Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    You are looking at about 20 to 30 hours of gameplay in the single player story and more replay value if you enjoy the multiplayer mode. Highly Recommended!
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    80
    The game doesn't advance the wider narrative very far, the new mechanics don't really add a great deal and the mission designs rarely explore new gameplay possibilities.
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    A masterful combination of the many things that have striven to define the series in the past, each presented at its best and accentuated by considered design.
  4. Nov 13, 2010
    93
    The moment you finish the game, you'll be chomping at the bit for the inevitable Assassin's Creed III. [Dec 2010, p.112]
  5. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Assasssin's Creed: Brotherhood has great atmosphere, beautiful visuals, and overall excellent craftsmanship… Just don't expect anything new beyond the multiplayer.
  6. Jan 19, 2011
    90
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a pleasant surprise in every respect, even though some of the concerns you might have had regarding the single map and ageing formula still stand with the final product.
  7. Jan 8, 2011
    85
    Those wanting more from Ezio, and to revel in the period set in Assassins Creed II for a little longer, will find fond memories in Assassins Creed Brotherhood; however I couldn't shake the feeling that I'd seen it all before and was being dragged along for the same old ride.
  8. Jan 6, 2011
    80
    Brotherhood shows that Ubisoft has found the heart and soul of this series. A variety of missions, Rome as a playground and an impressive multiplayer make this one of the more engaging games of 2010. A couple of mistakes keep this game from becoming a classic.
  9. Jan 5, 2011
    100
    It's hard for me to find a bad thing to say about Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, it's just an amazing game. I remember thinking last year before we knew there was even going to be an AC: Brotherhood that it was going to be hard for Ubisoft to top AC2, but I am happy to say Brotherhood does in every single way. This is flat out a great game.
  10. Jan 3, 2011
    88
    Brotherhood is an extremely fun game, with some new elements added that keep the series fresh enough that it does not seem like just an extension of Assassin's Creed 2.
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    95
    But what sets Brotherhood apart from the rest of the series is the inclusion of Multiplayer.
  12. Jan 1, 2011
    97
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood isn't as much a sequel as a completion to the second game, and while this is certainly the best game of the three so far, you probably don't want to jump into the story without having played at least the second game first.
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    While Brotherhood strays farther away from foundation of the original Assassin's Creed, it still has the ability to hold your interest and lock you into an engaging story.
  14. Dec 20, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood builds on the foundations laid by the previous two games, expanding the gameplay with some very welcome additions, ultimately Brotherhood is by far the best Assassin's Creed game we've seen so far and one of the standout games of the year.
  15. Dec 19, 2010
    85
    Viewed as a single-player experience, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a sizable addition that does relatively little to advance the Assassin's Creed story or gameplay. The multiplayer, however, is a unique and fascinating offering, a truly refreshing alternative to the plodding iterations of the market-leading shooters. F
  16. Dec 16, 2010
    95
    The game may have the odd technical flaw, but it still stands out as the best in the franchise so far. Oodles of fun with an epic campaign and slick multiplayer, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a serious contender for Game of the Year.
  17. Dec 13, 2010
    91
    With new gameplay mechanics, improved combat, exciting new online multiplayer options and a brand new storyline, Brotherhood is packed with an overwhelming amount of content!
  18. Dec 10, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a deep, rich, and sublime experience in both single player and multiplayer.
  19. Dec 10, 2010
    88
    Assassins Creed: Brotherhood is another power house in the game series.
  20. Dec 2, 2010
    90
    If you're new to Ubisoft's stealthy series, I recommend starting with AC2; however, if you've already bloodied Ezio's blades, you'll want to begin building your army of assassins in Brotherhood.
  21. Dec 2, 2010
    80
    This was made for those who loved the second game in the franchise: the story follows the same characters and the gameplay is too similar. The greatest novelty is multiplayer, offering a long and satisfying experience.
  22. Dec 2, 2010
    94
    This is a truly worthwhile upgrade on the Assassin's Creed experience and sets the bar dangerously high for the next iteration.
  23. 90
    Brotherhood manages to stand out as one of the better games in a year that has been fairly lacklustre for sequels. A game once feared to be a mere expansion not only manages to do everything Assassin's Creed II did; it brings a few tricks of its own to the fray.
  24. Nov 30, 2010
    90
    A very good sequel to Assassin's Creed 2, with an impressive atmosphere, a lot of diversion and a great multiplayer-mode. There are some issues that could have been done better, but in the end they don't matter anyway.
  25. Nov 29, 2010
    100
    Brotherhood is the franchise's best entry to date and one of the best games of 2010.
  26. Nov 29, 2010
    73
    In short, I felt like Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood was a rip off. It feels like it was rushed, there are noticeably more bugs (though they are slight). Very little of substance is new or different (apart from the inclusion of multiplayer), all of the same frustrations are there and I mostly felt like playing different games when I was playing Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood.
  27. Nov 29, 2010
    83
    Like a bigger, better and more polished version of Assassin's Creed II.
  28. Nov 29, 2010
    80
    I find myself comparing Brotherhood to Fable II; both are incremental releases to a pre-established formula, and both have a ton of ideas that are not implemented to the fullest of their potential. The difference is that what Brotherhood does, more often than not, falls just short of brilliance, yet even when operating at 80 percent Ubisoft has crafted a game far better than most others on the market, and the superb multiplayer puts it over the top.
  29. Nov 26, 2010
    80
    Even though it lacks polish, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is every bit as entertaining as it's prequels. It's still good fun to stand on the top of ancient buildings, just seing the everyday life pass on the streets below and strike the opponents when they least expect it.
  30. Nov 25, 2010
    90
    In Assassin's Creed Brotherhood the only place where Ezio is sneaking around is Rome. But thats not bad news because the city of Rome is gigantic. There are some balancing problems and the multiplayer is not that entertaining. Anyway, Brotherhood is a wonderful game.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 614 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 134
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    I keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, thisI keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, this may be the last AC game I bother with. I seem to be in the minority, but I find these games rather dull and extremely repetitive, regardless of the pretty environments. This game in particular (as hinted at by the title) does not feel like a standalone game, it feels like more of the same of the last installment, sort of a glorified expansion pack. For people who love the series I guess this is more than enough, for me it is more of the same and a very narrow experience. I am also quite surprised that more people don't dislike the Animus stuff as much as I do, which has always felt awkward and tacked on since the first game (it doesn't help that our hero looks like a douche) - half baked sci fi elements used to make a very simple game appear complicated. With the addition of "Da Vinci Code" type conspiracy and "secrets" which were greatly expanded in AC2, I find the game comes off as just plain silly, and not in any way profound which it seems to insist that it is. I gave this a shot, but I think I am done with AC for good at this point. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for theThis is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for the first time that the gamers will get their hands on the multiplayer component of a pure action adventure game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    I've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recentlyI've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recently picking up AC2, beating it within 2 days and enjoying it somewhat I decided to get Brotherhood. I wasn't expecting a whole new game as even from the box art you can see it's just going to be a Assassin's Creed 2.5 reskin. You play, again, as Ezio, or more a cardboard cut out of him. He lacks the charm and immersive dialogue of the Ezio you play as in AC2. In fact, all the characters recycled from AC2 are bland and uninteresting. The funny and likeable Leonardo is now a wooden shopkeeper. As for the gameplay, frustrating is the word I would definitely describe this with. The free-running (something you do for the majority of the game) is as bad as previous Assassin's Creed titles and you'll often find yourself leaping off buildings to your death or climbing when you just don't want to. You CAN pull off some really good runs, leaping from building to building and swinging from poles and looks great if it works. Unfortunately, that would only be about half of the time. Combat has improved from AC2, with new weapons and combos and insane kill animations that make you feel like a badass. In reality, all you're doing is a very simple series of button presses. This isn't a bad thing, however, as you could take on several enemies at once. The graphics are, as the previous titles, great. I didn't notice any texture pop-in or buffering as you would in most other current gen console games. The textures are nice and sharp and Rome looks pretty in both night and day. Onto the actual tasks of the game, the missions. Frankly, I have never been more frustrated at some of the missions in this game than I have in all my years of playing video games. The new "full sync" feature will give you a 100% complete in a mission by performing a certain task, for example killing the target in a certain way, or beating the mission in a time limit. This sounds like a good, challenging feature, however if you try to fully sync every mission on your first play through, you're going to be tearing your hair out in frustration. The terrible AI and awful controls will be more of an annoyance than the badly thought out missions. In all, it has nice graphics and a nice setting, the sci-fi and historical cross over is cheesy but welcomed. The controls and gameplay are awful, the voice acting is wooden, the music is pretty nice, and then theres the fact it's a reskin and has early DLC. 4/10 Full Review »