Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    It's not going to please hardcore D&D purists, or gamers looking for the next Elder Scrolls, but as a middle ground between deeper entries and linear adventures, Arcania: Gothic IV hits its stride.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    50
    Unlike its more interesting predecessors, Arcania: Gothic 4 is a commonplace action-RPG with boring quests, rudimentary controls, and dreary character development.
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    62
    Linear, simplistic gameplay with no multiplayer component limits replay value.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    68
    Arcania isn't what anyone thought Gothic 4 would be. It's a marginally competent action/RPG with all the depth of a kiddie pool, not the huge open-world role-playing epics the series was previously known for.
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    So on the whole I'm unpleased with Gothic 4. It's a wonderful graphics engine with an adequate combat system hampered by dull quests and a lack of action. More action would have put them into the action RPG realm, which I personally think is somewhat under-populated on the PC platform. Of course, more mainstream RPG fans are going to be turned off by the lack of common RPG elements. You'll likely be better off picking up Dragon Age on the discount rack if you, like me, haven't played it yet.
  6. 75
    As difficult as it is for a self-proclaimed story-aholic to admit, the flow of combat and epic exploration is enough to make the Gothic series' console debut an interesting experience, despite the mind-boggling story design.
  7. Dec 22, 2010
    68
    Longtime fans of the genre, and especially fans of the Gothic series, will be disappointed in the games lack of depth and emotionless narrative.
  8. Jan 8, 2011
    72
    ArcaniA: Gothic IV won't revolutionize the genre, because it relies too much on what's already established – but therefore it provides a successful overall gaming experience.
  9. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Arcania Gothic IV is devoid of some typical elements of the Gothic series, but is a good rpg. Ideal to start to become familiar with a hard role-playing game.
  10. Oct 21, 2010
    60
    Gothic IV is not a a great RPG. Gameplay is too simple (too similar to an Hack'n'Slash), story is uninspired and characters are dull. Linear and straightforward, it offers at least some kind of visual magic.
  11. 60
    For all its radial menus and console-friendly UI, Spellbound simply hasn't managed to make Gothic work in a console environment. [Issue#66, p.85]
  12. Oct 22, 2010
    70
    You won't pick this up before grabbing Dragon Age, but if you've already moved past the RPGs released over the last few years, Gothic 4 is an easy going and serviceable runner up.
  13. Dec 25, 2010
    50
    The Arcania series makes its debut on consoles, and we're unimpressed to say the least - clichéd story, poor graphics and bordering on broken. [Issue#65, p.88
  14. Oct 25, 2010
    76
    It's got its problems, but Arcania: Gothic 4 is a surprise hit for me this holiday season. As long as you're not expecting a game of the year class RPG, you're in for a very good time here.
  15. Dec 22, 2010
    49
    There's nothing distinctive about the world we're allowed to explore.
  16. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    Arcania turns out to be a passable RPG, it has pleasant enough locations and plenty of quests to get stuck into, even if they do feel a bit similar to each other. The timing of such a generic release couldn't have come at a worse time however, and with Fable III and Fallout New Vegas also vying for attention, Arcania is a pretty hard sell.
  17. Oct 26, 2010
    60
    For a company to follow the typical medieval fantasy fiction in an RPG the title needs to offer features that stand-out; unfortunately, Arcania barely offers a game that is respectfully presentable never mind unique.
  18. Decent but hackneyed hack-and-slashery, and still a way off feeling comfortable on Xbox.
  19. Jan 16, 2011
    75
    On the PC, Arcania: Gothic 4 is a good action-rpg for inexperienced players. But the graphics on the Xbox 360 are this horrible, that you can't really enjoy the quests or the fights.
  20. Jan 11, 2011
    50
    An underwhelming RPG with a shoddy story and poor techincal side. There's much better around.
  21. Oct 21, 2010
    73
    On the PC Arcania: Gothic 4 is a good RPG for role-playing newbies. On the Xbox 360 the graphics are so bad that even the good main quests or the diverting battles failing to unfold its potential. There must be a patch soon. Go get the PC version if you are a RPG fanatic. The PS3 version of Arcania Gothic 4 is not out yet and the developers must do some bugfixing.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    I will start by saying that I am enjoying this game. I think that comparing this (or ANY other RPG) to Oblivion isn't a fair comparison. Oblivion was a remarkable game that set THE standard for an open-world RPG, but using it as a benchmark for any game even -remotely- in the RPG genre is misleading. There is far more to the RPG experience than stunning graphics and/or control schemes.

    I enjoy RPGs that allow me to explore a fantasy world, be part of an engaging story, and watching my character progress. Arcania does that very well. For some, the graphics may seem unpolished, but the game drew me in...and suspended my disbelief. I guess I don't mind my imagination filling in some gaps that the developers may have left.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    I really enjoyed this game, probably due i like the concept. This is pretty much like Risen slightly less polished but the game really picks up after a hour. Big world with decent graphics and decent gameplay. But the atmosphere in dungeons and lightning is pretty amazing.

    If you like games with a unamed hero on a island, go ahead. It isn't perfect but you can't stop playing.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    Unfortunately, there are more than a few issues with this game that knocked the game down from a higher score. The graphics are about average at best, with the female characters in the game being pretty fugly in the facial area. By design, foliage disappears as it is near you so you can see any items on the ground, but this actually makes the game look worse since you have constant pop-in and fade around you. The enemies are really standard without much variety. The quests are run-of-the-mill affair, with the plot quests having the annoying "do this for this guy, but you can't until you do this other thing for this other guy, but oh wait you have to do this first, etc." There is not any character customization so everyone gets to use the same guy, though different armor and weapons make your character look different. There are several glitches, usually involving the clipping with area walls. There is just too many flaws and not enough good qualities to offset buying this game. I do recommend a rental (my endgame time was less than 12 hours) just not a $60 buy. Full Review »