User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 156 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 156
  2. Negative: 59 out of 156

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    Я стою здесь…один…в темноте. Передо мною металлическая дверь в здании, напоминающем котельную. Где то там в одном из помещений корень зла, который я должен сжечь, корень, который охраняют одержимые. Допустим, я вышибу дверь и мне хватит патронов, смоченных бензином, но у меня остался лишь один бинт и это меня беспокоит. Ведь если меня ранят и я использую его для перевязки раны, что мнеЯ стою здесь…один…в темноте. Передо мною металлическая дверь в здании, напоминающем котельную. Где то там в одном из помещений корень зла, который я должен сжечь, корень, который охраняют одержимые. Допустим, я вышибу дверь и мне хватит патронов, смоченных бензином, но у меня остался лишь один бинт и это меня беспокоит. Ведь если меня ранят и я использую его для перевязки раны, что мне использовать в качестве фитиля для Молотова которым я хочу поджечь корень? Без вариантов, у меня один шанс на успех и ни одного на ошибку. Ну что ж, осталось вынести дверь огнетушителем и провернуть все погромче и побыстрее. Надеюсь, в этот раз у меня все получится…
    На дворе 2008 год. Мне 17, крестнику моего отца 13, и мы сидим на стульях в полумраке перед монитором моего пк и пытаемся выжить в мире Alone In The Dark. Сейчас мне 23 и я набираю первый пост на этом портале, посвященном играм, которые мы любим и тем, кто в них играет, рядом сидит моя любимая женщина и печатает рецензию на театральный спектакль, на дворе 2014, сентябрь месяц, а воспоминания от мрачного приключения Эдварда Карнби в центральном парке посещают меня и по сей день.

    На моей памяти множество проектов, которые по тем или иным причинам были недооценены как прессой, так и игроками. Но «Alone in the Dark: Near Death Investigation» одна из тех, за которые по-настоящему обидно. Обидно, потому как большинство тех, кто поливал игру грязью, попросту застопорились на сцене с автомобилем в начале игры.
    Да, физика автомобиля действительно кривая, да и сама сцена, нужно признать, срежиссирована не идеально, но именно она показывает масштаб катастрофы и после нее игра приобретает краски, а механика игры начинает работать на полную. Тут тебе и подручные средства, разбросанные по локациям, которые с легкостью комбинируются во всевозможные виды оружия, и множество разнообразных ситуаций, в которых его можно применить.
    Инвентарь в виде внутренних карманов куртки протагониста смотрится очень свежо и сегодня. Количество, а также размеры барахла, которое мы то и дело кропотливо собираем на локациях, не вызывает вопросов, а лишь помогает погрузиться в атмосферу происходящего. Ты считаешь патроны, ты размышляешь над тем, как и сколько бензина из баклажки тебе расходовать на те или иные нужды. В то время как ты возишься в инвентаре, противники продолжают выполнять свою первостепенную задачу, делая все, чтобы отправить тебя в лучший мир. Ты пытаешься выжить, пытаешься изо всех сил. Разве не этого все ждут от жанра Survival Horror? В игре есть сцена с отцом Теофилом, от которой, ей богу, меня в дрожь бросило.

    А под конец игры нас отправляют жечь корни зла, из-за которых возмущаются те, кто до них все-таки дошел, а может все те, кто «промотал» пол-игры? Об одном из таких идет речь в начале поста. Некоторые из этих деревьев уничтожить очень нелегко, ведь для того, чтобы с ними расправиться, сперва необходимо к ним подобраться, решив несложную головоломку, коих в игре и до этого этапа немало. И вот пока носишься по карте, уничтожая корни, ты всем нутром осознаешь значение слов Alone In The Dark. Тебе по-настоящему одиноко в этом темном городском парке и ты понимаешь, что дух отца Теофила был бы очень даже неплохим компаньоном. Просто чтобы не сойти с ума, просто чтобы не быть одному в этом безумном кошмаре.
    Единственное, что действительно могло помешать ощутить всю прелесть этого многогранного и богатого на впечатления путешествие это управление. И оно не столько ужасное сколько тяжелое. Мне кажется, что современный Kinect пришелся бы в этой игре кстати, хотя бы как альтернативный вариант. Ну а те, кто смогли совладать с управлением и даже почувствовали некий уровень мастерства, ближе к середине сюжетной линии открыли для себя по-настоящему хорошую игру. Игру, которую вспоминаешь нередко, игру, в которую спустя годы приятно вернуться.
    Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2015
    1
    This game is HORRIBLE. In every **** regard it is horrible. The enemies are nearly indestructible, They ALWAYS seem to know where you are. You are never given an indication on what the HELL you are supposed to do to defeat the bosses even if they can only be beaten in a particular manor. The game is just plain almost impossible to play due to it's difficult and the sheer amount of ****This game is HORRIBLE. In every **** regard it is horrible. The enemies are nearly indestructible, They ALWAYS seem to know where you are. You are never given an indication on what the HELL you are supposed to do to defeat the bosses even if they can only be beaten in a particular manor. The game is just plain almost impossible to play due to it's difficult and the sheer amount of **** you and thanks for the money!" feeling you get when you realize that you got suckered into shelling out your hard earned money on such a massive piece of **** It should be illegal to release games this bad! Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2014
    9
    Sí, te pasas la mitad del juego acordándote del que hizo el control, pero la otra mitad alucinando por lo bueno que es. Un juego para auténticos jugadores, exigente, que no te da nada mascado, que no te guía de la manita y con una autentica variedad jugable en el desarrollo (los vídeos de guías completas no mienten, las críticas sí). Con una situación o reto nuevo a cada paso, que teSí, te pasas la mitad del juego acordándote del que hizo el control, pero la otra mitad alucinando por lo bueno que es. Un juego para auténticos jugadores, exigente, que no te da nada mascado, que no te guía de la manita y con una autentica variedad jugable en el desarrollo (los vídeos de guías completas no mienten, las críticas sí). Con una situación o reto nuevo a cada paso, que te obliga a pensar pero no demasiado. Pero por supuesto, no es un juego apto para torpes por todo lo dicho. Pero para mí, una obra maestra incomprendida. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2014
    7
    I bought this game because of my fondness for the old PC version. I have to say that I enjoyed it overall, though it did have some frustrating points.

    The Bad ----------- Yes, the controls are a bit wonky. The inventory system is a bit frustrating too, especially since the game doesn't pause, so you have to get far enough away from monsters in order to pull out items that you'll use
    I bought this game because of my fondness for the old PC version. I have to say that I enjoyed it overall, though it did have some frustrating points.

    The Bad
    -----------
    Yes, the controls are a bit wonky. The inventory system is a bit frustrating too, especially since the game doesn't pause, so you have to get far enough away from monsters in order to pull out items that you'll use to kill them, and then go back. Also, it's the most buggy console game I've ever played. There were a couple times where my character got stuck in an area and could maneuver out of it, and I had to reset the system. One time the game even crashed my Xbox. It really needed a few more weeks of bug fixing and polish before it was released. There were also some really frustrating parts that took about 20-30 tries to get through, and had me wanting to curse at my console.

    The Good
    --------------
    Having said all that, I did enjoy the story line for the most part, and it did have some "holy crap" jaw dropping moments, and also some genuine scary moments. The back story was interesting, especially since it had to do with real life locations. The music was also well done.

    It's really too bad that Microsoft didn't let them release the patch for it because it was too big. It could have been a pretty good game with a few fixes/tweaks.

    In the end, I can't say I didn't enjoy the game. The ending was a bit disappointing though. Kind of anti-climactic and short. At least you get the option of 2 different endings though.

    One odd thing is that the guy in the game doesn't really look like the guy on the cover. Weird.
    Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    5
    This game has a lot of good to it, but also a lot of frustratingly bad design. The system for creating items is very cool, new & interesting, the story is fairly compelling and I overall LIKE the game. I want to rate it higher, but truly, I can't. There's quite a few glaring issues that really should have been addressed before it was released. In terms of quality of the FUNCTION of theThis game has a lot of good to it, but also a lot of frustratingly bad design. The system for creating items is very cool, new & interesting, the story is fairly compelling and I overall LIKE the game. I want to rate it higher, but truly, I can't. There's quite a few glaring issues that really should have been addressed before it was released. In terms of quality of the FUNCTION of the game, I'd give it a 4. As far the quality of the CONTENT I would give it about a 7, impeded by some of the clunky animations, cheesier bits of the store and that really cheesy, terrible driving scene & everything that has to do with driving in this game also quite frustrating are the heat-seeking monsters that jump on the roof of the car and adjust for your direction in mid-air no matter how much you swerve... With a bit more time spent on making this game a quality game, it could have done very well I think. A class case of a rushed project. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    Bought this game back on the Xbox 360 and it was in the horror genre of the games. Anyways I went ahead and played this game and I enjoyed it and I give it a 7.9 out of 10.
  7. Apr 3, 2013
    3
    Absolute rubbish! This is such a terrible continuation of a series that more or less started the survival horror genre. While the visuals in genreal are pretty good, and the story does at least try, what really damages this game is the game itself. It's linear, boring and almost to the point that it feels almost like a on-rails game, except it's not.

    Overall: If this game had no
    Absolute rubbish! This is such a terrible continuation of a series that more or less started the survival horror genre. While the visuals in genreal are pretty good, and the story does at least try, what really damages this game is the game itself. It's linear, boring and almost to the point that it feels almost like a on-rails game, except it's not.

    Overall:
    If this game had no affiliation with the Alone in the Dark franchise I might have been kinder. But if you take on a big name like Alone in the Dark, you should do something worthy of the name. This game doesn't, at all.
    Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    This game is so much better than I expected it to be after reading all the negative reviews. It is for sure a study in frustration to cope with some of the issues it has but in the end, if you make it to the end without throwing your gaming system out the window, you are left with a very unique and satisfying gaming experience. There is a lot to do in this game and some very interestingThis game is so much better than I expected it to be after reading all the negative reviews. It is for sure a study in frustration to cope with some of the issues it has but in the end, if you make it to the end without throwing your gaming system out the window, you are left with a very unique and satisfying gaming experience. There is a lot to do in this game and some very interesting and challenging puzzles. This game is well worth your time if you just relax and enjoy what it has to offer without getting too angry at the terrible controls. If you hang in there and keep trying it will reward your efforts with a perfect score. Expand
  9. Aug 28, 2012
    0
    I am doing this review for my friend who played this game.

    My friend's an excellent gamer but in this game, he dies like every minute because of the controls. I don't know if they were experimenting with the controls, but seriously? Both movement and camera control in the same joystick? Who does that!?
  10. Mar 19, 2012
    5
    This game does have its merits. However, they are completely overshadowed by poor game mechanics, graphics, and overall gameplay. The story had great potential, and the concept was outstanding and kept me coming back for more. Each time I came back, I had renewed frustrations with it and ended up leaving it for something else every time. I'm sad that something that could have been soThis game does have its merits. However, they are completely overshadowed by poor game mechanics, graphics, and overall gameplay. The story had great potential, and the concept was outstanding and kept me coming back for more. Each time I came back, I had renewed frustrations with it and ended up leaving it for something else every time. I'm sad that something that could have been so good came out so badly. Expand
  11. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    This game has it's moments, it does. The controls are somewhat clunky but you get used to them. It's really cool how you can create different kinds of weapons and the driving in this game is awesome. It just needs to explain what the hell is more clearer.
  12. Mar 13, 2011
    0
    I played it and tried to enjoy it. I failed.

    C'mon people! These are the same geniuses who developed ObsCure!
    A great studio went bad with **** like "Fairy-Tale-Fights" and this peice of festering ****
  13. Feb 25, 2011
    0
    I hope that "ALC." gets **** sincerely. Also I hope he gets anally violated at least 9 times today, and 10 times tomorrow. I think "ALC." is the freak byproduct of a freak genetic experiment to make the dumbest man alive, and it worked. It worked harder than I've ever witnessed anything work in my lifetime. What a piece of absolute **** you just know his parents don't love him. At least I do.
  14. ViniciusM
    Dec 28, 2009
    8
    Excellent game in many aspects but controls, an aspect that you can overcome if you are an experienced player. Has some bugs that break the game (crash or prevent from playing) but for the price you can get it now you will be very happy to have played one of the most original and fun action/horror/puzzle games out there.
  15. vincent
    Jul 29, 2009
    1
    THIS IS THE WORST GAME I EVER BOUGHT! I FULLY REGRET BUYING THIS GAME..... WASTE OF TIME TRYING TO DRIVE TO THE CENTRAL PARK..... HOW CAN ANY PROGRAMMER COME UP WITH A STUPID GAME LIKE THIS... ITS AWFUL AND SHOULD BE TOTALLY RECALLED AND THROWN INTO THE FURNACE.
  16. PawelK
    Apr 22, 2009
    6
    This game could use some more time in production, especially to improve the controls and camera which are not good to say the least and have made me curse many times. Graphics are good and the story is also interesting, I wish it was branched more and evolved, because it could have been really good. The game ending is _terrible_, a total disappointment and I wouldn't be surprised if This game could use some more time in production, especially to improve the controls and camera which are not good to say the least and have made me curse many times. Graphics are good and the story is also interesting, I wish it was branched more and evolved, because it could have been really good. The game ending is _terrible_, a total disappointment and I wouldn't be surprised if some reviewers have lowered the overall score just because of it. I read that Edward does not stand a chance in combat with the crippled controls, but this is not the case depending on who plays. The controls may indeed pose a serious problem to a casual player, but any experienced gamers should be able to overcome them. All in all, I actually enjoyed this game and would rate it 6.5, but since there's no such score on the scale I will round it down this time. This may not be a hit title, but it's still worth picking up and seeing through. I'd like to see a more branched and evolved story, more puzzles, more cinematic cable climbing (!) and better balanced weapons/items (I used 3 combinations for the whole game, usually even 2...). Expand
  17. jasond
    Oct 14, 2008
    5
    I was pretty excited about this game when I first heard about it. The tv series approach was very creative for a video game. It is too bad that the game is not at all fun. Terrible controls, poor graphics, and slow/boring gameplay make this game one that needs to stay in the dark.
  18. conorc
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    If you liked resident evil 4 you will love this you never know whats going to happen and it feels like your playing a movie its an excitting action/horror game you truly feel like your fighting survival all the way to the end of the game and when combining items you never know what could happen (some combinations) a must buy for me and if your havin trouble you can skip scenes (i didntIf you liked resident evil 4 you will love this you never know whats going to happen and it feels like your playing a movie its an excitting action/horror game you truly feel like your fighting survival all the way to the end of the game and when combining items you never know what could happen (some combinations) a must buy for me and if your havin trouble you can skip scenes (i didnt skip scenes but my friend did) great phisics a LOT of fire fun to pick up things set them on fire and go crassy on a few monsters/objects but fire burns object up not as fast as real life but a bit to fast im telling you this because its the only way to kill the main monsters i loved the helcopter scenes (you dont control helicopters) monsters can hit your car and it will lift of ground but when they hit you its like fighting normal people despite small flaws its a MUST BUY for me you can play some parts in first person view blinking unnecissery go get it NOW. Expand
  19. DavidH
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    "Alone in the Dark" is the next evolution of the Survival Horror genre! Nour Polloni and everyone at Eden Studios have created a wonderful gaming experience. After 4 1/2 years in the making, their efforts prove that a small team with a little budget can compete with the larger developers. What really makes this unique is that it is so ambitious and ORIGINAL! Especially in this day and age "Alone in the Dark" is the next evolution of the Survival Horror genre! Nour Polloni and everyone at Eden Studios have created a wonderful gaming experience. After 4 1/2 years in the making, their efforts prove that a small team with a little budget can compete with the larger developers. What really makes this unique is that it is so ambitious and ORIGINAL! Especially in this day and age of sequels and remakes. With the Survival Horror genre being so scarce in this generation of gaming, this sleeper hit should be on everyone's "must buy" list, especially if you love horror games. The TV-style presentation is great, ending with cliff-hangers that really make you want to continue playing just to see what happens next. The first 6 episodes are a roller-coaster ride of thrills, with driving sequences on par with "Stuntman: Ignition". Although mostly linear at first, the player can easily get used to the controls. When the game does open up in Central Park, you really can go anywhere and do anything you want. Similiar to "Bioshock", you can get very creative in killing the various monsters. Early in the game, there are a lot of huge Hollywood-style action scenes that are fantastic. Later, in Central Park the atmosphere becomes creepier like "Silent Hill". The story is good, with believable dialogue and acting. Sound effects are atmospheric, but what really stands out is the fantastic music from the composer of "Obscure" and it's sequel. The graphics look really good too, with a lot of attention to detail, although some areas it looks like there could be a few more textures. Unfortunately, there are a couple of programming bugs that still need to be fixed with a downloadable patch. A couple of times, the game froze up, so I had to re-load my previous save. When you do continue your game, you'll get to see an episodic TV-style "Previously on 'Alone in the Dark'..." recap of the last few sequences to remind you of what happened in the story so far. Sadly, with all of the great presentation and everything, "Alone in the Dark" really isn't all that scary. It doesn't have a lot of jump-out-of-your-seat moments, but it is a very intense and moody game that's fun to play. After playing this game, I kept thinking, "Wow! How is 'Silent Hill: Homecoming,' and 'Alan Wake' going to compete with this!" It's so original, innovative and fresh, just like the first "Forbidden Siren" was. And, just like that game, this one is a little rough around the edges. What a great experience though! Someone please give these guys a bigger budget! Expand
  20. briandead
    Sep 25, 2008
    4
    I was so looking forward to getting this game at last but found the controls to be overly complex and so utterly frustrating to use, along with the camera angles, for me it's barely playable . What a waste of money. Buy it only if you have the patience of a saint!
  21. AnonymousMC
    Aug 30, 2008
    5
    This game has an enriching storyline that takes you to the end. Also, if you get stuck at a part, they have a unique chapter selection feature that lets you skip it and come back later. Plays like a tv show with reviews of what has happened previously on Alone in the Dark. The fire in this game will leave people awestruck and is very realistic. Except, although this game has many ups andThis game has an enriching storyline that takes you to the end. Also, if you get stuck at a part, they have a unique chapter selection feature that lets you skip it and come back later. Plays like a tv show with reviews of what has happened previously on Alone in the Dark. The fire in this game will leave people awestruck and is very realistic. Except, although this game has many ups and good ideas, most aren't thought out that well. Many glitches in the game and 1st person view being horrible on responses. Even though the title is Alone in the Dark, you are followed by another character who is so annyoing that I wish I was alone in the dark because, like F.E.A.R. has shown us, some things are scarier alone in the dark. Also, some ideas were good thoughts, just weren't used right. Like the inventory system being way too small and half of it is taken up by items you need to have throughout the game making the small inventory system even smaller. And batteries that die out too quickly. Also mid-way through the game, you have to kill a bunch of "roots" (not telling you why or else it will destroy the story for you), but it makes you kill a lot of them and it gets VERY repetetive. The driving system in this game is very fun and when you get onto New York driving, it is one of the most fun driving scenes in a video game I have ever played. I really would love to give this game a higher rating than 5 out of 10, but with this many flaws and poorly executed design choices, I can't. Let's hope that when Atari brings a new patch to the game, it will hopefully fix some of these glitches. Expand
  22. JeffL
    Aug 26, 2008
    10
    This game is my all around favorite, i love how everything is realistic and i love the story to it and i love the limited space of carrying only 6 things cause then it wouldn't be so real u can usually hold 6 things like that with that sort jacket and pockets and such cause unlike other game where u can hold like 12 or even more is just gay but still fun but I've been waiting This game is my all around favorite, i love how everything is realistic and i love the story to it and i love the limited space of carrying only 6 things cause then it wouldn't be so real u can usually hold 6 things like that with that sort jacket and pockets and such cause unlike other game where u can hold like 12 or even more is just gay but still fun but I've been waiting for a realistic game and that's what has come. Expand
  23. WilliamH
    Aug 17, 2008
    8
    Holy crap. I was really looking forward to this game and after seeing all the negative reviews I was completely turned off on it. But today I said what the hell and rented it. Well... I lost track of time and played it all night. The controls aren't that bad, you get used to them pretty quick. The driving is awesome, the cars control pretty similar to GTA4, so I have no clue why Holy crap. I was really looking forward to this game and after seeing all the negative reviews I was completely turned off on it. But today I said what the hell and rented it. Well... I lost track of time and played it all night. The controls aren't that bad, you get used to them pretty quick. The driving is awesome, the cars control pretty similar to GTA4, so I have no clue why there is all the negativity towards them, you don't see GTA4 being given horrible scores with one of it's main complaints being the driving. The fire/light elements are amazing, best I've ever seen in a game before. Inventory system could use a few more spots to hold items, but I guess it adds to the whole 'survival' thing having to make sacrafices on what to keep and what to toss. The story's pretty neat, nothing ground breaking, but it has kept me entertained. The game is a solid 8, not worth the full $60, on sale for anything less then it's a good buy, and as a rental, it's great. Expand
  24. AnonymousMC
    Aug 7, 2008
    0
    Don't listen to morons like Al. C over here this game sucks and is horrible. GTA4 and MGS4 shouldnt even be mentioned in the same sentence as anything that has to do with alone in the dark. Worst game I've played in a long time, Al. C is a retard, and a loser, and he has no knowledge of anything whatsoever.
  25. RyanH
    Jul 31, 2008
    8
    This game gets a bad rap. The controls are wonky at times, and the story could be better ... but the gaming conventions they are bucking and the new story telling elements that are introduced are very clever. I've found this to be an enjoyable experience and I am predicting right now, that a bunch of games are going to canabalize elements from this game down the road.
  26. SingingShark
    Jul 28, 2008
    1
    This is one of the worst games i've ever played. The music sucks balls, storyline is crap and the graphics make me cry. The game play ingeneral brings out the pissed off beast within u and it will eventually drive u mad enough to kill yourself. buy at ur own risk.
  27. JamesL
    Jul 19, 2008
    1
    It was probably the worst game I had ever played. The one point I gave it comes from their great ideas, followed by the worst execution I've ever encountered. The driving would be tolerable had there have been a better physics engine, which at several points I get stuck over a piece of paper. The combat wouldn't have been such a needle in my spine had the camera been more It was probably the worst game I had ever played. The one point I gave it comes from their great ideas, followed by the worst execution I've ever encountered. The driving would be tolerable had there have been a better physics engine, which at several points I get stuck over a piece of paper. The combat wouldn't have been such a needle in my spine had the camera been more cooperative. The fire effects were probably the best I've ever seen. It would have made Alone in the Dark outstanding if it had been a better game. As it stands, it just makes it a showy pile of feces. Expand
  28. DaneM.
    Jun 29, 2008
    7
    Mainstream reviews are useless, and if the 10s for GTA and the 4s for Lair did not convince you of this, the 3s and such for Alone in the Dark should. While far from a masterpiece Alone in the Dark supplies tons of scares, cool enviornments, free-roaming horror action gaming and interesting moments. Some of the most unique moments this generation can be found here, from the different ways Mainstream reviews are useless, and if the 10s for GTA and the 4s for Lair did not convince you of this, the 3s and such for Alone in the Dark should. While far from a masterpiece Alone in the Dark supplies tons of scares, cool enviornments, free-roaming horror action gaming and interesting moments. Some of the most unique moments this generation can be found here, from the different ways to kill enemies to the way the enviornment and fire play a role in almost everything you do. There is an enemy who is weak to light, and I was trying to use my flashlight to get passed him, as the game suggests. It was hard though, and I kept dying, but rather than give up I thought "I wonder if a flaming chair, carried with me, would work better." Sure enough it did, making a circle of light around me and preventing the enemy from even getting close. Unique moments like this are constant in Alone in the Dark, as you are repeatedly faced with tons of enemies and scant resources. You have to use your brain. The game does have flaws... the third-person camera control turns off when you pick something up, the driving levels are too hard, the checkpoiints can be scarce and sometimes the game leaves you with little direction, but overall these flaws are minor and only frustrate the easily annoyed out there. Play through the game for a while, get used to its flaws, and you will have a great time. I'm giving it a 7 out of 10, which for me is a good score. Compare it to a 8.5 or 9 from sites like IGN. Expand
  29. AlC.
    Jun 28, 2008
    8
    It seems that Atari didn't give enough money to the major review sites.If a shitty game takes 6 out of 10,i don't see why this AITD can't take his TRUE vote,8 out of 10. excellent storyline,intelligent puzzles,good looking monsters,beautyful soundtrack,and generally agood graphic(with some flaws like the texture,but still good).The camera angles aren't a true problem It seems that Atari didn't give enough money to the major review sites.If a shitty game takes 6 out of 10,i don't see why this AITD can't take his TRUE vote,8 out of 10. excellent storyline,intelligent puzzles,good looking monsters,beautyful soundtrack,and generally agood graphic(with some flaws like the texture,but still good).The camera angles aren't a true problem 'cause you can change the angles with the right stick and you can use the right analog to fix it.the game support a first person view as well,so no REAL problem. the driving sessions are insanely hard and very frustrating but they are few and overall better than the Bourne Conspiracy one. the controls need only a bit of practice,but are REALLY bad and complicated. the ending is a little upset,but it is still original and good in his own way. the pshysics is execellent and the movements of the protagounist are a bit sloppy and unrealistical. most important of all is the difficulty level:finally,since the time of the first resident evil,a enemy was able to kill me. i've finished a lot of game like RE4 or SH Homecoming without being killed any single time. finally i didn't find bullets and first aid spray behind every corner. so yes this is a real survival horror,and a game where you have to use all your brain to go on. unluckly the actual era of gaing does not give award to "smart" games,but they prefer the importance of franchise. so very good games but overrated like MGS4 and GTA4 takes 10 out 10,when MGS4 have a bad graphic for the locations(lack of details on walls and rooms) GTA4 is full of bug but they still take 10. this game is full of bug,have a more than decent graphic,and plus it have atmosphere,realistical gameplay,well balanced difficulty and most important intelligent puzzle solving and it takes 5 out 10 . please people learn to think with your own brain and don't trust gaming sites such like IGN,Gamespot etc. Expand
  30. JonW.
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Cracking stuff - the poor reviews nearly put me off, but I bought this anyway, and haven't stopped playing since. Controls are...erm...different, but certainly not broken. Looking forward to (hopefully) a sequel!
  31. PatrickW.
    Jun 26, 2008
    10
    I loved this game.The music fits the game in a good but odd way.I have only ran into a couple of bugs but only because i was looking for them. The dialogue is not amazing but its the odd suspense that keeps it entertaining.I have played this game everyday i have had it and still live it.The slightly realistic concepts such as the limited amount of carrying capacity make this game I loved this game.The music fits the game in a good but odd way.I have only ran into a couple of bugs but only because i was looking for them. The dialogue is not amazing but its the odd suspense that keeps it entertaining.I have played this game everyday i have had it and still live it.The slightly realistic concepts such as the limited amount of carrying capacity make this game enjoyable for me.I would rather find ways to get out of a tricky situation then already have it and be done with it.The combinations, puzzles and even controls once you get use to them are great.I am willing to say this is the most addictive and puzzling game i have played in a long time. Expand
  32. TungusG.
    Jun 26, 2008
    8
    Not a bad game at all, if you can deal with the controls. 1st person is good, 3rd is different and not shitty like some of the reviewers say. Its very intuitive and hands on.Its not the typical control scheme so everybody's got their pants in a bundle. It took about an hour to be comfortable with controlling after that it wasn't bad. The game looks very good, textures are Not a bad game at all, if you can deal with the controls. 1st person is good, 3rd is different and not shitty like some of the reviewers say. Its very intuitive and hands on.Its not the typical control scheme so everybody's got their pants in a bundle. It took about an hour to be comfortable with controlling after that it wasn't bad. The game looks very good, textures are excellent and lighting is very well done.The story is a bit hokey but acceptable for a horror game.I liked it and its ideas. Expand
  33. thisgamesucks
    Jun 26, 2008
    1
    This game is seriously one of the worst i've played you can't walk near a ledge and turn around without falling off, there is no direction whatso ever and the fact you can hold a total of 6 things sucks to. its all around a HUGE upset.
  34. AndrewB.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    Alone in the Dark is a genuinely unique experience that attempts, and I believe succeeds, to break the template of modern videogames. With breathtaking visuals and a cinematic style unlike any other videogame, Alone in the Dark is an incredible gaming experience. The game opens with one of the most epic and intense scenes I've played through in a game as you try to escape a burning Alone in the Dark is a genuinely unique experience that attempts, and I believe succeeds, to break the template of modern videogames. With breathtaking visuals and a cinematic style unlike any other videogame, Alone in the Dark is an incredible gaming experience. The game opens with one of the most epic and intense scenes I've played through in a game as you try to escape a burning building. It doesn't let up after that, either, as you race through the streets as New York shatters around you. Although the controls can be cumbersome at first, it didn't take too long to adapt to them. There are so many things that this game has to offer that it would be foolish to pass up. Expand
  35. gamegriller
    Jun 25, 2008
    4
    Cmon now. Don't defend a video game because it has great atmosphere or special effects and crummy awkward gameplay. If I want great plot and setting alone, I'll go to the movies or watch cable......This is getting away from what games are all about.. Playability.
  36. DanielN.
    Jun 25, 2008
    5
    This game tries too hard, and it does have some good elements in it. But they are not enough to carry the game, witch is really sad. I got it cheap when I pre-ordered it in February 08, so im not too bummed about the money spent on it. But one thing is for sure if i had to pay full price for it, i would never get it. This is definitely a rent not a buy.
  37. jared
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    Good game that could of been great. It just needed more time to fix the bugs and tweak the controls. Once you get used to it though, it really is a fun and definitely different game.
  38. ResidentS.
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    Brilliant game, I've been looking fwd to a decent survival horror and i am happy to say AITD falls into that category.
  39. RyanD
    Jun 25, 2008
    8
    I really don't see why people are making such a big deal out of the control system. The controls work fine, the ability to switch between 1st and 3rd person modes was very convenient (IGN's review b*tched about that for some reason) and the game was captivating in an astounding way. The voice acting and the script DO suck terribly, and I won't even try defending that to I really don't see why people are making such a big deal out of the control system. The controls work fine, the ability to switch between 1st and 3rd person modes was very convenient (IGN's review b*tched about that for some reason) and the game was captivating in an astounding way. The voice acting and the script DO suck terribly, and I won't even try defending that to justify my $60 purchase. Edward constantly shouting "I don't have your stone. ...and f**k you anyway!" and generic adolescent use of swear words is awkward and something you can't help but laugh at as the moment is shot down and curb stomped by the acting. The cars DO handle like boxes (if you're in the middle of the air, you can turn the analog stick and the car will rotate still), but it doesn't detract from the game a whole lot. I actually think it makes the driving more intense. It's better than GTA 4's brick-with-wheels-attached-car handling system. I do have to say that for $60 this game is short. What is it, like, 8 hour-long episodes? And I mean it's not a huge deal as I got it for $50 with the t-shirt and soundtrack, but still, I feel like had they gotten a new scriptwriting team and better voice actors, the game could have been longer, more exciting, and a truly good buy for the money. To conclude, I seriously recommend RENTING the game. Either you'll like it or not, but I think it's worth playing anyway. Transcending all the mistakes they made by rushing the game, there lies the shell of limitless potential, that I hope will be able to shine through on their next creation. Expand
  40. BenD.
    Jun 25, 2008
    1
    Very disappointing game! I pay 60 buck for a piece of crap!
  41. MikeA.
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    To truly enjoy the game, play it the same way you would watch a TV series!! An episode a day minimum. Why? Because the there are tons of great moments and cliffhangers that will not have the same effect if it is just played through in one day. One of the most interesting stories in a game I have seen in years. Yes, I know there are some problems. The game has a bunch of issues, such as To truly enjoy the game, play it the same way you would watch a TV series!! An episode a day minimum. Why? Because the there are tons of great moments and cliffhangers that will not have the same effect if it is just played through in one day. One of the most interesting stories in a game I have seen in years. Yes, I know there are some problems. The game has a bunch of issues, such as the controls, At some points I died fast or got lost on a simple puzzle. It reminds how I felt when playing the original resident evil for the first time. I was amazed by it but died because I didn't turn around fast enough. But don't let something this original go by without at least playing it! The episodic method of story telling is innovating unique. I see this feature becoming standard in games a few years from now. Expand
  42. MarcoB.
    Jun 24, 2008
    2
    An abysmal, broken, unfinished, unworthy game. Almost unplayable because of horrendous controls, full of bugs and glitches. Save your money. Believe me: avoid like plague!
  43. [Anonymous]
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    Controls and Annoying moments aside - at least they tried something new. A mixed bag, but one worth playing.
  44. NickEd.
    Jun 24, 2008
    10
    This is what I've been waiting for.
  45. CrowbarS.
    Jun 23, 2008
    4
    Alone In The Dark is a promising game with a lot of potential and it's almost breath-taking to watch. Unfortunately, it's fundamentally flawed in a number of critical areas and in ways that games really shouldn't be flawed after so many years of learning from past mistakes. Rent it or watch someone play it.
  46. DanW.
    Jun 22, 2008
    3
    I really hope someone reads this and is able to avoid wasting time and effort on this terrible game. Although the story and gameplay are not perfect they would be forgivable would it not be for the number of bugs within the game itself. On a number of occasions the gameplay dynamics have been inconsistent and unpredictable a resulted in death of the character with no explanation given. I really hope someone reads this and is able to avoid wasting time and effort on this terrible game. Although the story and gameplay are not perfect they would be forgivable would it not be for the number of bugs within the game itself. On a number of occasions the gameplay dynamics have been inconsistent and unpredictable a resulted in death of the character with no explanation given. For example driving through a door and suddenly falling down an unseen mineshaft to your death with no reason wahtsoevergiven! During this 'sequence' the screen literally went black with no sound for several seconds and then just a death, no explanation given. To add to these problems, the controls and camera angles are unforgivably bad. There is no control over the camera in 3rd person mode at all. this may have been acceptable 8-9 years ago or more with the original resident evil games, but games have moved on considerably since then and as a result, this plays like a blind retarded animal that keeps running into things and hurting itself cos it doesn't know what the hell it's doing. Don't waste your money on this, atari have really let us down. All of the delays in development make this even less justified. I'd rather kick myself in the balls several times than carry on playing this. Expand
  47. JakeS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    Truly one of the best games of the year.
  48. TusharS.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    It has a good storyline...nice action moves.
  49. Wampbit
    Jun 21, 2008
    4
    A game with a lot of promise, however undeniably rushed, causing some severe problems with game mechanics, graphics, physics and gameplay making the game tedious to play and frustrating due to very bad controls. The story had the potential to be interesting, and create a drive to play even with the multiple bugs, however truly awful voice acting, combined with a selection of phrases A game with a lot of promise, however undeniably rushed, causing some severe problems with game mechanics, graphics, physics and gameplay making the game tedious to play and frustrating due to very bad controls. The story had the potential to be interesting, and create a drive to play even with the multiple bugs, however truly awful voice acting, combined with a selection of phrases constantly being repeated by all the NPCs around you create a noisy and tedious experience. The sound effects are varying in quality, but none are good enough to make the sound side good. Overall the game is not polished to the standard expected today, as a result of this and other gameplay flaws you get a tedious buggy experience that fails to suck you in, or, for that matter, provides any satisfying gameplay aspects. Expand
  50. VeyrnonZ.
    Jun 20, 2008
    10
    One of the most inventive and captivating game I've played on X360.
  51. JesseG.
    Jun 20, 2008
    2
    I've waited for this game for a long time, endured the hype, and paid 60 dollars for crap.
  52. MarkS.
    Jun 20, 2008
    2
    Stupid story, overcomplicated controls, lots of bugs.
  53. DickL.
    Jun 19, 2008
    9
    Even as the controls are a bit clumsy at first, you'll get used to them after a while. Graphics are great and the atmosphere is amazing. For the players who absolutely can't stand the controls, let's hope that there will be a patch that fixes them. Review by Dick Luck, the luckiest dick in the universe.
  54. SquizurBoom
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    I got a chance to play this game before it comes out next week. I've seen the first 3 chapters and I got to say, I want to see MORE MORE MORE! It's great, awesome and fantastic.
  55. OliG.
    Jun 19, 2008
    1
    Good ideas but very bad realization and even worse genre-mix gameplay make out one of the worst games (and particularly frustrating) ever, in any case the worst alone in the dark ever!!!
  56. ArioseJ.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    Great game, great action, great story, bad controls. But you eventually will learn to appreciate that too.
  57. ToddS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    3
    The controls are horrible and non-responsive. Very disappointing.
  58. JackyB.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    One hell of a game. The deep atmosphere created by Eden Games is pioneer to the new genre "Survival Experience."
  59. SteveJ.
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    I love this game. It uses innovation and breaks barriers.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 53
  2. Negative: 11 out of 53
  1. Every good idea here is brought down by bad basic design, including a shoddy third-person camera, a too-slow first-person mode, and bizarre forced switching between the two. [Sept 2008, p.82]
  2. The game is boring for long stretches, has an uneven level of difficulty and no worthwhile story.
  3. Is there anything good about Alone in the Dark? The fire effects are stunning and the music theme is quite good. Other than that though, nothing.