Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tyranny of King Washington is a DLC for Assassin's Creed III in which you will explore an alternate reality where George Washington has become a dictator that you must overthrown.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    89
    With a new storyline and Connor’s new ability, this DLC still feels like the main game in its sense but with a few tweaks here and there.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    81
    This episode is the beginning of this all-fictional spin on the main antagonist’s actions, and if it keeps up the pace is sure to offer a lot of diverse, exciting gameplay never before seen in the series.
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    80
    In The Infamy, the first of three episodes of Assassin's Creed 3 DLC that make up a campaign set in an alternate history, Washington trades virtue for monarchal power: The Tyranny of King Washington.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    72
    Lasting about three hours, this $10 first act has a hard time standing on its own.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    An admirably imaginative approach to downloadable content that has a better story than the main game, but not quite enough variety in action and missions.
  6. 70
    It's good to see Ubisoft completely rewriting history, rather than just slightly altering it, to spin one of the series' most absurd and intriguing yarns. Washington as a comical cartoon villain is entertaining, and the Wolf Cloak makes stealth less frustrating than it was in the vanilla game. Still, it isn't a vastly different experience, and if you've already bled Assassin's Creed 3 dry, you might find this add-on a little too familiar at times.
  7. Feb 21, 2013
    59
    This new alternate history DLC for Assassin's Creed 3 is actually a breath of fresh air for the franchise. Unfortunately, it's a very short inhalation of gameplay and ideas.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)

    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short :(This DLC is PERFECT!!!)
    But short
    Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    This DLC was an overall weird experience... The new ability you get is pretty cool, but the story and missions revolved around it could be improved. It's definitely an entertaining new twist to the series... but remember, this is only part 1 out of 3. The DLC does not live up to its full potential yet. Expand
  3. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    This expansion was way too short given what you pay for it. You start to get into the story and it ends leaving you feeling ripped off. The best thing about it is the new ghost wolf ability, i wish you had that ability in the main story of the game. In this expansion you just learned a new ability, practiced it with a few missions and that's it. I really enjoy assassins creed so i will still download the next expansion. I just hope they give allot more of the story next time around and design more missions where your utilizing your new wolf ability. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    6
    This DLC is good but it really has you wanting to explore more as in traveling to a bunch of different parts of America and not just the east coast to see of how the new tyranny has affected everyone else but that never happens which is a huge disappointment Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    6
    Assassin's Creed III- The Infamy can be a fun, yet also frustrating experience. Certain people will like it; others will despise it. Some new elements, such as invisibility, are cool and add uniqueness to the experience. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2013
    2
    This game is a lot of fun if you like screaming at your tv for hours. Same bugs as with the main story, and double the fun instadeaths when your spotted. I hope you haven't wasted your money on a season pass as I did. So I'm determined to beat them all, not matter how bad they are. Yes, I'm that cheap. Collapse
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    four words; Too short, over priced !

    Who pays ~$12 bucks for a 2.5hr prologue teaser, me I guess, but not again...

    And most of my in
    game time was spent slogging through waste deep snow looking for some in game value...

    Loved the game, but mad as h#ll for wasting dollars on this tripe.

    Sorry people, this DLC is just not worth the cash in my opinion, KGW won't be getting another pound of flesh from this gamer....
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews