User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 214

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    Short campaign, Pretty much no multiplayer interactment during campaign (which is the basis of the entire game, fail?), No replay value, and a poor multiplayer makes this game an epic failure.
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    2
    I bought this game to play co-op with my brother; we got quite far through the campaign before deciding it was so awful we couldn't bare to play it any more. There are some decent sections and the idea is good, but the execution is poor. I would have thought an EA published title could have invested some more time into making it a bit more interesting. On the plus side, gun customisationI bought this game to play co-op with my brother; we got quite far through the campaign before deciding it was so awful we couldn't bare to play it any more. There are some decent sections and the idea is good, but the execution is poor. I would have thought an EA published title could have invested some more time into making it a bit more interesting. On the plus side, gun customisation is very good but it doesn't come anywhere near saving the game. I can't recommend you play this game. 1/5, poor. Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2015
    4
    Not the worst game I've played, but pretty bad.

    It's all about the gameplay for me in 3rd person shooters, and this game fails in that department. Cover system is sticky and hard to control, aiming is terrible, and drawing the enemy fire is a pointless mechanic. Graphically the game is good, no problems there, and I like the customization options. The two protagonists are idiotic
    Not the worst game I've played, but pretty bad.

    It's all about the gameplay for me in 3rd person shooters, and this game fails in that department. Cover system is sticky and hard to control, aiming is terrible, and drawing the enemy fire is a pointless mechanic.

    Graphically the game is good, no problems there, and I like the customization options.

    The two protagonists are idiotic meat heads, that hardly draw you in to the bland plot taking place.

    There is one saving grace. Co-op. If you are looking for a decent co-op game to play with your friend and have a laugh, this is as good as any. Annoying, but also funny in places. I would never play this game by myself.
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    This is a game for moronic idiots. The mercs are more suited to watching Spongebob than saving the free world. The friendly AI is some moronic that sometimes would run around in circles or fail to revive me. The gameplay is ripped off from gears of war but without the awe or enemy variety. Also how can a bunch of ill trained rebels hijack a carrier and kill Navy SEALs? **** this game andThis is a game for moronic idiots. The mercs are more suited to watching Spongebob than saving the free world. The friendly AI is some moronic that sometimes would run around in circles or fail to revive me. The gameplay is ripped off from gears of war but without the awe or enemy variety. Also how can a bunch of ill trained rebels hijack a carrier and kill Navy SEALs? **** this game and the developers, who should resign or kill themselves. Expand
  5. MrB
    Mar 9, 2008
    4
    An absolute sham of a game. Don't believe the hype. EDGE magazine's review is the most honest review I have seen yet and they are one of the most respected magazines in the world.
  6. AaronB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    1
    I really wasn't interested in this game, but a friend kept going on about it. Looked good, but new it was an EA game and had my doubts after being 'burned' in the past. CONGRATULATIONS EA- you guys absolutely suck. Yet again, another game that completely blows when played online. I thought it was all about online co-op. All my other games work fine online except Medal of I really wasn't interested in this game, but a friend kept going on about it. Looked good, but new it was an EA game and had my doubts after being 'burned' in the past. CONGRATULATIONS EA- you guys absolutely suck. Yet again, another game that completely blows when played online. I thought it was all about online co-op. All my other games work fine online except Medal of Honor Airborne, various other EA games and now this. There are complaints all over the internet about EA's crap servers. They do not respond to customers' issues, even on there own forums. Co-op game seems 'ok' online but versus just boots me out every 2 minutes. I just paid £40 to play this online and I can't. I also can't connect to friends in Canada because in their infinite wisdom have made the game region specific. EA are supposed to be one of the biggest software companies around (they've been in the business for years)and to have problems like this on a new release is just unacceptable. Everyone I know who has bought this game (7 friends) feel totally fed up with it already and don't just want it fixed, they want their money back. The game is totally flawed online. The single player is short and boring to boot. EA are money grabbing 'BAR STEWARDS'. I don't understand why Microsoft allowed them to run their own servers in the first place. Please do not buy this game. Ignore all the 9's its getting- they must all be EA employees or live in the States or something. I'm in the UK and so are all 7 of my friends. Please do not buy this. The single player definitely isn't worth the money or the co-op experience. Gears of War blows this out of the water, kicks the crap out of it, then sets it on fire. Enough said. You have been warned. Get Frontline, learn how to play a proper team game and check out Kaos's forums for that game. They respond to there fans issues and have already updated the number of servers to fix some of the issues they were having- which were nothing compared to this travesty, in the first place. GFX 6, sound 6, gameplay 6 enjoyment 0. And just to let you know Medal of Honor Airborne is as bad now as it was a year ago online- so don't hold your breath for any patches or fixes to this mess any time soon. I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER EA GAME- WHATEVER IT IS. Expand
  7. JohnM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    4
    While its focus on coop is a great idea it over complicates itself, its far too straight forward and just isnt fun, the online community is already dead, its far hard if your playing with someone at a different skill level to your own, and really is boring with a stupid plot that doesnt suck you in at all, alot of good ideas but poorly executed, although the ammount of weopon modification While its focus on coop is a great idea it over complicates itself, its far too straight forward and just isnt fun, the online community is already dead, its far hard if your playing with someone at a different skill level to your own, and really is boring with a stupid plot that doesnt suck you in at all, alot of good ideas but poorly executed, although the ammount of weopon modification is cool, not worth playing really, it sucks, its more for people who enjoy lame shooters than good ones, if you like good shooting games like halo 1 or 3 or halife or deus ex, this isnt for you, if you like mindless violence and our not a real gamer, sure go blow your money, youll like it. Expand
  8. WilliamM.
    Oct 19, 2008
    2
    Literally beat it in a single afternoon. The games characters are unlikable, the plot sucked and the entire experience was very wash and repeat. There are no real boss battles. The back to back crappy action movie style segments just drove yet a nail into this ready to return no reply value coffin. The game sucks. Period. In addition there is a serious lack of variety in the weaponry Literally beat it in a single afternoon. The games characters are unlikable, the plot sucked and the entire experience was very wash and repeat. There are no real boss battles. The back to back crappy action movie style segments just drove yet a nail into this ready to return no reply value coffin. The game sucks. Period. In addition there is a serious lack of variety in the weaponry department. Also the larger older man sounded, talked and acted like a cliché Expand
  9. AllenR.
    Mar 17, 2008
    2
    The Good: I like how the game focuses on co-op The mechanics are above average The Bad: This game has the worst plot ever. If you go through the game and at no point think it's extremely unrealistic or way too XXXXXTREME then you should go ahead and castrate yourself. The story was written by ADHD crackheads injecting steroids into their eyes.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 3 out of 76
  1. It has plenty of redeeming and rewarding features to offset its linear limitations, but it was designed to be played with a friend, so approach with caution if you don't have Xbox Live or a friend to partner up with.
  2. Calling Army of Two a poor mans Gears of War may be unfair, but the comparison is a reality as the game falls short on so many levels.
  3. Army of Two’s solo mission doesn’t match the firepower of its two-person co-op play, either in the offline game or online. But it does have plenty enough gun-filled action to satiate any violence-fans fill, and if the online gameplay is functionally free of lag or connectivity issues, Army of Two is one of the better recently released titles in regards to Xbox Live gaming.