User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 137

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    If you like facebook's Mafia Wars, Farmville, etc., then you might like this. Me? I stay far away from games like these that are constantly enticing you to spend real money for leveling up and upgraded equipment.
  2. Oct 2, 2013
    2
    This in not a great game but not the worst I've played. The Ascension leveling it a cool feature but having to purchase pedestals every time you ascend if you want to keep your armor an weapons you have just spent a lot of souls and time upgrading is beyond frustrating. The amount of souls gained in game either from killing enemies or the almost pathetic amount gained from selling weapons and armor is just enough to repair your equipment..... sometimes but that's about it. If you want a good weapon or armor you'll have to shell out the cash. Then it's not enough to buy the item on the avg a mid range item will costs 100K to 120k souls each to upgrade fully. The developers have made no attempt to hide the fact that they want you to spend a huge amount of money on your character. There are very few aspects of the game that don't cost souls and not just a few souls but a lot of souls. There are good aspects to the game stomping and throwing humans was fun for a min, Having the humans climb on you adding some protection and extra attacks to enemies is cool but that's about it. RPGs are my favorite games and I was looking forward to playing this one, but I have to say with the glitchy game play the slap to the face every time you have to spend thousands of souls just to repair your equipment let alone level up just to spend thousands more to keep it when you ascend detracts from what could have been a fairly fun game. This game has no replay value in my opinion and gets old and repetitive way to fast. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2013
    1
    The is a free-to-play mmo that is a pay-to-win game. You'll have a number of pvp fights in the game between yourself and members of other factions. Because all equipment is purchased with souls, anyone who puts money into the game has a very large advantage. All greater gear is only available through a high level of currency that must be purchased as that level cannot be earned by playing.
    Also, all gear needs souls (currency) to repair, or you will have no equipment at all. Some players end up not having enough souls to buy new gear or repair their own, and then they are forced to either spend real money or not play. The company refused to reset any accounts.
    It's not free, it's a cash cow in disguise. Free to get in the door, pay if you want to actually play.
    Don't bother playing the game, rather show the pay-to-win model that we aren't interested in crap anymore.
    Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    0
    This game may be the worst game on Xbox Live! Filled with bugs and Disconnection that make Happy Wars look like GTA5! They should change the name from Hand of Kul to Hand in your pockets! Microtransactions are worthless when you buy them and use them only for the timer to run out while you Disconnect 100 times trying to use them. And plz STAY AWAY FROM ANY GAME CREATED BY SIGNAL STUDIOS! They are without a doubt the laziest company to ever create games! They have time to make fake accounts on here rating the game a 10..*smh* but no time to fix the problems.A Lazy game company that gives lip service to its actual fans on facebook but all they do is make matters alot worse! Delete and support another game company that actually cares about its fans. They truely earned that zero.. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is a waste of time and effort! Free online games are no excuse for bad physics, bland graphics and scheming transactions. Signal Studio will do better to stick at their Toy Soldier formula instead of making a game worse than Spartacus online!
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    The fact that this game has any 10 point rating is so absurd it's almost offensive. You couldn't have played much of the game and still thought it deserved that. Much of Kul feels like it was pilfered from Black and White, just more on the side of if you actually controlled your avatar and had none of the God powers. The game is pay to win through and through, you will never accrue enough souls (in game currency) to fully upgrade weapons and armor, and pumping around 15 in will get you decent enough gear you can manage lower levels with comfort and enjoyment but anything past hour 4-5 is absurd, your shrines will come under regular attack from other people level 17+ when you're barely level 11, they will when you are level 15 you will undoubtedly be invaded or assaulted by a lv 5-7 that's sporting fully upgraded weapons and spells and will kick the ish out of you.
    The combat system is so poorly designed you that pvp reduced itself to nothing but a sloppy tango of uncoordinated dashing mixed with bouts of standing there and slugging each other before the one with the lowest life tries desperately to dash off and use some spells.

    The entire experience falls apart very quickly unless you're willing to sink 100$'s in real cash into the game. This is the issue I constantly find with f2p models, they seem great on the outside, but once you start really looking at them, in order to gain full access to the mediocre content supplied you have spend WELL over what you would pay for a AAA game. Kul here is no exception.
    Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2014
    4
    i have a couple big problems with it besides some minor glitches the difficulty spikes are very high especially when you fight your first ogre it threw the entire session i was playing off the witch things are much harder than are necessary especially in large groups they are horrid the prices need to go down or souls go up per kill so i dont feel pressured to go and spend 80 bucks i say this only because i have found myself high leveled and no armor no weapons no money and in a large fight and it sucks just dumb down the difficulty this is my fifteenth RPG and i dont want it to leave a bad taste in my mouth i want to continue but dont want it to be a chore Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2014
    0
    Worst. Game. Ever. Zero isn't a low enough score for this putrid wreck. This is yet another example of M$' idea of a "free" game. Yep, just like Shoot Many Robots, you are underpowered unless you spend hundreds of dollars on microtransactions. $75 for 750,000 souls? Lol. That might get you enough goodies to last a lever or two, then you're right back to being underpowered. Nut up? Give us $75 every day forever? Sounds great! Typical MS greed.

    As for the gameplay, the graphics are gawd-awful. PS2 games looked far better than this garbage. "But is it fun?" you might ask. Well, if you think fighting the same boring and cheap enemies over and over and over and over again with the same boring weapons in the same boring locations is fun, then this is your game! Wheeeee!!! Honestly, the only game that's been released recently that's anywhere near this bad is Spartacus, which is also "free" on Xbox.

    Do yourself a favor and avoid this vomitous trash at all costs. Save the $35,000 you'd have to spend on this and other MS "free" junk to make it remotely near fun and buy yourself 1,000 years of PS+ where you get real games like Tomb Raider, Bioshock Infinite, and other triple A titles that don't ask you for anything in order to enjoy the already great game.
    Expand
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 60
    Distinctly average, and aside from a few interesting online elements there's little to keep you coming back for more after your first few hours of gameplay. [Issue#104, p.84]
  2. Although this simple brawler has some intriguing multiplayer ideas, the solo game's repetitive and the Crusade metagame is hard to invest in. [Dec 2013, p.87]
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    78
    Ascend: Hand of Kul convinces with an immediate gameplay and some very interesting features, even if not always implemented properly.