to some, disorienting, but it can also make for some of the most enjoyably mind warping fights I have ever seen. The new Last Man Standing mode in MP is also a standout and has kept all the horror and fun from the original. My only real beef is that most ancient of beefs, the need for splitscreen gameplay; this is especially painful in the new co-op marine mode. I think fans of the franchise will agree with me for the most part. Newcomers who are looking for a simple fps, however, will likely find GameSpot and Informer's reviews more helpful than IGN. Expand
  80. DavidB
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    I would give this a 9.5, but I rounded up. This is a great title, and regardless of its Metascore, this is a must play. This is one of those few times when the game reviewers get it wrong, and this is one of those times.
  81. AndreasW
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I`m just a huge fan of avp and like this game. Predator is the best species of those three!!!
  82. James
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    You no what really grinds my gears, people giving games reveiws before they are even out yet. I refuse to give this game a grade lower than 10 because I am really excited about avp, and it will raise the average rating. The actual game has strong gameplay is strong on all three species. In fact they are so different in their controls, that the campains feel like three different games. You no what really grinds my gears, people giving games reveiws before they are even out yet. I refuse to give this game a grade lower than 10 because I am really excited about avp, and it will raise the average rating. The actual game has strong gameplay is strong on all three species. In fact they are so different in their controls, that the campains feel like three different games. They all have special stuff such as: Predator: cloaking device heat vision modes and strongest in combat, Aliens: run on walls and celing, Marine: plenty of weapons, and a heartbeat sencer. It also has seven stunning multiplayer modes which are: Deathmatch (free for all), 3-way species team death match, Mixed species team death match, hunt mode, survivor mode, infestation mode, domination. Because of all the amazing multiplayer modes (and more for dlc soon) and campains, do not listen to a bad reveiw of this unmissable game. Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 64
  2. Negative: 3 out of 64
  1. Like an antithesis to Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, it proves that two great flavors don't always taste great together. [Issue#203, p.87]
  2. 85
    A game that's going to stoke the hearts of anyone who ever fell in love with the original films – which is likely anyone who's ever picked up a game pad.
  3. The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them.