User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 734 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 734
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2010
    5
    Garbage... another poor game-movie like any other ''wow good graphics game! ''this generation that requires no skill to beat and again with laughable AI and no missions diversity.Seriously good graphics? I just can't understand how reviewers are blind about the actual game play and content and they just praise the visuals, cut scenes and voice acting ( that is not even that goodGarbage... another poor game-movie like any other ''wow good graphics game! ''this generation that requires no skill to beat and again with laughable AI and no missions diversity.Seriously good graphics? I just can't understand how reviewers are blind about the actual game play and content and they just praise the visuals, cut scenes and voice acting ( that is not even that good )...honestly this generation of gaming is very disappointing , overrating all bad gameplay / story games filled with bugs and absolutely no challenge at all. Sorry but a game with no difficulty is a waste of money and time... repetitive and robotic actions trough all the day without questionning about any strategy. Rent a good movie with great specials effects instead of playing this fail sequel hollywood blockbuster game-movie crap trust me. I'm giving a 1 just for the environnement design and that was the last time I play any Ubisoft's games. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    On a replay, I love this game. It was always good, but it's unspeakably better since experiencing Revelations and coming back to it. The comparison between the two made ALL the difference. The story is good and works as a solid extension on the second game, though the excuse for making Ezio earn weapons and armour from the beginning feels a bit forced and cheap. The integration of familiarOn a replay, I love this game. It was always good, but it's unspeakably better since experiencing Revelations and coming back to it. The comparison between the two made ALL the difference. The story is good and works as a solid extension on the second game, though the excuse for making Ezio earn weapons and armour from the beginning feels a bit forced and cheap. The integration of familiar characters is spectacular and had me emotionally engaged throughout both in Ezio's AND Desmond's stories. The big drawbacks for me are the cut and paste, but less successful, equivalents of assassin's tombs (they're fine, but less exciting and make less sense the second time around), and the way in which you're rushed through the end section of the game. Glyph puzzles are present, and though the intros from Subject 16 are sorely missed, they're still as creepy, cryptic and strangely informative as ever. While it doesn't match up to the quality of Assassin's Creed 2 in my mind, it's still a game more than worth buying. Expand
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    The team at Ubisoft Montreal really nailed implementation of a new and great multiplayer experience. The premise of the AC: Brotherhood multiplayer is that you are one of six to eight Abstergio Templars placed into the animus for "employee training". There are several settings (some unlockable) and multiplayer modes. I have only played the "WANTED" scenario although there are also teamThe team at Ubisoft Montreal really nailed implementation of a new and great multiplayer experience. The premise of the AC: Brotherhood multiplayer is that you are one of six to eight Abstergio Templars placed into the animus for "employee training". There are several settings (some unlockable) and multiplayer modes. I have only played the "WANTED" scenario although there are also team scenarios.


    in WANTED, you and the other players are playing against each other, but only one specific player is your target. Other Templars may also be after your target (I think the number of pursuers go up the higher the player's killing streak). Your objective is to take out your target (in the most covert manner) before any other pursuers do and before any of your pursuers take you out. It's basically 100 points for a kill or for a successful escape plus bonuses for finess such as killing from a crouching position, from being hidden, from three levels of covertness, and a host of other bonuses. Plus there are bonuses for using a variety of different bonus methods.


    There are a limited number of character models in the game, so there are plenty of other NPCs wandering around who look exactly like your target and who look like you. This can be used to your advantage. You can hide in a group of NPCs where one or more of the characters looks exactly like you. If your pursuer kills the wrong target, he loses his contract on you and is penalized for a few seconds as a new target is picked for him.


    There are quite a few unlockables that includes weapons (such as the hidden gun and throwing knives, perks (you start out with the ability to change into another character model for a time), and characters you can play. There are challenges with multiple levels that can also award you experience. I think I like it because it takes patience and the typical Call of Duty techniques don't work. The "run-and-gun" method fails, because as soon as your target catches wind that you are on their tail, they start running and often escape. The camping method doesn't work because there are always one or more templars after your ass and you are a sitting duck if you don't keep moving. It takes real finess to score a lot of points, not just a bunch of kills. You will often find that the leader does not have the highest number of kills. The dynamics of a Renaissance city filled with people not only adds to the experience, it is key to gameplay. The cities are complex and beautiful. The presense of perhaps dozens of NPCs identical to each player makes it very challenging. When your "radar" shows that you are within a few meters of your target, there could be several others who look exactly like him and you must take out the right one. Or your target could be disguised to look like someone else. Or they could use the "morph" unlockable in which they stand in a group of NPCs and everyone in that group looks identical. There is a large sense of satisfaction from seeing the message that "your pursuer killed a civilian" and, perhaps, some points to go along with it if it was your cleverness that caused it.


    I didn't plan on writing a mini-review of AC: Brotherhood Multiplayer. , but I guess that's kind of what this is. Still haven't touched the single player campaign and I won't until I get past that stupid capture-the-flag challenge at the Venice carnival in Assassin's Creed II. Nor have I tried the other multiplayer scenarios other than "wanted".


    I can recommend AC: Brotherhood simply on it's multiplayer. It is an absolute blast. Oh, and the campaign is supposed to be good too, I hear.
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    6
    I have to echo DigitalShark's sentiments completely. The free running gimmick was enough to keep me entertained when the first game came out but it's not enough to carry another two titles. A story that advances too slowly and some seriously repetitive gameplay have me turned off to this series. Sorry, but carrying a box of flowers for some wench isn't my idea of fun.
  5. Jan 25, 2011
    10
    This game is with out a doubt a massive improvement on all other AC titles and is one the games of the year. The multiplayer is innotive and a change from the boring shoot em up titles.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Ubisoft fixed almost every complaint I had about AC2, all within the space of a year - the economic system is now deep and worthwhile, side-missions are in abundance and each carry a bonus objective, combat is more satisfying than ever, and the new Lair of Romulus shrines are fantastic exploration sequences. The last game's graphical weaknesses - notably in the facial area - have also beenUbisoft fixed almost every complaint I had about AC2, all within the space of a year - the economic system is now deep and worthwhile, side-missions are in abundance and each carry a bonus objective, combat is more satisfying than ever, and the new Lair of Romulus shrines are fantastic exploration sequences. The last game's graphical weaknesses - notably in the facial area - have also been smoothed out, and Rome seems less white-washed than the cities of AC2. IGN have got this one backward - AC2 is an almost flawless experience, even without the multiplayer, and unmissable for fans of the franchise or games like Uncharted. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2011
    7
    I loved the first AC, I briefly played the 2nd but I am clearly enjoying Brotherhood. There is much to like about Brotherhood but the main things are that it gives you the combined abilities of both 1, 2 and more. You don't have to play the previous games to purchase this title as you will be given a up to date collection told by the protagonist. I would recommend that you skip buying 1 &I loved the first AC, I briefly played the 2nd but I am clearly enjoying Brotherhood. There is much to like about Brotherhood but the main things are that it gives you the combined abilities of both 1, 2 and more. You don't have to play the previous games to purchase this title as you will be given a up to date collection told by the protagonist. I would recommend that you skip buying 1 & 2 if you've never played AC before and just go for Brotherhood. If you have already played the previous 2 titles, this might feel a little repetitive. But the ability to have a group of assassins under your command... AWESOME. "As I leapt down from a high ledge, I landed my blades on the necks of 2 unsuspecting guards; alerting the brute armored like a tank glimmering in the virtual sun. As he shouted for reinforcements the yard was soon filled with 8 - 12 soldiers, with a wave of my right hand; 4 assassins leapt from rooftops and decimated all guards in moments." That NEVER gets old Expand
  8. Apr 16, 2011
    8
    I was somewhat dissapointed by Brotherhood, the single player did not live up to my expectations but it was still great fun in the end. This game was designed on research that had been made about Rome when they were making Assassin's Creed 2 but the developers had researched so deeply into it they thought it would be a waste of good information or at least that's what i remember from aI was somewhat dissapointed by Brotherhood, the single player did not live up to my expectations but it was still great fun in the end. This game was designed on research that had been made about Rome when they were making Assassin's Creed 2 but the developers had researched so deeply into it they thought it would be a waste of good information or at least that's what i remember from a video with one of the developers. The multiplayer blow my mind, I had been pondering how a multiplayer Assassin's Creed would work after playing Assassin's Creed 2, I didn't think it could work to well but I was very mistaken, the multiplayer worked beautifully and was very fun. I do think that this was not only an expantion of Assassin's Creed 2 but also a tester of some new features for Assassin's Creed 3. I probably would have rated it higher if the quality of the story in Assassin's Creed 2 had not been so good. Expand
  9. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Quite simply, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a massively fun and entertaining experience, with tons of replay value. Although the art isn't quite as impressive as Assassin's Creed II, and the technology does feel slightly outdated, with regard to the graphics, animations and physics, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is nonetheless a worthy entry to the series. The revamped combat system,Quite simply, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a massively fun and entertaining experience, with tons of replay value. Although the art isn't quite as impressive as Assassin's Creed II, and the technology does feel slightly outdated, with regard to the graphics, animations and physics, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is nonetheless a worthy entry to the series. The revamped combat system, and new features and mechanics are definitely the game's strongest point; while the characters and voice-acting are still quite clichéd. The story isn't quite as grandiose as it's predecessors, but it does grip you from the start nonetheless. I think my main criticisms would be that there is an awful amount of content which doesn't feel as though it belongs there, such as Borgia Flags, Feathers, and Treasure Chests. For a game so centred around action, adventure, drama and conspiracy, to include this sort of content seems derivative and slightly amateurish. However, it's not obligatory for players to collect these items, and so they don't present any issue for players who don't like those sort of things. Overall, AC: Brotherhood is a great game, and well worth buying for any fan of the action/adventure genre. Expand
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is pretty much amazing. I was shocked at how much better than ACII was, which I loved. The combat is better, the assassin management is fun, and there's very little greater than calling your Assassin acolytes to pick off a random guard. The multiplayer was also an amazing surprise, and I regret not picking this up new. Learned my lesson
  11. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    This is a beautifully done game. I've played through every game in the AC franchise, and did get bored with the repetitiveness of the first two. But the third one cures a lot of that, giving you a lot of extras to work for, and mixing the game up a lot.
  12. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    This game is not monumentally different form AC2, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. The execution fighting mechanic seems to flow kills together and you don't have to fall into the same repetitive attack-counter fighting system the series is known for. This is not an expansion of AC2 because of the 30 hour long single player (if all the flags and feathers are collected and all ofThis game is not monumentally different form AC2, but that is not necessarily a bad thing. The execution fighting mechanic seems to flow kills together and you don't have to fall into the same repetitive attack-counter fighting system the series is known for. This is not an expansion of AC2 because of the 30 hour long single player (if all the flags and feathers are collected and all of the side missions) and the surprisingly deep multiplayer campaign, it is a quality sequel that would be my game of the year. Expand
  13. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    Rainbow six Vegas 2 is a well designed game and a lot of people love it. This game makes you feel like youâ
  14. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    While not reinventing the wheel or taking any big chances, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood takes several small steps, all in the right direction. The additions of multiplayer, new customization features for Ezio, and the ability to recruit and utilize other assassins to your cause are all welcome features. I did feel the story could have been a little more involved, and the assassins youWhile not reinventing the wheel or taking any big chances, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood takes several small steps, all in the right direction. The additions of multiplayer, new customization features for Ezio, and the ability to recruit and utilize other assassins to your cause are all welcome features. I did feel the story could have been a little more involved, and the assassins you recruit could've ultimately played a larger role, but ultimately those were small hiccups in a sea of greatness. Overall a terrific game. Expand
  15. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    I..... really can't define how complex and vast the game can be. Many, many complainers rate this game 3's and 2's because of a certain ledge or building they can't climb, or complaining that they feel overwhelmed with all the activity and objectives that must be completed. Well, heres the deal: Untraversable building: You suck. If you feel overwhelmed: Read a book and get off the couchI..... really can't define how complex and vast the game can be. Many, many complainers rate this game 3's and 2's because of a certain ledge or building they can't climb, or complaining that they feel overwhelmed with all the activity and objectives that must be completed. Well, heres the deal: Untraversable building: You suck. If you feel overwhelmed: Read a book and get off the couch and get some brain power for once. These are only a few reasons in the vast majority of idiots who can't even play the game because they don" have enough brain power t realize whats going on. I am addicted with running around Rome (or climbing) and sneaking around Borgia Zones and taking out Captains and Towers with well-timed attacks and strategy, and the Followers Lairs to collect the Armor of Brutus (Though it makes you look like a animal abuser and a idiot) makes you just about a deadly, agile and acrobactic tank. Don't listen to the negative reviews about running around and repetitve gameplay, they obviously didn't know what they were getting into when the first AC was described as a "open world" game. I mean, come on people, we've all played GTA and Crackdown, haven't we? We know that games like these require a extensive amount of time to appreciate it, right? So, if this message got to your head, kindly refrain from nasty comments and reviews. Also, I am stumped by postitive reviews that only involve " gOOd gwapics" (typing due to common typing accuracy on most game reviews) I mean, really? This game could have had post-80's Pac-Man style graphics, and I bet SMART critics would still rate this game extremely high. Multiplayer is a great addition to AC, but sometimes I got extremely frustrated after I kill 5 targets in a row with master strategy and positioning, but only to escape one guy only to be assassinated from above while being camped by. Those kinds of things should not appear and diminish a otherwise excellent experience. This concludes my review. Have fun with the game for the people that like it, and if your not on board, because of certain in-game reasons, buy the strategy guide. This seriously helps your experience, and if you dont have it, it will be impossible to complete the mandatory Follower's Lair. Have fun with this game, and gamers game on! Expand
  16. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    The single player was great. The multiplayer is not for everyone, but I loved it. I really disliked the Desmond sequences though. It's a huge improvement over the first and second.
  17. Mar 10, 2011
    4
    I did not think this installment in the franchise brings anything new to the table (aside from it's multiplayer) It's single player campaign IMO is completely boring, thanks to no innovation in the gameplay, a shoehorned story, and zero character development. Ezio has extremely dull acting, and his character stays one dimensional throughout the whole adventure. Exploring Rome is cool atI did not think this installment in the franchise brings anything new to the table (aside from it's multiplayer) It's single player campaign IMO is completely boring, thanks to no innovation in the gameplay, a shoehorned story, and zero character development. Ezio has extremely dull acting, and his character stays one dimensional throughout the whole adventure. Exploring Rome is cool at first, but then you get recycled environments after environments, that get extremely boring. There are a few impressive landmarks, but besides that, I felt completely bored. The graphics are still impressive, but have not improved much from the last game. In terms of gameplay, the combat has some cool animations that have been added in, but no improvements have been made on the lock on system. Free running hasn't been changed in the least, and has gone from entertaining, to frustrating due to lack of improvement. The series used to emphasize and encourage tackling assassinations your own way. This time around, the game encourages you to kill your targets in a specific way, lessening your freedom. This is a huge step back in my opinion, but it does add to more achievements and trophies. The story and characters are the worst part of this game. The only slightly interesting characters are the villains, and even they are pretty drab. The story also allows for one of the worst acts I have ever played, being the one right before the climax, where it throws away all of your weapons, in favor of a "kill everyone" type of tool. IMO it sucked.

    Multiplayer is slightly redeeming, but I found it far from addicting.

    All in all a waste of money in my opinion. Spend your cash elsewhere.
    Expand
  18. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    I've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recently picking up AC2, beating it within 2 days and enjoying it somewhat I decided to get Brotherhood. I wasn't expecting a whole new game as even from the box art you can see it's just going to be a Assassin's Creed 2.5 reskin. You play, again, as Ezio, orI've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recently picking up AC2, beating it within 2 days and enjoying it somewhat I decided to get Brotherhood. I wasn't expecting a whole new game as even from the box art you can see it's just going to be a Assassin's Creed 2.5 reskin. You play, again, as Ezio, or more a cardboard cut out of him. He lacks the charm and immersive dialogue of the Ezio you play as in AC2. In fact, all the characters recycled from AC2 are bland and uninteresting. The funny and likeable Leonardo is now a wooden shopkeeper. As for the gameplay, frustrating is the word I would definitely describe this with. The free-running (something you do for the majority of the game) is as bad as previous Assassin's Creed titles and you'll often find yourself leaping off buildings to your death or climbing when you just don't want to. You CAN pull off some really good runs, leaping from building to building and swinging from poles and looks great if it works. Unfortunately, that would only be about half of the time. Combat has improved from AC2, with new weapons and combos and insane kill animations that make you feel like a badass. In reality, all you're doing is a very simple series of button presses. This isn't a bad thing, however, as you could take on several enemies at once. The graphics are, as the previous titles, great. I didn't notice any texture pop-in or buffering as you would in most other current gen console games. The textures are nice and sharp and Rome looks pretty in both night and day. Onto the actual tasks of the game, the missions. Frankly, I have never been more frustrated at some of the missions in this game than I have in all my years of playing video games. The new "full sync" feature will give you a 100% complete in a mission by performing a certain task, for example killing the target in a certain way, or beating the mission in a time limit. This sounds like a good, challenging feature, however if you try to fully sync every mission on your first play through, you're going to be tearing your hair out in frustration. The terrible AI and awful controls will be more of an annoyance than the badly thought out missions. In all, it has nice graphics and a nice setting, the sci-fi and historical cross over is cheesy but welcomed. The controls and gameplay are awful, the voice acting is wooden, the music is pretty nice, and then theres the fact it's a reskin and has early DLC. 4/10 Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed this game. I own all the other AC games and I will be getting Revelations. The series changes enough each game to validate each games place in the series, so it keeps everything fresh and interesting. I also like the fact that the studio caught on to Ezio's popularity and decided to give him his own trilogy with a trilogy. Anyway, the game play is solid as ever, theI really enjoyed this game. I own all the other AC games and I will be getting Revelations. The series changes enough each game to validate each games place in the series, so it keeps everything fresh and interesting. I also like the fact that the studio caught on to Ezio's popularity and decided to give him his own trilogy with a trilogy. Anyway, the game play is solid as ever, the addition of recruits is brilliant fun and of course its always fun pulling of a mission perfectly and getting the top sync for it. My ONLY complaint is that the multi player is a bit underdeveloped, I don't mean its unbalanced or not fun, on the contrary Its REALLY fun and incredibly balanced as every ability has a pro and a con and an appropriate counter method. By underdeveloped I mean that the lobby system is beyond broken and the edition of free DLC harmed the community rather than helped it. For example, there were 2 free DLC packs. Great right? Well, no. See if you have Pack 2 activated for example then you will only come across people with the same pack, so it almost halves your potential player base. Now imagine the fact there are 2 free DLC packs and 1 you have to pay for (To be fair, it comes free with an added story mission). So now the matchmaking servers are a nightmare to navigate. However if you are not a basement dweller and like myself actually have some friends, private matches can be a complete laugh to play in. So thats my review. Completely solid single player and a brilliant multi player only let down by bad decisions about connection issues. Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Este juego ees de los mejores q he jugado ya que tiene buenas graficas y no son mierdas como los call of mierda y tambn porq es un asesino bn chingon.
  21. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Innovation is what comes out of this installment. With new mechanics like using Assassin recruits to aid you in combat is a big plus. The new combo feature was also great implementing new, varied ways to kill your enemies. Also the secret missions were fun and challenging, I was hardly disappointed with this game. Multiplayer is a good mix of free-for-all and objective based modes, andInnovation is what comes out of this installment. With new mechanics like using Assassin recruits to aid you in combat is a big plus. The new combo feature was also great implementing new, varied ways to kill your enemies. Also the secret missions were fun and challenging, I was hardly disappointed with this game. Multiplayer is a good mix of free-for-all and objective based modes, and also allows customization to fit your play style. The only downside is that some missions were a bit too linear, and were not that fun to do. Otherwise, its worth trying. Expand
  22. May 8, 2012
    10
    I'm a huge fan of the AC series though I was concerned about this game. I must say this game doesn't disappoint. It takes everything AC 2 did well and improves on them. The combat is better, the movement is better, and while I don't think the story is better than AC 2, it does set up AC 3 because of all the Desmond stuff and the Ezio stuff is still fun to do. I really liked all the metaI'm a huge fan of the AC series though I was concerned about this game. I must say this game doesn't disappoint. It takes everything AC 2 did well and improves on them. The combat is better, the movement is better, and while I don't think the story is better than AC 2, it does set up AC 3 because of all the Desmond stuff and the Ezio stuff is still fun to do. I really liked all the meta game stuff that they added in AC 2 and brotherhood does that stuff but just does it better. The multiplayer is actually pretty fun as well. This is a must own for any AC fan but players new to AC will probably be lost story wise, so they will need to play the first 2 AC games to understand what's going on. AC; Brotherhood get a 9 from me. Expand
  23. Jul 31, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Whenever this game is mentioned I am sick to the stomach,just awful pure awful I think they lost sight of what made Ac2 a masterpiece the story but this story was rushed it was just a bad story as well and with all the loopholes regarding the apple and such I just hated it and god please don't mention the multilayer it was so bad and rushed I got bored after a minute if they just had the story the game gets a 5 but they concentrated on multilayer to be like "other games and it just ruined it and it ruined the franchise :-( Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood surpasses the previous AC games and is the best Assassin's Creed game yet. The SP is different, but great and the MP adds a ton of aweme on top of that. Definitely a GOTY 2010 candidate!
  25. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    A true complete Solo part and an Innovative Multiplayer, this game it's just awesome !
    Lots of hours and an interesting story, but my favorite is this new Multiplayer game, it's just the best experience of video game of this year.
  26. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood has received many improvements since its predecessor with the combat improvements and the AI, the combat now feels fluid and quick; now the enemy AI dont just sit around and wait for to finish fighting another enemy now if your in the middle of an attack or counter they will attack you. But the game does seem to be lacking in its story and there a fewAssassin's Creed Brotherhood has received many improvements since its predecessor with the combat improvements and the AI, the combat now feels fluid and quick; now the enemy AI dont just sit around and wait for to finish fighting another enemy now if your in the middle of an attack or counter they will attack you. But the game does seem to be lacking in its story and there a few 'boring' missions and I do wish there were more assassination missions in the main story, what I loved from AC2 was the assassination missions were you were killing for revenge against the people who killed your family and Ezio felt like he was determined to get revenge where as this game Ezio just seems uninspired, for me the best parts of the story were the parts were you take control of Desmond, its clear that in the sequel that you will be getting more familiar with playing as Desmond in the future games.

    Another new addition to the series is multiplayer and it is great, it has a certain "Cat and Mouse" feel to it where you must hunt down other players while also being hunted yourself, in my opinion it is the best multiplayer of the year.

    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is an excellent game with a compelling multiplayer and some great new features, the story may not be epic as AC2 but is still a great play.
    Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is probably one of the best games I've ever played. The engine is beautiful, and Rome, although perhaps slightly smaller than the three cities of Assassin's Creed 2, is far more beautiful, far more varied, and much more interesting to navigate. This is a great example of taking everything that was good about a game, leaving out some things that weren't so good, and adding severalThis is probably one of the best games I've ever played. The engine is beautiful, and Rome, although perhaps slightly smaller than the three cities of Assassin's Creed 2, is far more beautiful, far more varied, and much more interesting to navigate. This is a great example of taking everything that was good about a game, leaving out some things that weren't so good, and adding several great new features. The "brotherhood" feature seemed a little strange and tacked on from the description, but actually playing the game, it works extremely well. I'm out of space, but this is Game of the Year for me. Expand
  28. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When you play this game the words boring, terrible, and trash are the last things that come to mind. For lack of a better word this game is epic. Its a masterpiece and not many seem to argue. Cesare and Lucrezia (or however you spell their names) are the tabloid regulars of their time, Ezio's wisdom makes him a completely different person even though he's the same wisecracking womanizer we've come to love, and the apprentices are a great addition and can defy most odds. Going back to modern times, Desmond has matured and gathered great skill, his gear has changed a lot. Well I hope everyone enjoys the Colosseum, we can all agree Lucy won't Expand
  29. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    As much as I liked the first two games in the series, I expected AC: Brotherhood to suffer like so many other games do once they reach the point that they can be considered a trilogy. The two features introduced to the series in this game that I saw as having the potential to ruin the game were the multiplayer and the introduction of the ability to control other assassins in your order.As much as I liked the first two games in the series, I expected AC: Brotherhood to suffer like so many other games do once they reach the point that they can be considered a trilogy. The two features introduced to the series in this game that I saw as having the potential to ruin the game were the multiplayer and the introduction of the ability to control other assassins in your order. Having now played through the complete single player and just started experiencing the multiplayer I can say that they both appear to be a good fit with the game. The use of multiplayer in a stealth based game is one of the most unique online experiences to be had. Any concerns of the multiplayer being too slow are quickly alleviated when you realize that it allows you the opportunity to start noticing the little differences in your surroundings that help identify your targets. Knowing that each person passing you on the street could be either AI controlled or another assassin creates a tension not normally felt in the run and gun mentality of most multiplayer games.

    Introducing the use of other assassins to the game and the ability to use them when necessary was honestly the most concerning new feature to the series for me. My initial idea was that it was going to be a complete change in the style of gameplay and require the player to direct other assassins rather than doing the dirty work yourself. This was almost enough to make me not want to buy the game, but in the end I would have missed out on a great experience. This feature should be looked at as another weapon in your arsenal rather than a burden. There are some great moments that can be had using the feature but you are never put in a position where it feels like the action is being taken away from you. As other reviewers have noted, AC: Brotherhood brings back the good features of the previous games while attempting to fine tune the points that needed it. This gameplay experience has felt like the natural progression of the series and leaves me only wanting more.
    Expand
  30. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is an outstanding achievement by UBISOFT. An improvement over Assassin's Creed II in every way! The Soundtrack is a dark masterpiece, the story is superb, presentation is masterful and the combat system is badass! Ezio Auditore is my hero, my idol! Game of the Year 2010. Possibly one of the best games of the decade with respect to Art Direction, Presentation,Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is an outstanding achievement by UBISOFT. An improvement over Assassin's Creed II in every way! The Soundtrack is a dark masterpiece, the story is superb, presentation is masterful and the combat system is badass! Ezio Auditore is my hero, my idol! Game of the Year 2010. Possibly one of the best games of the decade with respect to Art Direction, Presentation, Production Values! Expand
  31. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Story: 10/10 Presentation: 10/10 Character Development: 10/10 Gameplay: 10/10 Combat: 10/10 Graphics: 8.5/10 Music: 10/10 Sound: 9.5/10 Replay Value: 10/10 Achievements: 9/10 Ending: 10/10 Total = 107/110 Rating = 9.72/10 Result: Breathtaking Experience. Cinematic and Mindblowing. Game of the Year. Perfect Bridge between AC2 and the upcoming AC3. Must-Play for AC Fans.
  32. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    This game isn't a masterpiece like Assassin's Creed 2, but surely is very close to be one.

    PROS: In almost all aspects AC Brotherhood it's a great sequel. Some gameplay innovations like new combat tricks, new weapons and the assassin's recruits and his missions made really great improvements on the AC Series and will be very welcome in the next games of the AC series. The game story is
    This game isn't a masterpiece like Assassin's Creed 2, but surely is very close to be one.

    PROS:
    In almost all aspects AC Brotherhood it's a great sequel. Some gameplay innovations like new combat tricks, new weapons and the assassin's recruits and his missions made really great improvements on the AC Series and will be very welcome in the next games of the AC series.

    The game story is outstanding, it's probably the best game story of all video games ever. Since the first AC this novel about the templars vs assassin's war is increasing in complexity and became in AC Brotherhood a master piece, with the most awesome game ending of 2010. Also, the addition of Lair of Romulus quests, however really aside of main quest, it's very fun and the puzzles remember the gold ages of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia franchises.

    The addition of multiplayer was very well made and it's hard to think in another kind of multiplayer which could be addicting and faithful to AC experience.

    CONS:
    The addition of an extensive list of side quests to create a more lengthy game can be frustrating to some gamers, because the main quest it's quite short. This can be forgiven by the fact that some gamers could have no patience to play along a game with more than 20 hours of gameplay, but in the long run the game looks "unglued".

    The con above can be also an side effect of the poor polish of this game. Even though still more polished as many of games launched in the last year, it's clearly worst of AC 2 in this aspect. However, AC 2 was developed in 2 years and AC Brotherhood in just 1, but my point still.

    In the end, it's a really great game, a truly sequel for an franchise with great games. As a AC fan, i'm anxiously waiting for AC 3 (or whatever), while playing the awesome multiplayer of AC Brotherhood :)
    Expand
  33. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    My favourite game! The story is very good. Again. The multiplayer good too. My fvourite characters is Agugosto the Blacksmith! For me is the Game of the year!
  34. Jan 21, 2011
    3
    In a nutshell, a troubled guy's fascination with heights,jumping off ledges,and a desperate try to prolong the duration of a game by forcing you to figure out by trial and error where to jump to next.
    I believe he must be the same guy behind the dreadful Prince of Persia series.
    Congratulations to the art director and graphics artists ,all you need now is a game designer.
  35. Jan 28, 2011
    1
    AC is one of the worse games already facts, and this sequência is still worse, robotic mechanics, you does not interact directly with the terrible personages, dialogues, horrible script, and this still continues with the old mechanics, touched in somebody comes back toward the place, does not exist action, the places are deteminados and freedom of choice in the acts does notAC is one of the worse games already facts, and this sequência is still worse, robotic mechanics, you does not interact directly with the terrible personages, dialogues, horrible script, and this still continues with the old mechanics, touched in somebody comes back toward the place, does not exist action, the places are deteminados and freedom of choice in the acts does not exist that goes to make, the only thing that could save is the graphs, but the frame-rate does not pass of 30 and Enzio seems one lesma same running. This new AC does not play or will go to pass hours if torturing in scenes where you it is only one robot. Expand
  36. Mar 10, 2011
    8
    Honestly, this game did live up to the hype, the beginning wasnt that great, but overall the core aspect and gameplay, was satisfying, would of been 10 out of 10 if building the brotherhood of Assassins wasnt so pointless, and the story was a **** literally this is a legit non biased review right here, take this under consideration!
  37. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    I have to say, this was one of the best games I played all of 2010.

    I'm a huge fan of "stealth" type games, and the Assassin's creed series, and this game was no disappointment. The main selling aspect of this game was the new multiplayer, which is one of the most enjoyable and unique multiplayers I have ever played. Pros: Huge world to explore in the pretty city of Rome. New assassins
    I have to say, this was one of the best games I played all of 2010.

    I'm a huge fan of "stealth" type games, and the Assassin's creed series, and this game was no disappointment. The main selling aspect of this game was the new multiplayer, which is one of the most enjoyable and unique multiplayers I have ever played.

    Pros:
    Huge world to explore in the pretty city of Rome.
    New assassins guild. It's so satisfying to call upon your minions to do your work for you.
    Huge re playability, which so many side quests to keep you occupied. Cons:
    Multiplayer matchmaking is HORRENDOUSLY slow. This needs to be fixed quickly!
    De-synchronisation when detected missions can be tedious and possibly cause some rage quitting.
    Expand
  38. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Like the rest of the AC series, this is a great platformer. OK, I love the puzzles, the action, the story, the characters, but the platforming, especially in the Shrines/Temples reminds me of the best of the old 2D platformers. Having to figure out where the next jump in a series has to go is fun, sometimes frustrating, often funny, as when you spot the next handhold as you're falling onceLike the rest of the AC series, this is a great platformer. OK, I love the puzzles, the action, the story, the characters, but the platforming, especially in the Shrines/Temples reminds me of the best of the old 2D platformers. Having to figure out where the next jump in a series has to go is fun, sometimes frustrating, often funny, as when you spot the next handhold as you're falling once more to the floor/water below. And now the flags add more to them. Expand
  39. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is amazing in many ways, it has a great story and game play. it's side missions give you something extra to do, with upgrades with weapons armor, equipment and ect. How Rodrigo Borgia is killed by his son is a really good twist. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 25, 2011
    80
    Assasssin's Creed: Brotherhood has great atmosphere, beautiful visuals, and overall excellent craftsmanship… Just don't expect anything new beyond the multiplayer.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    90
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a pleasant surprise in every respect, even though some of the concerns you might have had regarding the single map and ageing formula still stand with the final product.
  3. Jan 8, 2011
    85
    Those wanting more from Ezio, and to revel in the period set in Assassins Creed II for a little longer, will find fond memories in Assassins Creed Brotherhood; however I couldn't shake the feeling that I'd seen it all before and was being dragged along for the same old ride.