User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 214

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2015
    4
    Not the worst game I've played, but pretty bad.

    It's all about the gameplay for me in 3rd person shooters, and this game fails in that department. Cover system is sticky and hard to control, aiming is terrible, and drawing the enemy fire is a pointless mechanic. Graphically the game is good, no problems there, and I like the customization options. The two protagonists are idiotic
    Not the worst game I've played, but pretty bad.

    It's all about the gameplay for me in 3rd person shooters, and this game fails in that department. Cover system is sticky and hard to control, aiming is terrible, and drawing the enemy fire is a pointless mechanic.

    Graphically the game is good, no problems there, and I like the customization options.

    The two protagonists are idiotic meat heads, that hardly draw you in to the bland plot taking place.

    There is one saving grace. Co-op. If you are looking for a decent co-op game to play with your friend and have a laugh, this is as good as any. Annoying, but also funny in places. I would never play this game by myself.
    Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    This was one of my earliest Xbox 360 games that I enjoyed in co-op and I thought was really fun to beat. Anyway I gave this game an 8,8 out of 10 it was good.
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Its story might not present anything that revolutionary, but the incredibly entertaining "Army Of Two" still brings an immensely fun co-op experience and a pretty bold weapons system to the proverbial table.
  4. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    The game's a really fun GoW knockoff. The graphics are nice and the gameplay awesome! But your A.I. teammate is just plain stupid. Certain points he just runs at the enemy guns blazing only to get gunned down by the bad guy holding a minigun and I have to save him over and over again, same thing with him. Good news: There's online co-op, so you don't need to worry about the idiot A.I. yourThe game's a really fun GoW knockoff. The graphics are nice and the gameplay awesome! But your A.I. teammate is just plain stupid. Certain points he just runs at the enemy guns blazing only to get gunned down by the bad guy holding a minigun and I have to save him over and over again, same thing with him. Good news: There's online co-op, so you don't need to worry about the idiot A.I. your partner is being controlled by. Expand
  5. May 29, 2013
    6
    Army of Two isn't the best 3rd person shooter I've played, but it is worth 5 dollars or so. The bland story aside, the game play, gun customization and characters are all really good. I might've given it a better score if the online servers (for the Xbox 360 at least) were still up, really hurting it's replay value, but if you can get a friend to come over and play this with you, it makesArmy of Two isn't the best 3rd person shooter I've played, but it is worth 5 dollars or so. The bland story aside, the game play, gun customization and characters are all really good. I might've given it a better score if the online servers (for the Xbox 360 at least) were still up, really hurting it's replay value, but if you can get a friend to come over and play this with you, it makes for a fun experience. Overall, it's not the worse I've seen, but it's still not great. Expand
  6. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One thing that stands out with Army of Two are the visuals, which look incredible. Both Salem and Rios come across with huge character models and sharp details, from the top of their protective face masks to the tattoos and scarred battle armor. Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    I thought the game was amazing, but the weapon customization and overpowered AI were a pain in the ass. But the in-game cutscenes looked impressive and the round the world campaign of betrayal and fame/fortune made it worth while.
  8. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    EA's "Army of Two" is like a poor man's "Gears of War". While it looks gritty and great, the final product is anything but. It's more like a cheesy satire of Michael Bay movies with some good ideas that are poorly implemented. This game lacks the superb gameplay found in both "Gears of War" and Infinity Ward's "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare". At times, the campaign feels like anEA's "Army of Two" is like a poor man's "Gears of War". While it looks gritty and great, the final product is anything but. It's more like a cheesy satire of Michael Bay movies with some good ideas that are poorly implemented. This game lacks the superb gameplay found in both "Gears of War" and Infinity Ward's "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare". At times, the campaign feels like an arcade-version of "Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas". Two players can play it simultaneously as heroes Salem & Rios, but the wonky controls and poorly designed levels make "Army of Two" a sub-par affair. The "agro" system is just a cheap way of exploiting the terrible enemy A.I. and certain co-op moves can only be performed in certain parts of the game (making them sort of pointless). This short-lengthed actioner has some fun little moments, but it doesn't hold up against the best of the genre. Not even close. Expand
  9. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    The gameplay is fun and weapon customization is good but there is no replay value to the game. It features a very short campaign and lame multiplayer. It lacks content as well. Yet its still a decent and somewhat challenging shooter.
  10. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    This is a game for moronic idiots. The mercs are more suited to watching Spongebob than saving the free world. The friendly AI is some moronic that sometimes would run around in circles or fail to revive me. The gameplay is ripped off from gears of war but without the awe or enemy variety. Also how can a bunch of ill trained rebels hijack a carrier and kill Navy SEALs? **** this game andThis is a game for moronic idiots. The mercs are more suited to watching Spongebob than saving the free world. The friendly AI is some moronic that sometimes would run around in circles or fail to revive me. The gameplay is ripped off from gears of war but without the awe or enemy variety. Also how can a bunch of ill trained rebels hijack a carrier and kill Navy SEALs? **** this game and the developers, who should resign or kill themselves. Expand
  11. Dec 11, 2011
    6
    I'm a fan of shooters, but this game is not that great. The graphics aren't appealing, and the mechanics are fairly shoddy. The game lacks any kind of charm or personality. Really cheesy dialogue and a lackluster plot. I didn't have much fun with this game at all. If you want a good co-op shooter then get r6v2.
  12. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    Short campaign, Pretty much no multiplayer interactment during campaign (which is the basis of the entire game, fail?), No replay value, and a poor multiplayer makes this game an epic failure.
  13. Apr 24, 2011
    2
    I bought this game to play co-op with my brother; we got quite far through the campaign before deciding it was so awful we couldn't bare to play it any more. There are some decent sections and the idea is good, but the execution is poor. I would have thought an EA published title could have invested some more time into making it a bit more interesting. On the plus side, gun customisationI bought this game to play co-op with my brother; we got quite far through the campaign before deciding it was so awful we couldn't bare to play it any more. There are some decent sections and the idea is good, but the execution is poor. I would have thought an EA published title could have invested some more time into making it a bit more interesting. On the plus side, gun customisation is very good but it doesn't come anywhere near saving the game. I can't recommend you play this game. 1/5, poor. Expand
  14. Aug 25, 2010
    6
    A simplistic and generic shooter. The unique things that the game attempts to do aren't done very well, and its main gimmick is just that enemies choose to attack the bigger threat when attacked by multiple players. This is something that has been done before in much better games, like Gears of War for example. The Locust will attack whichever enemy they see first, but if the other playerA simplistic and generic shooter. The unique things that the game attempts to do aren't done very well, and its main gimmick is just that enemies choose to attack the bigger threat when attacked by multiple players. This is something that has been done before in much better games, like Gears of War for example. The Locust will attack whichever enemy they see first, but if the other player starts firing at them, they will return the shots. However, Gears of War has better things going for it than just that. In Army of Two, well, that's the entire game. The concept of "turning invisible" when one player has the attention of the enemies is just stupid also, because one player having a big gun would never make trained soldiers forget entirely about the other. And don't get me started on the story and characters (annoying).
    Rent if it seems like it would be your thing, but don't buy if you expect great things.
    Expand
  15. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    Army of Two was a pretty fun game. The cooperative mode is something I have yet to see surpassed by anything outside of the Gears of War series and the multiplayer mode is addicting. My favorite part of the gun is the various guns and the add-ons you can buy for them, giving the replay value a few kicks up when wanting the powerful sniper rifle or the P-90. Single player can be rather Army of Two was a pretty fun game. The cooperative mode is something I have yet to see surpassed by anything outside of the Gears of War series and the multiplayer mode is addicting. My favorite part of the gun is the various guns and the add-ons you can buy for them, giving the replay value a few kicks up when wanting the powerful sniper rifle or the P-90. Single player can be rather tedious when you're injured or when trying to get your team mate to listen to your commands, but if you're good enough, you can easily compensate for your team's AI faults. Expand
  16. WilliamM.
    Oct 19, 2008
    2
    Literally beat it in a single afternoon. The games characters are unlikable, the plot sucked and the entire experience was very wash and repeat. There are no real boss battles. The back to back crappy action movie style segments just drove yet a nail into this ready to return no reply value coffin. The game sucks. Period. In addition there is a serious lack of variety in the weaponry Literally beat it in a single afternoon. The games characters are unlikable, the plot sucked and the entire experience was very wash and repeat. There are no real boss battles. The back to back crappy action movie style segments just drove yet a nail into this ready to return no reply value coffin. The game sucks. Period. In addition there is a serious lack of variety in the weaponry department. Also the larger older man sounded, talked and acted like a cliché Expand
  17. RyanM.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    I played this game only in co-op mode, so I can't speak for the partner AI. However, with a human teammate this game is pretty fun. The aiming is horrible and the hit detection is weak, but those are the only real complaints I have. The cover system is pretty nice, as is the revive system, and the weapon upgrades are pretty cool. I played through it both on normal and professional, I played this game only in co-op mode, so I can't speak for the partner AI. However, with a human teammate this game is pretty fun. The aiming is horrible and the hit detection is weak, but those are the only real complaints I have. The cover system is pretty nice, as is the revive system, and the weapon upgrades are pretty cool. I played through it both on normal and professional, and I don't usually play through games more than once. Also, there are two free campaign missions released as DLC bringing the mission total to 8. I found this game to be of pretty good length for a shooter, maybe even a little long, but I tend to like my shooters a little shorter than most people (I thought Bioshock was too long). All in all, a solid, very fun game with a teammate. Butting heads and giving out kidney punches to your teammate never gets old and neither does giving high fives and air guitaring with them. Oh, and it's the best teabagging/humping game out there. A solid 8/10 strictly because of the co-op. Without that I'd probably rate it a 6/10 or so. Expand
  18. BrentB.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Its a cool game. I hope that 3rd person shooters are the way of the future. Like gears of war that was a good game to.
  19. ChrisW.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best Damn Video game I played. it just passed up halo...can`t wait for the sequel. There going to be a sequel right!.
  20. MW
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    Great Game, great idea and great graphics! This is a great title and the single player does stand well on it's own (despite more focus on this aspect in the future). Easily recommended and a great new property to be excited about!
  21. DanF.
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent co-op game with an excellent storyline and graphics as well as tight customization. overall this is a shining example of good original fun.
  22. ReidB.
    Apr 9, 2008
    6
    Army of Two is great if you have a friend and play split-screen. Once you venture online, playing with anyone but a friend will be a chore. If the player pauses, hits the Guide button, the screen will tell you "Waiting for other player" and just sit there. Playing alone still gives you and Army of One Point Five feel. You tell your AI buddy what to do and he does it just as you would Army of Two is great if you have a friend and play split-screen. Once you venture online, playing with anyone but a friend will be a chore. If the player pauses, hits the Guide button, the screen will tell you "Waiting for other player" and just sit there. Playing alone still gives you and Army of One Point Five feel. You tell your AI buddy what to do and he does it just as you would expect the AI in a modern game to act. He will bug out and get stuck, and I can if you get injured, he will drive you insane by pulling you into some of the worst locations or dragging you in a circle trying to make up his mind. The story was entertaining. The addition of characters you can somewhat connect with and witty humor help a lot. Overall an entertaining game. Definitely a rent, not a buy though. Expand
  23. ToddP.
    Apr 8, 2008
    6
    Ok graphics, controls felt sloppy. didn't know where or who was shooting me half of the time. Skip buying this one, only rent.
  24. DaveJ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Loved it. Wasn't expecting to - infact I was all ready to hate it after seeing some of the rather negative reviews. But when my friend brought it round and we popped it in.. well I went out and bought my own copy the very next day! Good, solid action, great set pieces and level design, and buying/upgrading weapons is fab. The single player is definitely a tad too short, but I loved Loved it. Wasn't expecting to - infact I was all ready to hate it after seeing some of the rather negative reviews. But when my friend brought it round and we popped it in.. well I went out and bought my own copy the very next day! Good, solid action, great set pieces and level design, and buying/upgrading weapons is fab. The single player is definitely a tad too short, but I loved every second of it, and while it is a little derivative of GoW in some respects, the way it handles cover, and the concept of aggro are unique. I never thought I'd say this, being one of EA's biggest cynics, but man, I loved it. Expand
  25. AndyK.
    Mar 27, 2008
    6
    Lame singleplayer, multiplayer is funny but not for long...AoT is just a simple copy of GoW.
  26. JohnM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    4
    While its focus on coop is a great idea it over complicates itself, its far too straight forward and just isnt fun, the online community is already dead, its far hard if your playing with someone at a different skill level to your own, and really is boring with a stupid plot that doesnt suck you in at all, alot of good ideas but poorly executed, although the ammount of weopon modification While its focus on coop is a great idea it over complicates itself, its far too straight forward and just isnt fun, the online community is already dead, its far hard if your playing with someone at a different skill level to your own, and really is boring with a stupid plot that doesnt suck you in at all, alot of good ideas but poorly executed, although the ammount of weopon modification is cool, not worth playing really, it sucks, its more for people who enjoy lame shooters than good ones, if you like good shooting games like halo 1 or 3 or halife or deus ex, this isnt for you, if you like mindless violence and our not a real gamer, sure go blow your money, youll like it. Expand
  27. Will
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    I loved it...maybe cause it feels kinda like a "gears of war clone" (yes, it definitely does). This is by NO MEANS a bad thing, though: co-op is campaign good (better with friend than with AI) and weapon upgrades make things interesting. The graphics are good, sound is excellent (although I'd like the sniper rifles to be a bit more "resounding") and this game has got some of THE BEST I loved it...maybe cause it feels kinda like a "gears of war clone" (yes, it definitely does). This is by NO MEANS a bad thing, though: co-op is campaign good (better with friend than with AI) and weapon upgrades make things interesting. The graphics are good, sound is excellent (although I'd like the sniper rifles to be a bit more "resounding") and this game has got some of THE BEST video sequences I've see EVER (see video scene at start of final MAIMI campaign !!) Highly recommended. Expand
  28. SeanD.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    This was a awesome game. It has many new features and does not lack any action. The only flaw was that it has an ending. All of my friends can't wait for a sequel.
  29. PatrickW.
    Mar 25, 2008
    7
    This game is really fun on multi-player, but just OK on single player. On medium difficulty, the AI partner is OK, but if you go to the hardest difficulty, the AI play gets messy. I can't even count the times I've been knocked down and the AI drags me TOWARDS the enemy! This is a must-have if you like playing co-op with your friends, but I wouldn't buy it otherwise.
  30. JD
    Mar 22, 2008
    9
    Fun! Controls are growing on me, but campaign is a little short.
  31. ElliotS.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    quick and dirty, but extremely fun--MADE for co-op play. wonderfully entertaining characters. basic plot enhanced by features of character, cash money, and pimping out guns.
  32. joe
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG!!! If you have a 360 go go right now, i dont care what your doing, go out find a friend and buy it as quickly as possible! This is the most amazing coop game i have ever played! It has but a few flaws but when you have a goddamed gold RPG it stops mattering. :D
  33. TerdF.
    Mar 20, 2008
    6
    Short, unrealistic, online play is disappointing, ai bot is retarded, repetitive. EA is seriously disappointing, stick to madden.
  34. AllenR.
    Mar 17, 2008
    2
    The Good: I like how the game focuses on co-op The mechanics are above average The Bad: This game has the worst plot ever. If you go through the game and at no point think it's extremely unrealistic or way too XXXXXTREME then you should go ahead and castrate yourself. The story was written by ADHD crackheads injecting steroids into their eyes.
  35. DirtyCat79
    Mar 17, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. People that dislike it are the people who are expecting a gears of war clone, but this game dares to try something new and succeeds. The co-op is campaign is quite simply beautiful. Its full of replay value since each person you play with will give a new experience and new weapon upgrades make lots of difference to how aggressively you approach the enemy. The This game is fantastic. People that dislike it are the people who are expecting a gears of war clone, but this game dares to try something new and succeeds. The co-op is campaign is quite simply beautiful. Its full of replay value since each person you play with will give a new experience and new weapon upgrades make lots of difference to how aggressively you approach the enemy. The graphics are beautiful and some of the levels are the best i have seen in a long time. There may only be six 'missions' but think of these as chapters, as each is broken into smaller segments and take quite a while to complete on harder settings. The versus mode online is something quite fresh and original. Its focus is still on two man team play which works REALLY well. Its much easier to get one other random player to work along side you than it is to get a whole team of xbox live strangers to co-operate and thats why the two vs two mode is a real gem. Each map has multiple objectives and many different approaches and this mode alone offers hours and hours of gameplay. I was very quickly hooked and encourage you to give it a go. Expand
  36. BoatyM.
    Mar 17, 2008
    8
    Although its a fairly short game, I like how this game has taken shoot-ums with a new angle, where previously there was a huge focus on just single player modes with optional second player, this time its the other way around. I wouldn't try this game by myself again, I did it once and it was quite boring and the bot they pair you up with is fairly lame, making the game really hard. Although its a fairly short game, I like how this game has taken shoot-ums with a new angle, where previously there was a huge focus on just single player modes with optional second player, this time its the other way around. I wouldn't try this game by myself again, I did it once and it was quite boring and the bot they pair you up with is fairly lame, making the game really hard. The only issues I can think of are: 1) Co-op is only avail on one screen or online: No lan session possible with this game in story mode. Split screen sucks! 2)Took a friend of mine and I about 12 hours to finish. Felt it was quite short but done very well. Give it a go if you are a fan of the "gears of war" type shoot-ums. Expand
  37. K.Norman
    Mar 15, 2008
    9
    The single-player part of the game is hindered by your AI partner but when you play it with a friend the game really shines. This is one of the few games that after I finished it I was ready to start over and play through it again.
  38. IanS.
    Mar 14, 2008
    8
    Really great Coop title. Weapon modifications are good, levels have a fair difficulty, and lots of unique gameplay extras. If you like doing coop with a buddy then you'll like it.
  39. [Anonymous]
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    A very enjoyable game. Fast and furious with tons of replay value.
  40. Nate
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    This game is excellent. Get a friend and go for split screen and its the most fun you can have with a shooter. Gears of War was great but for great co-op, you can't beat this!
  41. WulfW.
    Mar 13, 2008
    8
    I have to say it did have alot of hype suppose to be this new tag buddy in combat....yeah it's funny doing the team jokes in battle but the controls were very empty...what I mean is if you played rb6 vegas, gears of war, graw 2 you know what i mean your able to put your team member were you want him to be...the back to back well thats just selected no control over that....I kept I have to say it did have alot of hype suppose to be this new tag buddy in combat....yeah it's funny doing the team jokes in battle but the controls were very empty...what I mean is if you played rb6 vegas, gears of war, graw 2 you know what i mean your able to put your team member were you want him to be...the back to back well thats just selected no control over that....I kept wanting to jump up on my own or hide and move around the cover if ea put a but more effort then probably would have scored higher....come on ppl its next gen consoles lets start making games the next level up and stop being lazy and being concerned about making money......the gamers are the critics if they dont like it then it wont sell but if they do you have one hot title eg call of duty 4.... Expand
  42. TanN.
    Mar 12, 2008
    9
    This game is ot perfect, but the fun factor and the coop gameplay is awesome. If you liked gears of war style youll even prefer this one for sure. So if you like coop games this is an absolute must!!!
  43. AaronB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    1
    I really wasn't interested in this game, but a friend kept going on about it. Looked good, but new it was an EA game and had my doubts after being 'burned' in the past. CONGRATULATIONS EA- you guys absolutely suck. Yet again, another game that completely blows when played online. I thought it was all about online co-op. All my other games work fine online except Medal of I really wasn't interested in this game, but a friend kept going on about it. Looked good, but new it was an EA game and had my doubts after being 'burned' in the past. CONGRATULATIONS EA- you guys absolutely suck. Yet again, another game that completely blows when played online. I thought it was all about online co-op. All my other games work fine online except Medal of Honor Airborne, various other EA games and now this. There are complaints all over the internet about EA's crap servers. They do not respond to customers' issues, even on there own forums. Co-op game seems 'ok' online but versus just boots me out every 2 minutes. I just paid £40 to play this online and I can't. I also can't connect to friends in Canada because in their infinite wisdom have made the game region specific. EA are supposed to be one of the biggest software companies around (they've been in the business for years)and to have problems like this on a new release is just unacceptable. Everyone I know who has bought this game (7 friends) feel totally fed up with it already and don't just want it fixed, they want their money back. The game is totally flawed online. The single player is short and boring to boot. EA are money grabbing 'BAR STEWARDS'. I don't understand why Microsoft allowed them to run their own servers in the first place. Please do not buy this game. Ignore all the 9's its getting- they must all be EA employees or live in the States or something. I'm in the UK and so are all 7 of my friends. Please do not buy this. The single player definitely isn't worth the money or the co-op experience. Gears of War blows this out of the water, kicks the crap out of it, then sets it on fire. Enough said. You have been warned. Get Frontline, learn how to play a proper team game and check out Kaos's forums for that game. They respond to there fans issues and have already updated the number of servers to fix some of the issues they were having- which were nothing compared to this travesty, in the first place. GFX 6, sound 6, gameplay 6 enjoyment 0. And just to let you know Medal of Honor Airborne is as bad now as it was a year ago online- so don't hold your breath for any patches or fixes to this mess any time soon. I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER EA GAME- WHATEVER IT IS. Expand
  44. JitoM.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    This game is sick. I picked this game up on a fluke and me and my brother cant put it down. Theres nothing like shaking my brothers hand then punchin him the nuts in the middle of a firefight. My whole family got a kick out of that. Yes the game holds your hand a little (i'd like to pull off back to back on my own please) but its not nearly as bad as many critics make it out to be. This game is sick. I picked this game up on a fluke and me and my brother cant put it down. Theres nothing like shaking my brothers hand then punchin him the nuts in the middle of a firefight. My whole family got a kick out of that. Yes the game holds your hand a little (i'd like to pull off back to back on my own please) but its not nearly as bad as many critics make it out to be. Lots of Action, lots of jokes (ladies lift yo' shirts), lots of weapon customization. It may have some hiccups but this game is definitely worth a try. Expand
  45. PhilipC.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Incredibly good coop game. The last I had this much fun playing coop was with Duke Nukem 3D.
  46. MarkW.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    Very enjoyable coop game. It does not deserve a score lower than 8.
  47. JohnD.
    Mar 9, 2008
    5
    This game is horrible and needs a lot of work. AI is terrible, coop moves are not even truly needed. many are scripted (back to back move). repetitive. multiplayer suffers frequent disconnects and terrible lag issues. this game could have been so much more, DO NOT BUY only six hours of campaign game and 3 multiplayer maps, RENT first and you will quickly want to return it.
  48. EugeneP.
    Mar 9, 2008
    5
    since this is a 1-10 rating system i gave it a 5,it was originally a 3 on a 1-5 system for me. But anyway this game gets old real fast. It has fun gameplay, great customizable guns. But when you play the same levels over and over again its so boring. The fun factor may go up with that 1 friend you play with. Now to the multiplayer (not the co-op). Theres only 4 or 5 maps that are very since this is a 1-10 rating system i gave it a 5,it was originally a 3 on a 1-5 system for me. But anyway this game gets old real fast. It has fun gameplay, great customizable guns. But when you play the same levels over and over again its so boring. The fun factor may go up with that 1 friend you play with. Now to the multiplayer (not the co-op). Theres only 4 or 5 maps that are very small. Whats the point of adding a tank when you cant shoot a 50 millimeter to blow someone to pieces. But hopefully they'll be down loadable content to make up for this game. The average rating for an average game 5 Expand
  49. MrB
    Mar 9, 2008
    4
    An absolute sham of a game. Don't believe the hype. EDGE magazine's review is the most honest review I have seen yet and they are one of the most respected magazines in the world.
  50. RandalF.
    Mar 8, 2008
    5
    This game is absolutely average. From the average graphics, boring story, poor AI and average gameplay. I can see what the developers were going for but they didn't pull it off. I was hoping the multiplayer would save the mediocrity that was the story mode, but sadly, it didn't. All matches online are 2v2. The funny thing is the writers couldn't figure out what the two main This game is absolutely average. From the average graphics, boring story, poor AI and average gameplay. I can see what the developers were going for but they didn't pull it off. I was hoping the multiplayer would save the mediocrity that was the story mode, but sadly, it didn't. All matches online are 2v2. The funny thing is the writers couldn't figure out what the two main characters were, mercenaries or actual soldiers. At one point in the second level an NPC says "welcome to the army" but the characters are supposed to be mercenaries. Even the mercenary aspect of the story doesnt seem believable, because in reality, the government wouldn't hire out mercenaries to do a top secret mission. REAL mercenaries are hired by military contractors to perform bodyguard duties and escort missions, and by drug cartels to protect their products. If you want an average playing experience and mediocre gameplay, story and graphics, this game is for you. Expand
  51. FPSMaster
    Mar 8, 2008
    8
    Fun game for the most part. Great graphics, decent sounds, average controls. The A.I. is a little spotty but works better than the friendly A.I. in Gears. Co-op can be fun but the whole agrro thing goes out the window since you can't figure out who will do what and no one sticks to the plan anyway. Multiplayer sucks balls. It makes no sense and was toned down to PS2 graphics and Fun game for the most part. Great graphics, decent sounds, average controls. The A.I. is a little spotty but works better than the friendly A.I. in Gears. Co-op can be fun but the whole agrro thing goes out the window since you can't figure out who will do what and no one sticks to the plan anyway. Multiplayer sucks balls. It makes no sense and was toned down to PS2 graphics and disconnects constantly. Seems like a better game alone actually which goes against the entire point of the game existing. Rent since you can go through all 3 difficulties and unlock everything in about 3 days. Expand
  52. SeniorS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Anyone who dislikes this game should be shot end of story.
  53. ChrisB.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Graphics are amazing and the back to back feature is really awesome.
  54. KelanO.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    This game is an engaging single, co-op, and multiplayer experience. The game is extremely fun especially with a friend. The story is great as well. Could be a movie script. Graphics 10/10 hands down. It will also give you a pretty good challenge. The customization options are plentiful. Plus, the two characters just look so badass!
  55. Alex
    Mar 8, 2008
    7
    I'm a bit disappointed in Army of Two. i was really excited for it, but i started playing it, and it just started to feel too familiar too fast. think of it this way: its like Gears of War set in 2001, minus the xenophobic aliens and chainsaw machine guns. the AI isn't terribly brilliant, especially when it comes to your ally, but the ability to smack them around a bit is pretty I'm a bit disappointed in Army of Two. i was really excited for it, but i started playing it, and it just started to feel too familiar too fast. think of it this way: its like Gears of War set in 2001, minus the xenophobic aliens and chainsaw machine guns. the AI isn't terribly brilliant, especially when it comes to your ally, but the ability to smack them around a bit is pretty gratifying. now, that being said, Army of Two is still a fantastic game. it feels a lot like Gears of War, yes, but that isn't necessarily a totally bad thing. Gears was an awesome game, and this is too. although, I'm sure AoT would have been much more exciting had it been released before Gears. as a result, playing alone is REALLY boring. co-op is a blast though, especially on the higher difficulties. Overall: 7.5 out of 10. Expand
  56. GrantH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    8
    I must say I've been a little astounded by the main critics opinion of this game. Their was a lot of hype and personally I didn't believe it would help, although the game was above my own expectations and i found it highly enjoyable. If your into any form of co-op and FPS this game will certainly not disappoint.
  57. KieranE.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    What a game. Superb cover system . Graphics are out of this world and the sound is top notch. Multiplayer and co op is superb and adds something different . My only flaw would be the length of the game. It could have been a long longer.
  58. AntH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Brilliant game, the aggro system is awesome.
  59. MattI.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    Wow thats it just wow...if you like co-op play this.
  60. T.Daily
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    Co-op play is fun. There are parts of it that need to be improved but this is a solid B+ game.
  61. ReggieC.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    this game is amazing!!!!! I haven't stopped playing it since I bought it! IT's so cool, and I love the coop gameplay!! I can't wait for some DLC weapons and stuff for it!
  62. RobS.
    Mar 6, 2008
    6
    The game is average at best. Once you go through the campaign once with a friend or AI you will see there is little reason to play again. You can't even use your unlocked and modified weapons in online matches unless its co-op. The Live portion outside of the co-op is broken and laggy. On gamemodes like Warzone you can't even tell whats going on half the time. The game can be The game is average at best. Once you go through the campaign once with a friend or AI you will see there is little reason to play again. You can't even use your unlocked and modified weapons in online matches unless its co-op. The Live portion outside of the co-op is broken and laggy. On gamemodes like Warzone you can't even tell whats going on half the time. The game can be beat in under 8 hours, just a rent if you ask me. Expand
  63. RodneyD.
    Mar 6, 2008
    8
    Great graphics, great sound, cool weapons customization and a great new idea with the Aggrometer. All the pieces work great and I imagine will be even better in co-op with another live player. Intuitive controls and lots of fun to play.
  64. AdamR.
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    The game is simply fantastic, fun to play off and online, great for single and co-op (if you can with stand the occasional mental instability of your brother in arms). It's like Chaos Theory's Co-op play for the Gung-Ho/LEEROY JENKINS types, as well as the more strategic kind. Definitely worth every penny.
  65. BDub
    Mar 6, 2008
    8
    The game has to bear comparison to Gears of War. It is basically a GoW with more realistic human characters and human enemies. It is slightly harder to learn because of the teamwork moves. The game doesn't feel very innovative or new, but it is good fun. I've only played co-op so i've only really experienced the best aspect of the game.
  66. JorgeM.
    Mar 5, 2008
    7
    This game could of used some more polish. The cover system is OK at best. The graphics are really nice but not the best I've seen on either the PS3 or 360..Take a look at the water and the fact that nothing is destructable not even a PC on a dest...nothing (oh, i forgot the gas tanks blow up.) Still this game is a good time for the 5-6 hours it takes to beat it. But, after you beat This game could of used some more polish. The cover system is OK at best. The graphics are really nice but not the best I've seen on either the PS3 or 360..Take a look at the water and the fact that nothing is destructable not even a PC on a dest...nothing (oh, i forgot the gas tanks blow up.) Still this game is a good time for the 5-6 hours it takes to beat it. But, after you beat it you might not want to play it anymore than you have to..unless you need every achievement. Collapse
  67. Ron
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    Excellent Graphics, and it is fun on single player. If Online is as good as SP, I would give it a 9!
  68. MatthewL.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    This is what Gears of War could have been. The UI is handy and anything but cumbersome (paying attention Mr Cliffy B?) Graphically, AOT shines is some place (character models) and falls away in others (explosions, enemy detailing). Audio might be another strong point for some, with spot-on voice-acting and great production values. Combine this with an inventive, clever take on multiplayer This is what Gears of War could have been. The UI is handy and anything but cumbersome (paying attention Mr Cliffy B?) Graphically, AOT shines is some place (character models) and falls away in others (explosions, enemy detailing). Audio might be another strong point for some, with spot-on voice-acting and great production values. Combine this with an inventive, clever take on multiplayer and this title is anything but a mediocre shooter in an overcrowded market. EA should be commended for adding the obvious layers of gloss durnig this game's production and release delay. Expand
  69. Kyle
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Definitely a game for coop... however a very fun game nonetheless.
  70. KimV.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Despite some flaws here and there, Army of Two manages to get one of the best coop experiences across ever created. Definitely worth a purchase!
  71. AlexR.
    Mar 4, 2008
    9
    Excellent coop shooter. Although people are complaining, I found the AI quite good in the single person mode. Well done. Story as excellent part and some cheap one also. Worth every penny.
  72. JoseS.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Great game, detail is amazing, hope more mp maps coming soon. I recommend it to everyone who likes co-op!
  73. ChrisAronchick
    Feb 25, 2008
    9
    Terrific overall game-play.

    The campaign mode was very enjoyable, with both good game-play and great storytelling. I did find some similarity to the Gears of War game-play in terms of teamwork, but you are given the ability to control your partner in much more specific ways. The aggro function is pretty cool, and the way you and your partner interact in that regard provides a unique
    Terrific overall game-play.

    The campaign mode was very enjoyable, with both good game-play and great storytelling. I did find some similarity to the Gears of War game-play in terms of teamwork, but you are given the ability to control your partner in much more specific ways. The aggro function is pretty cool, and the way you and your partner interact in that regard provides a unique challenge.

    The AI was a little too basic at times, as occasionally I would be firing at an enemy and another enemy would run from behind me and just keep running until it was in front of me. Overall, though, the AI provided a good challenge.

    The achievements were very rewarding as well, and I think it might be the best collection of achievements since Halo 3.

    I have not had the opportunity to try the online game-play, but overall, it exceeded my expectations.
    Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 3 out of 76
  1. It has plenty of redeeming and rewarding features to offset its linear limitations, but it was designed to be played with a friend, so approach with caution if you don't have Xbox Live or a friend to partner up with.
  2. Calling Army of Two a poor mans Gears of War may be unfair, but the comparison is a reality as the game falls short on so many levels.
  3. Army of Two’s solo mission doesn’t match the firepower of its two-person co-op play, either in the offline game or online. But it does have plenty enough gun-filled action to satiate any violence-fans fill, and if the online gameplay is functionally free of lag or connectivity issues, Army of Two is one of the better recently released titles in regards to Xbox Live gaming.