Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    60
    At least the petty indignities of the multiplayer are optional and situated around gameplay that's solid and unique, if frustratingly stagnant. In the single-player campaign, however, it's impossible to escape the ham-fisted manipulations of the Assassin's Creed III development team.
  2. 90
    Assassin's Creed III is a pretty damn fine game. It loses none of what makes the series fun with the translation to another time and continent, and creates a whole new set of experiences which define the franchise. The biggest issue, if there is one, are the small technical issues, but these niggling technical issues only seem worse because everything else is such a great experience.
  3. 90
    Like any game of such scope, not every part of it is perfect. Yet, taken as a whole, there is very little that can compete with its wonderful, lavish, historical playground. [Issue#91, p.22]
  4. 80
    Open-world history lesson – this is the area where new Assassin excels. But embrace yourself to a long survival and linear game opening. [Dec 2012]
  5. Nov 27, 2012
    85
    Overall, Assassin's Creed III is an excellent addition to the series. While there a number of bugs and the protagonist isn't someone players will feel particularly attached to, the lengthy campaign, the range of objectives and the well thought out multiplayer ensure there is plenty of replayability to keep gamers occupied. This is a title that should be on every Christmas list.
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    90
    Thus, as an Assassin's Creed game AC3 is the most ambitious yet the most refined yet; it is almost unmatched in density of content and unique in setting.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    65
    As a whole, Assassin's Creed III feels lacking. Considering how positive most early impressions were coming out of E3, perhaps my expectations were set too high, but there are clearly a number of disjointed elements that feel half-finished or poorly thought out. This is the issue of having so many cooks in the Assassin's Creed III's development kitchen, and the final product ends up being far more disappointing than I would've expected. It's not without some merit, and it's not something to skip if you're invested in the universe or overarching story, but if you found your interest waning with Revelations, AC3 could be the final nail in the coffin for some players. It's worth a rental, but I wouldn't classify this as a must-play game.
  8. Nov 25, 2012
    88
    A marvellous return, but a few quibbles hold it back from being the new pinnacle of the series. [Christmas 2012, p.78]
  9. Nov 15, 2012
    88
    Assassin's Creed III is definitely a step backwards for the excellent and popular series. The main plot is decent and the assassination action itself good as always, but the main character is totally uncharismatic and the gameplay a dull repetition of old rotes. The game world is indeed huge, but sadly it's filled with uninspiring busywork like trade caravans and a pointless crafting system. Assassin's Creed III is still a very good game, but disappointing as it could have been so much more. [Nov 2012]
  10. Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Far from the revolution we were expecting, a shift in focus to simple, repetitive combat, overly-scripted missions and tedious sidequests has for now killed our interest in a once genuinely great series. [Dec 2012]
  11. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    No multiplayer game so cannily captures a feeling of cat and mouse, and relies so completely on tension and suspense instead of yet more thrills. To call this multiplayer unique doesn't do it justice. If you care about new experiences in videogames, if you want to see how games can explore 3D spaces without resorting to shooting stuff or breaking things, you owe it to yourself to try Assassin's Creed multiplayer.
  12. 85
    Surprisingly there are graphical issues that are very noticeable and I really thought that there were some gameplay missteps that could use some retooling in the future; however, in the end this is another great addition to the Assassin's Creed series.
  13. Nov 10, 2012
    70
    Through a turmoil of assassinations, naval battles, Freudian conflicts, pig herding and marital ceremonies, Assassin's Creed III ends a saga in a way that many could judge as unsatisfactory. AC III is a flawed and confused game characterized by the absence of a clear identity and the lack of a true vision about the Assassin Order. It remains a big game with plenty to do, even though not knowing exactly why you have to do them.
  14. Nov 10, 2012
    88
    Ubisoft continues its upward trend with its golden goose of a series. It brings a deeper amount of gameplay, story and enjoyment to the mix with Assassin's Creed III. It's certainly not perfect, but it's good enough to be considered for 'Game of the Year'.
  15. Nov 8, 2012
    70
    What it does do well it does with confidence, but uncharacteristic issues prevent it from being top of the class.
  16. 90
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a massive game and also the best game in the series to date.
  17. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    Assassin's Creed III's methodical world-building and wealth of clever gameplay systems are impressive, even if they don't always confidently click together with all the other moving parts.
  18. Nov 6, 2012
    90
    One of the best games in this franchise and a great source for many hours of fun.
  19. Nov 5, 2012
    90
    Though Assassin's Creed III isn't quite the perfect killing machine, it's a damn good one, and a game that definitely lives up to the hype.
  20. Nov 5, 2012
    85
    It's a great AC experience for sure, but it doesn't really offer anything you haven't seen before (outside of the fantastic multiplayer component). Likewise, it won't entice any non-fans, which is a shame - this would have been the perfect opportunity to do it.
  21. Nov 5, 2012
    80
    If you're willing to go off and do the optional activities, then Assassin's Creed III's single player really shines, and there's just so much content here that even despite the negatives, it's well worth your time. Couple that with another consistently excellent multiplayer component and you're left with a game that may leave you frowning on occasion, but nonetheless one that still has a lot of fun on offer.
  22. Nov 4, 2012
    85
    The only real problem (apart from the weak main character) in Assassin's Creed 3 is that there are so many things to do, but very few feel satisfying. There's a whole range of side-missions and challenges on offer, but at the end of the day completing them doesn't bring anything truly useful to the player.
  23. Nov 3, 2012
    70
    The most extensive installment of the entire game series brings a spectacular adventure filled with land and sea battles. It's great to look at it and the traditional sandbox is just fine' however, this third volume's many very important qualities of the entire game series along with its game system have been lost without the new features making up for it. The less, the better, and look before you leap should have been the proverbs of the day. Assassin's Creed III is undoubtedly a very good game, but I cannot shake off the feeling it could have been much much better.
  24. Nov 1, 2012
    75
    Assassin's Creed III is different to the titles that have come before it. It's an open-world game with strong stealth inclinations, rather than a stealth game set in an open world, and for Ubisoft to manage this delicate evolution without entirely alienating an existing core of stealth gameplay enthusiasts is a remarkable feat.
  25. Oct 31, 2012
    85
    It's a flawed gem, but still well worth a look.
  26. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    It's possible to lose days in Assassin's Creed 3, although if players stick doggedly to the campaign, they'll clock in about 20 hours. On top of that, there's a multiplayer – and for a game where the focus for most of the fanbase will be the single-player, this one's actually rather good.
  27. Oct 31, 2012
    80
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a fitting end for the series and - to an extent - this generation of consoles as a whole. The characters and story are the strongest yet, but at the same time the game comes with all of the franchise's well-known strengths and weaknesses. So, even though this might just be the perfect finale, the next generation of assassins definitely will have to be more willing to refine the series' systems from the ground up. Then we'll happily listen to their brilliant stories some more.
  28. Oct 31, 2012
    85
    Assassin's Creed III is a really good AAA game that sucks you in after a brief contact. Unfortunately there are some things missing, and minor flaws can be observed, and those things prevent me from considering Ubisoft's new game as something truly extraordinary. It has everything a game from this series should have, but after watching the end credits there's a feeling that something is lacking. Assassin's Creed III isn't such a big step forward, as AC II was for the original game. In sum: it's very good, but it could be better.
  29. 92
    Assassin's Creed III is a fantastic game that's marred only by a glacial few opening hours, a surfeit of history and exposition, and the odd glitch. That aside, ACIII is a triumph and the perfect way to say hello to Connor.
  30. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    It's not easy to identify with specific characters as a result, meaning (despite their historical origins) they can feel throwaway because they don't stick around long enough to grab your attention and tickle your curiosity. That's not to say they're poorly written, there are just too many to make things feel cohesive. I guess what I'm trying to say is that sequences in Assassin's Creed 3 tend to feel like episodes of a TV show, rather scenes from a movie.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1055 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 335
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    6
    First of all, let me be clear, I've been an Assassin's Creed fan from day one. I followed the development of every single game since it's conception. I have all the games, all the books, most of the merchandise. I even did some internshipping at Ubisoft to work on Brotherhood. I would go as far to say I'm a diehard fan. This is why, it pains me to say this. Appart from Revelations and the games on other handhelds, this is the weakest Assassin's creed and a blemish on the overall series. Don't get me wrong, it's not terrible and has fun parts, but it's an average game that is part of an overall franchise that stays away from the average. Let me break it down, so you see where I'm coming from and to make it clear I'm not "trolling".

    The Cons:

    The glitches. Oh, the glitches. This game is FULL of them. There have been a few that have made me chuckle, like a horse getting stuck on top of a house or a man stretching out like crazy after I hit him. The ones that really upset me though, where the game breaking ones. Such as guns missing from parts where you need to shoot, being unable to fire, escort missions where the NPC will get caught in a wall, the protagonist just falling though the floor into oblivion, the NPC's shooting through buildings. There's been several times I needed to restart due to a glitch. I'd let some of them slide, but this is an AAA title and there should never be glitches that break a game. This is 2012 for Christ sake. The AI is terrible too. You could be walking down a street, with no notoriety and suddenly five guards will come out of nowhere and kill you. Or you could be super wanted and walk by- even punch a guard- without getting them to attack you. The horse back riding is so bad... oh man. Horses- when shot- will fall over. They'll also fall over randomly when you hit a glich and die. The combat, now different than the other AC's, is like trying to drive a minivan with a popped tire. You'll lose half your health just taking out a group of guys. Guarding and countering doesn't work anymore. And good luck dodging. For some reason Muskets in 1777 are as accurate as sniper rifles now. huh. It starts out slow- I wont say spoilers, but it's about 4 to 5 hours in before you actually get to the meat of the game.

    There all a lot of cut-scenes. It sorta brings you out of the game and it feels, sometimes, like a movie, but overall it's not that big of an issue. Pros:

    It's BEAUTIFUL. More beautiful than AC2 or Skyrim or fallout. This game will make love to your eyes.
    The soundtrack is amazing too. The ship battles. Yeah, it's a learning curve, but it's not terrible. It becomes really fun later-on

    Climbing on trees and free-running are smooth like butter. It feels fresh and natural. Connor is a very easily controlled character and you'll just have fun running around in the forest, The Protagonist. Shockingly, Connor is a really interesting character. Hunting is fun. There's no better feeling than stealth killing a bear from a tree. I can honestly say, as a "hardcore" assassin's creed fan, I was disappointed. I had very high hopes for this game, and I even expected something better than AC2. I'd recommend you play it, but don't go in with the high expectations of the people and reviews that are giving it 10/10 or perfects. I'd go in expecting an average game and you wont be too let down.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    3
    I am gonna get right to the point here. This game is NOT good. It has some redeeming qualities like the graphics and cinematics. But there seems to be a continuing theme for so many AAA titles. They just want so badly to be liked. They put cinematics and set pieces above everything else. This game is no different. It is basically cutscene, 2 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 4 minutes of gameplay, cutscene, 3 minutes of gameplay. AND then you consider that the gameplay is usually walking around or riding on a horse. This is pretty bad. The game also starts off incredibly slow. Conner, the main character, is not nearly as likeable as Ezio or Altair, and his motives seem at times either predictable or just iffy. When the game picks up though, you notice just how simplistic the combat is. It is clear that they wanted to ripoff the Arkham games, especially if you pay attention to the music that plays during combat. It is nearly the same exact music found in Arkham City. BUT the combat found in AC3 is no where near as fluid or polished or fun as the Arkham games. Not even close. It fails hard. Glitches also plague the combat, as well as the overall main game. Horses glitching out, muskets flying around, enemies teleporting, some clipping issues, and dialogue glitches are forgivable I guess, but freezing camera glitches and getting stuck in terrain forcing you to restart is just pushing it. Add to this, braindead AI that is some of the worst I have ever seen in a video game, and you have a very pretty game that is anything but good. PLEASE don't be fooled by the marketing. This is a failure from Ubisoft. Not recommended. 3/10 Full Review »
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Full Review »