Aliens vs. Predator Xbox 360

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 248 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 248
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    A well-made installment to the Alien & Predator franchise that pays respect to the fans and the series.
  2. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this game very much. Being a long time fan of the Alien movies, and the previous games for PC, I had to buy this game. All 3 campaigns were great. I enjoyed the Marines and the Aliens one the best. Most people would probably disagree, but thats just my opinion. The multiplayer was fun, however i felt that the predator was a bit overpowered. In the end though, i think the gameI enjoyed this game very much. Being a long time fan of the Alien movies, and the previous games for PC, I had to buy this game. All 3 campaigns were great. I enjoyed the Marines and the Aliens one the best. Most people would probably disagree, but thats just my opinion. The multiplayer was fun, however i felt that the predator was a bit overpowered. In the end though, i think the game deserved a better rating than the 64 that the critics gave it. Expand
  3. TonyM
    Mar 3, 2010
    9
    I don't know what critics want, but this game is great. I know, everyone will be disappointed with the ratings but this game is worth 8 or 9. The single-player campaign of Marines is great. Predator's campaign is good too, as Aliens are aliens they don't seem to have sense to tell a story :D. Anyway, this game is worth the money. Don't be disappointed with the ratings. I don't know what critics want, but this game is great. I know, everyone will be disappointed with the ratings but this game is worth 8 or 9. The single-player campaign of Marines is great. Predator's campaign is good too, as Aliens are aliens they don't seem to have sense to tell a story :D. Anyway, this game is worth the money. Don't be disappointed with the ratings. The multiplayer is quite different and superb actually. Buy it! Expand
  4. May 24, 2011
    10
    I have enjoyed this game. Yes, its not the most polished, the graphics are average. however, the sound is very atmospheric as you would expect with Alien type connections. the gameplay is different providing a different slant on the first person shooter. Playing and the predator and alien is a real gameplay stroke. it makes the gameplay refreshingly different abd a change from theI have enjoyed this game. Yes, its not the most polished, the graphics are average. however, the sound is very atmospheric as you would expect with Alien type connections. the gameplay is different providing a different slant on the first person shooter. Playing and the predator and alien is a real gameplay stroke. it makes the gameplay refreshingly different abd a change from the current alternatives on the market. The alien is incredibly difficult to control properly, not because of awkward controls but due to the games and changes in orientation to move on walls and ceiling. It takes a while for you brain to truely be at ease in this format. the game play is frustrating, because death can occur very often, particularly on the marine missions. I await a further game, but with expanded campaigns and a bit more faith in the game to generate sales. I believe with the predator and alien name, they are on to a potential blockbuster game, great game, clearly undervalued by the expert critics. it has the X Factor in a game, could have been a truely great game with a bigger buget and a bit more faith. Graphics 7.5 - average but the alien movement is excellent, Predator visual excellent,
    Sound 9.5 - just like the film, great
    gameplay - 8.0, short but the gameplay varied and different, Which is a good thing, yes. I believe gameplay is hard, which may deter some game fans,
    presentation 7.0, could have had a afew more option, video etc
    online N/A - dont play online
    Expand
  5. EnderS
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    Having finally played AVP, I have to disagree with my two favorite review sources. I am one of those people who has been waiting for the past two years since Game Informer first ran a cover on Aliens: Colonel Marines, for any news on the franchise's fate. While the alien controls are definitely hard to master, that was the allure in 1994, and the mechanic retains its distinction from Having finally played AVP, I have to disagree with my two favorite review sources. I am one of those people who has been waiting for the past two years since Game Informer first ran a cover on Aliens: Colonel Marines, for any news on the franchise's fate. While the alien controls are definitely hard to master, that was the allure in 1994, and the mechanic retains its distinction from other games today. The level of freedom of movement is, to some, disorienting, but it can also make for some of the most enjoyably mind warping fights I have ever seen. The new Last Man Standing mode in MP is also a standout and has kept all the horror and fun from the original. My only real beef is that most ancient of beefs, the need for splitscreen gameplay; this is especially painful in the new co-op marine mode. I think fans of the franchise will agree with me for the most part. Newcomers who are looking for a simple fps, however, will likely find GameSpot and Informer's reviews more helpful than IGN. Expand
  6. DavidB
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    I would give this a 9.5, but I rounded up. This is a great title, and regardless of its Metascore, this is a must play. This is one of those few times when the game reviewers get it wrong, and this is one of those times.
  7. MattL
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    Definitely an underrated game by reviewers. This game kicks ass. It has 3 very nicely done single player campaigns and extremely fun multiplayer modes. The graphics aren't the best thats for sure, but nevertheless they are very good. Not great, but good. The gameplay is very fun. Its extremely fun to play as every species and its VERY balanced. The learning curve isn't that bad Definitely an underrated game by reviewers. This game kicks ass. It has 3 very nicely done single player campaigns and extremely fun multiplayer modes. The graphics aren't the best thats for sure, but nevertheless they are very good. Not great, but good. The gameplay is very fun. Its extremely fun to play as every species and its VERY balanced. The learning curve isn't that bad and jeez people come on, isn't it fun to learn something new every once in a while. There is no doubt a learning curve but it isn't hard nor frustrating to learn. And once you learn it its a blast!! Expand
  8. EthanS
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Game is amazing, campaign is a tad bit short, but exciting. Infestation is brilliant, especially when on the pyramid map. Nothing scares you more than running down the hallway just to have the door come down right in front of you.
  9. GabrielU
    Feb 20, 2010
    8
    This game was amazing. The game feels very classic in terms of the shooting and puts you back in the days of 007 and Halo Ce when you didn't have to scope down your sights. Unlike every other unoriginal shooter that comes out nowadays like Cod, Medal Of Honour, Farcry etc. This one mixes in unique aspects like Tri species combat. In the multiplayer component this game has a very This game was amazing. The game feels very classic in terms of the shooting and puts you back in the days of 007 and Halo Ce when you didn't have to scope down your sights. Unlike every other unoriginal shooter that comes out nowadays like Cod, Medal Of Honour, Farcry etc. This one mixes in unique aspects like Tri species combat. In the multiplayer component this game has a very impressive variety of game types but the lack of customizeable classes or features for your character gives very little incentive to rank up and is unfortunate. Overall a must buy though Expand
  10. KaiS.
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    It is the best game I've ever played.
  11. JimM
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent game, worth every penny. If your fan of the movies and what avp movies should have been, this is your game.
  12. PR
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Solid game, epic MP. Campaigns longer than cod and halo odst. Variety of multiplayer games rule.
  13. MathewD.
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    AVP is a great game that really stays true to it's franchise. While the graphics aren't the greatest, the single player is merely mediocre, the game has a wonderful multiplayer experience. Seven different game modes allows endless fun and allows you to enjoy the experience without feeling like it's getting repetitive. These game modes are Infestation, Predator Hunt, Death AVP is a great game that really stays true to it's franchise. While the graphics aren't the greatest, the single player is merely mediocre, the game has a wonderful multiplayer experience. Seven different game modes allows endless fun and allows you to enjoy the experience without feeling like it's getting repetitive. These game modes are Infestation, Predator Hunt, Death Match, Team Death Match, Mixed Death Match, Domination, Survival Mode Infestation is a new take to the classic zombie mode. Instead of facing off with one shambling zombie that slowly overwhelms your team as more and more players drop there's one fast moving and lethal alien. 17 marine players face off against a Xenomorph and if that Xenomorph scores a kill, more players join it's rank. What makes this, in my opinion, interesting than most games "Zombie" modes is that the Xenomorphs are extremely fast, aggressive, and can pop out of anywhere. This makes the fight for survival and to be the last man standing increasingly more difficult as more of your friends join their rank. Predator Hunt is another interesting take on the classic known as Juggernaut. If a marine scores a kill on the Predator he becomes the next Predator. What makes it different is that the Predator can cloak, has highly advanced weapons, and a good well placed mind can take out most of the marine team. Even more, he has a plasma shoulder canon that can score multiple kills at one, the classic combi stick that many players simply don't see coming and much more. Death Match, not much to say about this, it's easily in my opinion the weakest mode in the game. It allows you to pick one of the three species and go head to head in a free for all against one another. It's fun but I find it gets boring after all. It's also very anti-thematic compared to the other modes. Team Death Match on the other hand is very fun and here is where it differs from other fps games! You don't play with one team but THREE. It's humans/Aliens/Predators in an all out fight to out score the other team via kills. Six humans against Six Aliens against Six Predators for a total of 18 players. With the difference between the species fighting styles you never know what to expect. This definitely ranks up there as one of the top game modes. Mixed Team Death Match is the classic Team Death Match. Two sides fighting it out but the difference here is that each Team can be any species you want. I dislike this mode buuut I find that it's better than regular Death Match. It can be really fun if you have friends who refuse to play the same species as yourself in the other team death match and this way you can all get together with your preferred species and have fun. Domination is the same as other games. Try to hold several points to outscore the other team. Other people might be thrilled with this addition but I feel it could have been done without. It's not my cup of tea and there's not much to say about it. Finally there's survival mode. You and three friends group up to fight wave after wave of Xenomorphs. Each wave forcing you to be more frantic and desperate than the last as you try to stay alive and make it through. So why didn't I give the game a 10/10? There's one massive flaw to this otherwise fun game but we already knew about it before it released, right? The single player is short. I mean, really short. 5 hours average for each campaign but can be completed in a total of 8 hours if you're a skilled gamer. The level designs are very linear and within an hour of playing there's not much surprises left in store. The old school addition of bosses are fun but you'll be done with this in a few hours. If you're in it for the single player experience? The game is worth a rent. If you love Multiplayer? This is one of THE must have FPS games. Expand
  14. DanteR.
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    I can't BELIEVE this game is getting such weak reviews from so many "professional" reviews. Sure, each campaign might be a little short but there are three of them. Also, the rich and diverse multiplayer modes extend the shelf life of this one a LONG way. I will still be playing this come this time next year. Predator Hunt is the most fun I've ever had with clothes on. (And, I can't BELIEVE this game is getting such weak reviews from so many "professional" reviews. Sure, each campaign might be a little short but there are three of them. Also, the rich and diverse multiplayer modes extend the shelf life of this one a LONG way. I will still be playing this come this time next year. Predator Hunt is the most fun I've ever had with clothes on. (And, about the graphics... for some reason no one is talking about the outdoor levels which ARE NOT ugly.) I seldom disagree this much with metacritic. (In fact, this is my first review because SOMEONE has to correct this nonsense.) They did a beautiful job respecting the source material too. (Something not even the AVP movies did.) Expand
  15. BE
    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    Great game. I really don't see where the negative reviews come from. Single player, each campaign plays differently from one another; the marine is the tense Doom 3 style shooter, the predator is the stealth based one, and the alien is just chaotic kill sprees. But, the multiplayer is where this game shines. Truly amazing, each characters is completely different from the other and it Great game. I really don't see where the negative reviews come from. Single player, each campaign plays differently from one another; the marine is the tense Doom 3 style shooter, the predator is the stealth based one, and the alien is just chaotic kill sprees. But, the multiplayer is where this game shines. Truly amazing, each characters is completely different from the other and it makes for a fun, fresh and unique gaming experience. There are some slight balance issues, but I really don't see why the reviewers are bashing this game? Expand
  16. SkullScience
    Feb 19, 2010
    10
    Ok, I firstly played the online multi-player demo of this, and even though I thought the graphics were somewhat average, I found the game and the diversity of styles engrossing. So today I got myself the Hunter Edition. The game is fantastic. The graphics are sharper with more lighting than the demo. Still not the best out there but more than good enough, with some fantastic animation, Ok, I firstly played the online multi-player demo of this, and even though I thought the graphics were somewhat average, I found the game and the diversity of styles engrossing. So today I got myself the Hunter Edition. The game is fantastic. The graphics are sharper with more lighting than the demo. Still not the best out there but more than good enough, with some fantastic animation, especially on the Aliens. The Marine level is full of atmosphere and can be very tense, just how it should be. Don't listen to the poor reviewers. I have been playing games for over 20 years and know a good game when I see it. AvP is not a good game, it is a great game!!! A must for fps fans and Online Multi-Player fans! Buy it!! Expand
  17. mangomanyears
    Feb 20, 2010
    10
    Survivor mode is just mad, absolutely relentless you don't get time to breathe, you finish a game with that "just one more go feeling". If you don't play online consider renting as I'm sure theres only so many times to play the campaigns, but if you do enjoy online play this is a must buy for any shooter fans collection.
  18. ZacharyD.
    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    This game is great, I can't believe people can even think of giving it a bad review. Those people have either NEVER seen the movies (*cough*Game Informer's Ben Reeves *cough*) or rented it and played it for 5 minutes before giving up because they are wimps (when playing as an Alien, IT ISN'T THAT DISORIENTING! STOP BEING A WUSS!) or they are crying because it isn't This game is great, I can't believe people can even think of giving it a bad review. Those people have either NEVER seen the movies (*cough*Game Informer's Ben Reeves *cough*) or rented it and played it for 5 minutes before giving up because they are wimps (when playing as an Alien, IT ISN'T THAT DISORIENTING! STOP BEING A WUSS!) or they are crying because it isn't like Modern Warfare 2. For those of you who LOVED the first two AvP games on the PC, heck, even the AvP Extinction and Predator Concrete Jungle games, then you will love this game. It has minor flaws, but nothing that breaks the game. If you don't like the game, then I guess I will be hearing you scream "GAME OVER MAN, GAME OVER!" while I kick your butts. See ya there marines! Expand
  19. JohnnyT
    Feb 20, 2010
    9
    Have never wrote a review until now because this is such a great game I almost didn't by because of the reviews Quote "GameSpot" The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may Have never wrote a review until now because this is such a great game I almost didn't by because of the reviews Quote "GameSpot" The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them. Glad I didn't listen to them, I Love this game Expand
  20. JamesC
    Mar 2, 2010
    8
    Before I start I have to say some of the critic reviews seem to be so out of whack with my opinion iit really isn't funny. I think this must be the first example of a game where I don't agree with the critic reviews. Other critics seem to contradict themselves by pointing out a lot of good points about Aliens vs Predator, only to give it a really low score based on a couple of Before I start I have to say some of the critic reviews seem to be so out of whack with my opinion iit really isn't funny. I think this must be the first example of a game where I don't agree with the critic reviews. Other critics seem to contradict themselves by pointing out a lot of good points about Aliens vs Predator, only to give it a really low score based on a couple of faults. If you like the Alien / Predator movies - you will love this game. The Marine campaign for me is the most intense survival horror game yet (mainly because the Xenomorph is such a memorable character) - in terms of providing dread and checking every corner as you make your way slowly in the dark, it is unsurpassed (Dead Space is a very close 2nd). The Predator and Alien campaigns offer a different take and control completely differently. If you want to give your heart a break from freezing with fear at the end of the level you can switch over and play a level from one of the other campaigns. Playing as an Alien is just great because you can cause the fear you were only minutes ago feeling as a Marine. Multiplayer is great fun - the melee combat does take a bit of getting use to and you have to time things right but in multiplayer it is a blast when you get up nice and close to your rival. It is such a nice change to be able to go toe-to-toe with your opponent to see who comes out in top instead of always shooting from a distance (which you can still do of course). Single player is decent - not overly long but nightmare mode will keep you going for some time. Multi is good fun and the Survival mode is a great 'horde' mode. What better way to try and play co-operatively than holding off waves of the most recognisable sci-fi horror monsters in film? This game does have some bugs / glitches - I won't deny that, and the AI at times is plain stupid, but it doesn't stop it from being a real worthwhile purchase, particularly if you are half a fan of the associated movies. Expand
  21. MedardoR
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Excellent Horror Game and great action. People complain about the controls, They are very simple and take a very short learning curve. Awesome Multiplayer Modes.
  22. James
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    You no what really grinds my gears, people giving games reveiws before they are even out yet. I refuse to give this game a grade lower than 10 because I am really excited about avp, and it will raise the average rating. The actual game has strong gameplay is strong on all three species. In fact they are so different in their controls, that the campains feel like three different games. You no what really grinds my gears, people giving games reveiws before they are even out yet. I refuse to give this game a grade lower than 10 because I am really excited about avp, and it will raise the average rating. The actual game has strong gameplay is strong on all three species. In fact they are so different in their controls, that the campains feel like three different games. They all have special stuff such as: Predator: cloaking device heat vision modes and strongest in combat, Aliens: run on walls and celing, Marine: plenty of weapons, and a heartbeat sencer. It also has seven stunning multiplayer modes which are: Deathmatch (free for all), 3-way species team death match, Mixed species team death match, hunt mode, survivor mode, infestation mode, domination. Because of all the amazing multiplayer modes (and more for dlc soon) and campains, do not listen to a bad reveiw of this unmissable game. Expand
  23. AndreasW
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I`m just a huge fan of avp and like this game. Predator is the best species of those three!!!
  24. MattP
    Feb 16, 2010
    9
    I personally do not understand all of the hate towards this game, it is a breath of fresh air in the FPS genre. It is something original, unlike the more popular FPS shooters such as Modern Warfare and Halo, and is fun to boot. I wont go into a long review of the game, as there are plenty of websites that will do that for me, all i can say is that if you are a fan of either the Aliens or I personally do not understand all of the hate towards this game, it is a breath of fresh air in the FPS genre. It is something original, unlike the more popular FPS shooters such as Modern Warfare and Halo, and is fun to boot. I wont go into a long review of the game, as there are plenty of websites that will do that for me, all i can say is that if you are a fan of either the Aliens or Predator universe, or are simply looking for a shooter that differs from the popular HALO or COD franchises, then this game will certainly be for you. Expand
  25. JordanH
    Feb 16, 2010
    10
    Finely crafted game. Especially if you're a fan of the originals. Tricky at first, once mastered you will do great with any of the three species.
  26. JohnH
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    This game is not Mw2, its better, it takes skill and time to master each species style of play. the main campaigns highlight is the marine yeah, but the nostalgic value of the alien and predator is great to, Mp is what shines, with 3 different species you have to be quick and adapt fast, sure there may be small techical issues, but it dosnt prevent the game from being fun, buy this game This game is not Mw2, its better, it takes skill and time to master each species style of play. the main campaigns highlight is the marine yeah, but the nostalgic value of the alien and predator is great to, Mp is what shines, with 3 different species you have to be quick and adapt fast, sure there may be small techical issues, but it dosnt prevent the game from being fun, buy this game so that the sequel will be even more refined. Expand
  27. MikeB.
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    People need to see this game for what it is. A nice tribute to the two movie franchises. For every reviewer who complains about the controls stop whining and just learn how to play the damn game. Mixed species TDM is also one of the most interesting game types i have played recently since with a good team everyone accounts for the others weaknesses. Must have for movie and multiplayer People need to see this game for what it is. A nice tribute to the two movie franchises. For every reviewer who complains about the controls stop whining and just learn how to play the damn game. Mixed species TDM is also one of the most interesting game types i have played recently since with a good team everyone accounts for the others weaknesses. Must have for movie and multiplayer fans. Also as a last rant... I know Game informer complained about a lack of crouch or Iron sights for the marine. If you were being hunted by freakin aliens you cant tell me you would precision aim while you get jumped or move slower for no reason. they can see you anyway dude! It doesn't help! Expand
  28. RickR.
    Feb 17, 2010
    8
    The critics that threw AVP under the bus are the same that praised Modern Warfare 2 for being the best thing since sliced bread and wrestling. It is not really a surprise to see AVp get low scores because it obviously doesn't sport the same mechanics as teh aforementioned title but it does have its moments. AVP is the ultimate fan service but those who expect a run of the mill The critics that threw AVP under the bus are the same that praised Modern Warfare 2 for being the best thing since sliced bread and wrestling. It is not really a surprise to see AVp get low scores because it obviously doesn't sport the same mechanics as teh aforementioned title but it does have its moments. AVP is the ultimate fan service but those who expect a run of the mill shooter with a sprinkle of horrer will be in for a major disappointment. Expand
  29. NickM.
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    Solid game. The controls feel good and the animations and graphics are up to par with meany of todays top games. it is hard to find many down sides to this game. the storys are deep enough to give any AVP fan bang for there buck, and the multiplyer has enough modes to keep any online gamer at the plastic box for a while. the only down side I see is that there are some modern conventions Solid game. The controls feel good and the animations and graphics are up to par with meany of todays top games. it is hard to find many down sides to this game. the storys are deep enough to give any AVP fan bang for there buck, and the multiplyer has enough modes to keep any online gamer at the plastic box for a while. the only down side I see is that there are some modern conventions that are missing from this game. Like a swaying camera, and a lack of an aiming mode for the Marienes keeps this game from being a 10 in my book. That being said this game is still on my list for best of 2010 so far. If that is the case then 2010 is going to be a greate year for gaming. Expand
  30. tcoffee
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to the reviews! If you are a fan of the series definitely check out this game. The maps are incredible as is the predator! The alien and marine controls are definitely difficult to get used to, but not impossible. This game is worth your time and money, metacritic mofos.
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 64
  2. Negative: 3 out of 64
  1. Game Informer
    58
    Like an antithesis to Reese's Peanut Butter Cups, it proves that two great flavors don't always taste great together. [Issue#203, p.87]
  2. 85
    A game that's going to stoke the hearts of anyone who ever fell in love with the original films – which is likely anyone who's ever picked up a game pad.
  3. The attention to detail, the well-considered level design, and the sense of momentum that characterize the finest shooters are missing here. Aliens vs. Predator is sometimes enjoyable but never escapes an overwhelming sense of carelessness, so while it may remind you of the good old days, it fails to recapture them.