Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Anarchy Reigns promises over-the-top close combat, set in a massively open world in a stark, mutant-riddled future. Observe iconic characters from the PlatinumGames stable fighting it out in a series of colorful arenas. Up to sixteen players can engage in multiplayer matches over a variety of game modes; engage in all-out Battle Royale destruction, co-operate with your friends and vanquish hordes of monsters in Survival mode or test your sportsmanship over a few rounds of Deathball. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    85
    It's ridiculous, it's fun, and it's packed with enough content to last you a long while, so long as you don't get tired of beating dudes up over and over. The budget pricing of $29.99 makes this decision even easier.
  2. Jan 14, 2013
    80
    Anarchy Reigns is an attractive, bombastic entry that retails for half the price of a normal title while delivering a fantastic level of quality. If you ask me, smaller-budget titles that try to do something different should be supported and celebrated-definitely give this one a shot, but keep an eye out for double chainsaws approaching from the rear.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    Make no mistake, this is a game for gamers: furious button mashing, intense competition, and destruction on a scale that only Platinum Games seems to understand.
  4. Jan 12, 2013
    74
    Anarchy Reigns throws a lot of blows, and while it's sometimes recklessly off target, this is a talented and capable fighter at its core.
  5. Jan 16, 2013
    70
    Anarchy Reigns does exactly what the title explains. It brings players to a world of chaos and adds a very thin storyline. The game is all about beating enemies up end allows you to doe this against the computer offline and versus players online. It's a pretty decent game with a dent in it here and there.
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    70
    Anarchy Reigns might not hit those highs often enough to be truly great, but it's different enough and crazy enough for a chainsaw-fuelled rumble or two.
  7. Jan 14, 2013
    50
    Anarchy Reigns is a violent beat'em all, and an elitist one. Barely accessible, it could have been a superb brawler, but it suffers from a clear lack of polish, its mandatory solo mode is full of lengthy annoying and dull story elements you can't bypass, and once online, you will be spanked a lot before you can achieve anything. It's the last game Platinum Games did for Sega, and it shows.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jan 14, 2013
    10
    It is a Platinum game! They truly do make games for the gamer. I have loved every title they have produced and Anarchy Reigns is no different. At a discounted price, there is no reason not to buy this fresh new IP. While you are at it, pick up Bayonetta and Vanquish. The latter being greatly under appreciated. You should grab Suda 51's games Shadows of the Damned and Lollipop Chainsaw as well. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    A good game to release the start of the new year, there was no good beat em up game that release to the PS3 nor xbox 360. I'm happy that Platinum release another of their masterpiece into the PS3. Insane, chao multiplayer is what make this game awesome! The Campaign is okay, it let you choose to be the White side or the black side with each different enemies and story . You can also train you character of your choice by training mode (Highly recommend to play the Campaign first) to improve your skill with the character to be prepare for multiplayer. In case your a beginner in this game which everyone is, there the tutorial in the main menu where you can get to know how the game is play & once your get used to the control, you be having a one hell alot of fun. There also alot of modes in multiplayer, that keep you entertaining. Other than all i say in this game is, highly recommend to purchase this game if you want something different and fun. It only 29$ and have a lot of content than other 60$ game, no joke. Go out and get now for just 29$! Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    Anarchy Reigns was originally set to launch in North America early-mid 2012, but it was then delayed until 2013, even though the game was finished. While the game was really close to cancellation for North America, a date was finally set, but it was a long wait to endure. However, the wait is over and Anarchy Reigns is here, but was it worth it? Two words: Hell yes!

    Anarchy Reigns is a 3D brawler at its core that combines brawling and fighting like God Hand or Fist of the North Star, hence my comparison to those games. But the difference is that Anarchy Reigns has the unique and quirky flavor of Platinum and Sega games. While everything that makes a Platinum game their own is on display, it also feels like one of those gems you'd play on the Sega Dreamcast back in the day.

    The single player campaign has two interwoven plots, offering two different characters to play as (Jack Cayman, Leonhardt "Leo" Victorion), which allows you to play in two different ways with two different takes. This gives you replayability for the single player content. Speaking of the single player, you're given hub world environments to roam around, beat up bad guys, collect things, and just have fun in-between the story and side missions, so it's not just a straight up linear mission-to-mission game, but it's also not a large open world, just hub environments that give you a little more sense of freedom.

    The other part of the package is the multiplayer, which is truly unique and unlike anything else out there. It's fast and hectic, but it all performs admirably online and hasn't been plagued with issues or anything from my experience. While there are some incredibly skilled players out there, I'm not one of them yet, but it's even fun to play when you're losing. It's just so different, which leads me to believe this'll maintain a community for a good while. There are a bunch of different modes to enjoy in the multiplayer package, which includes the established modes like DM and TDM. You can choose from 16 different characters in multiplayer, all of which have their own fighting styles, signature kill moves, etc.

    Also, since I haven't mentioned it yet, I must say that the combat in this game is awesome. You could compare this game to Madworld, but it's really a lot deeper and more satisfying in terms of the combat. It's almost impossible to say how it feels, as it feels entirely different depending on who you're playing as, but if you're playing as Jack Cayman, the game's combat is meaty and focused on more of a brawler style, but you can play as one of the more quick and agile characters in multiplayer, which includes Bayonetta if you pre-ordered the game elsewhere. Hopefully SEGA will release Bayonetta as DLC sometime in the near future for everyone else.

    As far as the graphics go, Anarchy Reigns isn't the most beautiful game or anything, but it gets the job done. Also, lip syncing doesn't sync up perfectly since the mouths animate with the Japanese VO and they just put English VO in without reanimating the mouths on the characters. The animation work, though, is spectacularly well done, and I don't want to imagine the work they put into all 16 characters.

    Anarchy Reigns is a new IP that's fresh and interesting, as it offers something new to gamers who are sick and tired of the status quo. This is a ridiculously fun game that offers a meaty single player with two campaigns, an online multiplayer that isn't an FPS, and just a load of fun for anyone wanting some originality. It certainly has its comparisons to God Hand (Anarchy Reigns developers worked on this), Fist of the North Star (which hasn't had a good game), and Madworld (Same developer, one of the same main characters), but this does it so well and brings it to the online arena, allowing you to share the fun with other gamers worldwide. Bravo, Platinum Games, bravo!
    Expand
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Anarchy Reigns is a game I picked up alongside another certain action game released in January
  5. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    I enjoyed most of the game, the campaign was rather short and was pretty much the same places but different areas. So it seemed a little monotonous playing through it and the final boss was rather lackluster. The combat is satisfying, there is a good amount of combos and the left trigger allows for the character specific Killer Weapon attacks which can turn a fight to your favor. Now mainly the problem I have is the online play. I can't speak for the PS3 version, but it seems like it takes at least 15-20 mins to find a match on quick start and don't even bother with some of the playlists because they're dead. Then with the game coming out long after the Japanese version, there are a ton of max level people out there that just cream me each time. Maybe I just need to get better, but most of the time I was getting stun locked in an endless combo and dying fairly quick. All in all, it was good for what I paid for, a short, fun campaign and a mostly fun multiplayer experience. It's a nice holdover until my most anticipated Platinum Games release, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. Collapse
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    Far from being the perfect game with some matchmaking issues and lag, but it is a great value at 30 USD and it is at least incredibly fun with a kick-ass soundtrack to boot. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    3
    this game is a seqeul (disgrace) to mad world... MADWORLD it has NO resemblence itsucks in comparisin and ruins the name madworld it shoud,nt even EXIST sega just made it for fans of mw BUT RUINED EVERYTHING GOOD ABOUT IT how did they think making a coleruful (it has blood but i mean graphic wise) PARTY GAME out of all things as a seqeul to a beat um up platformer in b&w&r Expand

See all 19 User Reviews