Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    70
    I'll be blunt -- I wish the other two DLCs were just like this one, as it offers up a fairly satisfying series of events that actually feel different from the main game. From a unique environment to a satisfying conclusion, barring a few missteps, I was thoroughly satisfied with The Redemption.
  2. May 5, 2013
    60
    Out of the three, we'd recommend 'The Redemption' over the previous episodes - and you don't need to purchase the other two to play it - but ultimately, the series fails to live up to its promising premise.
  3. Apr 25, 2013
    65
    A strong start and finish to the final King Washington episode help carry what’s probably the weakest action and narrative of the entire DLC miniseries. The new bear powers are also more fun to use than the wolf and eagle powers from previous episodes, though only hardcore Assassin’s Creed fans will be totally satisfied with the experience.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    If you dip into Assassin's infrequently you will likely question the worth of this self-contained side-story. But for those keen to experience every nook and cranny of the Creedverse, Tyranny offers an enjoyable and different experience - if not an essential one.
  5. Apr 23, 2013
    60
    The Redemption is quite disappointing. The final part of this trilogy has the worst spiritual power of the whole group and a flat, easy and boring final boss. The Tyranny pack is still a good product, but just for the Assassin's Creed hardcore fans.
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Apr 25, 2013
    65
    The Redemption's varied missions and new powers are a lot of fun, but the predictable ending is a big disappointment for the series.
  8. Apr 29, 2013
    30
    The Tyranny of King Washington is an expansion not worthy of the Assassin's Creed series. The Infamy had given me some hope, that the next installment will be interesting, but in the end we have received a boring and uninspired story with a weak conclusion. You get no pleasure from a repetitive and primitive gameplay as well. It's a shame. Right now I need to rest and don't want to play Assassin's Creed IV any time soon. That is no redemption.
  9. Apr 23, 2013
    68
    Though the new powers refresh and reshape Assassin’s Creed III’s gameplay, most of the locations and missions here are overly reminiscent of what we’ve seen time and time again in the main campaign, and only towards the end does the story really come into its own.
  10. Apr 24, 2013
    65
    The beginning with the naval engagements is compelling, some missions are well thought out and taking the role of this new Connor is like to control a superhero. Even the New York settings are not bad, but with a short longevity and a narrative climax that never seems to arrive, the final score is not the most exciting.
  11. Apr 23, 2013
    50
    A frustrating ending to what has become an increasingly disappointing download series, even though the premise remains one of the most imaginative for years.
  12. 65
    Despite clocking in at around 2.5 hours, The Redemption rushes you through the final paces of the three-part Tyranny of King Washington saga so doggedly — and with such gaping holes throughout the narrative — that we were left with a sense of nagging unfulfillment, not closure.
  13. 80
    Let's just say there are no huge surprises, but it's extremely well executed. The narrative has always been the strength of ACIII, and the DLC campaign is no exception.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    Assassin's Creed- The Redemption, in a sense, redeems the Tyranny of King Washington add-on packs. It is fun and has a great story. TheAssassin's Creed- The Redemption, in a sense, redeems the Tyranny of King Washington add-on packs. It is fun and has a great story. The conclusion is quite satisfying. Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. My favourite episode of the 3 Washington DLC packs. Lots of action and a tight storyline moving us towards the final confrontation with King Washington. Strands of storyline were tied together and there seemed to be more logic to what Connor was doing, and his understanding of the situation.

    I loved the final spirit guide power. There's nothing like stomping guards as a bear. (Or soaring across the city as an eagle. The only way to fly.) The boss battle was fairly simple to work out, but there were a few challenges along the way and the atmosphere lifted the DLC above a mediocre effort.

    I quite liked the conclusion to the story. Anyone who's seen the Stewie vs Lois Family Guy eps will know how this will end not quite a dream, people! But strangely coherent for me. It kind of works. And shows that we all have our dark sides. The final scene on the ship was fascinating.

    And everyone loves a good pyramid.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This whole series (mainly because of the absurd King Washington storyline and superpowers, oh yes and ANNOYING DOGS!!!!) has made these three DLC mediocre. However this part of the DLC certainly was the best one of the three. Gameplaywise it wasn't too good nor too challenging (because of the superpowers) but doing full sync (especially in the naval mission, which was by the way AWESOME!!!) was hard as HELL. Unfortunately, to most of us (Freedom edition owners thus Washington diary owners) the ending wasn't unexpected, especially if you found all of the ''true memory artifacts''. The Redemption was about Washington fighting his inner demons (and at the end) beating them. This part of the DLC, however, is my favourite one (don't know why) and I do recommend it. For 800 Mp the value is adequate. Full Review »