Assassin's Creed II Xbox 360

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1339 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KaiK
    Nov 22, 2009
    7
    Assassin's Creed II Review: Assassin's Creed II is less then stellar. On the other hand, its not a bad title either. its has outdated looking graphics, clunky frustrating controls and some what repetitive. The main issues are the controls in Assassin's Creed II .The first Assassin's Creed although a lot more repetitive, had very good responsive controls. this one feels Assassin's Creed II Review: Assassin's Creed II is less then stellar. On the other hand, its not a bad title either. its has outdated looking graphics, clunky frustrating controls and some what repetitive. The main issues are the controls in Assassin's Creed II .The first Assassin's Creed although a lot more repetitive, had very good responsive controls. this one feels like you have weights tide to your feet. Jumping on roof tops,climbing and running is awful and clunky and feels more like a prison than freedom. The controls feel stubborn and unresponsive. The first game had sold controls, however this is a step backwards in terms of controls. The content is a good improvement from the last installment. More missions variety and cool characters and better weapon selection. However the lack of not being able to customize your controls to either AC1 or your own is a set back considering how awful the AC2 controls are. The story is darker in AC2 and the amount of moves you can do in combat is rewarding. The amount of historical detail is amazing and the history of Italy will certainly keep you interested. Some glitch's are present throughout the game, which will not take too much away from your overall experience. Overall its a decent title but not anywhere near triple A status, and it certainly doesn't deserve a 91%. Note: The PS3 version has many issues such as frame rate, ripping, and lag. If you plan on buying Assassin's Creed II buy it on PC or XBOX 360. Gameplay: 8.0 controls: 4.5 story: 9.0 content: 9.5 __ Overall: 7.5 Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this game when I first played it. It was a great revenge story, set in my favorite country. The scenery was great, the gameplay was great, the collectibles were great, and the character's weren't too bad either. The ending, however, ruined it for me. If the "present-day" part of the story was taken out, I think I'd have a much higher opinion of this game. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2010
    5
    Assassins creed 2. For some reason they dramaticaly lowered the graphics of the game, i laughed a few times at some of the scenes. The story is just as terrible as the first game. The repeatedness of the first game has dissapeared, i now enjoy the combat much more, but found the enviroment less comfortable than the first game. I find it to be not much different from the first game and findAssassins creed 2. For some reason they dramaticaly lowered the graphics of the game, i laughed a few times at some of the scenes. The story is just as terrible as the first game. The repeatedness of the first game has dissapeared, i now enjoy the combat much more, but found the enviroment less comfortable than the first game. I find it to be not much different from the first game and find that far to many people have been realy overating this game, it is a good game, but not that great. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    6
    A much better and enjoyable game than Assassin's Creed I. Lots main and side mission to do and lots new weapon. The combat is still repetitive boring with counterattack animation and occasionally disarming enemy's weapon. Camera angle is annoying and the game economy is a major failure, and finally the game ending is ridiculous.
  5. TobiasC.
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    There was too much hype for this game, and to be honest I felt it detracted from the original. Although it carried the story along nicely, developing the real world character nicely, there is no replay section so you can't return to previous memory segments as you could in Assassin's Creed. There are less collectibles in this game as well (120 not counting weapons, armor, There was too much hype for this game, and to be honest I felt it detracted from the original. Although it carried the story along nicely, developing the real world character nicely, there is no replay section so you can't return to previous memory segments as you could in Assassin's Creed. There are less collectibles in this game as well (120 not counting weapons, armor, paintings, codex or seals) It draws you into the game, although you feel loathe to start a new character to redo levels the replay is definitely something that needs to be addressed. Although returning to the Animus is easier than in the first one. This deserves a 7/10, I much prefer the first one Expand
  6. 80'sGamer2009
    Nov 17, 2009
    7
    Once again this game flatters to deceive. Once again style over substance, this is just a very polished GTA clone. The graphics are amazing though and are worthy of praise and the overall presentation is top notch. Just a shame the game is mundane,, slow and essentially boring regardless of how much fun the killing is. The combat system is poor and the controls can be frustrating Once again this game flatters to deceive. Once again style over substance, this is just a very polished GTA clone. The graphics are amazing though and are worthy of praise and the overall presentation is top notch. Just a shame the game is mundane,, slow and essentially boring regardless of how much fun the killing is. The combat system is poor and the controls can be frustrating especially when you have to go do Tomb Raider style jump sequences. It's neither 1 thing or the other - Batman, Arkham Asylum did this genre a lot better but to be fair if you enjoyed AC1 then you'll love this as it is a better overall game. However, the competition has moved on significantly since then. Expand
  7. SimonM
    Dec 10, 2009
    5
    A bit of fun, some nice features in the game but still essentially the same game as the first as the missions still get repetitive and many of them are just simple missions designed to waste time (add more game time). Its also a shame about the recent bribe attempt (only get a review copy for guaranteed good review) by Ubisoft to get better review scores, makes you wonder how many A bit of fun, some nice features in the game but still essentially the same game as the first as the missions still get repetitive and many of them are just simple missions designed to waste time (add more game time). Its also a shame about the recent bribe attempt (only get a review copy for guaranteed good review) by Ubisoft to get better review scores, makes you wonder how many reviewers fell for these tactics. Expand
  8. trevork
    Dec 27, 2009
    6
    while ubisoft did improve on some 1st game flaws, the free running is still a problem. the've made such abig deal about the 200 people they had work on this game, and yet Naughty dog 1/2 the size was able to prefect what they couldn't. Let's all hope these 200 developers play Uncharted 2, Arkum Asylum, & Infamous before Assassins Creed 3.
  9. MarkP
    Dec 15, 2009
    6
    Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with Unfortunately I've been left with a feeling of disappointment with AC2. I want to like it, I really do, but I just find myself getting frustreated with it. The control system is too clunky and unintuative. After playing Arkham Asylum and Uncharted 2 in the past few months, I feel that Ubisoft really should have taken a leaf out of Naughty Dog's and Rocksteady's books with regards to the character movement. Those games make everything flow beautifully and you rarely feel stuck or a lack of control, unlike in AC2. Other things I found annoying were the mini-map, which rotated both the map itself and the characters icon, ultimately becoming disorientating. The game again feels repetitive in a similar way to the first with a handful of features and at times it's unclear as to why you're doing things as you have little or no feedback from the game. If you enjoyed the first game immensely, then this is probably the game for you. If however you're undecided, I'd either rent it first, or invest your money in another game such as the ones I've mentioned above. Expand
  10. Aug 23, 2010
    7
    Overall very entertaining. My only real complaint is that the game is so casual and easy it's sickening. If you know which end of the controller is up then you shouldn't even bother getting armor upgrades. Even then the game is stupidly easy. Not nearly as repetitive as the previous but still pretty bad. The weapons are mostly unnecessary. There is really no need for a sword and dagger inOverall very entertaining. My only real complaint is that the game is so casual and easy it's sickening. If you know which end of the controller is up then you shouldn't even bother getting armor upgrades. Even then the game is stupidly easy. Not nearly as repetitive as the previous but still pretty bad. The weapons are mostly unnecessary. There is really no need for a sword and dagger in the same arsenal. Another issue I had was the gentleman fighting system, where all enemies sit around dumbfounded as you stylishly and slowly execute their friends. The only thing that really saves this is the unique way they tell the story and the impressive moves. Otherwise it seems that all the time is put into two aspects and then everything else is half done. Expand
  11. May 9, 2011
    5
    This is definately an improvment over the first game.It is less repetative,with a little more variety,& have built on the already great combat system,but the developers are still insisting on keeping the pretentious & unnesasary Animus & Desmond parts of the game!... This really kills thewhole game for me personally,& i actually prefered the character & setting in the first game,but it isThis is definately an improvment over the first game.It is less repetative,with a little more variety,& have built on the already great combat system,but the developers are still insisting on keeping the pretentious & unnesasary Animus & Desmond parts of the game!... This really kills thewhole game for me personally,& i actually prefered the character & setting in the first game,but it is a better game technically,hence the higher marks,but said Animus/Desmond fiasco keeps the score low.Drop all that rubbish,& just set it all in the historical setting,for crying out loud! I cant say it clearer than that.. Expand
  12. Mar 20, 2012
    5
    Though not a fan of the first game, I gave this a try because a few friends recommended it highly. I found,, as with the first AC, it was highly repetitive and overall a lackluster experience. It kept some of the great mechanics, but lacked to improve in some of the areas I feel made the first one a chore to trudge through. Overall, I would recommend a demo or a rent, and if its yourThough not a fan of the first game, I gave this a try because a few friends recommended it highly. I found,, as with the first AC, it was highly repetitive and overall a lackluster experience. It kept some of the great mechanics, but lacked to improve in some of the areas I feel made the first one a chore to trudge through. Overall, I would recommend a demo or a rent, and if its your thing, cool. But personally I cannot get into the series, and could not advise a purchase Expand
  13. May 7, 2013
    7
    For me, the game improved in every possible way from AC1 (of course ,the first game only includes climbing up and jumping down). what good about this game is the city design, it is a true masterpiece, yeah, i like climbing up and jumping down in Venice, Florzi....
  14. Jul 18, 2014
    7
    I decided to give ' the best game in the series ' a shot. After completing it i felt...like I was missing something. Don't get me wrong, when I was playing I couldn't stop, but in the end... I didn't really care.

    First of all, I didn't like the game at first. I took a break from it, because I thought it just wasn't my thing. I came back later and it still failed to appeal to me. After a
    I decided to give ' the best game in the series ' a shot. After completing it i felt...like I was missing something. Don't get me wrong, when I was playing I couldn't stop, but in the end... I didn't really care.

    First of all, I didn't like the game at first. I took a break from it, because I thought it just wasn't my thing. I came back later and it still failed to appeal to me. After a few tries, I simply decided to sit through because I really didn't want to miss this adventure. Having played the game, I must say that I still have mixed feelings about it.
    So let's get straight to the point here: The gameplay is fantastic. You can really feel like an assassin. Climbing, killing, stealing, etc. It's all executed well. What I didn't think was so great was the story. I still have no clue what is going on and I don't see a reason to find out what was going on in that game. Something about a guy in this Animus project, being Ezio, who had his own story... It was hard to grasp. And this is one of the things where I think the game kind of missed the boat. Don't get me wrong, I hear people talk about this game like it's one of the best games they've played and I can see why, but that doesn't change the fact that I have no idea what is going on. I don't care what Desmond's or Ezio's motives are, I'm playing the game because I want to feel like an assassin. Not play through some story that I don't care about.
    Another thing where the game felt clunky were the fighting sections. The combat system had a lot to it and you could win by using a variety of moves. However, I never had to use these moves. Dominant strategy is what I stuck with. You see, you can make this complex combat system, but if I don't have to use any of it, and I can just go through the game by blocking, counterattack and dodge... then either I'm doing something wrong or the game didn't really force me to use these complex moves. I think the latter applies to my playthrough, which, in all honesty, is too bad. I would've loved to use some cool moves, but if I don't have to, why bother?

    All in all, all of this doesn't take away from the fact that Assassin's Creed 2 is a great game that everyone should try, but it left a bad taste in my mouth. If people call this the best AC, then I'm afraid I don't have to check out another game in the series, because I won't really care anyway. Which is a shame though.
    Expand
  15. Jun 2, 2014
    5
    Assassin's Creed II. After I got my Xbox 360, there was one franchise I really wanted to try because all of my friends at school played it and said it was good, and that franchise was Assassin's Creed. Because this game was cheap at a Gamestop, I decided to buy the game and give it a try. So, is this game the one my friends all love, or are they completely wrong in saying this is anAssassin's Creed II. After I got my Xbox 360, there was one franchise I really wanted to try because all of my friends at school played it and said it was good, and that franchise was Assassin's Creed. Because this game was cheap at a Gamestop, I decided to buy the game and give it a try. So, is this game the one my friends all love, or are they completely wrong in saying this is an amazing game? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game could fuel pretty much any generic action open world game. There is literally nothing that Assassin's Creed really does that makes it stand out from the rest of the open world sandbox games out there other than its setting. I'll admit, the setting of this game is unique, just like Far Cry 2 (ironically enough, they were both made by the exact same developer), as the game takes place in Renaissance Italy. There was no other game out there that used this setting before this game, so it is very unique. However, the big question here is: does the setting of this game save it? Unfortunately, unlike Far Cry 2, no. Far Cry 2 was unique because it was an open world shooter. Before that game came out, this had never been done before. However, Assassin's Creed's gameplay is basically Grand Theft Auto if it were set during the Renaissance. Every kind of mission from the GTA series is in this game, except that it is set during the Renaissance, and there are no cars of any sort. There is another big difference however: there are no guns in the game at any point whatsoever. Instead, you must resort to slashing people with swords and knives to kill them. This can be fun, however, it is still nothing we haven't seen before, as the game resembles a more beat'em up centric style. There is also quite a bit of stealth involved, but stealth in this game really is not as fun as it could be. Even the stealth in this game is nothing we haven't seen before. All you have to do is hide in the shadows, and attack unsuspecting enemies that might wander near you. Not to mention, by the time of this game's release, Batman Arkham Asylum was already out, and it took stealth and beat'em ups to a whole new level. While the gameplay of this game can be fun, it is nothing special, and overall, nothing we haven't seen before. As for the graphics, they are also on the just okay side. They would look good on the original Xbox, but not on the 360. You could make the argument that this game came out in the early days of the Xbox 360, but I would immediately counter that argument by naming five games that came out before this game, and looked better than this: Far Cry 2, Crysis, BioShock, Fallout 3, Mass Effect. That's not to say the graphics are all bad, they actually do look good in some parts. They just don't look as good as other games that came out before it. The setting looks beautiful, but the character models need some work. The character models all look a little weird, perhaps a little too bright, but the setting is nice. The graphics of this game are dated in some spots, but look great in others. As for the story, it sucks, and not much more needs to be said about it. Still though, I'll go into it anyway. Basically, you play as a man named Ezio Auditore. A lot of people said they love Ezio, but I personally think he's overrated. In fact, I don't like him at all. He's basically just an Italien version of Spider-Man who makes out with women a little more. Speaking of Spider-Man, I noticed several moments in this game that not only rip off Spider-Man, but other heroes as well. For instance, Ezio's family is murdered, and he rose from this to become a hero. This is practically the same story as that of Batman, Spider-Man, Harry Potter, Luke Skywalker, and Superman. They all lost family members (in Superman's case, it was his entire race), and they all rose from this to become heroes. They also throw in a story set in the present, but this story is so terrible, that I'm surprised they kept it for the other games in the series. Not only does it make the story more confusing then it needs to be, but you'll also find it to be a complete rip-off of the Matrix. The hero goes into a computer program to save the world. Overall, the story of this game is just bad. Overall, I have no idea what my friends were talking about. If you ask me, this game deserves a rent more than anything else. The only people I can really recommend this game to are people who love the Renaissance, and no one else. For everyone else, it would be best just to skip this game entirely, and get Batman Arkham Asylum instead. It is so much better than this game.
    Gameplay: 5/10
    Graphics: 6/10
    Story: 3/10
    Overall: 5/10
    Expand
  16. Apr 21, 2014
    6
    the assassin's creed franchise is highly overrated. I tried playing through this game but it's missions are so repetitive that I simply got bored like 15 hours through and gave up. the whole concept is more complex than it needs to be with the going into your ancestors memories and stuff, I would have been a lot happier with just actually being in the settings they give you in the gamesthe assassin's creed franchise is highly overrated. I tried playing through this game but it's missions are so repetitive that I simply got bored like 15 hours through and gave up. the whole concept is more complex than it needs to be with the going into your ancestors memories and stuff, I would have been a lot happier with just actually being in the settings they give you in the games and not some matrix bull crap. the game does have its perks though, there hasn't been a game that actually makes you feel like a bad ass assassin, oh wait, yes there is, hitman and splinter cell do that and they do it better. sorry for sounding so negative though, the parkour is fun and there is a great sense of freedom, and kicking people's butt is fun, but that's it, its a pretty shallow game in my opinion. and yeah I know the story is pretty good but It means nothing if they don't execute the telling of it in an interesting and gripping way, that's how many great stories are ruined in games and this is no exception Expand
  17. Oct 15, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Assassin creed 2 is a very good game and well it certainly was a lot better than AC1 it still has a ton of problems to sort out. The story for one was very underwhelming both with the dialogue and the sequences shown. The revenge mission is a nice premise but it was a bit underwhelming in feel. The free running while simple to use sometimes backfire in a bad way. I never died and hardly got hit while fighting but died a half dozen times because of a jump that was not done correctly by the game. The combat can be impressive at times but usually you will rely on a few moves like counter and disarm was my main attacks as they dispatched foes fastest. There are more options but not very useful in the situations you are put in. the graphics on the game are alright I played on it for 1 week and completed it excellent game for anyone who likes loads of action AC1 as i said it got it problems but over all that it a brilliant game like AC2. Assassination techniques are very good incredible climbing and free-running game some people have put down bad reviews if you donâ Expand
  18. Jul 13, 2011
    7
    It's a good action game. But don't go into it expecting much. It is definitely improved over the first game, for sure (except barring the story) but it is hindered by a horrible camera system and lack of imagination. You are no more an assassin than Duke Nukem, something that is corrected I hope, by the time this series reaches the modern era.

    It's laughable, because there are points in
    It's a good action game. But don't go into it expecting much. It is definitely improved over the first game, for sure (except barring the story) but it is hindered by a horrible camera system and lack of imagination. You are no more an assassin than Duke Nukem, something that is corrected I hope, by the time this series reaches the modern era.

    It's laughable, because there are points in the game where Ezio, a master "assassin" is told by lowly chums how to be more stealthy, and the guy wants to run into palaces like Rambo and kill his targets. Really? There's no stealth to this game, no finesse. The way guards detect you is poor. The game is thus, at times, boringly easy, and unfairly hard (there are certain missions where you must not alert guards, even if you kill the immediately after alerting them, forcing you to restart over and over), especially when the 'context camera' comes into play - there are certain timed platforming sections where, I would rather have Tomb Raider I's camera system than ASII's. It's like Ubisoft hasn't learned from over twenty years of 3d platforming. I don't intend to purchase any more of this series, I've been burnt out by this awful mess (22 hr complete time too, which is kind of short for a single player action game).
    Expand
  19. May 7, 2011
    7
    Great gameplay and storyline but, it has the some of the worst, not to mention most complicated controls I have ever expeienced in any Xbox 360 video game!
  20. Oct 14, 2011
    7
    Seriously over hyped, the gameplay quickly becomes repetitive and the story is not good enough to keep the player grinding on through the missions which all amount to the same thing and get boring very quickly. The problem is trying to be an assassin in daylight (mostly), you can climb like the prince of persia but things become fiddley in combat. At first I enjoyed this game but I gotSeriously over hyped, the gameplay quickly becomes repetitive and the story is not good enough to keep the player grinding on through the missions which all amount to the same thing and get boring very quickly. The problem is trying to be an assassin in daylight (mostly), you can climb like the prince of persia but things become fiddley in combat. At first I enjoyed this game but I got bored of it quickly, I feel it is very overrated with an over emphasis on being able to explore the world and climb everywhere etc which in effect is what prince of persia was but in my opinion prince of persia on the PS2 was a better game than this. Expand
  21. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    The story is ludicrous. There is no stealth game play element, which one would expect with a game about assassins! I suppose by walking up (they will never hear you) behind a guard as opposed to running up behind him is about all you can do in that respect. If a guard spots you in a restricted area, he will shout at you saying, "Hey, get down! You aren't supposed to be here!" This occursThe story is ludicrous. There is no stealth game play element, which one would expect with a game about assassins! I suppose by walking up (they will never hear you) behind a guard as opposed to running up behind him is about all you can do in that respect. If a guard spots you in a restricted area, he will shout at you saying, "Hey, get down! You aren't supposed to be here!" This occurs in a restricted area, where the man you are trying to kill is paranoid of assassination. You'd think his guards would understand this, and act as such. But no, all you have to do is comply with the guards demand. And by comply I mean walk out of line of sight for a second and the guard will actually say to himself, "Where did he go?" followed by an "Oh well," or something to that effect. Its actually kind of funny. In general, the game has obscenely ridiculous and unrealistic (in ALL aspects) game play. It was very fun though... Expand
  22. Aug 25, 2012
    7
    While people may say the original was a glorified tech demo, it at least brought something new to the table. This sequel suffers the same problem I never had with the original: pointless tasks leading up to the assassination. At least in the first game Altiar didn't take 5 year breaks in between killing people. Story wise this game keeps you interested throughout, but it's missions areWhile people may say the original was a glorified tech demo, it at least brought something new to the table. This sequel suffers the same problem I never had with the original: pointless tasks leading up to the assassination. At least in the first game Altiar didn't take 5 year breaks in between killing people. Story wise this game keeps you interested throughout, but it's missions are still padding. The environments are overall well made, but getting around is still as much a pain as it was last game. The economy system is interesting, but it's really just padding that could be made more enjoyable through an experience system. Expand
  23. Feb 21, 2013
    7
    It's an interesting concept with some good level design and visuals, but the plot never really took off with me. I'm not going to say it was bad, but it was a boring game at times and the combat wasn't as smooth as it could have been. It's a 6.8 in my books, but I had to round up to 7.
  24. Aug 6, 2013
    7
    I'll start by stating that this game has some fun moments, and has a lot to explore which makes it fun at times but soon after playing a little while; it gets repetitious and a little boring. I did not like the main character as I didn't like his irresponsible and womanizing attitude, so it was hard for me to care about the story at all.

    The AC series as a whole os overrated and just
    I'll start by stating that this game has some fun moments, and has a lot to explore which makes it fun at times but soon after playing a little while; it gets repetitious and a little boring. I did not like the main character as I didn't like his irresponsible and womanizing attitude, so it was hard for me to care about the story at all.

    The AC series as a whole os overrated and just meh at times...
    Expand
  25. Aug 15, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Many things in Assassin's Creed II are great, but there are also aspects of the game that aren't really that good.
    In Assassin's Creed II you play as a young man named Ezio Auditore da Firenze whom lives in Florence with his family of bankers. After seeing his father and brothers being executed, he decides to follow in his fathers footsteps, the way of the assassin. And believe me, there's more to this story that meats the eye.
    The gameplay of Assassin's Creed II is pretty simple and easy to learn. The four face buttons does one thing each. The X button sorts out different attack manoeuvres. The A button lets you run, jump and do other kinds of acrobatics. The B button will make you grab and interact with the world around you. And lastly, the Y button turns on your Eagle Vision, the sixth sense of the assassins. But while the gameplay is easy to learn it's not fun or easy to maneuver.
    Then there is the graphics whom sometimes are colourful and sometimes as grey and dull as the said "colour".
    And last, but not least, is the music composed by Jesper Kyd. And while the score is good it's not great. This is because all the songs in Assassin's Creed II sound the same, something that makes you really tired of hearing the same track over, and over again.
    So, in the end, Assassin's Creed II is a pretty good game, with a pretty good story, good gameplay and so-so graphics and music. And my final score is a 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  26. Nov 28, 2015
    5
    Learning the controls was overwhelming for me. There were simply too many things I could do and nothing held my hand until I had committed them to memory. The parkour was slow as I fumbled at trying to find handholds. Since the parkour was slow, I tried taking to the streets, but that was a mistake - I kept running into dudes who wanted to beat me to a pulp. It seems I had a choiceLearning the controls was overwhelming for me. There were simply too many things I could do and nothing held my hand until I had committed them to memory. The parkour was slow as I fumbled at trying to find handholds. Since the parkour was slow, I tried taking to the streets, but that was a mistake - I kept running into dudes who wanted to beat me to a pulp. It seems I had a choice between agonizingly slow travel or getting curb stomped and respawning. I didn't get more than an hour into the game before I gave up.

    Assassin's Creed: Syndicate improves on everything I wrote above. :)
    Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. The first Assassin's Creed's charm was in the sumptuous graphics and straightforward action - that incredible climbing and free-running, and the visceral thrill of stapling evil people to the dirt with a wristblade. With AC2 the rest of the game has caught up with the brilliance of those central ideas to create a complete and coherent experience. We can think of plenty of words that could describe Assassin's Creed 2 - involving, exciting, cinematic - but there's only one word that sums it up beautifully. Killer. [Dec 2009, p.74]
  2. Assassin's Creed 2 is miles away form the first chapter. It's a whole new game, different in many aspects. The main quest is involving and nice to play, and the number of side mission and extra activities is impressive (and all of them are fun to play). The setting is peculiar and unique, and the panoramic views are sharp and, somehow, magic.
  3. Assassin's Creed II delivers a great story driven experience. Solving most of the problems of its predecessor, this accomplished sequel offers compelling action, beautiful environments and a great plethora of well written characters. A must have for every action-adventure fan with a taste for history, and one of the best games of this fall.