Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The ARMORED CORE series is known in the mech action genre for its intense one-on-one battles and customization options. ARMORED CORE V is a new entry that ups the ante with more content than the previous games, a completely new atmosphere, and a robust offline mode. In addition, the online mode has been newly designed to focus on huge team-based battles on a global scale. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 37
  2. Negative: 3 out of 37
  1. Mar 20, 2012
    85
    Armored Core takes an important turn in its conception, offering a cohesive online world in which the player action influences the conquest of the eight regions the Armored Core V is divided into. This idea works very well, and the game also offers lots of customization options for the robots.
  2. 80
    Even if you're aggravated early on, don't take this game at face value. From Software has developed some of this generation's most interesting games, and obtuse or not, Armored Core V is one of them.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    77
    The developers stayed true to 100% Mech customization, with over 500 parts that seem to offer infinite possibilities. Unfortunately, the singleplayer experience suffers from most work clearly having gone into the multiplayer aspects. With those, however, Armored Core V offers an extensive Mech MMO.
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    70
    Armored Core V is really designed to be enjoyed one way, and only that way. If you have a dedicated group of friends to play with, then I highly recommend giving this game a whirl. The missions are varied, and teaming up to take over territories is truly a blast. However, if you intend to fly solo, there is no happy medium to the game's structure.
  5. Jun 13, 2012
    65
    The process of building mechs then testing their mettle on the battlefield is Armored Core V's strongest element, but with another showing like this if there ever is a sixth Armored Core, the longtime mech franchise may be dishonorably discharged.
  6. May 12, 2012
    60
    Armored Core V is not for brand new gamers. The single player is shameless because no one else can see your inexperience, but newbies will get eaten alive if they try to join a team of seasoned AC vets.
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    35
    Even once I worked past the game's convoluted, tutorial-free systems and understood how to build a mech, I found myself in a constant state of despondency. I just can't get myself to care about the customization and persistent world when everything surrounding it so poorly designed and not the least bit fun. I mean, at least give me loot. Give me something!

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Obviously, the game has its faults. FROM Software has been known to make some frustrating games. That being said, it was almost the fact that I have had such an amazing time with Dark Souls that I bought this game, and I am very happy that I did. While it has a steep learning curve, I found that playing with my friends, unlocking equipment and making my AC better has been a real blast, and has definitely scratched my Chromehounds itch. I like the slower pace; back to the roots of the series.

    If you want some amazingly fun giant mech multiplayer, be sure to get this title -- don't get it for its singleplayer. Learning, while frustrating at times, is so rewarding. Be sure to give this one a chance, you won't regret it.
    Collapse
  2. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Armored Core V is probably the best Mecha-style video game ever made. If you cannot play it online then you are missing out on the real fun of the game, for sure. Armored Core has always been a game franchise whose ethos is rooted in two things: 1.) ultra competitive online play and 2.) hundreds of hours worth of customizing your Armored Core, or AC (i.e. Battlemech/Mobile Suit/Arm Slave, etc...pending on your discourse for robo-facebeating). AC5 is an exception to this in one major way: it also offers a seriously awesome cooperative function! Looks like From Software realized after Dark Souls and Demon's Souls that online cooperative mixed with pvp is the way to go! The decal/emblem creation function is the best in AC5 out of all AC games; my ACs are all amazing looking, and they each handle totally differently. The ability to tailor an AC so that it can fit any number of play styles or missions is unbelievably effective. AC5 introduces a streamlined system of parts integration in which parts actually effect each other's performance like "amp" traits in RPG style games. Certain heads can amplify the power and speed of your boosters, for example. It's really cool. My favorite AC games were AC3 and AC3 Silent Line, which both featured very difficult controls; however, the controls in AC4 did a lot to simplify the gameplay, for new players--honestly I think they did too much. AC5 is the perfect blend of simplified and advanced controls; anyone can pick it up and play effectively immediately, but with time it is possible to get really good with the controls to the point where the player's piloting skill actually matters; you could put two people in the same build of an AC, but the veteran player will have a slight advantage--that's how it should be. AC5 draws a lot of flack for its short missions. Every AC ever made has had short missions, except AC4 which had slightly longer missions; if you are entering the franchise from AC4, then AC5 will feel very quick. Here's what you should notice about AC5: 1.) there are almost no load times ever 2.) the pvp is only quick when people play rush tactics; advanced players will not do this, and protracted pvp battles in AC are amazing--when you're almost out of ammo and it comes down to a blade fight it is like OMG sick 3.) the game is more about the fun of building uber competitive ACs for either coop or pvp than it is about playing single player missions; if you're thinking about it as a single player game, you're probably not thinking about it in terms of getting an "S" rank in every mission. Single play is not about winning, it's about winning in the most insanely difficult way possible, and if you can do that, the game rewards you with awesome parts, and a lot of team points [multiplayer wager currency] 4.) it's awesome when you network play with friends, and the 8-10 [total] player team pvp is extra cool when your buddies are sitting right next to you. If you haven't ever played an AC game, AC5 is a great place to start. I vote you should go buy a copy. NOW. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    The Best Armored Core game so far. Those who love the mech action genre is gonna love this game. Front Mission Evolved should have been this game. If only Squeenix chose From Software instead of crappy Developers... Anyway, this game plays so much like the old school AC games, which is great. Gone are the flying dual rifles, missile spamming days of AC4/FA. Now, you need to think tactically to flank your adversaries. Great Team online play and customizations options. -- Veteran of AC games since AC: Project Phantasma. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    Like every new number in the Armored Core franchise, the game completely re-works all of the mechanics of the previous entry. Unlike Armored Core 4 or 4A, Armored Core V handles a bit more like the third generation of Armored Core games. There are a few balance issues, and the frame rate can get very low when there is a lot of on-screen chaos, but I would still recommend this game to anyone who loves Mechs.

    The biggest issue in the game is the user interface, but that has always been a problem in the Armored Core series.
    Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2014
    8
    For fans of mech games like me this is a great game especially now since the Chromehounds servers have been taken down. There is a great level of customisation and the multiplayer is very fun. The campaign is a bit lackluster. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2012
    7
    Good game, have some mistakes, for example it's same like the other Armored Core games, but that's okay, I believe that can be better, this Armored Core is good, for play if you dno't have other game. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2012
    4
    Like all the other AC games,If only the actual game was anything remotely like it is in the CGI bits... Your supposed to be in a big robot.A walking tank.So why are you skating,zipping & flying all over the place like a ninja!? Unfortunately i'm still waiting for my perfect Mech game,with a tactical,considered pace,thats as much about squad commands,positioning & damage/systems managment than anything else.The Core customisation tantalises at the depth this game could've had,but as soon as you start playing,any sense of all that evaporates as quickly as the Cores themselves.The Co-Op is good though,& definately something to build on,if they can get the actual gameplay right. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews