Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Army of Two The Devil’s Cartel is third-person co-op action-shooter that utilizes the new Frostbite 2 engine for maximum destruction. You and your partner have to shoot and destroy everything in your path to bring down a violent drug cartel that’s taken control of Mexico. In partner-basedArmy of Two The Devil’s Cartel is third-person co-op action-shooter that utilizes the new Frostbite 2 engine for maximum destruction. You and your partner have to shoot and destroy everything in your path to bring down a violent drug cartel that’s taken control of Mexico. In partner-based missions, each player has to take on and meet individual objectives to achieve a common goal. The more effective your teamwork, the greater your reward as the new Overkill mode thrusts devastating power upon you for truly grandiose mass destruction. Play in 2-player local split-screen or online co-op. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 55
  2. Negative: 11 out of 55
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    84
    The Devil's Cartel, developed by Visceral Games, offers a frenetic, arcade style coop experience. The inclusion of the Frostbite 2 engine takes the destruction to a whole new level, especially when combined with the use of Overkill, an ability that will make you an unstoppable killing machine.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    68
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a simple shooter that's made to play with a friend. You'll compose your own weapons, converse about tactics and do this for eight hours or so until you've finished the campaign. It's a wonderful co-op game that falls short, mostly due to the annoying variation between dumb action and emotional moments. The lack of polish and modes make this a game that is truly only fit for those who only play co-op games.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    62
    Army of Two is still pure action 100%, without any sort of character depth but full of intensity and destruction.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    50
    There's nothing here to make a mark: no creativity on display, no clever competitive modes, no sense of accomplishment. There's only a seven-hour campaign, optional missions in which you try to keep the overkill meter consistently replenished, and the knowledge that in a month, you won't remember having played Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    All in all, Devil's Cartel just differs too much from the winning formula for those fans of the first two games, and for the newcomers, there are better co-operative games on the market for your dollar.
  6. 50
    It's short, not particularly easy on the eyes and loses elements you'd expect from a new Army of Two game. There being only a meager handful of 'Contracts' missions to keep you busy after you beat the campaign, speaks volumes about the expectations EA had for this going in. It was always going to be a dumb, dirty – and ultimately one-off – weekend affair. As such, The Devil's Cartel is just about passable.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    30
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an underwhelming third-person shooter that is a clearly a half-hearted cash-grab by Electronic Arts. If you're looking for a game in this genre, I suggest you turn to Gears of War or any number other titles of this ilk. Seriously, this game isn't worth your time. It isn't broken, it just isn't good either.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 54
  2. Negative: 7 out of 54
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing edition to the series. The graphics are gorgeous on the Frostbite 2 engine from the developersArmy of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing edition to the series. The graphics are gorgeous on the Frostbite 2 engine from the developers of Battlefield 3. The overkill mode you get from performing co-op maneuvers adds a great edition to fights and helps you eliminate tougher enemies like nothing so save up overkill for when you really need it. This game is by far the best in the series and probablly the best shooter of this year. Amazing 10/10 Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Army of Two the devil's cartel is the amazing game of the coop.
    The customize is just amazing, the graphics are georgous, it's a one of the
    Army of Two the devil's cartel is the amazing game of the coop.
    The customize is just amazing, the graphics are georgous, it's a one of the best game of coop.
    I love this serie
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    i'm amazed how the current so called reviewers hited a new low. they list a serious of cons and then axe the score but at same time with thei'm amazed how the current so called reviewers hited a new low. they list a serious of cons and then axe the score but at same time with the same con but in another shooters we know they give perfect scores. double standards and hypocrisy at best! is not the best shooter and it never wanted to be a call of duty or battlefield. this is a shooter made for you and a friend only and have a a good time with some jokes and explosions. this is a game that makes you feel good and have a great time, resuming this is a game that understands what games are made for!! if you dont buy this game because of the reviews then you're missing out a great game. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2015
    8
    Great, great game and one which brings back pure co - op. I noticed how they've really gone into detail with this game. I'm talking about theGreat, great game and one which brings back pure co - op. I noticed how they've really gone into detail with this game. I'm talking about the cover system, all the gun modifications and more. Can be a bit gory though. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    Amazing co-op gameplay (like always) and awesome weapon customizations, although the game lacks some rich stories. But still, a great game toAmazing co-op gameplay (like always) and awesome weapon customizations, although the game lacks some rich stories. But still, a great game to play with friends. Collapse
  6. Apr 19, 2015
    6
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a pretty enjoyable Third-Person Shooter. Its not as bad as some people say, and not as good either, it hasArmy of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a pretty enjoyable Third-Person Shooter. Its not as bad as some people say, and not as good either, it has a ton of flaws. The camera angles are frustrating and annoying and I would find myself getting riddled with bullets not knowing where the enemies are. The guns feel non-powerful when you fire them. The objectives pop up right on the screen almost constantly which is so annoying because you can't see. The graphics look alright-ish, not terrible. Lastly the controls just feel unresponsive. I bet you will have a fun time, especially with Co-Op but just beware. So buy if you want to. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2013
    1
    There isnt much to say about this plunge into a wall of bullets I loved the first two games but sadly everything that made them great hasThere isnt much to say about this plunge into a wall of bullets I loved the first two games but sadly everything that made them great has been taken out. Yep it is that simple, The dual sniping gone, back to back shoot outs gone, pistol customization (apart from its "skin") gone, RPG/special weapons gone a well written story gone .

    Yes the explosions are pretty but come on, even in game there is a blurp about "TWO" contracts, I have finished the game, used my once only online code and cant find them so a) I managed to break my game b) my copy is the only one to ship with missing content or more likely c) its an over kill edition extra...yes they advertise and O.K edition feature in the standard......so you buy a standard game and are told your missing out because you didnt get the super amazing extra awesome edition

    My advice is to stay away, well away at least until a new copy is £5
    Expand

See all 54 User Reviews