Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1031 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. A huge improvement over the first game, Assassin’s Creed II offers up an enormous, beautiful open world that’s easy to get lost in, an epic storyline and all the fun that comes from creatively killing villains and tearing across 15th-century rooftops at ridiculous speeds.
  2. In conclusion, Assassin's Creed II is a worthy successor and goes beyond the original game with a very interesting story and some almost perfect gameplay.
  3. Assassin’s Creed 2 does exactly what we want a sequel to do. It improves on the original vastly and corrects all the errors, it adds a ton more depth and content, yet it still manages to encapsulate the charm of the original.
  4. By being better in almost every department than its predecessor, Assassin’s Creed 2 does exactly what a sequel should.
  5. The storyline is intricate, there's depth beyond the main quest, the presentation is wonderful, and the action is incredible at times. We've had some stunning single-player experiences this year, and Ubisoft has given us another gem to add to the list.
  6. 90
    It is not, however, a flawless experience by any means – and we think the series' finest hour is still coming – but for fans of the original, it's the step forward we were rooting for and just tempting enough for new players to savour.
  7. The game's variety and length come across as nothing more than smoke and mirrors, the endless, grinding busywork that contributes nothing to the overall gameplay is inexcusably plentiful and mind-numbingly repetitive, and to top it all off, the game can't even compete in the visuals department and somehow looks worse than the original.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 181
  1. reepermanx
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Unbeleivable scope and ambition by the dev team. just about pulled off. Only critisism is that is goes on a bit too long and there is too much to do. This may be a good thing though for many palyers. Expand
  2. Gary
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Improvement on the original in every single way. I have not been this engrossed in a game since Bioshock. Not only is the gameplay top notch, but the writing, voice acting, and environment are also extremely well done. My favorite part of this game is probably the story. The story hits that perfect balance between being complicated while also being well put together and understandable. Most games when attempting a complex story end up with a incoherent mess, but this is not the case with AC2. I highly recommend this game. A note to anyone interested in this game though, you must play AC1 first otherwise the story will make no sense whatsoever. Expand
  3. Jul 15, 2013
    10
    El juego es muy bueno, historia, personajes, graficos, horas de diversion...lo unico que le agregaria seria un poco mas de dificultad (tanto en jefes como en misiones de busqueda)... Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    First up,Assassin's Creed gameplay was simply boring repetitive & to make it worst,there wasn't any anti-aliasing for the ATI graphic card users.Assassin's Creed 2 brought in those changes.I was really pull in by this game due to a few reasons.1:The Background (which takes place Italy), 2:The storyline & plots, 3:Ezio's Costume.For the background,I was amazed by the beautiful highly detailed environments,architectural buildings & historical paintings in Italy during the Renaissance period. What makes the gameplay so addictive was due to it's plots that immerse along with the storyline,leaving players on wanting to know what is gonna happen after each sequence.Relating to the storyline,I think a story about family & revenge is captivating as long there are plenty of conspiracy to unravel the truth.Furthermore,Ezio's noble assassin costume was well designed as it's does blends in with the time line.Although like what most agreed that Assassin's Creed is repetitive in terms of gamplay,I have to be honest that it's also the same for the 2nd installment,except it's repetitive in an addictive way.For those who are concerned about soundtrack,all I can it's decent and suitable with each scenario.I also like the varieties of weapons usage eg.smoke bombs/poison blade as well as different ways & means to distract guards using prostitutes/thieves.Mini games in between such as collecting secrets,artifacts & upgrading the villa is something to keep players occupied even if he/she has finish the main game.Overall,I think Ubisoft Montreal has a really good job on Assassin's Creed 2 not in terms of improving the repetitive gameplay but the beautiful surroundings,game atmosphere,intense plots & also repetitive but addictive gameplay.Luckily,for ATI graphic card users we can finally enable Anti-Aliasing in this 2nd installments. One thing is for sure,Assassin's Creed 2 is definitely worth trying cause it's not gonna leave you with the same experience like you had in Assassin's Creed.The reason on why I can't give a perfect 10 for this game is because there some minor flaws which I believe the developers can improved in the next series of Assassin's Creed. Collapse
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    A pretty fun open world game, that captures the look and feel of the Italian rennaisance period amazingly. It really has an amazing atmosphere as you walk around the streets of Florence and Venice, not to mention the awesome aerial views from the top of towers dotted throughout the game. The gameplay itself is also fun, with fairly easy controls, climbing abilities and fight capabilties. Actually, if anything the fighting in this game is way too easy....never once did I ever worry about dying, because it was pretty simple to block and counter attack most enemies. This is one part of the game which I thought could have been done better. But the rest was well designed, including fast travel, climbing, running etc. The puzzles throughout the game also balance between fun and difficult very well, and there wasn't too many times when it was impossible to solve. I would probably say the game was a little bit too long as well, as by the end of it, I felt like I had started to repeat missions and there weren't too many more unique challenges. The final "boss" scene was also way too easy and I felt was an anti-climax (even despite the strange ending sequence) for all the build up and fun I had had playing the game up until that point. Still a great game though, and has aged pretty well. Expand
  6. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    I scored this game an 8.

    I did so because like AC1 this game has an excellent storyline, and thoroughly interesting universe to play in and
    learn about. Ezio is also a much more fleshed out and interesting character than Altair in AC1. Another thing the writers did fantastically in this game is humour which is exceedingly hard to write you know and it made me laugh out loud many times while playing.
    This earns it the extra point I gave it over AC1.

    Unfortunately while the game play is improved in places as fighting is no longer as difficult or annoying to engage in it still remains exceedingly frustrating and is literally something you suffer through for the dialogue, universe, and storyline. I know again it makes sense given who Ezio is (he is more the warrior archetype compared with Altair's rogue and being that he mows through enemies because of that makes sense) but it is still a pain.

    Again like AC1, if you haven't bought it. Do so. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2010
    0
    Honestly, it's the worst game I have ever played. The difficulty level is way too high and even e of the first missions, "Sibling Rivalry" the difficulty is to great for someone not familiar with the series or these type games. An epic failure. Expand

See all 181 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.