User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1097 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. reepermanx
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Unbeleivable scope and ambition by the dev team. just about pulled off. Only critisism is that is goes on a bit too long and there is too much to do. This may be a good thing though for many palyers.
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    I love this game. It improves in every aspect over the first game with much better character development and storyline. AC2 offers a variety of new tools, weapons and techniques to dispatch targets in a variety of ways. The development team really hit the nail on the head this time around.
  3. ByronW
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This is a must buy! but the only problem for me is the difficulty. It is waay too easy, to carry 15 health potions around is ridiculous if you die in combat in AC2.....shame on you
  4. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Wow, what a great game. I have almost completed everything and am looking forward to Brotherhood. Hope that is good to, so whatever you do, do not listen to people saying this game sucks, because this game is by far one of the best out there for graphics, action and overall fun.
  5. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    This game is truly excellent. The story, the visuals, the gameplay, and it is just so much fun. I love all of the missions. None of them are repetitive like the first game suffered from. I just don't have much to say about his game besides the fact that the graphics look a little worse than the 1st game for some reason but this really is not very noticeable. Overall, the game is great, notThis game is truly excellent. The story, the visuals, the gameplay, and it is just so much fun. I love all of the missions. None of them are repetitive like the first game suffered from. I just don't have much to say about his game besides the fact that the graphics look a little worse than the 1st game for some reason but this really is not very noticeable. Overall, the game is great, not much bad to say about it. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    Another game which took me by surprise, it has a long singleplayer which is strong and engaging to the end, there are enough variations in the gameplay to keep you entertained. The actual maps are brilliant and big enough to keep you exploring around for many hours. The slightly tedious and not very fluent parts are the combats, where they are not as smooth and great as depicted. Where youAnother game which took me by surprise, it has a long singleplayer which is strong and engaging to the end, there are enough variations in the gameplay to keep you entertained. The actual maps are brilliant and big enough to keep you exploring around for many hours. The slightly tedious and not very fluent parts are the combats, where they are not as smooth and great as depicted. Where you see Ezio mowing through guards with ease is more like Ezio getting surrounded by many guards, all of which parry constantly unless a single enemy randomly takes a stab at you, where all your character can do is parry back and randomly counter hoping you take the guy down in retaliation. With that said though, its still thoroughly enjoyable and Brotherhood is going to feature a more fluent combat system and even a multiplayer which they can use and improve in the future. Well Done Ubisoft Montreal! Expand
  7. KaiK
    Nov 22, 2009
    7
    Assassin's Creed II Review: Assassin's Creed II is less then stellar. On the other hand, its not a bad title either. its has outdated looking graphics, clunky frustrating controls and some what repetitive. The main issues are the controls in Assassin's Creed II .The first Assassin's Creed although a lot more repetitive, had very good responsive controls. this one feels Assassin's Creed II Review: Assassin's Creed II is less then stellar. On the other hand, its not a bad title either. its has outdated looking graphics, clunky frustrating controls and some what repetitive. The main issues are the controls in Assassin's Creed II .The first Assassin's Creed although a lot more repetitive, had very good responsive controls. this one feels like you have weights tide to your feet. Jumping on roof tops,climbing and running is awful and clunky and feels more like a prison than freedom. The controls feel stubborn and unresponsive. The first game had sold controls, however this is a step backwards in terms of controls. The content is a good improvement from the last installment. More missions variety and cool characters and better weapon selection. However the lack of not being able to customize your controls to either AC1 or your own is a set back considering how awful the AC2 controls are. The story is darker in AC2 and the amount of moves you can do in combat is rewarding. The amount of historical detail is amazing and the history of Italy will certainly keep you interested. Some glitch's are present throughout the game, which will not take too much away from your overall experience. Overall its a decent title but not anywhere near triple A status, and it certainly doesn't deserve a 91%. Note: The PS3 version has many issues such as frame rate, ripping, and lag. If you plan on buying Assassin's Creed II buy it on PC or XBOX 360. Gameplay: 8.0 controls: 4.5 story: 9.0 content: 9.5 __ Overall: 7.5 Expand
  8. LukasM
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Just feels so real. My brother walked by as I was playing and he said that it looked so real that he thought it was a movie at first. (and he is a gamer as well) just a beautifully made game, really polished. great story and great scale. It makes you feel as if you are really in italy, and is much more exciting than the first AC. the replay value is WAY better than the other Amazing game. Just feels so real. My brother walked by as I was playing and he said that it looked so real that he thought it was a movie at first. (and he is a gamer as well) just a beautifully made game, really polished. great story and great scale. It makes you feel as if you are really in italy, and is much more exciting than the first AC. the replay value is WAY better than the other one, im going to play this one for months and months! Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    I am in love with the Assassin's Creed series and this game didn't disappoint it is 100X better then it's predecessor and should have won GOTY last year EVERYONE should play this game! Played this just over a year ago now (when it came out) and it's sequel "Brotherhood" is on it's way to me and personally i can't wait to join Ezio and Desmond on another journey and a head scratching finale!
  10. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I have played on the current generation systems, hands down. The story kept me going, the side quests were awesome, and the main story itself blew me away. I can't say enough great things about this perfect game, so I'm going to stop here.
  11. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I felt like the game had okay graphics, not enough of a free fight like bman arkham city, glitches left and right, it also bugged me that when enemies died, they did a body jump, they like twitched or something, but still, its fun for how sneaky you can be, the details are spot on, and the more detailed costumes made it worth its price Expand
  12. May 13, 2013
    9
    Assassin's Creed 1 was such a s**t game and really had no fun with it. Assassin's Creed 2 on the other hand improve with everything about the game in my opinion, the best sequel comeback in gaming! Ezio was a awesome chracter and was way better then Altar. Story is beautiful and very gripping. Gameplay has improved. Side missions are great and no doing the exact same thing here(unlike theAssassin's Creed 1 was such a s**t game and really had no fun with it. Assassin's Creed 2 on the other hand improve with everything about the game in my opinion, the best sequel comeback in gaming! Ezio was a awesome chracter and was way better then Altar. Story is beautiful and very gripping. Gameplay has improved. Side missions are great and no doing the exact same thing here(unlike the first game)! Overall a brilliant game and Ubisoft will never make another assassins creed like this again! Assassin's Creed 2 9.5/10 Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    Any score below a 7 is absolutely asinine. The improvement is so substantial from the first that I wondered if this was even made by the same company. The environments are awesome, story is epic, main character really grows on you, and stealth kills have never been so much fun. This is tied for one of my favorite games this gen. So far, it blows the other AC games out of the water. CallingAny score below a 7 is absolutely asinine. The improvement is so substantial from the first that I wondered if this was even made by the same company. The environments are awesome, story is epic, main character really grows on you, and stealth kills have never been so much fun. This is tied for one of my favorite games this gen. So far, it blows the other AC games out of the water. Calling it a GTA clone is absolutely absurd and one critic review said that they were promised so much more. Are you on crystal meth? Expand
  14. May 27, 2014
    10
    Masterpiece. Looks like you're really in Renaissance Italy. Good graphics, outrageous (in a good way of the word) story and character and gameplay. This is one of my favorites 7th generation games and my Ubisoft's favorite.
  15. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Assassin's Creed 2 is not a masterpiece because of graphics or gameplay, but by it's ability to make you feel like a grand adventurer in an Italy about to be reformed.
  16. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    easily the best game of the series (excluding revelations as i have not played that yet) the first game only impressed me so much as it was the first game i owned on ps3 but looking back now the story wasnt so good! this time though they got it so right with what i believe to be one of the greatest endings in a game yet! top notch play this and dont bother with brotherhood!
  17. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Story: 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Character Development: 10/10
    Gameplay: 9.5/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Music: 10/10
    Sound: 9/10
    Replay Value: 7/10
    Achievements: 9/10
    (+2 point = Ezio, Terrific Character)
    (+2 point = WTF Ending)
    Total = 87.5/90
    Rating = 9.72/10 Result: Breathtaking Experience. Game of the Year. The Best Sequel Ever. Must-Play before you die.
  18. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Among the 5 greatest games released this decade, easily. This masterpiece sits next to other venerable titles as Zelda: Twilight Princess and the COD: Modern Warfare games. The ambition of the game is off the scale, this title breathes a fresh blast of oxygen into the lungs of a genre that's taken a back seat in recent years - the single player experience. For my part, I received thisAmong the 5 greatest games released this decade, easily. This masterpiece sits next to other venerable titles as Zelda: Twilight Princess and the COD: Modern Warfare games. The ambition of the game is off the scale, this title breathes a fresh blast of oxygen into the lungs of a genre that's taken a back seat in recent years - the single player experience. For my part, I received this game as a Christmas gift in 2009 and it pretty much collected dust until Thanksgiving of 2010. When I started playing the game originally last year I was kind of put off by the game play outside of the sneaking and infiltration sequences (like building your new estate). But a good internet FAQ on the location of glyphs and all of the easter eggs very quickly turned this game into a 19 hour marathon when I came back to it a few days ago. I see now what Ubisoft was going for and I commend them for their ambition. I can see the future of this title headed closer into RPG territory (like the Fable series). This game is a must-get. I'm getting Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Expand
  19. stevek
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    this game is amazing and is a step up from the first one. there are many more things you are capable of and able to do without the annoying repetitiveness of the first one. just a heads up harry s. destructoid is included in the final score. do the math. 5547/61=90.09
  20. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Scale and ambition of this game stands out so much when playing through it. It's such a unique idea which allows for a broad opening of unique gameplay and narrative as well.
  21. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    This was the pinnacle of the AC franchise. This review was written well after 3 came out with 4 coming in the next few weeks and I don't believe the series gets better than this game. First of all they fixed all the issues from the first game, including the poor camera, better combat balance, and a better story. This was also the last game in the series not to sell out for more money andThis was the pinnacle of the AC franchise. This review was written well after 3 came out with 4 coming in the next few weeks and I don't believe the series gets better than this game. First of all they fixed all the issues from the first game, including the poor camera, better combat balance, and a better story. This was also the last game in the series not to sell out for more money and that was evident by the sheer amount of work that was put into the story, characters, and locations in game. The 3 games that followed this (Brotherhood, Revelations, and AC 3) were either just a a money grab or just severely lackluster and, in the case of the upcoming 4th game, at least this game had it's own identity. Something that you could say was truly original in the long run. 3 and 4 are combined by a plot line that isn't really interesting. I won't say 4 will be a bad game but this was the last truly great game in the series bar none. 4 will have a long way to go to catch up with this game and put the series back on the map. This is easily the only game in the series, currently, worth playing and the best part is that you don't have to play 1 to understand what is going on here. Pick this one up for super cheap and enjoy it as you won't get as much enjoyment from any of the sequels in this series. Expand
  22. Sep 24, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game when I first played it. It was a great revenge story, set in my favorite country. The scenery was great, the gameplay was great, the collectibles were great, and the character's weren't too bad either. The ending, however, ruined it for me. If the "present-day" part of the story was taken out, I think I'd have a much higher opinion of this game. Expand
  23. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    Assassins creed 2. For some reason they dramaticaly lowered the graphics of the game, i laughed a few times at some of the scenes. The story is just as terrible as the first game. The repeatedness of the first game has dissapeared, i now enjoy the combat much more, but found the enviroment less comfortable than the first game. I find it to be not much different from the first game and findAssassins creed 2. For some reason they dramaticaly lowered the graphics of the game, i laughed a few times at some of the scenes. The story is just as terrible as the first game. The repeatedness of the first game has dissapeared, i now enjoy the combat much more, but found the enviroment less comfortable than the first game. I find it to be not much different from the first game and find that far to many people have been realy overating this game, it is a good game, but not that great. Expand
  24. Sep 25, 2013
    4
    I have already written a review of this game once, however, I ultimately decided that that review was just bad, so I've decided to write a brand new one. What do I have to say about this game? Well, it is just about the most overrated piece of crud that I have ever played. Many of my friends at school played this game, and they claimed that it was awesome. However, all I have to sayI have already written a review of this game once, however, I ultimately decided that that review was just bad, so I've decided to write a brand new one. What do I have to say about this game? Well, it is just about the most overrated piece of crud that I have ever played. Many of my friends at school played this game, and they claimed that it was awesome. However, all I have to say about it is that they are wrong. Dead wrong. Not just about this game, but also the entire Assassin's Creed series. There is really nothing so awesome about this series at all. As for this game, in case you are wondering why this is overrated, well, let's start with the gameplay. The gameplay of this game could fuel pretty much any generic action open world game. The only thing that really sets it apart from the other games in this genre is its unique Renaissance setting. Admittedly, I do like this game's Renaissance setting. It is more unique than most other games in its genre. However, the unique setting does not save this game if you ask me. As I said, the gameplay is just way too generic. Not to mention, by this point, Batman Arkham Asylum was already out, and it really made this game look bad. Also, I may or may not be the only person who has had these problems, but I also noticed dozens of glitches in this game that could only be fixed through restarting my Xbox. I've played several games with bugs and glitches in them, however, those could usually be fixed in easier ways than restarting my console. For example, on the PC version of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, if there was a glitch, I would not have to restart my PC, I would just have to restart the game. This doesn't take anywhere near as much time as restarting my Xbox, waiting for it to load, and then finally restarting the game. As for the story of this game, and the entire series, everyone keeps on telling me that it's awesome. It is not. Not by a long shot. For one, the interlocking stories set in the present and the past just make the game that much more confusing than it needs to be. Also, I'm stunned that I'm apparently the only person in the world who has realized this. The stories of these games just rip everything off. The story of Assassin's Creed II is pretty much just the Renaissance version of Batman. Some of Ezio's family members were murdered, and he rose from that to become a hero. That is exactly the same story as both Batman and Spider-Man. Their family members were also murdered, and they also rose from that to become a hero. Also, I don't see why everyone loves Ezio so much. I don't like him at all. He is pretty much just an Italian version of Spider-Man, who loves making out with women a little more. As for the story set in the present, all I can say is that it is just awful, and should just be removed from the series entirely. Not only does it make the plot more confusing, however, it is also a rip-off of the Matrix (one of the greatest Sci-Fi films ever made). It is all about the character Desmond Miles going into a computer program to gain the knowledge of his relatives, and save the world. The Matrix was pretty much the same scenario, with the main character Neo going into a computer program to save the world. As for the graphics, everyone keeps telling me that this series has quite possibly the greatest graphics ever. If you want my opinion on them, all I can say is that I don't see anything special. As a matter of fact, I'd say these graphics are good...for the original Xbox. This game's graphics were so outdated for their time. I can name at least five games right now that I believe had better graphics, and came out before Assassin's Creed II (Batman Arkham Asylum, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion, Fallout 3, Grand Theft Auto IV, and Half-Life 2). So yeah, the graphics of this game are completely outdated. I am convinced that there is nothing, I repeat, nothing Assassin's Creed can do that no other action game can't do already. This game, no, this whole series is every bit as overrated as the entire Call of Duty franchise. The gameplay is generic, the story rips off just about everything, and the graphics are really outdated. If you are a true gamer like me, stay as far away from this game franchise as you possibly can. If you want a much better experience, buy Arkham Asylum or its sequel Arkham City. These two games have amazing gameplay, a non-cliched story, and beautiful graphics. They are definitely much better choices than any game in this series. Expand
  25. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    A much better and enjoyable game than Assassin's Creed I. Lots main and side mission to do and lots new weapon. The combat is still repetitive boring with counterattack animation and occasionally disarming enemy's weapon. Camera angle is annoying and the game economy is a major failure, and finally the game ending is ridiculous.
  26. Jun 8, 2013
    4
    Despite eventually completing the original Assassins Creed game I did find it a difficult game to enjoy. Having heard that this sequel was an improvement however I decided to pick it up having spotted it in the bargain bin of my local video game store. The ability to fast travel and more variety in the missions are certainly welcome additions but many of the same issues, such as boringDespite eventually completing the original Assassins Creed game I did find it a difficult game to enjoy. Having heard that this sequel was an improvement however I decided to pick it up having spotted it in the bargain bin of my local video game store. The ability to fast travel and more variety in the missions are certainly welcome additions but many of the same issues, such as boring sidequests and the overall slow pace, meant that yet again I just couldn’t find any real enjoyment in the game. Expand
  27. NikkyP
    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    First impressions: game is WAYYY over rated and pretty much sucks. Honestly i can't understand why so many praise it? It is full of serious glitches, dumb objectives which give you very little info and time to achieve plus sometimes i will be hanging around without knowing what to do and absolutely no info - then i quit, restart and bam, it begins with an objective. Super stupid. First impressions: game is WAYYY over rated and pretty much sucks. Honestly i can't understand why so many praise it? It is full of serious glitches, dumb objectives which give you very little info and time to achieve plus sometimes i will be hanging around without knowing what to do and absolutely no info - then i quit, restart and bam, it begins with an objective. Super stupid. Plus the map is crap. Very very disappointed and i'm starting to hate most Ubisoft games. Should have kep my money for MW 2 Expand
  28. Jul 26, 2011
    3
    The game is great, praise the graphics, but not much the gameplay. Although their are new assassin's moves you can do, it's really harder to keep up from dying and desychronizing.

    Ezio Auditore ain't much of a character. Altair is way better because gamers loves a character more mysterious and ambush predator like. Ezio is more of a kid, clumsy, unwitting and immature.
  29. Aug 16, 2013
    2
    Absolutely terrible in every way. The graphics look like they're from an original xbox and the controls are awkward and use difficult timing. Missions are repetitve and the game is slow throughout. The original assassin's creed was much more fun and engaging.
  30. BrettD
    Dec 4, 2009
    4
    If you aren't into the AC story then don't bother with this game. The graphics are terrible even when not considering all the screen tearing and pop-in. infamous had better graphics than this game. The sound to the game sucks also because it doesn't go with the game. That is there is modern music in the background which doesn't suit the game. The controls probably If you aren't into the AC story then don't bother with this game. The graphics are terrible even when not considering all the screen tearing and pop-in. infamous had better graphics than this game. The sound to the game sucks also because it doesn't go with the game. That is there is modern music in the background which doesn't suit the game. The controls probably pissed me off the most with this game. If it wasn't for the story I wouldn't have finished the game but the ending was pretty weird. Rent this game if you must and don't believe all the hype. Expand
  31. Apr 24, 2011
    4
    I enjoyed the first game in the series, and I enjoyed most of this one. But about two thirds in I just wanted it to end, it became a chore. Perhaps this was because I didn't really sympathise with Ezio but the missions seemed to me a wasted opportunity. They crafted this beautifully, intrinsically detailed world with varied locations but the gameplay, while interesting at first with DaI enjoyed the first game in the series, and I enjoyed most of this one. But about two thirds in I just wanted it to end, it became a chore. Perhaps this was because I didn't really sympathise with Ezio but the missions seemed to me a wasted opportunity. They crafted this beautifully, intrinsically detailed world with varied locations but the gameplay, while interesting at first with Da Vinci's inventions, became tedious and the ending was a complete mystery to me, especially with the arduous task of collecting some sort of video sequence which seemed to have nothing to do with the game. I got 30 hours out of this game, and the first 20 or so were enjoyable with improvements over the first game in many areas, but I preferred the setting of the other game. 2/5. Expand
  32. Aug 6, 2011
    0
    Where to start with this piece of **** The horrible graphics, the horrible controls, the horrible AI, the horrible fighting, or the texture popping?

    I guess the controls. This game has horrible controls. If you like going faster than 2 miles an hour, prepare to have your character jump 20 miles off a building for no reason. Prepare to have your character jump onto a wall for no reason.
    Where to start with this piece of **** The horrible graphics, the horrible controls, the horrible AI, the horrible fighting, or the texture popping?

    I guess the controls. This game has horrible controls. If you like going faster than 2 miles an hour, prepare to have your character jump 20 miles off a building for no reason. Prepare to have your character jump onto a wall for no reason. It's called a JUMP button, Ubisoft. Would have made this game decent. The graphics are absolute **** And what's worse, there's constant texture popping! You could stand still, and the textures at your feet would pop! The AI is horrible not allowing for a stealthy approach "This guy has no friends, he must be the assassin!" also, the AI has eyes on the back of their head. You could walk up to a guy as slow as possible, and he would start running away. Do not get this game. It is the worst game I have ever played. The mere sight of it makes me want to puke.
    Expand
  33. harrys
    Nov 25, 2009
    3
    This game is not all that. What amazes me is that the only honest review I've seen of this game was not factored into the metacritic score. Interesting. Very, very interesting. Destructoid gave it a 4.5 but I guess that would have brought down the average too much so it's not here. Destructoid reviews are included on this site a lot, so there is something wrong when metacritic This game is not all that. What amazes me is that the only honest review I've seen of this game was not factored into the metacritic score. Interesting. Very, very interesting. Destructoid gave it a 4.5 but I guess that would have brought down the average too much so it's not here. Destructoid reviews are included on this site a lot, so there is something wrong when metacritic is throwing out lower scoring reviews for profit. Expand
  34. PSam
    Jan 30, 2010
    4
    This game is a little better than the first, but not by much. The story is more interesting and they have (thankfully) done away with the inane eavesdropping that dumbed down AC 1. However all the other faults are still there. The missions are repetitive and boring to a fault, I mean who on earth wants to just run around finding friggin codex pages just before the final boss?? It would be This game is a little better than the first, but not by much. The story is more interesting and they have (thankfully) done away with the inane eavesdropping that dumbed down AC 1. However all the other faults are still there. The missions are repetitive and boring to a fault, I mean who on earth wants to just run around finding friggin codex pages just before the final boss?? It would be alright if locating them were at all challenginig, but its just hire whores or thugs to distract the guards and saunter in to loot the box....thats it...over and over and over and over again. I hoped the ending would justify spending $60....nope, same old bizzare rubbish that concluded the last game. The only things I liked in the game were the graphics(certainly not the best, but good all the same) and the double assassinations.....so, if you disliked the first, then steer well clear of this. I bought it simply because of the 91 on metacritic. Rent first!!!! Expand
  35. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    Honestly, it's the worst game I have ever played. The difficulty level is way too high and even e of the first missions, "Sibling Rivalry" the difficulty is to great for someone not familiar with the series or these type games. An epic failure.
  36. ConnorW
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    I thought this game did something very few games can do in this day and age: make a compelling story. The plot and subplots in this game rival, and are often better, than some classic movies. Ubisoft created a completely new world, and gave it the most amazing series of plot twists one could ever imagine. Sure the repetitive nature of the game is the sole element that brings it down, but I thought this game did something very few games can do in this day and age: make a compelling story. The plot and subplots in this game rival, and are often better, than some classic movies. Ubisoft created a completely new world, and gave it the most amazing series of plot twists one could ever imagine. Sure the repetitive nature of the game is the sole element that brings it down, but when collecting the 20 scattered glyphs reveals a video that will change your entire view of the game, I believe it is worth it. I can't wait for AC3. Expand
  37. TobiasC.
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    There was too much hype for this game, and to be honest I felt it detracted from the original. Although it carried the story along nicely, developing the real world character nicely, there is no replay section so you can't return to previous memory segments as you could in Assassin's Creed. There are less collectibles in this game as well (120 not counting weapons, armor, There was too much hype for this game, and to be honest I felt it detracted from the original. Although it carried the story along nicely, developing the real world character nicely, there is no replay section so you can't return to previous memory segments as you could in Assassin's Creed. There are less collectibles in this game as well (120 not counting weapons, armor, paintings, codex or seals) It draws you into the game, although you feel loathe to start a new character to redo levels the replay is definitely something that needs to be addressed. Although returning to the Animus is easier than in the first one. This deserves a 7/10, I much prefer the first one Expand
  38. 80'sGamer2009
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    Once again this game flatters to deceive. Once again style over substance, this is just a very polished GTA clone. The graphics are amazing though and are worthy of praise and the overall presentation is top notch. Just a shame the game is mundane,, slow and essentially boring regardless of how much fun the killing is. The combat system is poor and the controls can be frustrating Once again this game flatters to deceive. Once again style over substance, this is just a very polished GTA clone. The graphics are amazing though and are worthy of praise and the overall presentation is top notch. Just a shame the game is mundane,, slow and essentially boring regardless of how much fun the killing is. The combat system is poor and the controls can be frustrating especially when you have to go do Tomb Raider style jump sequences. It's neither 1 thing or the other - Batman, Arkham Asylum did this genre a lot better but to be fair if you enjoyed AC1 then you'll love this as it is a better overall game. However, the competition has moved on significantly since then. Expand
  39. SimonM
    Dec 10, 2009
    5
    A bit of fun, some nice features in the game but still essentially the same game as the first as the missions still get repetitive and many of them are just simple missions designed to waste time (add more game time). Its also a shame about the recent bribe attempt (only get a review copy for guaranteed good review) by Ubisoft to get better review scores, makes you wonder how many A bit of fun, some nice features in the game but still essentially the same game as the first as the missions still get repetitive and many of them are just simple missions designed to waste time (add more game time). Its also a shame about the recent bribe attempt (only get a review copy for guaranteed good review) by Ubisoft to get better review scores, makes you wonder how many reviewers fell for these tactics. Expand
  40. trevork
    Dec 27, 2009
    6
    while ubisoft did improve on some 1st game flaws, the free running is still a problem. the've made such abig deal about the 200 people they had work on this game, and yet Naughty dog 1/2 the size was able to prefect what they couldn't. Let's all hope these 200 developers play Uncharted 2, Arkum Asylum, & Infamous before Assassins Creed 3.
  41. MarkP
    Dec 15, 2009
    6
    Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with regards to the character movement. Those games make everything flow beautifully and you rarely feel stuck or a lack of control, unlike in AC2. Other things I found annoying were the mini-map, which rotated both the map itself and the characters icon, ultimately becoming disorientating. The game again feels repetitive in a similar way to the first with a handful of features and at times it's unclear as to why you're doing things as you have little or no feedback from the game. If you enjoyed the first game immensely, then this is probably the game for you. If however you're undecided, I'd either rent it first, or invest your money in another game such as the ones I've mentioned above. Expand
  42. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    Overall very entertaining. My only real complaint is that the game is so casual and easy it's sickening. If you know which end of the controller is up then you shouldn't even bother getting armor upgrades. Even then the game is stupidly easy. Not nearly as repetitive as the previous but still pretty bad. The weapons are mostly unnecessary. There is really no need for a sword and dagger inOverall very entertaining. My only real complaint is that the game is so casual and easy it's sickening. If you know which end of the controller is up then you shouldn't even bother getting armor upgrades. Even then the game is stupidly easy. Not nearly as repetitive as the previous but still pretty bad. The weapons are mostly unnecessary. There is really no need for a sword and dagger in the same arsenal. Another issue I had was the gentleman fighting system, where all enemies sit around dumbfounded as you stylishly and slowly execute their friends. The only thing that really saves this is the unique way they tell the story and the impressive moves. Otherwise it seems that all the time is put into two aspects and then everything else is half done. Expand
  43. May 9, 2011
    5
    This is definately an improvment over the first game.It is less repetative,with a little more variety,& have built on the already great combat system,but the developers are still insisting on keeping the pretentious & unnesasary Animus & Desmond parts of the game!... This really kills thewhole game for me personally,& i actually prefered the character & setting in the first game,but it isThis is definately an improvment over the first game.It is less repetative,with a little more variety,& have built on the already great combat system,but the developers are still insisting on keeping the pretentious & unnesasary Animus & Desmond parts of the game!... This really kills thewhole game for me personally,& i actually prefered the character & setting in the first game,but it is a better game technically,hence the higher marks,but said Animus/Desmond fiasco keeps the score low.Drop all that rubbish,& just set it all in the historical setting,for crying out loud! I cant say it clearer than that.. Expand
  44. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    It's really cool conceptually, and the gameplay is awesome too. But it can feel a tad messy at times, and somewhat repetitive. The good does outweigh the bad, and the result is a maddeningly addictive game with a great story to tell.
  45. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Though not a fan of the first game, I gave this a try because a few friends recommended it highly. I found,, as with the first AC, it was highly repetitive and overall a lackluster experience. It kept some of the great mechanics, but lacked to improve in some of the areas I feel made the first one a chore to trudge through. Overall, I would recommend a demo or a rent, and if its yourThough not a fan of the first game, I gave this a try because a few friends recommended it highly. I found,, as with the first AC, it was highly repetitive and overall a lackluster experience. It kept some of the great mechanics, but lacked to improve in some of the areas I feel made the first one a chore to trudge through. Overall, I would recommend a demo or a rent, and if its your thing, cool. But personally I cannot get into the series, and could not advise a purchase Expand
  46. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    What makes AC2 so great is the fact how big it improved upon the first game: Better more interesting storyline, Improved and fast paced gameplay with lots of side quests rather than the main storyline, Likeable characters with excellent voice acting and great visuals, the ONLY downside i have with the game is the fact that the facial visuals are not the best other than that AC2 is my mostWhat makes AC2 so great is the fact how big it improved upon the first game: Better more interesting storyline, Improved and fast paced gameplay with lots of side quests rather than the main storyline, Likeable characters with excellent voice acting and great visuals, the ONLY downside i have with the game is the fact that the facial visuals are not the best other than that AC2 is my most Favorite game of this generation and possibly of all times!

    Visuals - 90/100
    Gameplay - 100/100
    Sound - 100/100
    Story - 100/100
    Expand
  47. May 9, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed 2 is epic! The story is epic, gameplay is epic and graphics are epic. This game is a worth playing. The best part is that the world in AC2 is so huge, that you will be impressed by it. And It's a perfect action adventure game. (9.9)
  48. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    It's such a shame that they just couldn't make you feel like it really was Venice. It's historical accuracy is lacking a bit too much. Games shouldn't be history lessons, but I think they could've done more than a silly Matrix-like Sci-Fi story, it's an old trick. But it's still a great game. It's graphics and exploration (via rooftops) stand out. 8/10
  49. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    What an addictive game. I played through this entirely over a three-day period. The combat is fun and challenging, the graphics are beautiful, and--let's face it--who DOESN'T want to be a badass assassin in Florence Italy during the Renaissance? The sci-fi part of the story is a bit confusing and detracted a bit from the rest of the game for me, but fortunately you spend little time inWhat an addictive game. I played through this entirely over a three-day period. The combat is fun and challenging, the graphics are beautiful, and--let's face it--who DOESN'T want to be a badass assassin in Florence Italy during the Renaissance? The sci-fi part of the story is a bit confusing and detracted a bit from the rest of the game for me, but fortunately you spend little time in this aspect of the story. There were some other parts of the story that were kind of goofy, but the conclusion of this game is incredibly well-done. If you are looking for fun action and buckets of blood, this is a good one. Expand
  50. May 7, 2013
    7
    For me, the game improved in every possible way from AC1 (of course ,the first game only includes climbing up and jumping down). what good about this game is the city design, it is a true masterpiece, yeah, i like climbing up and jumping down in Venice, Florzi....
  51. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    I decided to give ' the best game in the series ' a shot. After completing it i felt...like I was missing something. Don't get me wrong, when I was playing I couldn't stop, but in the end... I didn't really care.

    First of all, I didn't like the game at first. I took a break from it, because I thought it just wasn't my thing. I came back later and it still failed to appeal to me. After a
    I decided to give ' the best game in the series ' a shot. After completing it i felt...like I was missing something. Don't get me wrong, when I was playing I couldn't stop, but in the end... I didn't really care.

    First of all, I didn't like the game at first. I took a break from it, because I thought it just wasn't my thing. I came back later and it still failed to appeal to me. After a few tries, I simply decided to sit through because I really didn't want to miss this adventure. Having played the game, I must say that I still have mixed feelings about it.
    So let's get straight to the point here: The gameplay is fantastic. You can really feel like an assassin. Climbing, killing, stealing, etc. It's all executed well. What I didn't think was so great was the story. I still have no clue what is going on and I don't see a reason to find out what was going on in that game. Something about a guy in this Animus project, being Ezio, who had his own story... It was hard to grasp. And this is one of the things where I think the game kind of missed the boat. Don't get me wrong, I hear people talk about this game like it's one of the best games they've played and I can see why, but that doesn't change the fact that I have no idea what is going on. I don't care what Desmond's or Ezio's motives are, I'm playing the game because I want to feel like an assassin. Not play through some story that I don't care about.
    Another thing where the game felt clunky were the fighting sections. The combat system had a lot to it and you could win by using a variety of moves. However, I never had to use these moves. Dominant strategy is what I stuck with. You see, you can make this complex combat system, but if I don't have to use any of it, and I can just go through the game by blocking, counterattack and dodge... then either I'm doing something wrong or the game didn't really force me to use these complex moves. I think the latter applies to my playthrough, which, in all honesty, is too bad. I would've loved to use some cool moves, but if I don't have to, why bother?

    All in all, all of this doesn't take away from the fact that Assassin's Creed 2 is a great game that everyone should try, but it left a bad taste in my mouth. If people call this the best AC, then I'm afraid I don't have to check out another game in the series, because I won't really care anyway. Which is a shame though.
    Expand
  52. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Ha a year ago I confess that I did not care for this series, but AOPs play this game completely changed my vision, as it presents a fascinating story of betrayal, violence and extremely competent honor that takes the player to ancient cities portrayed faithfully and tastefully which makes the game a great product of entertainment for many types of people, ranging from the most laypeopleHa a year ago I confess that I did not care for this series, but AOPs play this game completely changed my vision, as it presents a fascinating story of betrayal, violence and extremely competent honor that takes the player to ancient cities portrayed faithfully and tastefully which makes the game a great product of entertainment for many types of people, ranging from the most laypeople seeking distraction to intellectual cults Expand
  53. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    An excellent all round game, went forward in leaps and bounds from the first, still can be a little repetitive and probably a little too easy but all in all an excellent adventure.
  54. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    This is the way you make an Assassins Creed game. This is the game that will get you high on Venice. The game that will change your life.The way you see things, they way you act around others. This game is legendary. The gameplay, story and graphics are TOP NOTCH.
  55. Jun 2, 2014
    5
    Assassin's Creed II. After I got my Xbox 360, there was one franchise I really wanted to try because all of my friends at school played it and said it was good, and that franchise was Assassin's Creed. Because this game was cheap at a Gamestop, I decided to buy the game and give it a try. So, is this game the one my friends all love, or are they completely wrong in saying this is anAssassin's Creed II. After I got my Xbox 360, there was one franchise I really wanted to try because all of my friends at school played it and said it was good, and that franchise was Assassin's Creed. Because this game was cheap at a Gamestop, I decided to buy the game and give it a try. So, is this game the one my friends all love, or are they completely wrong in saying this is an amazing game? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game could fuel pretty much any generic action open world game. There is literally nothing that Assassin's Creed really does that makes it stand out from the rest of the open world sandbox games out there other than its setting. I'll admit, the setting of this game is unique, just like Far Cry 2 (ironically enough, they were both made by the exact same developer), as the game takes place in Renaissance Italy. There was no other game out there that used this setting before this game, so it is very unique. However, the big question here is: does the setting of this game save it? Unfortunately, unlike Far Cry 2, no. Far Cry 2 was unique because it was an open world shooter. Before that game came out, this had never been done before. However, Assassin's Creed's gameplay is basically Grand Theft Auto if it were set during the Renaissance. Every kind of mission from the GTA series is in this game, except that it is set during the Renaissance, and there are no cars of any sort. There is another big difference however: there are no guns in the game at any point whatsoever. Instead, you must resort to slashing people with swords and knives to kill them. This can be fun, however, it is still nothing we haven't seen before, as the game resembles a more beat'em up centric style. There is also quite a bit of stealth involved, but stealth in this game really is not as fun as it could be. Even the stealth in this game is nothing we haven't seen before. All you have to do is hide in the shadows, and attack unsuspecting enemies that might wander near you. Not to mention, by the time of this game's release, Batman Arkham Asylum was already out, and it took stealth and beat'em ups to a whole new level. While the gameplay of this game can be fun, it is nothing special, and overall, nothing we haven't seen before. As for the graphics, they are also on the just okay side. They would look good on the original Xbox, but not on the 360. You could make the argument that this game came out in the early days of the Xbox 360, but I would immediately counter that argument by naming five games that came out before this game, and looked better than this: Far Cry 2, Crysis, BioShock, Fallout 3, Mass Effect. That's not to say the graphics are all bad, they actually do look good in some parts. They just don't look as good as other games that came out before it. The setting looks beautiful, but the character models need some work. The character models all look a little weird, perhaps a little too bright, but the setting is nice. The graphics of this game are dated in some spots, but look great in others. As for the story, it sucks, and not much more needs to be said about it. Still though, I'll go into it anyway. Basically, you play as a man named Ezio Auditore. A lot of people said they love Ezio, but I personally think he's overrated. In fact, I don't like him at all. He's basically just an Italien version of Spider-Man who makes out with women a little more. Speaking of Spider-Man, I noticed several moments in this game that not only rip off Spider-Man, but other heroes as well. For instance, Ezio's family is murdered, and he rose from this to become a hero. This is practically the same story as that of Batman, Spider-Man, Harry Potter, Luke Skywalker, and Superman. They all lost family members (in Superman's case, it was his entire race), and they all rose from this to become heroes. They also throw in a story set in the present, but this story is so terrible, that I'm surprised they kept it for the other games in the series. Not only does it make the story more confusing then it needs to be, but you'll also find it to be a complete rip-off of the Matrix. The hero goes into a computer program to save the world. Overall, the story of this game is just bad. Overall, I have no idea what my friends were talking about. If you ask me, this game deserves a rent more than anything else. The only people I can really recommend this game to are people who love the Renaissance, and no one else. For everyone else, it would be best just to skip this game entirely, and get Batman Arkham Asylum instead. It is so much better than this game.
    Gameplay: 5/10
    Graphics: 6/10
    Story: 3/10
    Overall: 5/10
    Expand
  56. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    the assassin's creed franchise is highly overrated. I tried playing through this game but it's missions are so repetitive that I simply got bored like 15 hours through and gave up. the whole concept is more complex than it needs to be with the going into your ancestors memories and stuff, I would have been a lot happier with just actually being in the settings they give you in the gamesthe assassin's creed franchise is highly overrated. I tried playing through this game but it's missions are so repetitive that I simply got bored like 15 hours through and gave up. the whole concept is more complex than it needs to be with the going into your ancestors memories and stuff, I would have been a lot happier with just actually being in the settings they give you in the games and not some matrix bull crap. the game does have its perks though, there hasn't been a game that actually makes you feel like a bad ass assassin, oh wait, yes there is, hitman and splinter cell do that and they do it better. sorry for sounding so negative though, the parkour is fun and there is a great sense of freedom, and kicking people's butt is fun, but that's it, its a pretty shallow game in my opinion. and yeah I know the story is pretty good but It means nothing if they don't execute the telling of it in an interesting and gripping way, that's how many great stories are ruined in games and this is no exception Expand
  57. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    That game was amazing, was better than one, because it innovated thousands elements, the script is one of the best in the series. the environment is very very beautiful, many cool details
  58. NickS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely breath-taking, stunning, and engrossing. A must-play.
  59. M.E.
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This is a great game. Ubisoft improved and expanded on practically everything. More enemy types, assassination techniques, weapons and so on. The graphics are good though not top of the line,and the environments beg to be explored. The only gripe i have is that the combat system has been expanded but not improved a lot. It works great against one or a few opponents but when you have a This is a great game. Ubisoft improved and expanded on practically everything. More enemy types, assassination techniques, weapons and so on. The graphics are good though not top of the line,and the environments beg to be explored. The only gripe i have is that the combat system has been expanded but not improved a lot. It works great against one or a few opponents but when you have a crowds, it falls apart. Expand
  60. JBell
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed II is a breathtakingly beautiful game which raises the bar for sandbox-style gameplay. The gameplay and design tie in perfectly, and the Renaissance-era Italian setting is refreshing and startlingly detailed. An outstanding improvement over the flawed perfection that was the original Assassin's Creed, this second instalment in the franchise is easy to recommend Assassin's Creed II is a breathtakingly beautiful game which raises the bar for sandbox-style gameplay. The gameplay and design tie in perfectly, and the Renaissance-era Italian setting is refreshing and startlingly detailed. An outstanding improvement over the flawed perfection that was the original Assassin's Creed, this second instalment in the franchise is easy to recommend to anyone and will keep you entertained for weeks to come. Expand
  61. BrienH
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    The characters are compelling, the story engrossing, and the gameplay addictive. On top of that, the campaign is deep, replay value well-stocked, and graphics/sound are 1st rate. The only reason you may not love this game is that platforming can sometimes be frustratingly inaccurate, but just a little patience goes a LONG way with enjoying the game overall.
  62. ChristianO
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Simply put... The Greatest Video Game of All Time. The 'critics' either do not have a clue what they are talking about or they need to find some imagination and wonder from somewhere. I honestly feel sorry for them if they cannot see the endless beauty in this magnificent 'game.' Astonishing.
  63. JoshG.
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Blows the previous entry out of the water in every single way. Mainly the problem I had with the first game was the repetitiveness... AC2 if anything is not repetitive and it completely and totally blew me away.
  64. NickH
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    It is in every way a step up from the original, the missions are more engaging and varied, and the combat is richer and over the top (in a good way). In fact, if there weren't so many other great games that have come out this year I would give this game of the year hands down. Get this game.
  65. AlexW.
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    I played the first one and it was great for the first two hours... then it became repetitive and boring. I never finished it. However, Assassin's Creed II is absolutely amazing. I literrally played this game 12 hours straight and not once did it feel boring or repetitive. Venice is without a doubt one of the most beautiful cities in real life and this game manages to recreate it I played the first one and it was great for the first two hours... then it became repetitive and boring. I never finished it. However, Assassin's Creed II is absolutely amazing. I literrally played this game 12 hours straight and not once did it feel boring or repetitive. Venice is without a doubt one of the most beautiful cities in real life and this game manages to recreate it perfectly. One you climb on a tower in the center of Venice and look around you will be breathless. Expand
  66. TalhaA
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    This is what the first game should've been its so diverse in terms of mission structure and a great introduction to investigate inside the tombs just love the prince of persia feeling in to the gameplay. You actually care about the main character thanks and the first 2 hours is very interesting.
  67. MattMe
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    9 and fully deserved. The only things you can possibly improve in this game are the opponents AI and the fight sequences/gameplay. But, ehi, if you are just looking for that go play call of duty. With assassin's creed, if you are a good player, you won't fight that much, but sneak to the rear and finish your opponent in a second. Obv, as every game it gets awesome if you take 9 and fully deserved. The only things you can possibly improve in this game are the opponents AI and the fight sequences/gameplay. But, ehi, if you are just looking for that go play call of duty. With assassin's creed, if you are a good player, you won't fight that much, but sneak to the rear and finish your opponent in a second. Obv, as every game it gets awesome if you take some risks, i.e. by walking on the streets of the city instead of just going everywhere jumping on the top of the roofs. Expand
  68. EstebanDuart
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    At first I thought I thought the first Assassin's Creed was a good game but I after playing this and seeing how it has improved in the every way I would go as far as to say Assassin's Creed 2 has been my favorite game of the whole year.
  69. MatthewL.
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Ubisoft has proven it can still craft an engaging experience and yes, once again, it is still worthy of our attention. While not a GOTY candidate, you would be remised to pass this game up as simply another free-runner in what is becoming a bit of an overpopulated genre. Let's get this out of the way first
  70. DanielS
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are nearly equal but it shouldn't matter because it won't ruin the experience for anyone. Final words: play this game! Expand
  71. EdR
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    An amazing and riveting experience. I, for one, was blown away by the presentation. I thought the environments were stunning and I don't understand those who complain about poor graphics. This is a gorgeous game and having been to many of the locations in real life, I can say that the art team got it bang on. I got chills walking into Saint Marks Square in Venice and seeing the Duomo An amazing and riveting experience. I, for one, was blown away by the presentation. I thought the environments were stunning and I don't understand those who complain about poor graphics. This is a gorgeous game and having been to many of the locations in real life, I can say that the art team got it bang on. I got chills walking into Saint Marks Square in Venice and seeing the Duomo for the first time, it's the frickin' Duomo, you mean I get to climb the Duomo. I loved the crazy art puzzles they throw in as well, very cool and inspiring to be reconnected to renaissance greats. The overall game design is brilliantly conceived and stays true to its overall intent within the framework that the designers created. All the detail is there from the menu to what goes in-game. I will say that the map was disappointing and not very useful, even frustrating and I'm not sure I understand why they chose to skimp on that portion. I found the main narrative to be very compelling despite being confused at times. The missions for the most part were fun. The game's difficulty is actually quite easy, you just got to put in the time to cover all the content that is offered. Fighting is very well done and easy. Overall, a top notch experience and one of the most carefully crafted products I have ever played. Well done, Ubisoft Montreal! Expand
  72. BrandonG
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    Everything that was right in the first game was kept or improved, everything wrong was fixed. This and Batman are tied for game of 2009.
  73. Gary
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Improvement on the original in every single way. I have not been this engrossed in a game since Bioshock. Not only is the gameplay top notch, but the writing, voice acting, and environment are also extremely well done. My favorite part of this game is probably the story. The story hits that perfect balance between being complicated while also being well put together and understandable. Improvement on the original in every single way. I have not been this engrossed in a game since Bioshock. Not only is the gameplay top notch, but the writing, voice acting, and environment are also extremely well done. My favorite part of this game is probably the story. The story hits that perfect balance between being complicated while also being well put together and understandable. Most games when attempting a complex story end up with a incoherent mess, but this is not the case with AC2. I highly recommend this game. A note to anyone interested in this game though, you must play AC1 first otherwise the story will make no sense whatsoever. Expand
  74. ErickO
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    An incredible game with such spectacular visuals and improvements to everything that was Assassin's Creed 1. Repetitiveness has been thrown out the window, now giving you story missions to take up when you choose to, and the free roaming for your pleasure. Pickpocketing, races and information gathering are all now mini-quests, not needed to continue the story. And speaking of the An incredible game with such spectacular visuals and improvements to everything that was Assassin's Creed 1. Repetitiveness has been thrown out the window, now giving you story missions to take up when you choose to, and the free roaming for your pleasure. Pickpocketing, races and information gathering are all now mini-quests, not needed to continue the story. And speaking of the story, impeccable improvements. The first was a prototype for a new IP, and the second installment refined it to it's peak. Addicting and enthralling, I recommend it to everyone. Expand
  75. GarrettS.
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. It takes the annoying repetitive side missions from the first and makes it so much better. The free running also seems just about equal f not a little better but a minor thing is occasionaly you "stick" to things witch gets annoying. Combat is much improved, many weapons and the dlow of the action is much better. And the double blades? They never get old. Buy this This game is awesome. It takes the annoying repetitive side missions from the first and makes it so much better. The free running also seems just about equal f not a little better but a minor thing is occasionaly you "stick" to things witch gets annoying. Combat is much improved, many weapons and the dlow of the action is much better. And the double blades? They never get old. Buy this game (not used) so Ubisoft makes another. P.S. @harry s Ignorant people like you really annoy me no one on Metacritic is taking and bribes or any other game site and maybe you were too busy whining to notice that it is up there. Thats it. Expand
  76. MostafaR
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Stupendous! At once more emotionally engaging, as well as wondrously built. I felt an attachment to Ezio, and his plight, which is a rare thing in games. The story is well thought out, albeit sometimes unclear, the fighting is improved with the wider range of weapons, the structure of the game is progressively better, the cities seem bigger, and bursting with detail. Not only a massive Stupendous! At once more emotionally engaging, as well as wondrously built. I felt an attachment to Ezio, and his plight, which is a rare thing in games. The story is well thought out, albeit sometimes unclear, the fighting is improved with the wider range of weapons, the structure of the game is progressively better, the cities seem bigger, and bursting with detail. Not only a massive leap from the first game, but a step forward for games in general. A masterpiece of an experience. Expand
  77. AriD
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    I've played maybe 3 hours of the game, and its pretty amazing. Some of the graphics aren't as amazing as I was hoping for but in the end the graphics are still pretty good. The game isn't nearly as repetitive as the first game was and allows for a bit more variation in what you do. Not perfect but pretty fucking good.
  78. SeanF
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    An enormous improvement over the original, everything is better from the graphics, to the gameplay and sound. Hugely reccomended for anyone even slightly interested in video games, and an absolute must have for anyone with a console. Easily in the top 5 Action/Adventure games of all time and a clear forerunner for game of the year.
  79. gonzalon
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    3 hours playing the game, all i can say is damn i have classes, i could happily be al the day playing the game, i loved the gameplay of the first one, now you have the same but with little improvements, i like the fact that is a fiction but take place in great parts of history, with great names, jesper kid keeps his great style in music, from gameplay music story i have nothing bad to 3 hours playing the game, all i can say is damn i have classes, i could happily be al the day playing the game, i loved the gameplay of the first one, now you have the same but with little improvements, i like the fact that is a fiction but take place in great parts of history, with great names, jesper kid keeps his great style in music, from gameplay music story i have nothing bad to say, but good job ubisoft Expand
  80. MiguelR
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Assassin's Creed 2 delivered all that was promised by their creators. Anyone who played the game needs to admit that some quality time was spent by just looking at the scenery. The cities are so beautifully rendered, you just need to get in a view point and plan ahead which path to take for the other view point or just go randomly from roof to roof, streets or water. The music chosen Assassin's Creed 2 delivered all that was promised by their creators. Anyone who played the game needs to admit that some quality time was spent by just looking at the scenery. The cities are so beautifully rendered, you just need to get in a view point and plan ahead which path to take for the other view point or just go randomly from roof to roof, streets or water. The music chosen for this game cannot be compared to any other; each song is perfectly implemented into the story and game-play. The eagle vision looks amazing when you look at the sky and all the animations, day/night cycle, and counter moves are performed flawlessly. I could write a 20 page-essay just describing how good this game is, but I leave it for you to decide. Expand
  81. ChrisS.
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Simply amazing, what the first game SHOULD have been like.The only reason It doesn't get a 10 is because of a few little bugs and clipping glitches that dampen your mood, but they only dampen the mood because the game is so amazingly fantastic. I would even recommend this to people who haven't played AC1, you can skip AC1, the only thing you miss is the story, but they do a nice Simply amazing, what the first game SHOULD have been like.The only reason It doesn't get a 10 is because of a few little bugs and clipping glitches that dampen your mood, but they only dampen the mood because the game is so amazingly fantastic. I would even recommend this to people who haven't played AC1, you can skip AC1, the only thing you miss is the story, but they do a nice little recap at the beginning which was very nice. Expand
  82. JoshThiel
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Take the first game, although borrowing ideas still groundbreaking, and multiply it times 10. This game offers a variety form the simple follow this person, do this quest. It also offers you the chance to build up an old rundown area and gain money from it. It's got classic RPG elements and then continues to make the Assassin experience that much better. A great game and something Take the first game, although borrowing ideas still groundbreaking, and multiply it times 10. This game offers a variety form the simple follow this person, do this quest. It also offers you the chance to build up an old rundown area and gain money from it. It's got classic RPG elements and then continues to make the Assassin experience that much better. A great game and something anyone who is a fan of the Action/RPG or Adventure genre should give a try. Expand
  83. DJH
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Do not buy this game, if you have ANY desire to keep your social life intact. Once inserted into your console, you will not leave your house for days. If the incredible scenery, backed by beautiful graphics, doesn't keep you hooked. The excellent, creative and challenging gameplay will. If you still don't heed my warning; Good luck! You're going to need it.
  84. SeanB.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This game is simply one of the best I have ever played. From start to finish, it is full of a fresh variety of activities and action. Each mission becomes memorable for their own distinct flavor and style, partially for the way you accomplish your goal, and party for the script that directs the events around you. Finally, the game has one of the best narratives I have ever encountered. As This game is simply one of the best I have ever played. From start to finish, it is full of a fresh variety of activities and action. Each mission becomes memorable for their own distinct flavor and style, partially for the way you accomplish your goal, and party for the script that directs the events around you. Finally, the game has one of the best narratives I have ever encountered. As a book, it would be stellar, New York Times Bestseller. As a movie, it would be one that people would talk about for decades. As a game, it sets a new bar. With a beginning full of emotion, wit, and realism, to an ending that satisfies my needs for closure and consistency, this game blew me away. Expand
  85. LuisH
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    The target: a corrupt templar monk hiding in his own private monastery in the Tuscan countryside. I entered the monastery's courtyard, my eagle vision id'ing the guards hidden in monk robs, I approached a group of four monks and waited. Moments later, the target approached me, while engaged on a lively conversation with a pier. Death was delivered with my double hidden blade, The target: a corrupt templar monk hiding in his own private monastery in the Tuscan countryside. I entered the monastery's courtyard, my eagle vision id'ing the guards hidden in monk robs, I approached a group of four monks and waited. Moments later, the target approached me, while engaged on a lively conversation with a pier. Death was delivered with my double hidden blade, taking out both the target and his companion through the throat. A quick smoke bomb later, I sprinted to my horse and fled the scene. After two decades of playing video games, that was one of my top 5 moments ever. I wished I had captured it on video. I love this game. Buy it. Expand
  86. RicO
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    I loved the first Assassin's Creed, and was expecting something special from the sequel. I wasn't disappointed. Some amazing improvements have been made, most noticeably the ability to swim, the monetary system, and the various types and styles of weapons that are now available. The game totally resets Assassin's Creed and gives it a complete overhall. The graphics are as I loved the first Assassin's Creed, and was expecting something special from the sequel. I wasn't disappointed. Some amazing improvements have been made, most noticeably the ability to swim, the monetary system, and the various types and styles of weapons that are now available. The game totally resets Assassin's Creed and gives it a complete overhall. The graphics are as good as they ever were, and the gameplay has been refined just enough so that new and old players alike will get a great experience from it. One thing to note: Some of the puzzle challenges later on in the game can be difficult, but they are worth working your way through to unlock the full potential of the story. Can't wait for number 3. Expand
  87. LongHaired
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Unlike a lot of people i loved the first game so eagerly i bought this game, if there was any flaws in the last game, they're not there now. The new Italian theme really works and the fact that there are loads of twists and turns in the long and interesting storyline, if you don't like this, please go and seek help from a doctor.
  88. JoshuaH
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Great game that takes the framework of AC1, while getting rid of all the tediousness. Add in some gorgeous locations, and an excellent storyline, and this was the one game in my library capable of pulling me away from MW2
  89. JamesP
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    This is the BEST game I have ever played. The plot, the combat system, everything is top notch but what really pushes this game over the edge is the historical and architecural accuracy. I feel like I should have skipped ARCH151 and just played this game, the amount of content is staggering, from the huge variety of classical painting to the many famous churches, palazzos and villas, I This is the BEST game I have ever played. The plot, the combat system, everything is top notch but what really pushes this game over the edge is the historical and architecural accuracy. I feel like I should have skipped ARCH151 and just played this game, the amount of content is staggering, from the huge variety of classical painting to the many famous churches, palazzos and villas, I really felt like I was exploring renaissance Italy. Expand
  90. MarkoH
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    The gameplay of this game is very enjoyable and the envrioment is just amazing!There are lots of things you can do in this game that differs lot from the orginal game!But,as usual they should have spent more time on animating. I give this game rating 9.
  91. Zombiehunter
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    This was a very good game that I had to play through twice fully before I could think of putting it down. It has a very smooth learning curve too so that even novice players should be able to pick it up right away. My only gripe would be that the "tutorial" section is WAY too long for multiple play throughs. Still, if that's the price I pay for a well written, engrossing story then so be it.
  92. pupers
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    The perfect sequel to an already awesome game. Everything has been improved and the story and content let me forget about time. I LOVE IT!
  93. ruffneckcruffneck
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    The game sucks you into its world and never lets go until the final blade and been swung and your vengeance complete. I really enjoyed playing through this game, which has so much to do that you can never really get bored. The fighting mechanics work pretty well, the story has twists and drama that are intriguing and I really loved discovering Renaissance Italy. The climbing mechanics The game sucks you into its world and never lets go until the final blade and been swung and your vengeance complete. I really enjoyed playing through this game, which has so much to do that you can never really get bored. The fighting mechanics work pretty well, the story has twists and drama that are intriguing and I really loved discovering Renaissance Italy. The climbing mechanics leave a little to be desired as you will often starting running up a wall when you are simply chasing someone down and the targeting of multiple enemies when fighting could be done a little better but all in all, this is a wonderful adventure game that will grab you and never let go until the very end. Expand
  94. DanielG
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This game improved everything and ever since it was announced I have been deathly excited for it, and it has lived up to my expectations. Perfectly Executed.
  95. CodyB
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    I must say that I am completely surprised! I loved the first2 hours of the first one and absolutely loathed the remaining 8 hours. They have truly taken the faults of the 1st and fixed them. I have played this one for 6 hours straight and am cursing the fact that I have a job right now because I can't stop thinking about playing this game. I can't remember the last time a game I must say that I am completely surprised! I loved the first2 hours of the first one and absolutely loathed the remaining 8 hours. They have truly taken the faults of the 1st and fixed them. I have played this one for 6 hours straight and am cursing the fact that I have a job right now because I can't stop thinking about playing this game. I can't remember the last time a game had me at hello. The story is completely immersive, you get emotionally attached to the characters, and the gameplay is solid. The repetitiveness from the 1st is completely gone and every mission flows perfectly. I absolutely love how they have incorporated the many different mini puzzles with the cool little video clips that you are awarded with by solving the puzzle. Each video clip continues off of the last one to reveal "The truth". Quite addicting and massive. MUST BUY! Expand
  96. CranstonP.
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    I can't believe I am saying this, but this game has my vote for Game of the YEAR! I was reluctant to buy this based off the the horrible repetitiveness of the first one. I decided to take a gamble solely off of the reviews it was getting. Boy did it pay off! Jackpot! Just read the reviews of all of the critics and that will sum up beautifully how awesome this game is. I can't I can't believe I am saying this, but this game has my vote for Game of the YEAR! I was reluctant to buy this based off the the horrible repetitiveness of the first one. I decided to take a gamble solely off of the reviews it was getting. Boy did it pay off! Jackpot! Just read the reviews of all of the critics and that will sum up beautifully how awesome this game is. I can't put the controller down.... well except to type this review. Expand
  97. A.B.
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    What is "Meristation" talking about. This is nothing like the first one. It's almost like this is a totally different game with the same skin. People, I am the most critical person when it comes to games. I rarely play anything but sports and racing games. This game rocks. Yes, the first 2 hours are slow, but once you get to the part where you escort your mom and sis out of the city, What is "Meristation" talking about. This is nothing like the first one. It's almost like this is a totally different game with the same skin. People, I am the most critical person when it comes to games. I rarely play anything but sports and racing games. This game rocks. Yes, the first 2 hours are slow, but once you get to the part where you escort your mom and sis out of the city, this game completely opens up and is completely ADDICTING!. If you like ANY kinds of video games, this is a must buy and must play. Prepare to give up time in your life to play this. Expand
  98. ChrisK.
    Nov 22, 2009
    8
    A great game letdown by dated gameplay controls and an underdeveloped engine. The LOD loading in this game is a great immersion killer. Characters appear from nowhere, shadows flicker and textures pop in. Even running across a vacant field shows a visible line where high res grass meets with the low res version. A generation 1 xbox 360 game might have these artifacts, but for a A++ title A great game letdown by dated gameplay controls and an underdeveloped engine. The LOD loading in this game is a great immersion killer. Characters appear from nowhere, shadows flicker and textures pop in. Even running across a vacant field shows a visible line where high res grass meets with the low res version. A generation 1 xbox 360 game might have these artifacts, but for a A++ title with this kind of development time this is inexcusable. I'm already disappointed and considering waiting for the PC version which hopefully won't have these issues. Otherwise it's a great game and well worth your time. Expand
  99. MnFlaco
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Grand Theft Gondola is a fantastic game
  100. A.R.
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This game is not perfect, but it is what we all wanted the first one to be. The environment is absolutely outstanding, with beautiful graphics of Ubisoft's version of Venice. The mixture of Italian and English is incredibly well-done. The mechanics are similar to the first game, but enhanced and polished for a much deeper and more expansive experience. This is what a sequel should be.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. The first Assassin's Creed's charm was in the sumptuous graphics and straightforward action - that incredible climbing and free-running, and the visceral thrill of stapling evil people to the dirt with a wristblade. With AC2 the rest of the game has caught up with the brilliance of those central ideas to create a complete and coherent experience. We can think of plenty of words that could describe Assassin's Creed 2 - involving, exciting, cinematic - but there's only one word that sums it up beautifully. Killer. [Dec 2009, p.74]
  2. Assassin's Creed 2 is miles away form the first chapter. It's a whole new game, different in many aspects. The main quest is involving and nice to play, and the number of side mission and extra activities is impressive (and all of them are fun to play). The setting is peculiar and unique, and the panoramic views are sharp and, somehow, magic.
  3. Assassin's Creed II delivers a great story driven experience. Solving most of the problems of its predecessor, this accomplished sequel offers compelling action, beautiful environments and a great plethora of well written characters. A must have for every action-adventure fan with a taste for history, and one of the best games of this fall.