User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 594 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 594

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    9
    This is my favorite Assassin's Creed game to date. Brotherhood takes everything that made the first two Assassin's Creed great and refines them to a point of perfection. The city of Rome is large and is full of secrets and side missions. The story is, in my opinion, the last good story in the Assassin's Creed games (Revelations and 3 were disappointing). Your new abilities are awesome, such as running an Assassin Brotherhood and being able to use crossbows. It's just a very well done, well polished game. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    in terms of story this game don't surpass the assassin's creed 2,but in terms of open world,graphics and secondary missions the brothehood takes the best.
  3. Mar 19, 2011
    9
    Much better than #2. I really enjoyed this game and it's DLC. Multiplayer is pretty decent, but it's not a must play multiplayer. I love the story here. The game is still way too easy. It needs to have difficulty settings. I love the way the game plays, from the fighting, to the climbing, to the running. I loved the sword fights. The controls are perfect as well. If I was still a kid, I would be Altair for Halloween.â Expand
  4. May 29, 2013
    9
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood took everything that made Assassin's Creed 2 great and amplified it several times over. Brotherhood is probably the best of the entire series (not my favorite, but it is the best) and added several things in the game play. Being in charge of a Guild of Assassins and being able to use them in combat was a plus. Being able to innovate the entire city of Rome instead of just a small villa is also another thing I liked and there are so many side quests that it adds hours of fun to the game and I highly recommend it. My problem with it is how combat driven it is. There are stealth missions in the game, but the focal point is primarily on the combat rather than stealth. The reason I bought Assassin's Creed. Other than that, it's an awesome game and worth playing. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    Assassins Creed Brotherhood is familiar turf. Taking what Assassins Creed II did so well, and polishing the fundamentals up and releasing a straight sequel that improves but doesn't refine what the franchise already offers. Well.....that's the typical sequel faffle. Brotherhood is a game all its own. Yes it has made advancements and enhancements to the AC mould, but it all adds up to a much polished, yet familiar game. The narrative is one element that has received increased attention. No longer is Desmond an inactive rascal performing pointless tasks outside the animus- he's now a platforming pro. Ezio's story arc is more focused, with Cesare as the main antagonist, as vanilla and scared as he may be. Combat is far more fluid, with new chain attacks and satisfyingly meaty combat. And enough can't be said about the outstanding attention to period detail. The only real disappointments here are the general lack of variety, (a series sore point) repetitive misson varieties and some awkward parkour chinks in an otherwise spit shined armour. Brotherhood is better in almost every way than the great ACII and proves that the series can offer more depth to a progressively legendary franchise. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    GAME OF THE YEAR!!!!!

    This game is amazing, the map is HUGE!!! The online play is FUN and NEW.
    There are new features added since AC2 but it works, i wont spoil it for anyone just BUY IT!!!
    Ezio continues to amaze and the game series has never had a bad remark from me so Assassins creed just keeps on raising the bar, this game like ive said is fun, it lasts long, lots of side quests,
    just pure EPIC.
    ubisoft are now the gaming company that rock!!!
    Assassins creed started with a good idea and has expanded along the way and just got better along the way also,

    If you own a xbox 360 or a ps3 and your thinking of buying a game STOP THINKING this is what you want!!!
    Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is an unmitigated triumph, taking the superlative groundwork laid by its forebear and building upon it. That you're confined to Rome is never an issue, as it's a vast and seamlessly sprawling, cohesive environment. Rebuilding the city and driving out the Borgia is about as compulsive as gaming gets and chances are, you'll sit glued to the game throughout and feverishly complete every Subject 16 puzzle, collect every item and refurbish every shop, aqueduct, faction building and underground tunnel you come across. Achingly beautiful to behold and incredible to play, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood will be the best Roman holiday you'll ever have. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a perfect sequel to Ac2 and one of the best games this year! The graphics and gameplay has been greatly improved and the story is the best in the series. This is not an expansion, it's one of the greatest sequels in gaming history.
  9. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The third installment in this amazing series is definitely one of 2010's greatest games. With improved and fresh game-play, the continuing of an epic story line, and a highly original multiplayer mode, (new to the series) Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a must own.
  10. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    I confess, I wasn't a fan of the previous AC titles. In fact, I hated number one and played two for an hour or so. It amazes me that I'm enjoying AC Brotherhood and if it wasn't for the wife wanting the tv on, I'd be playing right now! Graphically it's top drawer, sound is deep and menacing, story (which I'm not familiar with) is interesting, controls (my biggest bug bear from AC1) are much improved (combat still confuses at times) and the setting of Rome is brimming with atmosphere. I exchanged Need For Speed Hot Pursuit for AC3 (NFSHP is one of the biggest disappointments of the year) and I'm so glad I did. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  11. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's hard for me to find a bad thing to say about Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, it's just an amazing game. I remember thinking last year before we knew there was even going to be an AC: Brotherhood that it was going to be hard for Ubisoft to top AC2, but I am happy to say Brotherhood does in every single way. This is flat out a great game. Expand
  12. Dec 7, 2010
    9
    Almost seems like an assassins creed expansion pack but it is still very good. i really like the main concept of the story and the multiplayer is also very fun. if more assassins creed games are made i hope they are somewhat like this.
  13. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    It's superb. This should be a game to play and rate for 2010. This game came up with better storyline, graphics, gameplay, game mechanics and many more. I have enjoyed it. This game's superior adventerous.Its worth every penny.
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    I thought it was the best in the series but it still has a really dumb overarching plot. Great fun playing in Rome, really fun assassinations, really fun side missions. Overall great, but ruined by French Canadians trying to write an edgy non-American plot.
  15. Aug 6, 2011
    9
    I thought this game was excellent. Really well polished and I was surprised how well the Assassin Brotherhood game mechanic worked. The only problem I had was the game has issues with the controls, when you're trying to gently push a person and end up dragging a guard of his horse it can be very frustrating.
  16. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    Without any doubt one of the greatest franchises of all times. Mix of RPS, action adventure and history is something u just cannot ignore. Great graphics, perfect sound, no need for word waisting. Pure 10 !!!
  17. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    For sure one of the best games of the year. Multiplayer is probably one of the best i've ever played and the campaign is just as satisfying as all the other games in the series. How ever if your not looking for a multiplayer game your better off with one of the other creed games because they are cheaper and probably have just as good of a campaign
  18. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is a deep and compelling game, and certainly my favorite single player experience of this year. The gameplay is solid and fluid. While it really is mostly the same as AC2, what this delivers is a new type of experience without completely changing what worked well the first time around. It's one of the best games ever made.
  19. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    After Assassin's Creed 2, I was wondering what Ubisoft could possibly do to improve this concept... well, they have. More things to do, better customization and in all improved gameplay in fighting from a horse, shooting and more. POSITIVE: Incredible story, still great wall climbing, training and using assassin's to aid you in your battle and send them to missions across Europe. Great visuals. Atmospheric music. NEGATIVE: Climbing/running mechanics can work against you in quick sequences, leaving you behind or even dead by falling. CONCLUSION: 'Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood' is excellent in almost every aspect, it's an improvement on the last one and quite satisfying to play. Expand
  20. Jul 25, 2011
    9
    I somehow managed to purchase every AC game prior (for budget prices) and was always left disappointed. I felt tht as much as they excelled in style and environment, they all lacked too much in the gameplay department. This latest installment is an improvement on the previous games and finally lives up to the brand's reputation. A great game, the combat was slightly tweaked yet miraculously, significantly improved, the story pacing is better and the graphics are, at times, spectacular. This is the first AC that I truly enjoyed from start to finish; and, while I got it for 20 bucks it would have been well worth full price. I'm now looking forward to Revelations. P.S. - check out the revelation CG trailer, probably the best trailer I've seen in a long time. Great game! Expand
  21. SFN
    Jan 5, 2011
    9
    for me to tell you this game is awful is really hard because this game is amazing, the graphic design of the game felt right and the stroyline is really cool, they added new features since the second like the abilitly to call in assassins to do your dirty work is really cool plus the multiplayer is amazing, but the game does have its problems like controling your guy can become difficult at times and some glitches that really dont happen that much but besides that this the best of the series so far Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Wow!!! Incredible game. Brought everything back that you loved from AC 1+2, and got rid of everything you hated. Well placed new features, such as new weapon choices. Well developed story. Multiplayer is just perfect for this game. None other like it and it will keep you wanting to play it for years to come.
  23. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    Best game in the Assassin's Creed series. Ezio is my favorite game character and Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is one of my favorite video games. This is a game is an epic journey.
  24. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    Brotherhood continues the story of Ezio from Assassin's Creed II, and also Dezmond. If you have not played any of the others then you would not understand the story of this game to well. The game play is about the same as the second one. You can loot people, shoot guards with your hidden gun, hire mercenaries, and many other similar features. The story mode is not near as long as the Assassin's Creed II . I would say it is about half as long. So if you are someone that's looking for a long single player game, look elsewhere. The graphics in this game are great. I believe that this game has the best water graphics. When you look at the water it looks real. The multiplayer increased this games replay value. Running around with your friends and killing people is great. The best mode by far is Manhunt. In manhunt four players try to hunt another four players that are hiding. The hiding team gets points by hiding and stunning the hunters; the hunting team gets point by killing the other team. Their are different abilities that affect your player. Several abilities are the hidden gun, smoke bomb, charge, changing NPC's to look like what you are, and many others. Wanted is another popular game mode for online play. This is where players face off each other and everyone has a specific target to kill. It changes overtime and so you will always have someone hunting you while you are trying to hunt down someone else yourself. While you are playing the game you level up and gain new abilities, new characters to play as, different colors, and more game modes. The only thing I did not like about the multiplayer is that you can only rank up to level fifty. Once you get to the max level that's it. You will soon stop playing the multiplayer because their is no sense of accomplishment. (They should have included some sort of prestige system like in the recent Call of Duty games). The main component that makes this game great is the multiplayer. The story is good too, but you must play the previous ones before. Expand
  25. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    I scored this game a 9 out of 10.

    This is because while it is more of an "expandalone" game it takes what AC2 did and improves on it in nearly every area.
    The UI is vastly improved, the combat engine is not anywhere near as frustrating to play with, movement and the other gameplay elements are now fun to actually do instead of just irritating. I easily had the most fun playing this
    game of all the AC games.

    Sadly, while Ezio remains as engaging and interesting a character, this game is neither as funny as AC2 nor is it as engaging in terms of the storyline. Which is why it doesn't get the 10 out of 10 score. The universe remains interesting and deep however.

    Best AC game period.

    Go buy it now.
    Expand
  26. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    This is an amazing game the great single player returns and the multiplayer is amazing. The only bad thing I would say is that the storyline is not as good as Assasins creed 2s.
  27. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Ubisoft have taken AC:2, and tweaked it ever so slightly. I would recommend this game if you want to follow the story of the game, as it progresses both the story of Ezio and Desmond in his life outside of the Animus. The game also does a good job of balancing the story as well as introducing new players to the series. One of the big positives of this game is the multiplayer, which is thoroughly entertaining and probably the most innovative of any game. The negatives of this game are that the gameplay is almost identical to the last game, and playing through the game can be repetitive and boring at times. My advice is, if you are new to the series or have played the first two games and needs to keep up with the Assassin's Creed storyline, then this game is for you. If you are looking for a completly new experience, look elsewhere. Expand
  28. May 25, 2011
    9
    Great game. Fun singleplayer experience and one of the best multiplayer experiences ever. The biggest problem with the game is that the story gets really weird and by the end the game is just a little too easy.
  29. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    perfect graphics 10
    perfect game play 10
    great story 9.5
    great soundtracks 9.5
    ------
    EPIC
    ------
    what we could ask more from this game to get back in history walking on the streets of old Italy with the awesome Ezio
  30. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    AC:Brother Hood is nothing short from amazing as Ezio is back in this spectacular sequel to AC 2. It has a good story and and enough content to keep you going fro ages with there being even more new and exciting things to do around Roma whether that be an assassination or scaling up to the top of the Colosseum. The games combat is basically the same as it was in AC 2 but that doesn't mean it isn't satisfying considering the vast array of wepons you can use hell you can even use a broom, the climbing however has changed slightly requiring you to be more precise with where you are going, but tbh it rarely does what you want and the climbing is a lot less fluent as it was in AC 2 which is a major disappointment.

    Graphics are breathtaking on the environment as every detail is captured perfectly, but the graphics on the face aren't done that well and the splash effect on the water is badly done, the water itself is done really well though. Sound is as authentic as it gets with the Italian voice acting and every step move and crumble of a cliff when you scale it is captured perfectly.

    The multiplayer although I haven't got the chance to play it can be nothing but a bonus from what I have heard and due to this being the only pure action adventure game with multiplayer on the 360 is worth buying on its own it probably rivals Uncharted's multiplayer
    Expand
  31. Jan 7, 2011
    9
    A very fun game to play. There is so much happening all at once in the game which could be seen as a negative but for the fans it's definitely a positive. A great bridge to AC3.
  32. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    I thought having to play with Ezio again instead of a new ancestor would be boring when I first heard about this title but how wrong was I? Great sequel to AC2 with amazing game play and a mind blowing story. Loved how you train other assassins and can use their help to grow.
    As always, the AC storyline progresses in ways which makes you want more.

    This game not only has a good story line
    but also tons of side play action which will make you want to come back to the game even when it is completed (though getting 100% completion here is, in my opinion as an average gamer, quite difficult) Expand
  33. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing in every aspect. The graphics are amazing, the combat is improved, the story is solid. Ond of the best games of the year and easily a game of the year contender.
  34. X11
    Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Outstanding. This is the first video game series to keep me interested since Zelda. Unbelievable story and game play. You find yourself forgetting the world around you is rendered by a graphics card and is not actual 16th century Rome. Perhaps it's the bleeding effect... Anyway, unreal experience. A must play.
  35. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    After this game i cant wait until Revelations, This game proved to be another amazing assassins creed. Multiplayer was great, but the problem was that i could never get into a game. The storyline was perfect, the new combat was great, and is such an addicting game.
  36. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    Once again Ezio Auditore da Firenze is our protagonist around 15th Century Rome. I canâ
  37. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Such an amazing game. I don't know how this can be improved in Revelations. The campaign missions are original yet are so interesting. The graphics are as good as ever and the addition of Borgia Towers add another edge to the double-edged blade that is ACB. The multiplayer was welcomed with open arms yet after a few hours of online game play the maps and the game modes seemed to get boring. Who would want to chase a person while been chased all the way up to level 50? Though I only had it for a fortnight as I had borrowed it from a friend, it felt as if I was there, as the one and only Ezio Audtiore. Overall a great game made better. A must buy Expand
  38. Aug 19, 2011
    9
    This is an awesome game. It will keep you busy for hours with its massive amounts of missions and side missions. The graphics are very nice and the story is pretty interesting. The only gripe I have is the controls can be a little crazy at times; sometimes Ezzio doesn't go exactly where you intended him to go. Also the new battle system makes fighting your enemies almost too easy at times. I don't recall dying once the entire game. Overall a very good game though and worth picking up used at your local Gamestop or renting for the weekend. Expand
  39. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    (Out of 10)
    Game play: 95
    Dialog: 96
    Campaign: 98
    Pacing: 95
    Graphics: 95
    Free roam: 99
    Multi player: 89
    Replay rate: 100 Overall: 94
    Assassins creed brotherhood is an impressive installment to the AC franchise. A very solid game.
  40. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is 'THE' BEST game EVER made. It single-handedly beats the crap out of every game out there. An Improvement over Assassin's Creed 2 in almost every area! Diverse Gameplay, amazing graphics, unmatched presentation in storytelling, breathtaking soundtrack and an epic combat system, gel together superbly well. This is UBISOFT's most Outstanding Achievement!! "PERFECT" Sequel to Assassin's Creed 2. Satisfying epilogue to Ezio Auditore's story and a perfect jump start to Assassin's Creed 3. The Story will SHOCK the crap out of you! Expand
  41. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing.The diversity in gameplay,the amazing graphics and unmatched presentation gel together suprisingly well to form a game that is ac brotherhood.This is a game that no gamer should miss and a pure action adventure game that no one who is interested in the renaissance should pass on.
  42. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    Assassin's Creed consistently delivers an extremely engrossing story, with incredibly interesting concepts and developments. The free running and stealth aspect of the game is enhanced upon from its predecessors and this makes the assassin feel much greater. The recruited assassin's are a nice concept, but I feel that they make the game too easy in many ways, which has always been one of my issues with the games, however this does not seem to take much away from the fun which is great. Furthermore, the added multiplayer component was the part I was most anxious to see before release as it's a very different concept to other multiplayer games and in that sense was either going to be awesome or a flop. Fortunately, it was executed excellently and provides a very enjoyable experience, despite the issues with slow matchmaking and a fairly low level cap. Overall, as an expansion Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is excellent and well worth the money even for just the single player campaign but the multiplayer helps add a new dimension and greater longevity. Expand
  43. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    I went from completing AC2 right into Brotherhood, and since the former title was fresh in my mind, I was immediately able to see the improvements in Brotherhood. In AC2 you got to experience Ezio's growth as an assassin, but Brotherhood was great, because from the start, your a bad@$$. The only fault I feel I need to voice is that you pretty much have to have already played the previous game; they kinda just throw you into it, and the puzzles are more difficult from the beginning as well. But overall, I highly recommend this game. Expand
  44. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Assassins Creed Brotherhood is definitely my Game of the Year. The story is still great continuing right where AC2 finished. Theres also a lot more to do this time with Leonardo's machines getting taken over by Borgia. Sending your assassins on missions, calling them in to help you in single player. Plus this time theres a great multiplayer mode!! 10/10
  45. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Been playing this since midnight. It deserves a 10. The single player campaign will take your breath away. The city is so amazing. It enhances on the graphics of AC II and it seems the AI of the guards has been greatly improved. No longer will they simply attack you one at a time. They now have the sense to rush you, It causes you to be more assassin like, and not just run in there with your sowrd out since when facing too many people, you WILL get beat. Multiplayer is new and fresh. And a word to ApocolypseBrown, shouldn't they filter you out since yours isn't even a review? Your the one bogging everything down with reviews that aren't real. Expand
  46. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Assasins Creed brotherhood is amazing in all aspects. Out of all the AC this is my favorite by far. There is a great plot but my favorite part of the game is that fact how many things have changed. Instead of the repetetiveness in all the other AC there are new ways that keep me occupied while at the same time are exteremely fun. Overall ubisoft made an extermemly fun and interststing new AC which not only is unique but offers a definitive ending to Ezios journey Expand
  47. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for the first time that the gamers will get their hands on the multiplayer component of a pure action adventure game.
  48. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    I am so happy to see that this game was executed excellently. It saddens me to see people think that games like Mass Effect are better than this. This game is definitely worth the price if you are a fan of AC2. Great compelling story, fluent combat gameplay, and fantastic graphics. This game makes you feel like a complete badass with the epic combat system.
  49. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    1. Ok, this game is gorgeous. The graphics in this game are really good. Characters look the better than the previous two, and Voice acting is outstanding. But the story is very rushed, and not moving (lacking a lot of feeling.) It feels sometimes that your just rushing to go thru these memory sequences trying figure out what happens next. Instead whereas in AC2 the story flowed, you had no clue what was gonna happen to Ezio next, and it made u want to play more. But AC Brotherhood doesn't do that. Ur dropped in this story and rushed thru it. Disappointing ending as well. The final battle between Ezio and .... is fun better than the last ending battle in AC2 with Ezio fighting the pope. But the 'alien god' ending in AC2 was amazing, it gave me goosebumps when i watched it. But on AC Brotherhood, it didn't deliver, sadly. Combat is the best, the fluid strikes make u feel like a badass, sometimes i would just run up to some guys and fight them just to use the combat. A couple different counter moves but where the combat really shines is the executions (which is where u counter and then immediately attack a new soldier, then that automatically launches the executions which are brutal.) One execution with the Dagger is he shoves it up the guys chin thru his head. They are brutal (and awesome). ROUNDUP-Graphics and voice acting = Amazing Story lacks emotion and is rushed. I Give this game a 8.6 Gameplay is the best yet, combat is outstanding, better than last two combined! Expand
  50. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    great story in both timelines, its alternate history if you cant wrap your head around the story you wont get it also play the first 2 games to realy get it this is one of the best game ever with a multiplayer wich is great it will compell you to play dangling dlc in front of you its purly awsome
  51. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    i consider the best game of saga, that was overcome by the black flag what was launched 3 years after. The gameplay is perfect, the game has hours and hours of gameplay, all is beautiful and person was getting better, at its best, Ezio is the most beloved saga.
  52. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    I think for alot of factors with ACB, with people complaining that most of it was recycled, yes that is true, but think of it like this, Ubisoft released the game exactly a year after AC2. Also don't forget, it was able to preorder in July so in reality Ubisoft only worked on the game itself for problebly 6 months. I was also pleased at alot of things that made this game better from AC2, the combat is much faster pace and you don't have to do the same old routen of counter kill and dodge, they also added multiplayer with multiple maps, i haven't played multiplayer yet but i do know there are some bugs but overall very cool and original. All in All this is How I would rate it for people who didn't want to read this whole paragraph.

    Gameplay:
    Combat-9/10
    Open World-7/10
    User Friendly-8/10
    Climbing/Jumping-7/10
    Side Items-8/10
    Graphics(Quality)-7/10

    Overall Gameplay-46/60

    Plot/Characterization:
    Length of Game-9/10
    Characters' Personalities-6/10
    Ezio's Storyline-8/10
    Desmonds Storyline-5/10
    Pace of Story-7/10
    Ending-10/10

    Overall Plot/Characterization: 45/60

    Extra Points:

    Release Date Length-(+10)
    Uniqueness-(+5)
    Still has Basic Original Traits-(+5)
    Sensation to get Sequal:(+5)

    Added points Total:25
    Total Points: 116/120
    9.6/10 (rounded)
    Expand
  53. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Best in the series. And is one of the standout titles of the year. The ambitious multiplayer component fuses together surprisingly well with the single player campaign. This is the greatest sequel ever made.
  54. Dec 6, 2010
    9
    If you liked AC2, you'll love the continuation of the story, not to mention exploring Rome. Only complaint is rebuilding all the shops, you'll get tired of that damn animation!
  55. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    I came into AC:Brotherhood with caution as i didn't want to stay in the same time period. AC 1 was set during the Crusades and AC 2 the Renaissance. I asked myself why did the next AC have to stay with Ezio and the same time period. I would have loved to maybe go a step further in history. During WW II maybe, or just go straight to Desmond and the present day and do a story with him. However, getting the game when it came out i tried to forget all about that. The story is good and picks up right where AC 2 left off. Nothing great about it but, lets face it, in an add on style game like this i doubt you're meant to care much about the story. The gameplay is still as fluid as the two previous installments. The addition of multiplayer is quintessential to buying this game. Along with the Kane and Lynch multiplayer. It is the most original and unique multiplayer experiences and is very fun. There is nothing more thrilling that tailing a target, pouncing for them and all of a sudden someone grabs you and ends your life out of nowhere. Even getting killed online is an exciting experience whereas in most games its just frustrating. However, it may be my personal problem but finding a game and joining takes an age. All in all, its a good little game, if it didnt have online capabilities, it is kind of a useless addition to the series as its the same as AC 2. I would give it a healthy 7.5 Expand
  56. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    This game is with out a doubt a massive improvement on all other AC titles and is one the games of the year. The multiplayer is innotive and a change from the boring shoot em up titles.
  57. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Ubisoft fixed almost every complaint I had about AC2, all within the space of a year - the economic system is now deep and worthwhile, side-missions are in abundance and each carry a bonus objective, combat is more satisfying than ever, and the new Lair of Romulus shrines are fantastic exploration sequences. The last game's graphical weaknesses - notably in the facial area - have also been smoothed out, and Rome seems less white-washed than the cities of AC2. IGN have got this one backward - AC2 is an almost flawless experience, even without the multiplayer, and unmissable for fans of the franchise or games like Uncharted. Expand
  58. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is pretty much amazing. I was shocked at how much better than ACII was, which I loved. The combat is better, the assassin management is fun, and there's very little greater than calling your Assassin acolytes to pick off a random guard. The multiplayer was also an amazing surprise, and I regret not picking this up new. Learned my lesson
  59. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    The team at Ubisoft Montreal really nailed implementation of a new and great multiplayer experience. The premise of the AC: Brotherhood multiplayer is that you are one of six to eight Abstergio Templars placed into the animus for "employee training". There are several settings (some unlockable) and multiplayer modes. I have only played the "WANTED" scenario although there are also team scenarios.


    in WANTED, you and the other players are playing against each other, but only one specific player is your target. Other Templars may also be after your target (I think the number of pursuers go up the higher the player's killing streak). Your objective is to take out your target (in the most covert manner) before any other pursuers do and before any of your pursuers take you out. It's basically 100 points for a kill or for a successful escape plus bonuses for finess such as killing from a crouching position, from being hidden, from three levels of covertness, and a host of other bonuses. Plus there are bonuses for using a variety of different bonus methods.


    There are a limited number of character models in the game, so there are plenty of other NPCs wandering around who look exactly like your target and who look like you. This can be used to your advantage. You can hide in a group of NPCs where one or more of the characters looks exactly like you. If your pursuer kills the wrong target, he loses his contract on you and is penalized for a few seconds as a new target is picked for him.


    There are quite a few unlockables that includes weapons (such as the hidden gun and throwing knives, perks (you start out with the ability to change into another character model for a time), and characters you can play. There are challenges with multiple levels that can also award you experience. I think I like it because it takes patience and the typical Call of Duty techniques don't work. The "run-and-gun" method fails, because as soon as your target catches wind that you are on their tail, they start running and often escape. The camping method doesn't work because there are always one or more templars after your ass and you are a sitting duck if you don't keep moving. It takes real finess to score a lot of points, not just a bunch of kills. You will often find that the leader does not have the highest number of kills. The dynamics of a Renaissance city filled with people not only adds to the experience, it is key to gameplay. The cities are complex and beautiful. The presense of perhaps dozens of NPCs identical to each player makes it very challenging. When your "radar" shows that you are within a few meters of your target, there could be several others who look exactly like him and you must take out the right one. Or your target could be disguised to look like someone else. Or they could use the "morph" unlockable in which they stand in a group of NPCs and everyone in that group looks identical. There is a large sense of satisfaction from seeing the message that "your pursuer killed a civilian" and, perhaps, some points to go along with it if it was your cleverness that caused it.


    I didn't plan on writing a mini-review of AC: Brotherhood Multiplayer. , but I guess that's kind of what this is. Still haven't touched the single player campaign and I won't until I get past that stupid capture-the-flag challenge at the Venice carnival in Assassin's Creed II. Nor have I tried the other multiplayer scenarios other than "wanted".


    I can recommend AC: Brotherhood simply on it's multiplayer. It is an absolute blast. Oh, and the campaign is supposed to be good too, I hear.
    Collapse
  60. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This version of the series is the greatest release so far! Yet again Ubisoft has delivered a excellent product. It got a lot of variety and has a-lot of new game-play. The variety in the game with the training mode, the ability to buy stores and have your own little business, the assasin ssignments , recruting etc. The new achievement system for each mission where you can get 100% synchronization in certain conditions also brings a great challenge to the game. Game-play is as great as always, even now the developers have added more functionality to control your assassin the fun factor is greatly improved.

    All the extra new features, variety and game-play of this game has boosted it to be one of the best games Iwe ever played!
    Expand
  61. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    This is a beautifully done game. I've played through every game in the AC franchise, and did get bored with the repetitiveness of the first two. But the third one cures a lot of that, giving you a lot of extras to work for, and mixing the game up a lot.
  62. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    This game is not monumentally different form AC2, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. The execution fighting mechanic seems to flow kills together and you don't have to fall into the same repetitive attack-counter fighting system the series is known for. This is not an expansion of AC2 because of the 30 hour long single player (if all the flags and feathers are collected and all of the side missions) and the surprisingly deep multiplayer campaign, it is a quality sequel that would be my game of the year. Expand
  63. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Rainbow six Vegas 2 is a well designed game and a lot of people love it. This game makes you feel like youâ
  64. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    While not reinventing the wheel or taking any big chances, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood takes several small steps, all in the right direction. The additions of multiplayer, new customization features for Ezio, and the ability to recruit and utilize other assassins to your cause are all welcome features. I did feel the story could have been a little more involved, and the assassins you recruit could've ultimately played a larger role, but ultimately those were small hiccups in a sea of greatness. Overall a terrific game. Expand
  65. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    I..... really can't define how complex and vast the game can be. Many, many complainers rate this game 3's and 2's because of a certain ledge or building they can't climb, or complaining that they feel overwhelmed with all the activity and objectives that must be completed. Well, heres the deal: Untraversable building: You suck. If you feel overwhelmed: Read a book and get off the couch and get some brain power for once. These are only a few reasons in the vast majority of idiots who can't even play the game because they don" have enough brain power t realize whats going on. I am addicted with running around Rome (or climbing) and sneaking around Borgia Zones and taking out Captains and Towers with well-timed attacks and strategy, and the Followers Lairs to collect the Armor of Brutus (Though it makes you look like a animal abuser and a idiot) makes you just about a deadly, agile and acrobactic tank. Don't listen to the negative reviews about running around and repetitve gameplay, they obviously didn't know what they were getting into when the first AC was described as a "open world" game. I mean, come on people, we've all played GTA and Crackdown, haven't we? We know that games like these require a extensive amount of time to appreciate it, right? So, if this message got to your head, kindly refrain from nasty comments and reviews. Also, I am stumped by postitive reviews that only involve " gOOd gwapics" (typing due to common typing accuracy on most game reviews) I mean, really? This game could have had post-80's Pac-Man style graphics, and I bet SMART critics would still rate this game extremely high. Multiplayer is a great addition to AC, but sometimes I got extremely frustrated after I kill 5 targets in a row with master strategy and positioning, but only to escape one guy only to be assassinated from above while being camped by. Those kinds of things should not appear and diminish a otherwise excellent experience. This concludes my review. Have fun with the game for the people that like it, and if your not on board, because of certain in-game reasons, buy the strategy guide. This seriously helps your experience, and if you dont have it, it will be impossible to complete the mandatory Follower's Lair. Have fun with this game, and gamers game on! Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this game. I own all the other AC games and I will be getting Revelations. The series changes enough each game to validate each games place in the series, so it keeps everything fresh and interesting. I also like the fact that the studio caught on to Ezio's popularity and decided to give him his own trilogy with a trilogy. Anyway, the game play is solid as ever, the addition of recruits is brilliant fun and of course its always fun pulling of a mission perfectly and getting the top sync for it. My ONLY complaint is that the multi player is a bit underdeveloped, I don't mean its unbalanced or not fun, on the contrary Its REALLY fun and incredibly balanced as every ability has a pro and a con and an appropriate counter method. By underdeveloped I mean that the lobby system is beyond broken and the edition of free DLC harmed the community rather than helped it. For example, there were 2 free DLC packs. Great right? Well, no. See if you have Pack 2 activated for example then you will only come across people with the same pack, so it almost halves your potential player base. Now imagine the fact there are 2 free DLC packs and 1 you have to pay for (To be fair, it comes free with an added story mission). So now the matchmaking servers are a nightmare to navigate. However if you are not a basement dweller and like myself actually have some friends, private matches can be a complete laugh to play in. So thats my review. Completely solid single player and a brilliant multi player only let down by bad decisions about connection issues. Expand
  67. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Este juego ees de los mejores q he jugado ya que tiene buenas graficas y no son mierdas como los call of mierda y tambn porq es un asesino bn chingon.
  68. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Innovation is what comes out of this installment. With new mechanics like using Assassin recruits to aid you in combat is a big plus. The new combo feature was also great implementing new, varied ways to kill your enemies. Also the secret missions were fun and challenging, I was hardly disappointed with this game. Multiplayer is a good mix of free-for-all and objective based modes, and also allows customization to fit your play style. The only downside is that some missions were a bit too linear, and were not that fun to do. Otherwise, its worth trying. Expand
  69. May 8, 2012
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the AC series though I was concerned about this game. I must say this game doesn't disappoint. It takes everything AC 2 did well and improves on them. The combat is better, the movement is better, and while I don't think the story is better than AC 2, it does set up AC 3 because of all the Desmond stuff and the Ezio stuff is still fun to do. I really liked all the meta game stuff that they added in AC 2 and brotherhood does that stuff but just does it better. The multiplayer is actually pretty fun as well. This is a must own for any AC fan but players new to AC will probably be lost story wise, so they will need to play the first 2 AC games to understand what's going on. AC; Brotherhood get a 9 from me. Expand
  70. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood surpasses the previous AC games and is the best Assassin's Creed game yet. The SP is different, but great and the MP adds a ton of aweme on top of that. Definitely a GOTY 2010 candidate!
  71. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    A true complete Solo part and an Innovative Multiplayer, this game it's just awesome !
    Lots of hours and an interesting story, but my favorite is this new Multiplayer game, it's just the best experience of video game of this year.
  72. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood has received many improvements since its predecessor with the combat improvements and the AI, the combat now feels fluid and quick; now the enemy AI dont just sit around and wait for to finish fighting another enemy now if your in the middle of an attack or counter they will attack you. But the game does seem to be lacking in its story and there a few 'boring' missions and I do wish there were more assassination missions in the main story, what I loved from AC2 was the assassination missions were you were killing for revenge against the people who killed your family and Ezio felt like he was determined to get revenge where as this game Ezio just seems uninspired, for me the best parts of the story were the parts were you take control of Desmond, its clear that in the sequel that you will be getting more familiar with playing as Desmond in the future games.


    Another new addition to the series is multiplayer and it is great, it has a certain "Cat and Mouse" feel to it where you must hunt down other players while also being hunted yourself, in my opinion it is the best multiplayer of the year.

    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is an excellent game with a compelling multiplayer and some great new features, the story may not be epic as AC2 but is still a great play.
    Expand
  73. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is probably one of the best games I've ever played. The engine is beautiful, and Rome, although perhaps slightly smaller than the three cities of Assassin's Creed 2, is far more beautiful, far more varied, and much more interesting to navigate. This is a great example of taking everything that was good about a game, leaving out some things that weren't so good, and adding several great new features. The "brotherhood" feature seemed a little strange and tacked on from the description, but actually playing the game, it works extremely well. I'm out of space, but this is Game of the Year for me. Expand
  74. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When you play this game the words boring, terrible, and trash are the last things that come to mind. For lack of a better word this game is epic. Its a masterpiece and not many seem to argue. Cesare and Lucrezia (or however you spell their names) are the tabloid regulars of their time, Ezio's wisdom makes him a completely different person even though he's the same wisecracking womanizer we've come to love, and the apprentices are a great addition and can defy most odds. Going back to modern times, Desmond has matured and gathered great skill, his gear has changed a lot. Well I hope everyone enjoys the Colosseum, we can all agree Lucy won't Expand
  75. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    As much as I liked the first two games in the series, I expected AC: Brotherhood to suffer like so many other games do once they reach the point that they can be considered a trilogy. The two features introduced to the series in this game that I saw as having the potential to ruin the game were the multiplayer and the introduction of the ability to control other assassins in your order. Having now played through the complete single player and just started experiencing the multiplayer I can say that they both appear to be a good fit with the game. The use of multiplayer in a stealth based game is one of the most unique online experiences to be had. Any concerns of the multiplayer being too slow are quickly alleviated when you realize that it allows you the opportunity to start noticing the little differences in your surroundings that help identify your targets. Knowing that each person passing you on the street could be either AI controlled or another assassin creates a tension not normally felt in the run and gun mentality of most multiplayer games.

    Introducing the use of other assassins to the game and the ability to use them when necessary was honestly the most concerning new feature to the series for me. My initial idea was that it was going to be a complete change in the style of gameplay and require the player to direct other assassins rather than doing the dirty work yourself. This was almost enough to make me not want to buy the game, but in the end I would have missed out on a great experience. This feature should be looked at as another weapon in your arsenal rather than a burden. There are some great moments that can be had using the feature but you are never put in a position where it feels like the action is being taken away from you. As other reviewers have noted, AC: Brotherhood brings back the good features of the previous games while attempting to fine tune the points that needed it. This gameplay experience has felt like the natural progression of the series and leaves me only wanting more.
    Expand
  76. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is an outstanding achievement by UBISOFT. An improvement over Assassin's Creed II in every way! The Soundtrack is a dark masterpiece, the story is superb, presentation is masterful and the combat system is badass! Ezio Auditore is my hero, my idol! Game of the Year 2010. Possibly one of the best games of the decade with respect to Art Direction, Presentation, Production Values! Expand
  77. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Story: 10/10 Presentation: 10/10 Character Development: 10/10 Gameplay: 10/10 Combat: 10/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Music: 10/10 Sound: 9.5/10 Replay Value: 10/10 Achievements: 9/10 Ending: 10/10 Total = 107/110 Rating = 9.72/10 Result: Breathtaking Experience. Cinematic and Mindblowing. Game of the Year. Perfect Bridge between AC2 and the upcoming AC3. Must-Play for AC Fans.
  78. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    This game isn't a masterpiece like Assassin's Creed 2, but surely is very close to be one. PROS: In almost all aspects AC Brotherhood it's a great sequel. Some gameplay innovations like new combat tricks, new weapons and the assassin's recruits and his missions made really great improvements on the AC Series and will be very welcome in the next games of the AC series. The game story is outstanding, it's probably the best game story of all video games ever. Since the first AC this novel about the templars vs assassin's war is increasing in complexity and became in AC Brotherhood a master piece, with the most awesome game ending of 2010. Also, the addition of Lair of Romulus quests, however really aside of main quest, it's very fun and the puzzles remember the gold ages of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia franchises.

    The addition of multiplayer was very well made and it's hard to think in another kind of multiplayer which could be addicting and faithful to AC experience.

    CONS:
    The addition of an extensive list of side quests to create a more lengthy game can be frustrating to some gamers, because the main quest it's quite short. This can be forgiven by the fact that some gamers could have no patience to play along a game with more than 20 hours of gameplay, but in the long run the game looks "unglued".

    The con above can be also an side effect of the poor polish of this game. Even though still more polished as many of games launched in the last year, it's clearly worst of AC 2 in this aspect. However, AC 2 was developed in 2 years and AC Brotherhood in just 1, but my point still.

    In the end, it's a really great game, a truly sequel for an franchise with great games. As a AC fan, i'm anxiously waiting for AC 3 (or whatever), while playing the awesome multiplayer of AC Brotherhood :)
    Expand
  79. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    My favourite game! The story is very good. Again. The multiplayer good too. My fvourite characters is Agugosto the Blacksmith! For me is the Game of the year!
  80. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I have to say, this was one of the best games I played all of 2010. I'm a huge fan of "stealth" type games, and the Assassin's creed series, and this game was no disappointment. The main selling aspect of this game was the new multiplayer, which is one of the most enjoyable and unique multiplayers I have ever played. Pros: Huge world to explore in the pretty city of Rome. New assassins guild. It's so satisfying to call upon your minions to do your work for you.
    Huge re playability, which so many side quests to keep you occupied. Cons:
    Multiplayer matchmaking is HORRENDOUSLY slow. This needs to be fixed quickly!
    De-synchronisation when detected missions can be tedious and possibly cause some rage quitting.
    Expand
  81. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Like the rest of the AC series, this is a great platformer. OK, I love the puzzles, the action, the story, the characters, but the platforming, especially in the Shrines/Temples reminds me of the best of the old 2D platformers. Having to figure out where the next jump in a series has to go is fun, sometimes frustrating, often funny, as when you spot the next handhold as you're falling once more to the floor/water below. And now the flags add more to them. Expand
  82. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is amazing in many ways, it has a great story and game play. it's side missions give you something extra to do, with upgrades with weapons armor, equipment and ect. How Rodrigo Borgia is killed by his son is a really good twist. Expand
  83. Jan 27, 2011
    0
    The team at Ubisoft Montreal really nailed implementation of a new and great multiplayer experience. The premise of the AC: Brotherhood multiplayer is that you are one of six to eight Abstergio Templars placed into the animus for "employee training". There are several settings (some unlockable) and multiplayer modes. I have only played the "WANTED" scenario although there are also team scenarios.


    in WANTED, you and the other players are playing against each other, but only one specific player is your target. Other Templars may also be after your target (I think the number of pursuers go up the higher the player's killing streak). Your objective is to take out your target (in the most covert manner) before any other pursuers do and before any of your pursuers take you out. It's basically 100 points for a kill or for a successful escape plus bonuses for finess such as killing from a crouching position, from being hidden, from three levels of covertness, and a host of other bonuses. Plus there are bonuses for using a variety of different bonus methods.


    There are a limited number of character models in the game, so there are plenty of other NPCs wandering around who look exactly like your target and who look like you. This can be used to your advantage. You can hide in a group of NPCs where one or more of the characters looks exactly like you. If your pursuer kills the wrong target, he loses his contract on you and is penalized for a few seconds as a new target is picked for him.


    There are quite a few unlockables that includes weapons (such as the hidden gun and throwing knives, perks (you start out with the ability to change into another character model for a time), and characters you can play. There are challenges with multiple levels that can also award you experience. I think I like it because it takes patience and the typical Call of Duty techniques don't work. The "run-and-gun" method fails, because as soon as your target catches wind that you are on their tail, they start running and often escape. The camping method doesn't work because there are always one or more templars after your ass and you are a sitting duck if you don't keep moving. It takes real finess to score a lot of points, not just a bunch of kills. You will often find that the leader does not have the highest number of kills. The dynamics of a Renaissance city filled with people not only adds to the experience, it is key to gameplay. The cities are complex and beautiful. The presense of perhaps dozens of NPCs identical to each player makes it very challenging. When your "radar" shows that you are within a few meters of your target, there could be several others who look exactly like him and you must take out the right one. Or your target could be disguised to look like someone else. Or they could use the "morph" unlockable in which they stand in a group of NPCs and everyone in that group looks identical. There is a large sense of satisfaction from seeing the message that "your pursuer killed a civilian" and, perhaps, some points to go along with it if it was your cleverness that caused it.


    I didn't plan on writing a mini-review of AC: Brotherhood Multiplayer. , but I guess that's kind of what this is. Still haven't touched the single player campaign and I won't until I get past that stupid capture-the-flag challenge at the Venice carnival in Assassin's Creed II. Nor have I tried the other multiplayer scenarios other than "wanted".


    I can recommend AC: Brotherhood simply on it's multiplayer. It is an absolute blast. Oh, and the campaign is supposed to be good too, I hear.
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Assasssin's Creed: Brotherhood has great atmosphere, beautiful visuals, and overall excellent craftsmanship… Just don't expect anything new beyond the multiplayer.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    90
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a pleasant surprise in every respect, even though some of the concerns you might have had regarding the single map and ageing formula still stand with the final product.
  3. Jan 8, 2011
    85
    Those wanting more from Ezio, and to revel in the period set in Assassins Creed II for a little longer, will find fond memories in Assassins Creed Brotherhood; however I couldn't shake the feeling that I'd seen it all before and was being dragged along for the same old ride.