Alone in the Dark Xbox 360

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 162 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 162
  2. Negative: 61 out of 162
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2014
    7
    I bought this game because of my fondness for the old PC version. I have to say that I enjoyed it overall, though it did have some frustrating points.

    The Bad ----------- Yes, the controls are a bit wonky. The inventory system is a bit frustrating too, especially since the game doesn't pause, so you have to get far enough away from monsters in order to pull out items that you'll use
    I bought this game because of my fondness for the old PC version. I have to say that I enjoyed it overall, though it did have some frustrating points.

    The Bad
    -----------
    Yes, the controls are a bit wonky. The inventory system is a bit frustrating too, especially since the game doesn't pause, so you have to get far enough away from monsters in order to pull out items that you'll use to kill them, and then go back. Also, it's the most buggy console game I've ever played. There were a couple times where my character got stuck in an area and could maneuver out of it, and I had to reset the system. One time the game even crashed my Xbox. It really needed a few more weeks of bug fixing and polish before it was released. There were also some really frustrating parts that took about 20-30 tries to get through, and had me wanting to curse at my console.

    The Good
    --------------
    Having said all that, I did enjoy the story line for the most part, and it did have some "holy crap" jaw dropping moments, and also some genuine scary moments. The back story was interesting, especially since it had to do with real life locations. The music was also well done.

    It's really too bad that Microsoft didn't let them release the patch for it because it was too big. It could have been a pretty good game with a few fixes/tweaks.

    In the end, I can't say I didn't enjoy the game. The ending was a bit disappointing though. Kind of anti-climactic and short. At least you get the option of 2 different endings though.

    One odd thing is that the guy in the game doesn't really look like the guy on the cover. Weird.
    Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2013
    5
    This game has a lot of good to it, but also a lot of frustratingly bad design. The system for creating items is very cool, new & interesting, the story is fairly compelling and I overall LIKE the game. I want to rate it higher, but truly, I can't. There's quite a few glaring issues that really should have been addressed before it was released. In terms of quality of the FUNCTION of theThis game has a lot of good to it, but also a lot of frustratingly bad design. The system for creating items is very cool, new & interesting, the story is fairly compelling and I overall LIKE the game. I want to rate it higher, but truly, I can't. There's quite a few glaring issues that really should have been addressed before it was released. In terms of quality of the FUNCTION of the game, I'd give it a 4. As far the quality of the CONTENT I would give it about a 7, impeded by some of the clunky animations, cheesier bits of the store and that really cheesy, terrible driving scene & everything that has to do with driving in this game also quite frustrating are the heat-seeking monsters that jump on the roof of the car and adjust for your direction in mid-air no matter how much you swerve... With a bit more time spent on making this game a quality game, it could have done very well I think. A class case of a rushed project. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    Bought this game back on the Xbox 360 and it was in the horror genre of the games. Anyways I went ahead and played this game and I enjoyed it and I give it a 7.9 out of 10.
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    This game is so much better than I expected it to be after reading all the negative reviews. It is for sure a study in frustration to cope with some of the issues it has but in the end, if you make it to the end without throwing your gaming system out the window, you are left with a very unique and satisfying gaming experience. There is a lot to do in this game and some very interestingThis game is so much better than I expected it to be after reading all the negative reviews. It is for sure a study in frustration to cope with some of the issues it has but in the end, if you make it to the end without throwing your gaming system out the window, you are left with a very unique and satisfying gaming experience. There is a lot to do in this game and some very interesting and challenging puzzles. This game is well worth your time if you just relax and enjoy what it has to offer without getting too angry at the terrible controls. If you hang in there and keep trying it will reward your efforts with a perfect score. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    5
    This game does have its merits. However, they are completely overshadowed by poor game mechanics, graphics, and overall gameplay. The story had great potential, and the concept was outstanding and kept me coming back for more. Each time I came back, I had renewed frustrations with it and ended up leaving it for something else every time. I'm sad that something that could have been soThis game does have its merits. However, they are completely overshadowed by poor game mechanics, graphics, and overall gameplay. The story had great potential, and the concept was outstanding and kept me coming back for more. Each time I came back, I had renewed frustrations with it and ended up leaving it for something else every time. I'm sad that something that could have been so good came out so badly. Expand
  6. PawelK
    Apr 22, 2009
    6
    This game could use some more time in production, especially to improve the controls and camera which are not good to say the least and have made me curse many times. Graphics are good and the story is also interesting, I wish it was branched more and evolved, because it could have been really good. The game ending is _terrible_, a total disappointment and I wouldn't be surprised if This game could use some more time in production, especially to improve the controls and camera which are not good to say the least and have made me curse many times. Graphics are good and the story is also interesting, I wish it was branched more and evolved, because it could have been really good. The game ending is _terrible_, a total disappointment and I wouldn't be surprised if some reviewers have lowered the overall score just because of it. I read that Edward does not stand a chance in combat with the crippled controls, but this is not the case depending on who plays. The controls may indeed pose a serious problem to a casual player, but any experienced gamers should be able to overcome them. All in all, I actually enjoyed this game and would rate it 6.5, but since there's no such score on the scale I will round it down this time. This may not be a hit title, but it's still worth picking up and seeing through. I'd like to see a more branched and evolved story, more puzzles, more cinematic cable climbing (!) and better balanced weapons/items (I used 3 combinations for the whole game, usually even 2...). Expand
  7. jasond
    Oct 14, 2008
    5
    I was pretty excited about this game when I first heard about it. The tv series approach was very creative for a video game. It is too bad that the game is not at all fun. Terrible controls, poor graphics, and slow/boring gameplay make this game one that needs to stay in the dark.
  8. AnonymousMC
    Aug 30, 2008
    5
    This game has an enriching storyline that takes you to the end. Also, if you get stuck at a part, they have a unique chapter selection feature that lets you skip it and come back later. Plays like a tv show with reviews of what has happened previously on Alone in the Dark. The fire in this game will leave people awestruck and is very realistic. Except, although this game has many ups andThis game has an enriching storyline that takes you to the end. Also, if you get stuck at a part, they have a unique chapter selection feature that lets you skip it and come back later. Plays like a tv show with reviews of what has happened previously on Alone in the Dark. The fire in this game will leave people awestruck and is very realistic. Except, although this game has many ups and good ideas, most aren't thought out that well. Many glitches in the game and 1st person view being horrible on responses. Even though the title is Alone in the Dark, you are followed by another character who is so annyoing that I wish I was alone in the dark because, like F.E.A.R. has shown us, some things are scarier alone in the dark. Also, some ideas were good thoughts, just weren't used right. Like the inventory system being way too small and half of it is taken up by items you need to have throughout the game making the small inventory system even smaller. And batteries that die out too quickly. Also mid-way through the game, you have to kill a bunch of "roots" (not telling you why or else it will destroy the story for you), but it makes you kill a lot of them and it gets VERY repetetive. The driving system in this game is very fun and when you get onto New York driving, it is one of the most fun driving scenes in a video game I have ever played. I really would love to give this game a higher rating than 5 out of 10, but with this many flaws and poorly executed design choices, I can't. Let's hope that when Atari brings a new patch to the game, it will hopefully fix some of these glitches. Expand
  9. DaneM.
    Jun 29, 2008
    7
    Mainstream reviews are useless, and if the 10s for GTA and the 4s for Lair did not convince you of this, the 3s and such for Alone in the Dark should. While far from a masterpiece Alone in the Dark supplies tons of scares, cool enviornments, free-roaming horror action gaming and interesting moments. Some of the most unique moments this generation can be found here, from the different ways Mainstream reviews are useless, and if the 10s for GTA and the 4s for Lair did not convince you of this, the 3s and such for Alone in the Dark should. While far from a masterpiece Alone in the Dark supplies tons of scares, cool enviornments, free-roaming horror action gaming and interesting moments. Some of the most unique moments this generation can be found here, from the different ways to kill enemies to the way the enviornment and fire play a role in almost everything you do. There is an enemy who is weak to light, and I was trying to use my flashlight to get passed him, as the game suggests. It was hard though, and I kept dying, but rather than give up I thought "I wonder if a flaming chair, carried with me, would work better." Sure enough it did, making a circle of light around me and preventing the enemy from even getting close. Unique moments like this are constant in Alone in the Dark, as you are repeatedly faced with tons of enemies and scant resources. You have to use your brain. The game does have flaws... the third-person camera control turns off when you pick something up, the driving levels are too hard, the checkpoiints can be scarce and sometimes the game leaves you with little direction, but overall these flaws are minor and only frustrate the easily annoyed out there. Play through the game for a while, get used to its flaws, and you will have a great time. I'm giving it a 7 out of 10, which for me is a good score. Compare it to a 8.5 or 9 from sites like IGN. Expand
  10. DanielN.
    Jun 25, 2008
    5
    This game tries too hard, and it does have some good elements in it. But they are not enough to carry the game, witch is really sad. I got it cheap when I pre-ordered it in February 08, so im not too bummed about the money spent on it. But one thing is for sure if i had to pay full price for it, i would never get it. This is definitely a rent not a buy.
  11. MikeA.
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    To truly enjoy the game, play it the same way you would watch a TV series!! An episode a day minimum. Why? Because the there are tons of great moments and cliffhangers that will not have the same effect if it is just played through in one day. One of the most interesting stories in a game I have seen in years. Yes, I know there are some problems. The game has a bunch of issues, such as To truly enjoy the game, play it the same way you would watch a TV series!! An episode a day minimum. Why? Because the there are tons of great moments and cliffhangers that will not have the same effect if it is just played through in one day. One of the most interesting stories in a game I have seen in years. Yes, I know there are some problems. The game has a bunch of issues, such as the controls, At some points I died fast or got lost on a simple puzzle. It reminds how I felt when playing the original resident evil for the first time. I was amazed by it but died because I didn't turn around fast enough. But don't let something this original go by without at least playing it! The episodic method of story telling is innovating unique. I see this feature becoming standard in games a few years from now. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 53
  2. Negative: 11 out of 53
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    47
    Every good idea here is brought down by bad basic design, including a shoddy third-person camera, a too-slow first-person mode, and bizarre forced switching between the two. [Sept 2008, p.82]
  2. The game is boring for long stretches, has an uneven level of difficulty and no worthwhile story.
  3. Is there anything good about Alone in the Dark? The fire effects are stunning and the music theme is quite good. Other than that though, nothing.