Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 182 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Army of Two The Devil’s Cartel is third-person co-op action-shooter that utilizes the new Frostbite 2 engine for maximum destruction. You and your partner have to shoot and destroy everything in your path to bring down a violent drug cartel that’s taken control of Mexico. In partner-basedArmy of Two The Devil’s Cartel is third-person co-op action-shooter that utilizes the new Frostbite 2 engine for maximum destruction. You and your partner have to shoot and destroy everything in your path to bring down a violent drug cartel that’s taken control of Mexico. In partner-based missions, each player has to take on and meet individual objectives to achieve a common goal. The more effective your teamwork, the greater your reward as the new Overkill mode thrusts devastating power upon you for truly grandiose mass destruction. Play in 2-player local split-screen or online co-op. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 55
  2. Negative: 11 out of 55
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    84
    The Devil's Cartel, developed by Visceral Games, offers a frenetic, arcade style coop experience. The inclusion of the Frostbite 2 engine takes the destruction to a whole new level, especially when combined with the use of Overkill, an ability that will make you an unstoppable killing machine.
  2. Apr 4, 2013
    68
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a simple shooter that's made to play with a friend. You'll compose your own weapons, converse about tactics and do this for eight hours or so until you've finished the campaign. It's a wonderful co-op game that falls short, mostly due to the annoying variation between dumb action and emotional moments. The lack of polish and modes make this a game that is truly only fit for those who only play co-op games.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    62
    Army of Two is still pure action 100%, without any sort of character depth but full of intensity and destruction.
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    50
    There's nothing here to make a mark: no creativity on display, no clever competitive modes, no sense of accomplishment. There's only a seven-hour campaign, optional missions in which you try to keep the overkill meter consistently replenished, and the knowledge that in a month, you won't remember having played Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel.
  5. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    All in all, Devil's Cartel just differs too much from the winning formula for those fans of the first two games, and for the newcomers, there are better co-operative games on the market for your dollar.
  6. 50
    It's short, not particularly easy on the eyes and loses elements you'd expect from a new Army of Two game. There being only a meager handful of 'Contracts' missions to keep you busy after you beat the campaign, speaks volumes about the expectations EA had for this going in. It was always going to be a dumb, dirty – and ultimately one-off – weekend affair. As such, The Devil's Cartel is just about passable.
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    30
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an underwhelming third-person shooter that is a clearly a half-hearted cash-grab by Electronic Arts. If you're looking for a game in this genre, I suggest you turn to Gears of War or any number other titles of this ilk. Seriously, this game isn't worth your time. It isn't broken, it just isn't good either.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 58
  2. Negative: 8 out of 58
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing edition to the series. The graphics are gorgeous on the Frostbite 2 engine from the developersArmy of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing edition to the series. The graphics are gorgeous on the Frostbite 2 engine from the developers of Battlefield 3. The overkill mode you get from performing co-op maneuvers adds a great edition to fights and helps you eliminate tougher enemies like nothing so save up overkill for when you really need it. This game is by far the best in the series and probablly the best shooter of this year. Amazing 10/10 Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Nothing wrong except occasional sound glitches. Really enjoy the destructible environment, the allowed dismemberment ofAbsolutely amazing. Nothing wrong except occasional sound glitches. Really enjoy the destructible environment, the allowed dismemberment of people. All around a amazing game. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    The best AoT yet! This is a true co-op game. Don't bother playing if you don't have a co-op buddy. The game wont be the same. The use ofThe best AoT yet! This is a true co-op game. Don't bother playing if you don't have a co-op buddy. The game wont be the same. The use of Frostbite 2 takes the series to another level. It's the best looking AoT by far. Weapons customization is great and so is the mask editor. The voice over work is marvellous too. The only weak aspect is the story, but who cares when you are shooting up! Recommended. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'll start by saying that I like this game. Army of Two was one of my first Xbox 360 games, and I took a liking to the series.

    Although some of the co-op aspects have been dropped, co-op still remains a focus. It is a shame that weapon swapping, fist-bumping, headbutting and playing rock, paper, scissors don't feature in The Devil's Cartel, but more of a shame is that the AI command system has been stripped down. However, even when playing solo, your AI partner will be reasonably competent, and will probably go down a lot less than you do.

    Being a cover-based, third-person shooter, you would expect a good cover system... well you'll be a little disappointed. The marker with which you select your next cover can be inconsistent, and the movement itself can be somewhat stubborn, but once you've got the hang of it, you should be fine.

    The combat can get a little chaotic, especially when you find yourself in the wrong place, with little cover, and there are cartel thugs shooting at you from all sides, but if you can find good cover, the fight should be rather easy. Just make sure that the cover isn't destructible. As for the enemies you'll face, they'll mostly be tattooed cartel thugs who you can kill with a quick burst from an assault rifle. But, don't be fooled by how easily they go down; you'll be fighting what will, at times, feel like endless numbers, and by the time you've finished the game, you've probably killed a fair portion of the population.

    Weapon customization returns, but in a much more sane state than in The 40th Day. You have access to a good range of weapons, with plentiful upgrades available. Weapons are also fairly non-linear, and there is no "best" upgrade or weapon, as such, although you will find some weapons or upgrades to be rather useless.

    New to the series is character customization, involving an in-game mask creator, allowing you to save up to 8 custom masks (which just isn't enough), a fair choice of tattoos for your character, and a range of "tactical gear", essentially, outfits. This gives the playable characters a more personal feel, as their personalities are somewhat lacking (although they do improve over the course of the story).

    And that brings me to the story. I would describe it as an all-action, blockbuster, revenge for revenge story, where almost everybody dies. Pretty much every ally or team-mate you come across... yeah, they die. Its not a great story, but a few (sometimes very predictable) twists keep things on the interesting side, and it is certainly left open for another game.

    I enjoyed The Devil's Cartel, but the story is secondary to the high-octane, explosive action, and the co-op has been a somewhat simplified, but as a sequel to The 40th Day, it shows some aspects of progress. I hope that in the future, EA will combine the best aspects of all three games, to date, to create a truly spectacular Army of Two game.
    Expand
  5. May 17, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was expecting something worse, but that game is not bad. Only thing I hate about it is that every single important person just dies. Gameplay was good, could be better. You can try it but there are better games on the market. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2014
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The split screen gameplay is great and its one of the first arduous FPS I've seen in a while but there are a few things wrong with the game.
    Now I'm a person that doesn't really mind the look of the game but for the ones who do, the graphics aren't that great, round things, like apples, are square (seriously, my brother found square apples) and it looks overall unfinished cosmetically but the majority of the game looks great.
    There is also a lack of guns and customizations especially with no pistol mods but the dragons breath on shotguns is a nice feature.
    The main problem is the story, not only are they ruining the PROTAGONISTS of the first two games but they are ruining TWO as a whole. They make Rios and Salem seem like complete **** in the beginning but the worst of it is Salem is an enemy. I mean wtf is that, and its all over some stupid COD-like weak reason of complete and utter butthurtness. Then ALL of the Two solders die, come on, it has to be the biggest defilement of the whole basis of the game, that the people part of TWO are good enough to be an army made of two people not just some random people off the street.
    The ridiculous cinematic scenes, like Batista killing two of the TWO solders when five people are there, are just too unrealistic, it felt like i was playing with a group of idiots.
    The HUD is also way to big and the speed at which overkill is achieved makes the the game very easy at some points.
    The game is still a lot of fun and, while ignoring the terrible plot, it is an amazing and challenging shooter to play with a friend
    Expand
  7. May 5, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I got completely disappointed in this game. They killed the whole relationship between Rios and Salem. Maybe the game developers thought they gave a nice twist in the story, but it was the stupidest thing ever. And it did lose its soul despite what other people say.
    Video games are not just about killing the enemies. OK, we like action, guns, good graphics, but there should be a story behind. And Army of Two had one. The first two games were great. But the third one ruined the franchise. I played only once, and I did it just to get to the end and be able to speak about something I really experienced. Thank God I didn't buy it, just rented it.
    I wish the developers could do something about the disaster they created and fix everything. I'd be great if we could have a real Army of Two 3.
    Expand

See all 58 User Reviews