User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 103
  2. Negative: 16 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    this is the first AOT i played don't know whether its preceedors were better or not but this is one hell fo an action powerpacked game with intense moments, tension building up. playing alone is really pain in the ass as everyone focuses on you!! best to be played in co-op mode this is how a shooter game should be. another awesome part of this game story angles can be chosen every decision takes you to a different direction and weapon customization and the increase in opponent weaponry damage as the story progresses adds a challenging theme during gameplay Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    This game is fair to say the least. It tries to set up a big story by having a shadowy organization attack Hong Kong but it failed to pull me into the game. The gameplay was only enjoyable with a friend, we spent half the afternoon getting through the game. The game gives you choices to make when you run into certain NPC's during the game but they have little to no effect on the final results of the game. Gun customization is back but even that becomes dull after a while. It's just a sub-par follow up to a shooter that was also sub-par to begin with. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    It was good, but it was also disappointing. The customization was a bit pointless and your choices had the impact of a rats ass. If you like Army of Two, you'll like it, but I can't recommend it.
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A supremely good game that has the ability to be a game without selling itself out with being overloaded with faults or quizzical motives. Though as a person who loves both guns and customization, I found myself in the menus more then I was in a game, simply because the customization is fun to mess around with. Me and my friend were able to have fun with this and enjoy quality time together.
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    i think it is good i like how it is in the 1st person view also i like how u can add attachment to your weapons i really do not like how it is on co-op. i wish that on co-op that u and your friends/friend can face each other one be on the enemies side and one be on the good side
  6. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    excellent game here, very very good campaign that is even better to play through in coop. i actually preffered the campaign to gears 3's. Theres lots of neat game-play ideas that really work, i don't really have any complaints regarding the sp, i must have played it right through 4 or 5 times. If you like games like gears of war, you will no doubt love this. I played through this first then i played through the original game and i thought this was miles better, tho some disagree. I thought the multiplayer was very decent too, apart from that i didnt stick it out and continue playing it for as long as i have done with other games like gears or cod. brilliant effort and i hope they do a sequel. Expand
  7. Jun 3, 2011
    5
    My friend and I played through the entire campaign on coop. While it wasn't difficult (enemies weren't hard to kill), this game is extremely cheap. Enemies will randomly spawn (sometimes from behind), and you'll get killed without feeling a rumble on the controller. I've also died a number of times when I was stuck in cover when I didn't want to be.

    Rent this game or buy it used for
    cheap if you really want to play it. Otherwise, avoid it. Expand
  8. May 4, 2011
    10
    This game is so much underrated, its sadning. Army of Two: The 40th Day is my favorite shooter and one of my favorite game ever. I really loved the first game, put this second installment is a great improvement Army of Two. The disaster setting is great and the gameplay is just fantastic and thrilling, and it controls very well. The characters are interesting, fleshy, and funny at times. I kinda miss the first game's humour. Playing this game alone is amazing, put playing with a friend is a real blast, the best fun I had playing a videogame! Expand
  9. Apr 16, 2011
    3
    If you played the first AOT, you will most likely HATE this version! It truly seems as if this one should have been the first one. It plays more like an arcade whereas the first one was more true to life. The enemies are all darkly clothed and most of the backgrounds in this game are dark, so, you have a hard time even seeing what you should be shooting at. The graphics are so much less realistic, at least in single player mode (I haven't done multiplayer yet). Then, there are the endless staircases... why have you waste time on traversing staircases if nothing surprising ever happens? Plus, you can't skip the storyline cutaways... a complaint I have about the first one, too. Very disappointed in this game. Expand
  10. Oct 8, 2010
    7
    Army of two : TFD is a very very fun game. The graffics are smooth and the co-op capability is immense. The custimization of the guns is insane and generally the game as a whole is worth a buy. thier isn't really a game were the review has been so short but their you go!
  11. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Kyle is a fatretawd, now that thats outta da way you kill Rios dies and shanhai or however you spell in gets blown up and the main guys kyle obeace sinister 9 citrus of hell diarioa poopie dom dumn
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Army of Two: The 40th Day has taken past criticism on the chin. Salem and Rios have evolved from disagreeable meatheads into entertaining anti-heroes while the setting is now much more befitting to the gameplay. If you're looking for an intense but concentrated gaming experience, we think the masked mercs deliver. [Jan 2010, p.68]
  2. 85
    A disaster movie in a game package, Army of Two: The 40th Day capitalizes on its co-op play to deliver an awesome action experience that's incredibly fun to play. Co-op moments feel more natural.
  3. The interaction between the two main characters extends beyond the trivial buddy moves from the first game and becomes an integral part of the journey. Marry that to some satisfyingly chunky gunplay and the odd spectacular, building-levelling explosion and you have an action game that is far more fun than it has any right to be.