User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1076 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Assassins Creed 3 is a Absolute masterpiece of a game.I've played all the Previous Titles and loved them all dearly enough to keep them in my game collection.But Assassins Creed 3 is by far the best game in the series.the graphics are top notch and the combat is fluid and smooth*almost as if you are the person in the game*movement is better then ever with super realism in every way.the story is very well written and told.the entire game is just FANTASTIC.and the multi player has gotten a good amount of improvements, and is still my fave action multiplayer ever created in my opinion.a must buy for any fan of the series. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Just played the first two sequences and I am already stunned
    The combat is amazing, every action doesn't feel like separate action but chained together
    The animation engine is really good
    There is some glitches but it's nothing that can't be fix
    10/10 and is surely the best Assassin's Creed
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012.
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Great game! The new location is a good change of pace than the rooftop heavy predecessors of the series. Combat and the new techniques have good additions too. Loved the AC series and this is a good step for the assassin.
  5. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Assassins Creed 2 was the series highlight that is no longer true with the release of Assassins Creed 3. The series returns with a new setting, a new character and revamped movement and combat system. This game is set in the time of the American revolution. Your character is the half British and half Native American assassin named Connor. In the beginning you play as Connor's father but I'll try to keep this as spoiler free as possible. Talking about the start the first 3 hours you play as Connor are very narrow and closed. You are funneled down a narrowed path and not given any freedom. But when you are put into the huge open world you really notice the attention to detail and the amount of things you have to do. You can hunt, you can assist strangers, you can just free run through the trees. The revamped combat and movement systems help this experience. The combat has turned into more like an Arkham city experience with a heavy counter focus. This means your using maybe 3 buttons max at any one time. The movement system is even simpler, you hold 1 button to jump, run and vault. It allows you to move more fluidly and you just feel more comfortable holding 1 button. The animation and graphics also must be congratulated. The eyes especially they are just amazing and stare a at you and follow you. In conclusion the Assassins Creed series returns triumphantly with it's best entry so far 10/10 Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2014
    10
    Amazing game. I don't see how anyone could dispute that statement. I'd never played an AC game before this but can now appreciate it's standing as one of the best modern game series. Technically it's pretty mindblowing what Ubi have been able to achieve on aging console hardware. It's obscenely detailed and captivating on many levels: period atmosphere, freedom of movement, intricate story and massive gameworld. My personal favorite element were the naval battles ..just stunning. Ubisoft have set the bar crazy high with this. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    wow.... This game is really fantastic. Great art production, expansive, ambitious, and long as hell.... Best of the series hands down. The open world environment is incredible, the graphics are unbelievable, and the game itself marks a huge shift in the series.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Absolutely phenomenal game, well worth your money and by far the best and most innovative Assassins Creed title to date. It's combat, graphics, gameplay, mechanics and story/writing are night and day over the previous Assassins Creed games. It takes the series to new heights and depths especially with Connor's story which is beautifully written and played out. The amount of content and gameplay value this game has to offers makes this a must buy game by many standards, and this may be the best game you play all year. Expand
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Assassin's Creed III takes everything that worked well in previous titles, sprinkled in a touch of Red Dead Redemption, tweaked thecombat to be as smooth as Batman: Arkham City, borrowed the cinematic and character development of Uncharted 2, and polished it all off to be one of, if not the very best, game of 2012.
  10. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Look, this game isn't really a 10 but i gave it that score to counter all those negative scores from butthurt trolls that are mad because this game is 15x times better than thier favourite generic shooter, CoD.
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Nothing can top this game, amazing cinematically, compelling story line, immersive combat are only few of the many features Assassin's Creed III brings to the table. Game of the year for sure!
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    GREAT GAME!! If you enjoyed any of the previous AC games this is a must own. I love how it weaves AC and American history together for a great experience. I am not done with it yet but I do have about 4 hours into it and so far everything is great.
  13. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    People need to stop trolling, it's really makes me sad seeing trolls giving this game 0's without even stating one valid reason, this game isn't perfect but it's the best this year, way better than ohter rushed games that surprisngly, got better scores than this.
  14. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Only idiots would score this game a Zero. Aside form a few manageable bugs this game is a big improvement from the last game, specially the graphics. The environment is simply stunning and the combat is better
  15. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    I do not like the low scores this game is getting, i dont get why.

    I have been a fan of assassins creed 3 since the first. This game is the best of them all. While yes, Conners character could have used more personality, everything else was perfect. Combat is 100% better than it ever was, IDK who the hell complains about the controls but they are smoother and work better than ever. The
    graphics are unreal, even better than Halo 4. The story while nothing crazy, it is pretty awesome being a part of old american events. This game i gave a 10 because it deserves a 9.5 or higher and nothing less. I dont see why it got anything lower than a 9, to me, if they would have given conner more of a personality, this game would have been perfect. Expand
  16. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    its amazing how much ubisoft accomplish in this game with the gameplay and setting that just feel magic. in this **** year for gaming i realy look forward to holiday season with this game.
    the story is great and it introduces connor in realistic scenarios without ruinig them and make you feel like part of history (American history). graphics also shine especially in terms of animations
    and the nature, but the same doesnt aplpy for cities because they´re small and empty in my opinion. i think this is the best assassin´s creed game since the second one Expand
  17. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I'll make this brief and to the point... this game is the best in the series ignore other people taking about bugs, all games have bugs... bottom line is if u like like the AC series u'll love this and if u have never played a AC game before this this the perfect place to start.
  18. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Game of the Year contender! Frontier hunting + Ship battles = Awesome! The game also has a very good replay value. Graphics are nice. I don't see any competition here. Dishonored = too short. Halo 4 = more of the same. Black Ops 2 = more of the same.
  19. Nov 2, 2012
    10
    My favorite Assassin's Creed by FAR, with the most developed protagonist yet. Connor is more elegant and brutal than his forebears, and the sheer scope of it's story, wilderness, towns and gameplay offer the most immersive AC yet. Naval battles, and Red Dead Redemption style hunt and trade system are welcome additions.
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    The sheer amount of content put into a single disc alone should be enough reason for you to buy this game. Like the developers said, if you've never played an AC game before now's the time to hop on board. Stunning wilderness with animals going about their lives and cities filled with people make the world feel real and pull you into the game like ever before in an AC title. Graphical and gameplay bugs are common but they never pull you out from the experience. This kind of stuff is to be expected from a game that has so much content in it. The Anvil Next engine runs great on the consoles. Mostly due to the fairly short draw distance with stuff popping in at every step. After a while you won't even notice it. Mostly because of so much happening on the screen at any given moment. The animations are top notch once again. You can see the time put in to those animations while you're doing combat. The combat system is quite awesome indeed, however the enemies still tend to wait for their turn to get countered. This time around, though it won't happen so often.I won't say too much about the story, otherwise it would go to spoiler territory. I'll say this; It's on-par with AC: II/Revelations story line.(It's amazing) The multiplayer, while there's much more to it than before in terms of content, is like in AC: Revelations. If you liked it in Revelations there's a chance you'll like AC III's multiplayer. AC III is not a perfect game, it has bugs and visual glitches even after the launch patch, but the overall experience makes you ignore if not flat out forget about these problems entirely. (Also, Naval battles) Expand
  21. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    this game is by far better the AC rev and Ac brotherhood but still not better then AC 2 but this game is still fantastic hunting is awesome everything is awesome the only bad part about this game is the main character Ezio was probably the best character they chose for this series. its a step in the right direction because the other two weren't so good but at least AC 4 could be the best AC if it listens to the community this time around but other then the main character in this game this game is fun Expand
  22. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    amazing Enthralling, thematically rich storytelling Tense and atmospheric sea battles It's a joy to watch your homestead develop Amazing attention to historical and visual details Lots of rewarding missions to undertake.
  23. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    If you can ignore all the bugs of this game, AC3 have everything and more of what a GOTY game is supposed to be like. The hunting, crafting and side missions all make the game so much more enjoyable. The story is one of the best this generation has to offer and you would do yourself a great favour by purchasing this.
  24. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This game, and by extension the AC property, creates an incredible environment that has factual contexts wrapped in a compelling drama between Assassins and Templar's. For a game to entice me to read historical facts about each person, place, and item has really found an amazing niche within gaming. To be able to immerse yourself in a location and time period long forgotten in our youth is an amazing feat. The sense of wonder and thought that comes with each installment really opens a new channel to humanities past, while still delivering on a level of modern thrill and gore. To skip these titles based on streamlined game-play would be doing yourself a disfavour. While games that focus on strategy and complex game mechanics are needed and certainly welcome (Starcraft, Dark Souls), there should always be room for a compelling story that can help show our youth the horrors of humanities past and one that should educate, even on a basic level, people into understanding where we have flawed in the past. Expand
  25. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This game blows me away. I think its so funny reading all the negative reviews. So far i like everything about this game and it really stands out as an achievement in the gaming industry. pat on the backs to everyone at ubisoft for a fantastic worth every penny game. thanks
  26. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    not better than ac2 but its sure much more better than ac brotherhood and ac revelations............Even after the first ten hours you will still find yourself learning new things
  27. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Utterly brilliant, and by far the best in the series yet. Single-player and Multiplayer both fantastic. Game of the year no doubt and a definite must buy.
  28. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Pure amazing work from Ubisoft anyone who gives a low score is either gay or does not appreciate great work. Shame on you people go play your call of duty and yell at the screen because your terrible at it and cant stop getting killed.
  29. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    It is the best AC game I have played so far. I hope they make another game like this. The main points that they have introduced into the game is the hunting mechanic, which includes snares, bait. they introduced bows, tomahawks, pistols, rope darts and the hidden blades can pop out and be used as knives.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    60
    At least the petty indignities of the multiplayer are optional and situated around gameplay that's solid and unique, if frustratingly stagnant. In the single-player campaign, however, it's impossible to escape the ham-fisted manipulations of the Assassin's Creed III development team.
  2. 90
    Assassin's Creed III is a pretty damn fine game. It loses none of what makes the series fun with the translation to another time and continent, and creates a whole new set of experiences which define the franchise. The biggest issue, if there is one, are the small technical issues, but these niggling technical issues only seem worse because everything else is such a great experience.
  3. 90
    Like any game of such scope, not every part of it is perfect. Yet, taken as a whole, there is very little that can compete with its wonderful, lavish, historical playground. [Issue#91, p.22]