Alone in the Dark Xbox 360

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 164
  2. Negative: 63 out of 164
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanH
    Jul 31, 2008
    8
    This game gets a bad rap. The controls are wonky at times, and the story could be better ... but the gaming conventions they are bucking and the new story telling elements that are introduced are very clever. I've found this to be an enjoyable experience and I am predicting right now, that a bunch of games are going to canabalize elements from this game down the road.
  2. WilliamH
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    Holy crap. I was really looking forward to this game and after seeing all the negative reviews I was completely turned off on it. But today I said what the hell and rented it. Well... I lost track of time and played it all night. The controls aren't that bad, you get used to them pretty quick. The driving is awesome, the cars control pretty similar to GTA4, so I have no clue why Holy crap. I was really looking forward to this game and after seeing all the negative reviews I was completely turned off on it. But today I said what the hell and rented it. Well... I lost track of time and played it all night. The controls aren't that bad, you get used to them pretty quick. The driving is awesome, the cars control pretty similar to GTA4, so I have no clue why there is all the negativity towards them, you don't see GTA4 being given horrible scores with one of it's main complaints being the driving. The fire/light elements are amazing, best I've ever seen in a game before. Inventory system could use a few more spots to hold items, but I guess it adds to the whole 'survival' thing having to make sacrafices on what to keep and what to toss. The story's pretty neat, nothing ground breaking, but it has kept me entertained. The game is a solid 8, not worth the full $60, on sale for anything less then it's a good buy, and as a rental, it's great. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    Я стою здесь…один…в темноте. Передо мною металлическая дверь в здании, напоминающем котельную. Где то там в одном из помещений корень зла, который я должен сжечь, корень, который охраняют одержимые. Допустим, я вышибу дверь и мне хватит патронов, смоченных бензином, но у меня остался лишь один бинт и это меня беспокоит. Ведь если меня ранят и я использую его для перевязки раны, что мнеЯ стою здесь…один…в темноте. Передо мною металлическая дверь в здании, напоминающем котельную. Где то там в одном из помещений корень зла, который я должен сжечь, корень, который охраняют одержимые. Допустим, я вышибу дверь и мне хватит патронов, смоченных бензином, но у меня остался лишь один бинт и это меня беспокоит. Ведь если меня ранят и я использую его для перевязки раны, что мне использовать в качестве фитиля для Молотова которым я хочу поджечь корень? Без вариантов, у меня один шанс на успех и ни одного на ошибку. Ну что ж, осталось вынести дверь огнетушителем и провернуть все погромче и побыстрее. Надеюсь, в этот раз у меня все получится…
    На дворе 2008 год. Мне 17, крестнику моего отца 13, и мы сидим на стульях в полумраке перед монитором моего пк и пытаемся выжить в мире Alone In The Dark. Сейчас мне 23 и я набираю первый пост на этом портале, посвященном играм, которые мы любим и тем, кто в них играет, рядом сидит моя любимая женщина и печатает рецензию на театральный спектакль, на дворе 2014, сентябрь месяц, а воспоминания от мрачного приключения Эдварда Карнби в центральном парке посещают меня и по сей день.

    На моей памяти множество проектов, которые по тем или иным причинам были недооценены как прессой, так и игроками. Но «Alone in the Dark: Near Death Investigation» одна из тех, за которые по-настоящему обидно. Обидно, потому как большинство тех, кто поливал игру грязью, попросту застопорились на сцене с автомобилем в начале игры.
    Да, физика автомобиля действительно кривая, да и сама сцена, нужно признать, срежиссирована не идеально, но именно она показывает масштаб катастрофы и после нее игра приобретает краски, а механика игры начинает работать на полную. Тут тебе и подручные средства, разбросанные по локациям, которые с легкостью комбинируются во всевозможные виды оружия, и множество разнообразных ситуаций, в которых его можно применить.
    Инвентарь в виде внутренних карманов куртки протагониста смотрится очень свежо и сегодня. Количество, а также размеры барахла, которое мы то и дело кропотливо собираем на локациях, не вызывает вопросов, а лишь помогает погрузиться в атмосферу происходящего. Ты считаешь патроны, ты размышляешь над тем, как и сколько бензина из баклажки тебе расходовать на те или иные нужды. В то время как ты возишься в инвентаре, противники продолжают выполнять свою первостепенную задачу, делая все, чтобы отправить тебя в лучший мир. Ты пытаешься выжить, пытаешься изо всех сил. Разве не этого все ждут от жанра Survival Horror? В игре есть сцена с отцом Теофилом, от которой, ей богу, меня в дрожь бросило.

    А под конец игры нас отправляют жечь корни зла, из-за которых возмущаются те, кто до них все-таки дошел, а может все те, кто «промотал» пол-игры? Об одном из таких идет речь в начале поста. Некоторые из этих деревьев уничтожить очень нелегко, ведь для того, чтобы с ними расправиться, сперва необходимо к ним подобраться, решив несложную головоломку, коих в игре и до этого этапа немало. И вот пока носишься по карте, уничтожая корни, ты всем нутром осознаешь значение слов Alone In The Dark. Тебе по-настоящему одиноко в этом темном городском парке и ты понимаешь, что дух отца Теофила был бы очень даже неплохим компаньоном. Просто чтобы не сойти с ума, просто чтобы не быть одному в этом безумном кошмаре.
    Единственное, что действительно могло помешать ощутить всю прелесть этого многогранного и богатого на впечатления путешествие это управление. И оно не столько ужасное сколько тяжелое. Мне кажется, что современный Kinect пришелся бы в этой игре кстати, хотя бы как альтернативный вариант. Ну а те, кто смогли совладать с управлением и даже почувствовали некий уровень мастерства, ближе к середине сюжетной линии открыли для себя по-настоящему хорошую игру. Игру, которую вспоминаешь нередко, игру, в которую спустя годы приятно вернуться.
    Expand
  4. AlC.
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    It seems that Atari didn't give enough money to the major review sites.If a shitty game takes 6 out of 10,i don't see why this AITD can't take his TRUE vote,8 out of 10. excellent storyline,intelligent puzzles,good looking monsters,beautyful soundtrack,and generally agood graphic(with some flaws like the texture,but still good).The camera angles aren't a true problem It seems that Atari didn't give enough money to the major review sites.If a shitty game takes 6 out of 10,i don't see why this AITD can't take his TRUE vote,8 out of 10. excellent storyline,intelligent puzzles,good looking monsters,beautyful soundtrack,and generally agood graphic(with some flaws like the texture,but still good).The camera angles aren't a true problem 'cause you can change the angles with the right stick and you can use the right analog to fix it.the game support a first person view as well,so no REAL problem. the driving sessions are insanely hard and very frustrating but they are few and overall better than the Bourne Conspiracy one. the controls need only a bit of practice,but are REALLY bad and complicated. the ending is a little upset,but it is still original and good in his own way. the pshysics is execellent and the movements of the protagounist are a bit sloppy and unrealistical. most important of all is the difficulty level:finally,since the time of the first resident evil,a enemy was able to kill me. i've finished a lot of game like RE4 or SH Homecoming without being killed any single time. finally i didn't find bullets and first aid spray behind every corner. so yes this is a real survival horror,and a game where you have to use all your brain to go on. unluckly the actual era of gaing does not give award to "smart" games,but they prefer the importance of franchise. so very good games but overrated like MGS4 and GTA4 takes 10 out 10,when MGS4 have a bad graphic for the locations(lack of details on walls and rooms) GTA4 is full of bug but they still take 10. this game is full of bug,have a more than decent graphic,and plus it have atmosphere,realistical gameplay,well balanced difficulty and most important intelligent puzzle solving and it takes 5 out 10 . please people learn to think with your own brain and don't trust gaming sites such like IGN,Gamespot etc. Expand
  5. conorc
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    If you liked resident evil 4 you will love this you never know whats going to happen and it feels like your playing a movie its an excitting action/horror game you truly feel like your fighting survival all the way to the end of the game and when combining items you never know what could happen (some combinations) a must buy for me and if your havin trouble you can skip scenes (i didntIf you liked resident evil 4 you will love this you never know whats going to happen and it feels like your playing a movie its an excitting action/horror game you truly feel like your fighting survival all the way to the end of the game and when combining items you never know what could happen (some combinations) a must buy for me and if your havin trouble you can skip scenes (i didnt skip scenes but my friend did) great phisics a LOT of fire fun to pick up things set them on fire and go crassy on a few monsters/objects but fire burns object up not as fast as real life but a bit to fast im telling you this because its the only way to kill the main monsters i loved the helcopter scenes (you dont control helicopters) monsters can hit your car and it will lift of ground but when they hit you its like fighting normal people despite small flaws its a MUST BUY for me you can play some parts in first person view blinking unnecissery go get it NOW. Expand
  6. NickEd.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    This is what I've been waiting for.
  7. AndrewB.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    Alone in the Dark is a genuinely unique experience that attempts, and I believe succeeds, to break the template of modern videogames. With breathtaking visuals and a cinematic style unlike any other videogame, Alone in the Dark is an incredible gaming experience. The game opens with one of the most epic and intense scenes I've played through in a game as you try to escape a burning Alone in the Dark is a genuinely unique experience that attempts, and I believe succeeds, to break the template of modern videogames. With breathtaking visuals and a cinematic style unlike any other videogame, Alone in the Dark is an incredible gaming experience. The game opens with one of the most epic and intense scenes I've played through in a game as you try to escape a burning building. It doesn't let up after that, either, as you race through the streets as New York shatters around you. Although the controls can be cumbersome at first, it didn't take too long to adapt to them. There are so many things that this game has to offer that it would be foolish to pass up. Expand
  8. JeffL
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    This game is my all around favorite, i love how everything is realistic and i love the story to it and i love the limited space of carrying only 6 things cause then it wouldn't be so real u can usually hold 6 things like that with that sort jacket and pockets and such cause unlike other game where u can hold like 12 or even more is just gay but still fun but I've been waiting This game is my all around favorite, i love how everything is realistic and i love the story to it and i love the limited space of carrying only 6 things cause then it wouldn't be so real u can usually hold 6 things like that with that sort jacket and pockets and such cause unlike other game where u can hold like 12 or even more is just gay but still fun but I've been waiting for a realistic game and that's what has come. Expand
  9. SquizurBoom
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    I got a chance to play this game before it comes out next week. I've seen the first 3 chapters and I got to say, I want to see MORE MORE MORE! It's great, awesome and fantastic.
  10. VeyrnonZ.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    One of the most inventive and captivating game I've played on X360.
  11. TusharS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    It has a good storyline...nice action moves.
  12. DavidH
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    "Alone in the Dark" is the next evolution of the Survival Horror genre! Nour Polloni and everyone at Eden Studios have created a wonderful gaming experience. After 4 1/2 years in the making, their efforts prove that a small team with a little budget can compete with the larger developers. What really makes this unique is that it is so ambitious and ORIGINAL! Especially in this day and age "Alone in the Dark" is the next evolution of the Survival Horror genre! Nour Polloni and everyone at Eden Studios have created a wonderful gaming experience. After 4 1/2 years in the making, their efforts prove that a small team with a little budget can compete with the larger developers. What really makes this unique is that it is so ambitious and ORIGINAL! Especially in this day and age of sequels and remakes. With the Survival Horror genre being so scarce in this generation of gaming, this sleeper hit should be on everyone's "must buy" list, especially if you love horror games. The TV-style presentation is great, ending with cliff-hangers that really make you want to continue playing just to see what happens next. The first 6 episodes are a roller-coaster ride of thrills, with driving sequences on par with "Stuntman: Ignition". Although mostly linear at first, the player can easily get used to the controls. When the game does open up in Central Park, you really can go anywhere and do anything you want. Similiar to "Bioshock", you can get very creative in killing the various monsters. Early in the game, there are a lot of huge Hollywood-style action scenes that are fantastic. Later, in Central Park the atmosphere becomes creepier like "Silent Hill". The story is good, with believable dialogue and acting. Sound effects are atmospheric, but what really stands out is the fantastic music from the composer of "Obscure" and it's sequel. The graphics look really good too, with a lot of attention to detail, although some areas it looks like there could be a few more textures. Unfortunately, there are a couple of programming bugs that still need to be fixed with a downloadable patch. A couple of times, the game froze up, so I had to re-load my previous save. When you do continue your game, you'll get to see an episodic TV-style "Previously on 'Alone in the Dark'..." recap of the last few sequences to remind you of what happened in the story so far. Sadly, with all of the great presentation and everything, "Alone in the Dark" really isn't all that scary. It doesn't have a lot of jump-out-of-your-seat moments, but it is a very intense and moody game that's fun to play. After playing this game, I kept thinking, "Wow! How is 'Silent Hill: Homecoming,' and 'Alan Wake' going to compete with this!" It's so original, innovative and fresh, just like the first "Forbidden Siren" was. And, just like that game, this one is a little rough around the edges. What a great experience though! Someone please give these guys a bigger budget! Collapse
  13. ViniciusM
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    Excellent game in many aspects but controls, an aspect that you can overcome if you are an experienced player. Has some bugs that break the game (crash or prevent from playing) but for the price you can get it now you will be very happy to have played one of the most original and fun action/horror/puzzle games out there.
  14. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    This game has it's moments, it does. The controls are somewhat clunky but you get used to them. It's really cool how you can create different kinds of weapons and the driving in this game is awesome. It just needs to explain what the hell is more clearer.
  15. Nov 25, 2014
    9
    Sí, te pasas la mitad del juego acordándote del que hizo el control, pero la otra mitad alucinando por lo bueno que es. Un juego para auténticos jugadores, exigente, que no te da nada mascado, que no te guía de la manita y con una autentica variedad jugable en el desarrollo (los vídeos de guías completas no mienten, las críticas sí). Con una situación o reto nuevo a cada paso, que teSí, te pasas la mitad del juego acordándote del que hizo el control, pero la otra mitad alucinando por lo bueno que es. Un juego para auténticos jugadores, exigente, que no te da nada mascado, que no te guía de la manita y con una autentica variedad jugable en el desarrollo (los vídeos de guías completas no mienten, las críticas sí). Con una situación o reto nuevo a cada paso, que te obliga a pensar pero no demasiado. Pero por supuesto, no es un juego apto para torpes por todo lo dicho. Pero para mí, una obra maestra incomprendida. Expand
  16. JackyB.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    One hell of a game. The deep atmosphere created by Eden Games is pioneer to the new genre "Survival Experience."
  17. [Anonymous]
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    Controls and Annoying moments aside - at least they tried something new. A mixed bag, but one worth playing.
  18. ResidentS.
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    Brilliant game, I've been looking fwd to a decent survival horror and i am happy to say AITD falls into that category.
  19. RyanD
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    I really don't see why people are making such a big deal out of the control system. The controls work fine, the ability to switch between 1st and 3rd person modes was very convenient (IGN's review b*tched about that for some reason) and the game was captivating in an astounding way. The voice acting and the script DO suck terribly, and I won't even try defending that to I really don't see why people are making such a big deal out of the control system. The controls work fine, the ability to switch between 1st and 3rd person modes was very convenient (IGN's review b*tched about that for some reason) and the game was captivating in an astounding way. The voice acting and the script DO suck terribly, and I won't even try defending that to justify my $60 purchase. Edward constantly shouting "I don't have your stone. ...and f**k you anyway!" and generic adolescent use of swear words is awkward and something you can't help but laugh at as the moment is shot down and curb stomped by the acting. The cars DO handle like boxes (if you're in the middle of the air, you can turn the analog stick and the car will rotate still), but it doesn't detract from the game a whole lot. I actually think it makes the driving more intense. It's better than GTA 4's brick-with-wheels-attached-car handling system. I do have to say that for $60 this game is short. What is it, like, 8 hour-long episodes? And I mean it's not a huge deal as I got it for $50 with the t-shirt and soundtrack, but still, I feel like had they gotten a new scriptwriting team and better voice actors, the game could have been longer, more exciting, and a truly good buy for the money. To conclude, I seriously recommend RENTING the game. Either you'll like it or not, but I think it's worth playing anyway. Transcending all the mistakes they made by rushing the game, there lies the shell of limitless potential, that I hope will be able to shine through on their next creation. Expand
  20. PatrickW.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    I loved this game.The music fits the game in a good but odd way.I have only ran into a couple of bugs but only because i was looking for them. The dialogue is not amazing but its the odd suspense that keeps it entertaining.I have played this game everyday i have had it and still live it.The slightly realistic concepts such as the limited amount of carrying capacity make this game I loved this game.The music fits the game in a good but odd way.I have only ran into a couple of bugs but only because i was looking for them. The dialogue is not amazing but its the odd suspense that keeps it entertaining.I have played this game everyday i have had it and still live it.The slightly realistic concepts such as the limited amount of carrying capacity make this game enjoyable for me.I would rather find ways to get out of a tricky situation then already have it and be done with it.The combinations, puzzles and even controls once you get use to them are great.I am willing to say this is the most addictive and puzzling game i have played in a long time. Expand
  21. JonW.
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Cracking stuff - the poor reviews nearly put me off, but I bought this anyway, and haven't stopped playing since. Controls are...erm...different, but certainly not broken. Looking forward to (hopefully) a sequel!
  22. SteveJ.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    I love this game. It uses innovation and breaks barriers.
  23. ArioseJ.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    Great game, great action, great story, bad controls. But you eventually will learn to appreciate that too.
  24. DickL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    Even as the controls are a bit clumsy at first, you'll get used to them after a while. Graphics are great and the atmosphere is amazing. For the players who absolutely can't stand the controls, let's hope that there will be a patch that fixes them. Review by Dick Luck, the luckiest dick in the universe.
  25. JakeS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    Truly one of the best games of the year.
  26. jared
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Good game that could of been great. It just needed more time to fix the bugs and tweak the controls. Once you get used to it though, it really is a fun and definitely different game.
  27. TungusG.
    Jun 26, 2008
    8
    Not a bad game at all, if you can deal with the controls. 1st person is good, 3rd is different and not shitty like some of the reviewers say. Its very intuitive and hands on.Its not the typical control scheme so everybody's got their pants in a bundle. It took about an hour to be comfortable with controlling after that it wasn't bad. The game looks very good, textures are Not a bad game at all, if you can deal with the controls. 1st person is good, 3rd is different and not shitty like some of the reviewers say. Its very intuitive and hands on.Its not the typical control scheme so everybody's got their pants in a bundle. It took about an hour to be comfortable with controlling after that it wasn't bad. The game looks very good, textures are excellent and lighting is very well done.The story is a bit hokey but acceptable for a horror game.I liked it and its ideas. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 53
  2. Negative: 11 out of 53
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    47
    Every good idea here is brought down by bad basic design, including a shoddy third-person camera, a too-slow first-person mode, and bizarre forced switching between the two. [Sept 2008, p.82]
  2. The game is boring for long stretches, has an uneven level of difficulty and no worthwhile story.
  3. Is there anything good about Alone in the Dark? The fire effects are stunning and the music theme is quite good. Other than that though, nothing.