Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 945 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assassin's Creed II is the product of over two years of intensive development by the original creative team behind the Assassin's Creed brand. In a vast open world environment, the game invites players to incarnate Ezio, a privileged young noble in Renaissance Italy who's been betrayed by the rival ruling families of Italy. Ezio's subsequent quest for vengeance plunges players into an epic story that offers more variety in missions, surprising and engaging new gameplay elements, diverse weapons and a profound character progression that appeal to fans of the original Assassin's Creed as well as entice players new to the brand. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. A huge improvement over the first game, Assassin’s Creed II offers up an enormous, beautiful open world that’s easy to get lost in, an epic storyline and all the fun that comes from creatively killing villains and tearing across 15th-century rooftops at ridiculous speeds.
  2. In conclusion, Assassin's Creed II is a worthy successor and goes beyond the original game with a very interesting story and some almost perfect gameplay.
  3. Assassin’s Creed 2 does exactly what we want a sequel to do. It improves on the original vastly and corrects all the errors, it adds a ton more depth and content, yet it still manages to encapsulate the charm of the original.
  4. By being better in almost every department than its predecessor, Assassin’s Creed 2 does exactly what a sequel should.
  5. The storyline is intricate, there's depth beyond the main quest, the presentation is wonderful, and the action is incredible at times. We've had some stunning single-player experiences this year, and Ubisoft has given us another gem to add to the list.
  6. 90
    It is not, however, a flawless experience by any means – and we think the series' finest hour is still coming – but for fans of the original, it's the step forward we were rooting for and just tempting enough for new players to savour.
  7. The game's variety and length come across as nothing more than smoke and mirrors, the endless, grinding busywork that contributes nothing to the overall gameplay is inexcusably plentiful and mind-numbingly repetitive, and to top it all off, the game can't even compete in the visuals department and somehow looks worse than the original.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 173
  1. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Story: 10/10 Presentation: 10/10 Character Development: 10/10 Gameplay: 9.5/10 Graphics: 9/10 Music: 10/10 Sound: 9/10 Replay Value: 7/10
    Achievements: 9/10
    (+2 point = Ezio, Terrific Character)
    (+2 point = WTF Ending)
    Total = 87.5/90
    Rating = 9.72/10 Result: Breathtaking Experience. Game of the Year. The Best Sequel Ever. Must-Play before you die.
    Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A step up from the original in every possible way. Whereas ACI was a short, repetitive experience with only slight scrapings at any kind of tangible story, ACII is lengthy (20hrs for main story), varied, your character is heavily customisable and the number of ways in which you can play the game are multiplied vastly, and the story gets kicked up about ten notches, to the point where I finish wanting nothing but more Assassin's Creed. The art style is unique and beautiful, with every city having its own lively flare and a vastly greater size than your average open-worlder. The soundtrack is freaking amazing to the point where i found myself ceasing gameplay for minutes on end just to listen to the music, beautiful, inspiring and a real treat to listen to. The side missions are fun and the collectible items have been reduced to a sensible 100 (feathers), as opposed to the multitude of flags to collect in the original, however, you can only tell how many feather are left in each city, which means that if i've found 19/20 feathers in Florence (idk the actual amount of feathers, i'm just stating an example), there's nothing I can do but to scour the entire huge **** city to find that one **** feather, but the beauty of the cities easily detract from this, and I guarantee that searching for all 100 feathers isn't a task you'll tire of easily. The ending leaves a lot of questions answered and a lot more unanswered, leaving you waiting in anticipation for the next game (Brotherhood, which you'll find i've reviewed also). Overall, ACII slots itself snugly into my top 5 games of all time---Happy murdering :D Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    The game you wished the first was and more. Perfection of the free running elements as well as beautifully told storyline and incredible vistas. I have not yet played the third but I am warming myself up for disappointment, because there is really nowhere left to go after this, possibly the greatest game sequel of all time. Expand
  4. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Scale and ambition of this game stands out so much when playing through it. It's such a unique idea which allows for a broad opening of unique gameplay and narrative as well. Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Graphics are a problem, but this game is an instant classic. Great challenging story, fun free play around venice and/or florence, and overall a great game. I hope AC III is like this one, not like revelations. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2013
    8
    The second AC game, is it good or bad? AC2 has to be the second best AC game in the series, it's better than AC1 but not better than AC: Brotherhood in my opinion. AC2 has amazing graphics especially on the PC, the singleplayer campaign is a great written story, and characters, especially Ezio, who is also my favourite Assassin in the series. But there is a bad thing as well it's glitches and bugs. Still AC2 is a brilliant game, 8/10. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    While loading, the game shows that it has been produced by a team of different religious thoughts and beliefs. If you have played the game and followed the story, you can surely note that fact. I guess that the game was made by a group of French Muslim immigrants and some stray of white stock who fancied reading popular books on ancient Near Eastern mythologies (the whole "truth" stuff is a mixture of ancient myths and scientology-like sect beliefs). Obviously, the game is utterly anti-Christian (fighting with Pope, making biting correct jokes about many things which are dear to Christians in the notes by Rebecca when you press TAB). Moreover, the authors of the plot take on themselves the responsibility to evaluate and criticize the events of the past using their “modern”, “progressive”, etc. ideas, believes and morality. I advise the game developers to make a game about prophet Mohammed and depict some TRUTH (the word which vastly employed throughout this game) how he actually had sex with an eight-year girl, urged his countrymen to conquer the world and impose on its population a very morally questionable religious doctrine, etc. Try it and see what you will get! Not possible in France? :)
    In toto: the game is oriented on Arab immigrant kids/teens with no education in European history whatsoever. It sells well and my congratulations with that. But why so much anti-European and anti-Christian content is inside? I have my doubts about who pays you, guys, for making such games: Saudi Arabian jihad-longing sheikhs or local French wahhabistic groups?
    Expand

See all 173 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.