Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the world as Caos, a gigantic breed of mighty warriors created to serve the will of the Gods. Combat the immortal Titans while fending off attacks from rival players and establishing your influence in the global Ascend conflict. Epic three-scale combat takes place across immense landscapes and limitless dungeons. "Ascend" offers unprecedented connectivity across mobile and console Xbox LIVE platforms. Wage war against Xbox 360 players from your mobile phone, gain power and prestige, and transfer it all to your console - anywhere, anytime. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    85
    This game is definitely worth picking up, especially since it won't cost you any money: a very good action RPG that you can't miss.
  2. Oct 22, 2013
    78
    Ascend: Hand of Kul convinces with an immediate gameplay and some very interesting features, even if not always implemented properly.
  3. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    Bloody and based on a fun battle system, Ascend: Hand of Kul is a free-to-play videogame which implements some interesting ideas without managing to exploit them to their full potential. It is a nice hack'n slash experience partially marred by some of its F2P elements.
  4. Although this simple brawler has some intriguing multiplayer ideas, the solo game's repetitive and the Crusade metagame is hard to invest in. [Dec 2013, p.87]
  5. 60
    Distinctly average, and aside from a few interesting online elements there's little to keep you coming back for more after your first few hours of gameplay. [Issue#104, p.84]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    For the record, Ascend is nothing like Mafia wars or Farmville. It resembles more DarkSouls than anything else. I love the fact that this game is free and I can pay for what I want when I want. No reason not to download Ascend and at least try it. The game itself is more of an action/RPG with some cool multiplayer light components that allows you to help or curse other players. You can Ascend your Caos and have them control territories which brings in cash for you. You can collect a ton of armor and items all while leveling up your Caos. Intereacting with other players is really cool, and yet hard to describe, you gotta play to see it. Anyways, well worth the free download if anything just to check out. Best F2P game easy on XBOX Live. Looking forward seeing how Microsoft evolves this game over time. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    To the people who are saying its a bad game and comparing it to FarmVille and other Facebook games, if you spent more time than 5 minutes and actually played the game you just downloaded you would know that there are more ways to get the in game currency (souls). I was only able to play this game for about 30 minutes before I had to leave to work but I had a lot of fun playing it while I was playing it and plan on continuing when I get back home. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    I've been playing this game for a couple of hours now and I am genuinely enjoying myself.

    Although others have said that the game requires
    in game purchases in order to have fun, for me this has not been a problem. The currency system works similar to that of Darksiders, when you kill an enemy, they drop souls which can then be used to purchase new armour, spell upgrades and more. Accumulating money in this game is not very difficult, by simply following the narrative of the game I gained around 4000 souls within a few minutes. Moreover, at the very beginning of the game, you are given 3000 souls to customize your character with.

    As for player interactivity, the option is there on whether you want to interact with other players (either positively or negatively) but it is never intrusive upon your own gaming experience. Sometimes, I would just be wandering around minding my own business, when a gift would fall from the heavens, gifted to me by another player. Events like this are what, for me, kept the incentive to keep playing fresh in my mind.

    Ascend: Hand of Kul has the traditional sort of RPG elements to it which any fan of the genre should be able to pick up quickly. One of the features that got me excited however, was the effects that your actions had on the overall game. As you advance in the game, all of your achievements will go towards your patron whom you choose at the start of the game. In short, this means that your actions will help make your chosen patron advance above the others.

    Excluding a few minor bug issues with character animation and enemy behaviour, this game is remarkably clean in terms of bugs. The few I encountered in my 4 hour long play-through were very minor and rectified themselves quickly.

    To summarise, this game is definitely worth picking up, especially since it won't cost you any money. It's interesting narrative and customization will ensure that you strive to keep adding to your list of achievements and guide your team to total domination.
    Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2014
    7
    Honestly, this game isn't too bad. The multiplayer ideas are occasionally frustrating because of trolls, yes, but can make for some interesting gameplay altogether. However, as I played through, and ascended a few characters, I stopped taking any joy from the game. There is no variance, and you can exploit many of the enemy's AI's easily to win against them. Overall, it's good game to play every once in a while, but not a game to play for long period of time. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2013
    6
    This game is Microtransaction hell, once you "Ascend" and start from the beginning, it is near impossible to get to the powerful warrior you once were without spending a couple dollars for "Souls". That aside the rest of the game is pretty good, not amazing, but good. But i feel the Microtransactions hold this game back. Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    I don't know about this game, I like that you can kill monster's but I don't like (like other people say) you don't earn that many souls and it is hard to keep your equipment at full and every time I beat an apex (or whatever) I'm about to get the prize and freeze I have to f*** leave the game and return. I like that it's free but I don't know about playing it that much. and 1 more rant I don't like having to fight someone after every little thing it's so annoying! Expand
  7. Mar 6, 2014
    0
    Worst. Game. Ever. Zero isn't a low enough score for this putrid wreck. This is yet another example of M$' idea of a "free" game. Yep, just like Shoot Many Robots, you are underpowered unless you spend hundreds of dollars on microtransactions. $75 for 750,000 souls? Lol. That might get you enough goodies to last a lever or two, then you're right back to being underpowered. Nut up? Give us $75 every day forever? Sounds great! Typical MS greed.

    As for the gameplay, the graphics are gawd-awful. PS2 games looked far better than this garbage. "But is it fun?" you might ask. Well, if you think fighting the same boring and cheap enemies over and over and over and over again with the same boring weapons in the same boring locations is fun, then this is your game! Wheeeee!!! Honestly, the only game that's been released recently that's anywhere near this bad is Spartacus, which is also "free" on Xbox.

    Do yourself a favor and avoid this vomitous trash at all costs. Save the $35,000 you'd have to spend on this and other MS "free" junk to make it remotely near fun and buy yourself 1,000 years of PS+ where you get real games like Tomb Raider, Bioshock Infinite, and other triple A titles that don't ask you for anything in order to enjoy the already great game.
    Expand

See all 37 User Reviews