Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's 1775. The colonies are on the verge of revolt. Assume the role of Connor, an assassin sworn to achieve liberty for his people and his new nation. To accomplish this, you will pursue your enemies across an open world. You will utilize your killing power in a violent pursuit that will seeIt's 1775. The colonies are on the verge of revolt. Assume the role of Connor, an assassin sworn to achieve liberty for his people and his new nation. To accomplish this, you will pursue your enemies across an open world. You will utilize your killing power in a violent pursuit that will see you traverse chaotic city streets and blood-soaked battlefields in the dangerous American frontier and beyond. You will encounter legendary heroes of American history, and with them you will conspire to annihilate those who threaten to bring down Liberty itself. Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    No multiplayer game so cannily captures a feeling of cat and mouse, and relies so completely on tension and suspense instead of yet more thrills. To call this multiplayer unique doesn't do it justice. If you care about new experiences in videogames, if you want to see how games can explore 3D spaces without resorting to shooting stuff or breaking things, you owe it to yourself to try Assassin's Creed multiplayer.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    95
    From new game play elements like the naval battles, the expansive frontier, new multiplayer modes, and the smoothest combat to date, any fan of the franchise will not be able to put this down and newcomers will be awe-inspired by the world laid out before them.
  3. 90
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a massive game and also the best game in the series to date.
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    85
    The only real problem (apart from the weak main character) in Assassin's Creed 3 is that there are so many things to do, but very few feel satisfying. There's a whole range of side-missions and challenges on offer, but at the end of the day completing them doesn't bring anything truly useful to the player.
  5. 80
    Open-world history lesson – this is the area where new Assassin excels. But embrace yourself to a long survival and linear game opening. [Dec 2012]
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    This sense of restrictiveness filters through to ACIII's mission design. There are surprisingly few assassinations here, and relatively little freedom to plan an approach to them. It's mostly eavesdropping, tailing, chase sequences and battle scenes.
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Far from the revolution we were expecting, a shift in focus to simple, repetitive combat, overly-scripted missions and tedious sidequests has for now killed our interest in a once genuinely great series. [Dec 2012]

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 341
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers,AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Collapse
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    I do not like the low scores this game is getting, i dont get why.

    I have been a fan of assassins creed 3 since the first. This game is the
    I do not like the low scores this game is getting, i dont get why.

    I have been a fan of assassins creed 3 since the first. This game is the best of them all. While yes, Conners character could have used more personality, everything else was perfect. Combat is 100% better than it ever was, IDK who the hell complains about the controls but they are smoother and work better than ever. The graphics are unreal, even better than Halo 4. The story while nothing crazy, it is pretty awesome being a part of old american events. This game i gave a 10 because it deserves a 9.5 or higher and nothing less. I dont see why it got anything lower than a 9, to me, if they would have given conner more of a personality, this game would have been perfect.
    Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    Another great installment. You have a vast a array of weapons the multiplayer is still awesome. Fans will love thisAnother great installment. You have a vast a array of weapons the multiplayer is still awesome. Fans will love this game............................... Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    When i played just 5 hours of this game i gave it a 9. I made a terrible mistake, this game is not that good. It has indeed a good story, andWhen i played just 5 hours of this game i gave it a 9. I made a terrible mistake, this game is not that good. It has indeed a good story, and the Naval missions are the Jewel of the Crown. But the game is broken, the parkour elements are Broken, the Battles are way too simple, different weapons means nothing in this game. The best thing of the game, the naval missions, are so few in the story mode, that you can count in one hand's fingers. I am relieved that Blackflag's focus is on Piracy, i really hope they learn from their mistakes, Assassin's Creed is an awesome franchise. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2014
    6
    This game being my first time playing anything from the Assassin's Creed franchise I was very impressed at how the story plays out, the gameThis game being my first time playing anything from the Assassin's Creed franchise I was very impressed at how the story plays out, the game play, and just the look back in history premise these games bring. If you were to ask me what I thought about this game a little over a year ago I would have said it was fantastic!
    However after playing AC2, I became more and more disappointed in what AC3 was.
    This is still a good game (don't get me wrong) but it just does not compare to the previous entries in the franchise.
    Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2013
    5
    These are the negative facts in my opinion about the game. Overall it's a great game. It has amazing graphics and great environment and iThese are the negative facts in my opinion about the game. Overall it's a great game. It has amazing graphics and great environment and i enjoyed playing it, but there were some things that ruined my experience during gameplay.

    For me it was difficult to follow the story, because there's too much of information happening at the same time and i got confused. The maps are too big and exploring them gets tedious, the characters have no special personality. The main character (Connor) is too serious and cold, i missed Ezio's charisma. The start-menu is very confusing. The main message and meaning of the assassin's creed felt kind of weak in general.
    Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    Yes a "0" for a score. I was very upset that the first sceen that I was in battle (Cornfields at the beginning), the guys carrying the chestYes a "0" for a score. I was very upset that the first sceen that I was in battle (Cornfields at the beginning), the guys carrying the chest were stuck behind an outhouse. They couldn't move, and I couldn't continue the quest. Also, the Autosave thing is annoying and I would prefer to save whenever I want. 3rd, try running through Boston and not accidently climb a building... Impossible... Expand

See all 341 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.