Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 8, 2011
    85
    Those wanting more from Ezio, and to revel in the period set in Assassins Creed II for a little longer, will find fond memories in Assassins Creed Brotherhood; however I couldn't shake the feeling that I'd seen it all before and was being dragged along for the same old ride.
  2. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    Viewed as a single-player experience, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a sizable addition that does relatively little to advance the Assassin's Creed story or gameplay. The multiplayer, however, is a unique and fascinating offering, a truly refreshing alternative to the plodding iterations of the market-leading shooters. F
  3. Nov 18, 2010
    85
    There is a stack of gameplay here, both in the singleplayer story (which is heavily connected to Assassin's Creed II) and in the multiplayer, which is a series first.
  4. Nov 17, 2010
    85
    Series newcomers will be a little confused story wise, but they'll have the benefit of experiencing the game's combat at its highest level; the combat might be a secondary system in the AC series, but at least in Brotherhood it's delivered in a satisfying manner.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    85
    Ultimately, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a game that was designed with its fans front and center. If you've played the prior games, then yes, Brotherhood is going to feel much like Assassin's Creed 2.5, but you're still going to love every minute of it.
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    85
    This may not be Assassin's Creed III, but like Ezio's smirk, Brotherhood is too irresistible to ignore.
  7. Nov 29, 2010
    83
    Like a bigger, better and more polished version of Assassin's Creed II.
  8. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Assasssin's Creed: Brotherhood has great atmosphere, beautiful visuals, and overall excellent craftsmanship… Just don't expect anything new beyond the multiplayer.
  9. Jan 6, 2011
    80
    Brotherhood shows that Ubisoft has found the heart and soul of this series. A variety of missions, Rome as a playground and an impressive multiplayer make this one of the more engaging games of 2010. A couple of mistakes keep this game from becoming a classic.
  10. Dec 2, 2010
    80
    This was made for those who loved the second game in the franchise: the story follows the same characters and the gameplay is too similar. The greatest novelty is multiplayer, offering a long and satisfying experience.
  11. Nov 29, 2010
    80
    I find myself comparing Brotherhood to Fable II; both are incremental releases to a pre-established formula, and both have a ton of ideas that are not implemented to the fullest of their potential. The difference is that what Brotherhood does, more often than not, falls just short of brilliance, yet even when operating at 80 percent Ubisoft has crafted a game far better than most others on the market, and the superb multiplayer puts it over the top.
  12. Nov 26, 2010
    80
    Even though it lacks polish, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is every bit as entertaining as it's prequels. It's still good fun to stand on the top of ancient buildings, just seing the everyday life pass on the streets below and strike the opponents when they least expect it.
  13. 80
    We couldn't help but be slightly disappointed with the main plot - it feels flimsy compared to the huge journey the previous instalment treated us to, and the only truly impactful storytelling occurs when you leave Ezio behind. In spite of this, the sandbox is more complex and there's easily as much to do here as in the previous titles.
  14. Nov 18, 2010
    80
    Even if this new episode feels less surprising and astonishing than its predecessors, it's still very strong and sharpened like its hero's blade.
  15. Nov 18, 2010
    80
    The game's parts are by turns novel and enjoyable, but when played in longer bursts feel repetitive. Brotherhood is Assassin's Creed II 2, its new mechanics feeling more like extensions of an existing form than innovations. It's a greatest hits disc, then, a weighty, good-value deal that plays the series' best bits – but there's the constant danger that you've heard them before.
  16. Nov 17, 2010
    80
    Its goals and improvements may be more modest than the last game but this is still an enjoyable return trip to Italy - especially in the company of friends.
  17. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    Brotherhood isn't trying to make easy money. One can surely grunt at the lack of mythology revelations and average story (but still unmissable for the fan) of the campaign, but its gameplay has been improved in almost every way. It's massive (at least 12 hours if you're not trying to get everything), and rich with a lot of new stuff, both small and big (starting with the assassin's guild mechanics). We'll see in the long run if its multiplayer will prove to have more strengths than weaknesses, but it's already, and unmistakably, one of the most refreshing experiences of late, with games that are an inspiration for ruse, cold-blood, and cunning.
  18. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    The game doesn't advance the wider narrative very far, the new mechanics don't really add a great deal and the mission designs rarely explore new gameplay possibilities.
  19. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    For now, it's the single player campaign – filled with stunning cut-scenes, music and voice acting – that prove the most compelling reasons to play this excellent sequel.
  20. Nov 29, 2010
    73
    In short, I felt like Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood was a rip off. It feels like it was rushed, there are noticeably more bugs (though they are slight). Very little of substance is new or different (apart from the inclusion of multiplayer), all of the same frustrations are there and I mostly felt like playing different games when I was playing Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood.
  21. Nov 17, 2010
    70
    Considering Assassin's Creed Brotherhood as a total package, it's just barely worth full price. There's a decent quantity of content, but the amount that's recycled from the last game is stunning, a purely cynical ploy to squeeze out more money in lieu of preserving any semblance of artistic integrity.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 614 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 134
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    I keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, thisI keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, this may be the last AC game I bother with. I seem to be in the minority, but I find these games rather dull and extremely repetitive, regardless of the pretty environments. This game in particular (as hinted at by the title) does not feel like a standalone game, it feels like more of the same of the last installment, sort of a glorified expansion pack. For people who love the series I guess this is more than enough, for me it is more of the same and a very narrow experience. I am also quite surprised that more people don't dislike the Animus stuff as much as I do, which has always felt awkward and tacked on since the first game (it doesn't help that our hero looks like a douche) - half baked sci fi elements used to make a very simple game appear complicated. With the addition of "Da Vinci Code" type conspiracy and "secrets" which were greatly expanded in AC2, I find the game comes off as just plain silly, and not in any way profound which it seems to insist that it is. I gave this a shot, but I think I am done with AC for good at this point. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for theThis is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for the first time that the gamers will get their hands on the multiplayer component of a pure action adventure game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    I've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recentlyI've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recently picking up AC2, beating it within 2 days and enjoying it somewhat I decided to get Brotherhood. I wasn't expecting a whole new game as even from the box art you can see it's just going to be a Assassin's Creed 2.5 reskin. You play, again, as Ezio, or more a cardboard cut out of him. He lacks the charm and immersive dialogue of the Ezio you play as in AC2. In fact, all the characters recycled from AC2 are bland and uninteresting. The funny and likeable Leonardo is now a wooden shopkeeper. As for the gameplay, frustrating is the word I would definitely describe this with. The free-running (something you do for the majority of the game) is as bad as previous Assassin's Creed titles and you'll often find yourself leaping off buildings to your death or climbing when you just don't want to. You CAN pull off some really good runs, leaping from building to building and swinging from poles and looks great if it works. Unfortunately, that would only be about half of the time. Combat has improved from AC2, with new weapons and combos and insane kill animations that make you feel like a badass. In reality, all you're doing is a very simple series of button presses. This isn't a bad thing, however, as you could take on several enemies at once. The graphics are, as the previous titles, great. I didn't notice any texture pop-in or buffering as you would in most other current gen console games. The textures are nice and sharp and Rome looks pretty in both night and day. Onto the actual tasks of the game, the missions. Frankly, I have never been more frustrated at some of the missions in this game than I have in all my years of playing video games. The new "full sync" feature will give you a 100% complete in a mission by performing a certain task, for example killing the target in a certain way, or beating the mission in a time limit. This sounds like a good, challenging feature, however if you try to fully sync every mission on your first play through, you're going to be tearing your hair out in frustration. The terrible AI and awful controls will be more of an annoyance than the badly thought out missions. In all, it has nice graphics and a nice setting, the sci-fi and historical cross over is cheesy but welcomed. The controls and gameplay are awful, the voice acting is wooden, the music is pretty nice, and then theres the fact it's a reskin and has early DLC. 4/10 Full Review »