Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Apr 10, 2013
    80
    The Eagle Flight power is brilliantly daft. The best DLC so far. [May 2013, p.77]
  2. 65
    Storywise, The Betrayal is a shade sillier than The Infamy, and a few moments in its missions are strange to the point of absurdity... If you’re invested in its alternate-universe narrative, though, The Betrayal is an important piece of the puzzle, and its ending hints at something potentially amazing for the final chapter.
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    Making games that resemble TV show episodes is not a bad idea. Unfortunately The Tyranny of King Washington is much worse than, say, The Walking Dead (considered to be one of the best episodic games ever). The new DLC - The Betrayal, much like The Infamy before it, is short, boring and gives little place for Connor to use his new skills. After the debut of the last episode, we'll know whether this mini-trilogy is salvageable or not.
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    80
    In its good moments – of which there are quite many – the fight against 'King Washington' DLC still features some of the most engaging Assassin's Creed gameplay we have played over the last few years.
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    83
    The first episode touched on it but this one really hammers the idea home and despite the bad taste buying three separate episodes for the same DLC may leave in some people’s mouths, this episode works well.
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    60
    The Betrayal tries to offer more variety than The Infamy did thanks to its high flying antics, but it never truly transcends those ideas on a base level. If it offered a full sandbox with ridiculous spirit powers, it could have made for a pretty amazing superhero sideshow.
  7. 70
    It's still the ever-compelling plot that reigns supreme, and whilst they're not giving anything away until the final episode there's definitely enough going on here to ensure a thoroughly enjoyable romp.
  8. Mar 19, 2013
    60
    A stodgy middle episode for what is still a promisingly unique slice of downloadable content, but its true worth won’t be clear until the final episode.
  9. Mar 19, 2013
    75
    The new eagle powers are far more impressive than the wolf skills from the first episode, and although the story drags early on, it picks up nicely towards the end, ramping up to a hopefully fitting—and satisfying— conclusion in the final episode.
  10. Mar 19, 2013
    70
    This DLC features a brand new power which destroys one of the most entertaining elements of the Assassin's Creed gameplay. The eagle power ruins the famous free running exploration of this Ubisoft's series, turning the game into something different...but not necessarily better.
  11. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    With a darker location, additional powers and more varied selection of missions, Assassin's Creed 3: The Tyranny of King Washington: Part Two furthers the potential of Connor's episodic adventure.
  12. Mar 19, 2013
    60
    It's a safe if not spectacular middle episode to Ubisoft's mostly enjoyable yarn - one that neither sets up new mysteries or concludes any existing ones. It wraps things up with a sequence that suggests we're within reach of the season's denouement, with another shift in location to New York and a cliffhanger that promises a more dramatic conclusion.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    Assassin's Creed- The Betrayal is a flawed experience. Gameplay feels repetitive and somewhat boring. It does, however, end on an interesting cliffhanger for part three. Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The second episode seemed to be the weakest of the three for me. I really liked the eagle power and this made traversing the rooftops of Boston and New York that much easier. However, it is almost essential to use this power as you are attacked on sight and this can be very frustrating. Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2013
    7
    this new episode isn't quite amazing and isn't what i was expecting i guess my expectations are too high or something but this DLC is a good part to king Washington and is better than the first one but it still leaves you with that i want more feeling but has the same amazing environment that the first had but one thing i don't understand is the whole deal with the red coats like are they British wanting to take America back or just rebels dressed as British or were the developers just too lazy to make new character skins and unfortunately they never saw hopefully they do with the last episode Full Review »