Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 5, 2011
    100
    It's hard for me to find a bad thing to say about Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, it's just an amazing game. I remember thinking last year before we knew there was even going to be an AC: Brotherhood that it was going to be hard for Ubisoft to top AC2, but I am happy to say Brotherhood does in every single way. This is flat out a great game.
  2. Nov 29, 2010
    100
    Brotherhood is the franchise's best entry to date and one of the best games of 2010.
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    100
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood brings to the table so much more than was ever expected. Not only is it perhaps the best in the franchise, but is also an easy Game of the Year candidate.
  4. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    Brotherhood lacks that generational leap we saw from Assassin's Creed to Assassin's Creed II, but it more than makes up for that with a full-bodied single-player experience teeming with interesting gameplay additions and a risky multiplayer component.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    What makes the multiplayer so much fun is the constant balance between being the hunter and the prey. Stalking enemies around the map is a lot of fun (even when I end up on the business end of a blade before I can make my kill), and patience has never been so important.
  6. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    With a campaign worthy of sequel status and a multiplayer mode full of fresh, entertaining ideas, there isn't enough praise I can lay on AC: Brotherhood.
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    This is a fantastic game, but only if you desperately crave the second half of the Assassin's Creed 2 experience. If you hated the original game, there's nothing here to sway you and the story certainly doesn't welcome newcomers. The multiplayer adds a nice diversion.
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    It amazes me that a game of this caliber – that is to say, a game that is ridiculously good in spite of its missteps – comes just one year after its predecessor. It improves a lot, adds even more, and changes nothing I already adored. It's a shorter game than Assassin's Creed 2, if that matters, but aside from the storyline it's better in almost every way.
  9. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    A masterful combination of the many things that have striven to define the series in the past, each presented at its best and accentuated by considered design.
  10. Jan 1, 2011
    97
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood isn't as much a sequel as a completion to the second game, and while this is certainly the best game of the three so far, you probably don't want to jump into the story without having played at least the second game first.
  11. Nov 18, 2010
    96
    Every bit as essential as it's forebear, an outstanding achievement and a magnificent game in its own right.
  12. Jan 2, 2011
    95
    But what sets Brotherhood apart from the rest of the series is the inclusion of Multiplayer.
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood builds on the foundations laid by the previous two games, expanding the gameplay with some very welcome additions, ultimately Brotherhood is by far the best Assassin's Creed game we've seen so far and one of the standout games of the year.
  14. Dec 16, 2010
    95
    The game may have the odd technical flaw, but it still stands out as the best in the franchise so far. Oodles of fun with an epic campaign and slick multiplayer, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a serious contender for Game of the Year.
  15. Dec 10, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a deep, rich, and sublime experience in both single player and multiplayer.
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is one of this year's finest releases, and improves on everything we loved about the previous title, while adding plenty of its own excellent features.
  17. Nov 16, 2010
    95
    Against all odds, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood exists in 2010, and it not only lives up to the hype, but it manages to completely outclass its predecessor. Brotherhood is a game that Assassin's Creed fans simply cannot afford to miss, and one of best games this year.
  18. Nov 16, 2010
    95
    Don't even consider skipping the game for a second. While the story doesn't progress as much as we had hoped, it still adds some new questions and twists into Desmond's dilemma. The ever so fresh guild mechanic and addictive as hell multiplayer already feels like essential components in the series.
  19. Dec 29, 2010
    94
    Extraordinary in sheer scope, breadth and execution. [Jan 2011, p.72]
  20. Dec 2, 2010
    94
    This is a truly worthwhile upgrade on the Assassin's Creed experience and sets the bar dangerously high for the next iteration.
  21. Nov 16, 2010
    94
    Definitely the apex of the Assassin's Creed series thus far. The story does a great job of furthering both the historical plot as well as the overarching sci-fi elements of the story (Desmond has a much larger role here), and the game's new structure is refreshing for those who may have found the back-and-forth structure of last year's title to be a bit tedious.
  22. 94
    Achingly beautiful to behold and incredible to play, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood will be the best Roman holiday you'll ever have.
  23. Nov 16, 2010
    94
    Undoubtedly the best game in the series: varied, with longevity and extremely charming, it improves every feature of the previous game while adding several well thought-out novelties.
  24. Nov 16, 2010
    93
    Its new gameplay elements and other additions like the multiplayer modes makes this one the most complete Assassin's Creed thus far. Brotherhood is an amazing follow-up to the sequel and an amazing way to conclude Ezio Auditore's adventures.
  25. Nov 13, 2010
    93
    The moment you finish the game, you'll be chomping at the bit for the inevitable Assassin's Creed III. [Dec 2010, p.112]
  26. 92
    Story limitations and a few failed mission experiments cement our statement that it's not Assassin's Creed 3 - but with a lick of paint it would've come dangerously close.
  27. Dec 13, 2010
    91
    With new gameplay mechanics, improved combat, exciting new online multiplayer options and a brand new storyline, Brotherhood is packed with an overwhelming amount of content!
  28. Nov 21, 2010
    91
    But even without this clever take on online play, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood would be a strong outing. With the addition firing on all cylinders, it's a real killer.
  29. Nov 19, 2010
    91
    Ubisoft has taken the time to develop a massive amount of innovations which help bring the already epic story to life like never before; and while ensuring an epic single player experience, Ubisoft put one right between the eyes with their multiplayer gametype. With all of these new innovations, a very in-depth story, and a great multiplayer gametype, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is one that you must have in the collection.
  30. Nov 17, 2010
    91
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood has everything you loved and hated about AC2, but it has shined up the positives to a sheen I didn't expect. Toss in the fantastic multiplayer with its persistent experience and leveling system and you have a solid and worthy successor to an already great series.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 552 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 132
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    I keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, this may be the last AC game I bother with. I seem to be in the minority, but I find these games rather dull and extremely repetitive, regardless of the pretty environments. This game in particular (as hinted at by the title) does not feel like a standalone game, it feels like more of the same of the last installment, sort of a glorified expansion pack. For people who love the series I guess this is more than enough, for me it is more of the same and a very narrow experience. I am also quite surprised that more people don't dislike the Animus stuff as much as I do, which has always felt awkward and tacked on since the first game (it doesn't help that our hero looks like a douche) - half baked sci fi elements used to make a very simple game appear complicated. With the addition of "Da Vinci Code" type conspiracy and "secrets" which were greatly expanded in AC2, I find the game comes off as just plain silly, and not in any way profound which it seems to insist that it is. I gave this a shot, but I think I am done with AC for good at this point. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for the first time that the gamers will get their hands on the multiplayer component of a pure action adventure game. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    3
    A very poor effort by Ubisoft in this input into the Assassin's Creed story. The storyline goes from okay and then nosedives, the ending absolutely makes no sense, and is a severe turn in the wrong direction (and I can't really see what, or where they are going with the main, as well as, the minor characters). The story wasn't as good as AC 2, and felt drab and uninspired. This game feels more like AC 2.5 than AC 3, with the same issues involving the free-running controls and killing nightmates (you try to run past a arch, but end up continuously running up and down the side, or you mark a kill, but the game somehow switches to you killing an innocent). They decided to try and freshen things up, by adding these extra stipulations to completing mission (do not get detected, do not kill anyone), but it only adds to the frustration of playing this game and it definitely limits the player's freedom. Needless to say, AC2 was better as the game at least allowed for you to go about beating the game how YOU feel like beating the game, this, on the other hand, limits your ability to beat the game by creating these necessarily aggravating difficult stipulations. The mulitplayer, while somewhat entertaining, feels very unfinished and just feels like they slapped it on there to raise replay. You will bump into other players, but you can't kill them, you will bump into your target, but you can't kill them, it almost feels like the attack button is inoperable most of the time. Another serious issue (and one that, go figures, adds to the aggravation of playing this game), is that there is a severe lack of countering in the game, if you bump into your chaser, you should be able to kill the chaser, not have to be forced into a chase and ONLY a chase. You should also be able to counter an attack WITH an attack (not have the dead attack syndrome, like how most of the mulitplayer feels), and counters like smoke-bombs, firecrackers, and the like, should be open to use ALL of the time (not just open to use when you're incognito). In all, the nonsensical storyline, the introduction of story-hurting addition of mission stipulations, and the still shoddy controls, hurts the game. The game feels more like it would've been more akin as an add-on game, and not a money-grab by Ubisoft (a game company making a shoddy money-grab? go figure, right?). While the mulitpayer is interesting, it needs more work to make it fun and not aggravating, like most of this game. Rent it first, otherwise, you might end up strongly disappointed. Full Review »