Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the world as Caos, a gigantic breed of mighty warriors created to serve the will of the Gods. Combat the immortal Titans while fending off attacks from rival players and establishing your influence in the global Ascend conflict. Epic three-scale combat takes place across immense landscapes and limitless dungeons. "Ascend" offers unprecedented connectivity across mobile and console Xbox LIVE platforms. Wage war against Xbox 360 players from your mobile phone, gain power and prestige, and transfer it all to your console - anywhere, anytime. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    This game is definitely worth picking up, especially since it won't cost you any money: a very good action RPG that you can't miss.
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    78
    Ascend: Hand of Kul convinces with an immediate gameplay and some very interesting features, even if not always implemented properly.
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    Bloody and based on a fun battle system, Ascend: Hand of Kul is a free-to-play videogame which implements some interesting ideas without managing to exploit them to their full potential. It is a nice hack'n slash experience partially marred by some of its F2P elements.
  4. Although this simple brawler has some intriguing multiplayer ideas, the solo game's repetitive and the Crusade metagame is hard to invest in. [Dec 2013, p.87]
  5. 60
    Distinctly average, and aside from a few interesting online elements there's little to keep you coming back for more after your first few hours of gameplay. [Issue#104, p.84]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 49
  2. Negative: 16 out of 49
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    For the record, Ascend is nothing like Mafia wars or Farmville. It resembles more DarkSouls than anything else. I love the fact that this game is free and I can pay for what I want when I want. No reason not to download Ascend and at least try it. The game itself is more of an action/RPG with some cool multiplayer light components that allows you to help or curse other players. You can Ascend your Caos and have them control territories which brings in cash for you. You can collect a ton of armor and items all while leveling up your Caos. Intereacting with other players is really cool, and yet hard to describe, you gotta play to see it. Anyways, well worth the free download if anything just to check out. Best F2P game easy on XBOX Live. Looking forward seeing how Microsoft evolves this game over time. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    9
    At first i was concerned about the soul system, not knowing there is a workshop at the sanctury where gear can be reapired free of charge!!

    The fighting is a bit repetative, but good fun. the character customisation isnt that great, but no problem, lots of good gear to hide that face of yours in! The currency system of souls works fine for me, having 5 ascended champions that are collecting souls for me trough capturing altars and such. i get a sollig 5000 souls each hour or so, besides what i make doing dungeons and q. I have a steady stash of 200000 souls and great gear, while NOT SPENDING A DIME! Good game!! CU there!!! Free download trough steam!!!!
    Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    I would give this 10/10 but as we all know, no game is perfect and there are afue things missing from Ascend: Hand of Kul but who cares? Its FREE, in my opinion its the best free game on XBL and one of the best (if not the best) free game I've ever played, anyone who thinks this is like those stupid facebook games is a fool, as someone already stated it is much more similar to Dark Souls than anything, not the point, this game is more than worth the download and it does not force you to spend money on it, I've not spent a single penny on this game and I'm having no difficulty in it, armor durability problem? then save up souls and upgrade it, weapon problem? upgrade or get a better weapon by dung running, there are so many simple solutions to the in game problems, "Shield" enemies? Heavy attack then Normal attack then Heavy attack again, simple. Do not be put off by what others think, especially since this game IS FREE!! Download and try it for yourself, if you like it then cool, if not then it didn't cost you anything so why care?

    Anyways thank you for reading this (if you do) and take it easy all.
    Collapse
  4. Dec 26, 2013
    6
    This game started off really fun, but the whole "Ascending" thing seems REALLY pointless and not needed in the game. If that wasn't there, I'd probably have more fun and plus its a F2P soo micro-transactions. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    I don't know about this game, I like that you can kill monster's but I don't like (like other people say) you don't earn that many souls and it is hard to keep your equipment at full and every time I beat an apex (or whatever) I'm about to get the prize and freeze I have to f*** leave the game and return. I like that it's free but I don't know about playing it that much. and 1 more rant I don't like having to fight someone after every little thing it's so annoying! Expand
  6. May 10, 2014
    1
    I played as the Void class, which had ice magic. Combat was incredibly tedious, and melee combat for my class with the weapons I had access to was unfeasible except against the weakest opponents. I have a very real suspicion that the PvP portions of the game were not PvP at all, but fights against computer controlled characters that just happened to be player builds. Despite this, these fights were fun, and provided nice diversions from the repetitiveness of the normal fights. The game is free, and if you have a couple of hours to burn, it can be fun, but it definitely does not have a long life. I can't remember a game I've played that was as boring as this one. Expand
  7. May 26, 2014
    0
    Another PAY / GRIND to win game game but this one is even worse then most other free to play game. you are at a huge disadvantage if you do not pay. the game is not free to play. it is free to GRIND! nothing fun in this game at all. complete waste of your time. Expand

See all 49 User Reviews