User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 6 out of 27

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    I cannot understand why everyone is coming down so hard on this game. It is excellent. This is THE most realistic flight experience to be had on a console. I was initially scared off by all the bad reviews on this site, so I downloaded the demo from XBL. 15 minutes with the demo and I was hooked. If you're at all interested in flying, or helicopters, or just blowing the crap out of stuff with rockets and machineguns you owe it to yourself to at least try the demo before you dismiss this game. The flying is hard to master, but that's part of the fun and challenge of this game. Don't listen to the negative reviews. Try the game, then decide for yourself. Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I finally found a way out to finish this game .. very hard to finish it until I found the solution ...thanks cheat n code. I'll divide it is his link. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2011
    6
    The game is different. You may think a game that consists souly on flying is a bore but you would be greatly mistaken. The raw entity of the game is all there and it is a very fun game. The game challenges you due to the occassional difficulty and provides you with the means for a tactical victory which in most cases pays off. My only issue is the campaigns all thats good about this game. The customization is bad and so are its online capabilities but the game is still ok Collapse
  4. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    This is a great game. Yes, it can be hard at times, but persistence pays off. The Sharks In The Water mission, in particular, is too hard but the sense of achievement when you complete it makes the effort worth it. The online co-op missions add an extra dimension to the game.
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    8
    First off,i have to give Kudos to Activision & Gajin for seeing that theres people that are crying out for this kind of thing,& making it.So from many of us,thanks.Also for having the forethought to include realistic handleing,for those that want it(like me).This game is a total breath of fresh air,in the crowded marked of 1st person shooters,racing etc(not that i dont enjoy them too).& is a joy to play.This game would've got a Higher score,if Co-Op would've been available in Campaign too(I was massively excited when i heard the game had Co-Op,but was so disappointed it wasn't campaign Co-Op)!.. Also to have you gunner played by another player online would've been welcome.I have 2 smaller gripes also.In real Apaches,the gunner doesnt fire the rockets.The pilot does.would like to see this fixed in a patch,but it probably wont(which leads me to my second gripe..Could you please fix the sound bug where you lose the engine sound in the incocpit view! Its so annoying!.. How hard can it be to fix? In fact it shouldnt have even been shipped with such a glaring bug! If you make an Apache 3(& i really hope you do),& implemented the points i made regerding Campaign Co-Op,& more missions would be good,then you'd have a masterpiece on your hands& a perfect 10 from me. Heres Hoping.. Expand
  6. Aug 4, 2011
    6
    It's not the Ace Combat for helicopters I was hoping for. The game looks good but gameplay is problematic. Clearly the devs were aiming for a realistic experience but it's ill-suited for the limited Xbox 360 controller. I tried the PC version for a while and it was clear that consoles weren't the best platform for this game.
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    Apache: Air Assault is a new flight/combat game of Activision. The story of the game is funny, have some mistakes in the development, but is interesting. The graphics are really cool, and amazing. The gameplay is great. The controls are really good. Apache: Air Assault is a greash game.
  8. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    graphics:7 /game play:7 /story:N/A /music:8
    ---good----
    positives:one of a kind on xbox-good graphics for the Apache-
    negatives:very hard to control with the analog sticks- no story-no details on enemies vehicles-does not understand how to use your arsenal because of the bad tutorial-no checkpoints ??? in the mission-a lot of pain in the ass missions-no specific strategy to win ..
    but
    it is enjoyable game u feel your self flying a real chopper ,,this is the only game which can compete with ace compit game....keep it up Russia Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    I did like the realism of the flight simulation, maps and graphics of this game. I do think it was lacking in most other aspects of a military air ground task force. I think the 100+ targets on each mission is about as unrealistic as it gets. There was many missing aspects of this game like the air superiority factor that combat fighter jets would have enforced, and ground targets amassed in such a jumble that the AC-130 spectre/ puff would have been used. I give it a D- for realism. Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2011
    0
    The game is different. You may think a game that consists souly on flying is a bore but you would be greatly mistaken. The raw entity of the game is all there and it is a very fun game. The game challenges you due to the occassional difficulty and provides you with the means for a tactical victory which in most cases pays off. My only issue is the campaigns all thats good about this game. The customization is bad and so are its online capabilities but the game is still ok Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. May 24, 2011
    70
    This game is no core gamer simulation. Sometimes the action is unfair and you should really be a fan of trial-and-error. Apache: Air Assault is nevertheless an entertaining game.
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    55
    It's not a bad game but it is outstripped by developer Gaijin Entertainments other offerings within the same market. Unless you're someone who really must get to the chopper, there are far better flight simulators available, including the excellent IL-2 series. Granted, it's not on consoles, but they really aren't the weapon of choice for simulations.
  3. Feb 25, 2011
    71
    A competent helicopter simulator. It will most certainly push some gamer's buttons and become a well loved addition to their military combat collection. But I'm not sure how large that market is.