Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. 70
    Underneath the show there's still a snowboarding game that's fun to hang out with, but only in doses.
  2. Though technically difficult to fault in terms of playability, it lacks the next-gen "wow" factor. [Issue #2]
  3. 100
    The story and presentation for Amped 3 is the funniest, most tripped out, wacky and bizarre thing you have ever seen! I kid you not, this game redefines kooyness - whatever these guys were on when they put this game together, I want some!
  4. Amped 3 brought lots of smiles to my face, but these were down to the wacky presentation rather than anything else.
  5. Snowboarding is buried in here somewhere but it's sandwiched between Mountain Dew 'tude', insane fratboy party visuals and some gameplay completely unrelated to snowboarding.
  6. With a story mode that demands to be finished and pacing so good that it'll steal big chunks of your life, Amped 3's one of the best extreme sports titles since the original "SSX." It's cool, it's edgy, it's irreverent and it's fun. [Official UK Xbox Magazine]
  7. Amped 3 aims to keep you distracted by constantly nickel-and-diming you with a hundred mini-challenges, each with its own pointless reward, spread across a dozen mountainsides. [Feb 2006, p.87]
  8. As a single player experience, Amped 3 shows lots of humor, creativity and diverse gameplay. Gamers will easily lose three hours in a sitting, trying to unlock additional challenges and courses.
  9. Could've just as easily been a current-gen title. Average graphics, annoying story and too-easy gameplay make for a ho-hum game.
  10. From the chillin' lingo to the colorful, retro-inspired interludes (often told using any or all of the aforementioned oddballs), the game is packed with attitude.
  11. It’s an enormously likeable package, and one which sets perhaps a much more valuable next-gen agenda: one of games which place a higher emphasis on player enjoyment than they do their own ambitions. [Jan 2005, p.84]
  12. The game is a whole lotta fun. The pacing's a bit off--the story missions seem to take forever on the first few mountains, then you scream through the last three.
  13. Amped 3 certainly isn't awful, and will keep you entertained for a long time if you can get past the hideous presentation and get used to its stop-starty nature, but the most recent SSX was enormous too, and treated the sorts of tasks that Amped considers its core as a second string to its traditional racing and tricking.
  14. The fun and challenging Amped series lives on with a new strange and beautiful side. Besides the missing online multiplayer Amped 3 is one of the launch bests titles for the Xbox 360. Don't pass this one up.
  15. 80
    Easy playability, a solid presentation, and one of the most satisfyingly off-beat and engaging storylines in any game all make Amped 3 one of the more suprising Xbox 360 launch games.
  16. But with so much content, miles of mountainside, hours of music, addictive mini-games, hilarious movies, park editor, online leaderboards, sleds, snowmobiles and even bathtubs, Amped 3 is in a class all its own.
  17. Aped 3 isn't just a game that works, it's a title that will suck hours away from your life and demand that you dominate mountains. [Dec 2005, p.163]
  18. Amped 3 provides all kinds of groovy style and content but wraps it in somewhat bland gameplay. Hopefully the next edition will try and hit the slopes a little harder, maybe even with friends.
  19. 60
    Simply put, the controls are awful.
  20. The game's presentation seems just slightly above average at best, and the game lacks the kind of killer multiplayer where you can deem yourself ruler of the mountain.
  21. You get the feeling that the programmers enjoyed making it, enjoy gaming themselves, and just “get” what makes a game good.
  22. It's impossible to dislike Amped 3 - it has real character, is hugely ambitious in size and scope, there's plenty to keep you occupied and, even if it isn't all that immediate, it is accessible.
  23. The wholly original cut-and-paste visual style of Amped 3--combined with the manic, increasingly crazy energy of the story mode--make it easier to forgive the oft-repetitive and occasionally plain gameplay.
  24. 70
    For me, the biggest shortcoming of Amped 3 was the lack of any decent multiplayer gameplay. There's nothing happening with Xbox Live -- save for some cool, but basic score tracking -- and the offline multiplayer is limited to the rather disappointing co-op two-player sledding events.
  25. While some gripes remain about the slightly confusing character skill progression, Amped 3 delivers a solid, next-gen entertainment bonanza that howls with the soul of a true snow beast.
  26. The new direction taken by Amped 3 will not be to everyone's taste. Yet somehow this underdog has managed to dominate Gamestyle's available Xbox 360 playtime - leaving PGR3 trailing, PDZ quaking and Condemned hammered.
  27. In the end, the best thing that I can say about Amped 3 is that it’s fun, and simply has enough to do to keep you entertained for a good long time.
  28. Hardcore snowboarding fans will find it too easy while casual gamers will hate the forced style. The style and cutscenes I found refreshening [sic].
  29. The completely over-the-top sense of style and the lack of obvious next generation attributes will work against the success of the game.
  30. 69
    It's too bad Amped 3 plays so awkwardly, since there's really a huge amount of content here.
  31. The game is extremely easy to pick up and play, but has enough challenges requiring skill that literally anyone should have fun with this title, even the video-snowboarding novice.
  32. The game has style, variety, originality, plenty of content and bags of fun – but let’s face it, when you’ve seen one mountain, you’ve pretty much seen them all. The same goes for a good deal of the other unlockable content.
  33. The lack of genuine Live play does hurt the longevity of the game but I guess you cant have everything.
  34. Having only a single player mode for a game like this doesn't help the cause either. So Amped 3 ends up being pretty good, but not great.
  35. 80
    A chilled-out, whacked-out gem of a game and one that demonstrates that games can do ‘funny’ and ‘more accessible’ and pull it off with style.
  36. Amped 3 gets everything right that's wrong with "SSX." [Jan 2006, p.72]
  37. With no true multiplayer mode, online or offline, it's hard to suggest Amped 3 as anything more than a rental.
  38. 70
    A highly competent – if not flawed – snowboarding game with a style comparable to no other.
  39. Tries to find a new direction for the series, but the choices made are hit-and-miss. Amped 3 feels watered down and butchered compared to Amped 2. The crazy cutscenes are fun to watch, though. [Feb 2006]
  40. But, overall, while the game has it’s unique features, and easy to pick-up gameplay, it may still only provide a very short term game experience with lack of multi-player and replay value.
  41. Demands forgiveness for being over-the-top in its attempt to be wacky. [Jan 2006, p.46]
  42. Amped 3 is a big success. The physics are realistic, the controls are excellent (and a challenge to master) and the sprawling snowfields provide many hours of fun. No matter what your skill level, there's a lot of fun to be had here.
  43. The story mode has plenty of depth and is fun to pass around with a group of friends. Multiplayer is severely lacking and it’s a shame that Amped 3 can’t reach its full potential without it.
  44. Perhaps that doesn’t sound like the most enthusiastic endorsement, but Amped 3 is one of those games that has so many peripheral pleasures that it must be looked at in terms of the whole package rather than the score gameplay (which is polished even if it’s easy).
  45. A fun title that perhaps tries a little too hard not to take itself seriously; those who prefer their sports titles to have an inkling of sophistication will quickly find the game on its way back to the shop, however if you're just looking for fun then Amped 3 does the job.
  46. Despite the fact that Amped 3 doesn’t have any multiplayer, or that the visuals aren’t exactly the best thing you will see on Xbox 360, it is still a very solid snowboarding game.
  47. For the right gamers this one will provide laughter and the snowboarding experience, just not in the normal way you may be used to.
  48. Certainly one of the more imaginative games of the 360's launch line-up, Amped 3 impresses in both its stylish, off-the-wall presentation and its relaxed, laid-back gameplay.
  49. 80
    The production values are high, the game play is smooth, and it is simply a joy to play.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. AdrianV.
    Jan 4, 2007
    5
    I agree with Magnus G. Amped 1 & 2 were so much better! Why did they have to go and mess it all up by ruining the presentation and dumbing I agree with Magnus G. Amped 1 & 2 were so much better! Why did they have to go and mess it all up by ruining the presentation and dumbing down the gameplay to appease the casual mainstream SSX crowd? By trying to please everybody with its attempt at a balance between arcade and realism it just ends up pleasing nobody by being too easy and unrealistic! Now where am I supposed to get my simulation fix of snowboarding? Ahhh I guess I'll have to go back to playing Amped 2. I'm hoping now that Indie Built have gone bust that Ubisoft are going to come through with Shaun White Snowboarding. Full Review »
  2. AdultGamer
    Dec 19, 2005
    2
    Amped 3 was naff when it was released on the xbox but now its £20 more exspencive and still naff.
  3. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    this game got me. I did not played any games like this neither did i wanted to, but just for a try I got it and thats where the love began.this game got me. I did not played any games like this neither did i wanted to, but just for a try I got it and thats where the love began. The story cutscenes are original, incredibly funny and stylish from head to toe. The controls are pretty good, the graphics is just awesome for a 2005 sport title and everything in this game is just fun! If you dont play sport titles , let this be an exception. The rap song in one of the first mission will give you a good idea how fun this game is! Full Review »