Assassin's Creed III Xbox 360

Assassin's Creed III Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's 1775. The colonies are on the verge of revolt. Assume the role of Connor, an assassin sworn to achieve liberty for his people and his new nation. To accomplish this, you will pursue your enemies across an open world. You will utilize your killing power in a violent pursuit that will seeIt's 1775. The colonies are on the verge of revolt. Assume the role of Connor, an assassin sworn to achieve liberty for his people and his new nation. To accomplish this, you will pursue your enemies across an open world. You will utilize your killing power in a violent pursuit that will see you traverse chaotic city streets and blood-soaked battlefields in the dangerous American frontier and beyond. You will encounter legendary heroes of American history, and with them you will conspire to annihilate those who threaten to bring down Liberty itself. Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Nov 14, 2012
    100
    No multiplayer game so cannily captures a feeling of cat and mouse, and relies so completely on tension and suspense instead of yet more thrills. To call this multiplayer unique doesn't do it justice. If you care about new experiences in videogames, if you want to see how games can explore 3D spaces without resorting to shooting stuff or breaking things, you owe it to yourself to try Assassin's Creed multiplayer.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    95
    From new game play elements like the naval battles, the expansive frontier, new multiplayer modes, and the smoothest combat to date, any fan of the franchise will not be able to put this down and newcomers will be awe-inspired by the world laid out before them.
  3. 90
    Assassin's Creed 3 is a massive game and also the best game in the series to date.
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    85
    The only real problem (apart from the weak main character) in Assassin's Creed 3 is that there are so many things to do, but very few feel satisfying. There's a whole range of side-missions and challenges on offer, but at the end of the day completing them doesn't bring anything truly useful to the player.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 30, 2012
    80
    Open-world history lesson – this is the area where new Assassin excels. But embrace yourself to a long survival and linear game opening. [Dec 2012]
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    This sense of restrictiveness filters through to ACIII's mission design. There are surprisingly few assassinations here, and relatively little freedom to plan an approach to them. It's mostly eavesdropping, tailing, chase sequences and battle scenes.
  7. Hyper Magazine
    Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Far from the revolution we were expecting, a shift in focus to simple, repetitive combat, overly-scripted missions and tedious sidequests has for now killed our interest in a once genuinely great series. [Dec 2012]

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 73 out of 343
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers,AC3 is a all new AC Experience, it has a Read Dead Redemption feeling and the best things that you love on AC series. You watch the trailers, demos and theres no surprise, it is amazing like you saw by Ubisoft. Maybe GOTY 2012. Collapse
  2. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    I do not like the low scores this game is getting, i dont get why.

    I have been a fan of assassins creed 3 since the first. This game is the
    I do not like the low scores this game is getting, i dont get why.

    I have been a fan of assassins creed 3 since the first. This game is the best of them all. While yes, Conners character could have used more personality, everything else was perfect. Combat is 100% better than it ever was, IDK who the hell complains about the controls but they are smoother and work better than ever. The graphics are unreal, even better than Halo 4. The story while nothing crazy, it is pretty awesome being a part of old american events. This game i gave a 10 because it deserves a 9.5 or higher and nothing less. I dont see why it got anything lower than a 9, to me, if they would have given conner more of a personality, this game would have been perfect.
    Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2014
    9
    This game is quite possibly my favorite in the series. The hunting and tree climbing mechanics gave me a great sense of freedom, and runningThis game is quite possibly my favorite in the series. The hunting and tree climbing mechanics gave me a great sense of freedom, and running on the rooftops in the cities of the embryonic stages of America was great as well. The story was fantastic, making me really feel for Connor, and he is an excellent addition to the Assassin order, and using the tomahawk was super interesting and fresh. The character design is excellent, the characters are great and it is just a great gaming experience overall. I loved fighting for my people, and what is right. this game still continues to amaze me with the fun I have playing it. Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    7
    Un titulo interesante debido a su anterior saga, pero con unos altibajos notables: Los gráficos se podría decir que incluso han empeoradoUn titulo interesante debido a su anterior saga, pero con unos altibajos notables: Los gráficos se podría decir que incluso han empeorado respecto a los últimos Assassin's Creeds, pero lo importante aquí reside en otras cosas como la nave Aquila, sin duda algo perfecto, un gran barco disponible para realizar batallas navales, el bajo: No se puede usar en un modo libre. En mi opinión, el nuevo traje de Connor es bueno, recordando el estilo de la saga, pero en la compra de este articulo parece haber poco en lo que elegir, otra cosa que me gusto fue la posibilidad de llamar al caballo, pero el bajo es sus continuos errores, cuando entra en el agua en ocasiones se crea un bug, al igual que es muy ficicil montarlo si vas por el bosque. Como he dicho un buen juego, no me decepcionó, pero tambien tiene errores que necesitan ser pulidos. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    Assassin's Creed III continues the experiences of Desmond and the team, and moves on to two new ancestors of Desmond, Haytham & Connor, whoAssassin's Creed III continues the experiences of Desmond and the team, and moves on to two new ancestors of Desmond, Haytham & Connor, who are father and son respectfully. AC3 takes forever to get started, you actually play as Connor, but for the first two sequences you play as Haytham. This become rather droll and the story in the overall game moves very slow and with uneven speed. This iteration of the series is also very cinematic heavy, you'll perhaps do 3-5 minutes of actual playing followed by a 1 - 2 minute cinematic (you can skip the cinematics, but then the plot is basically meaningless). This iteration feels very much rushed, a lot of things go wrong in the game.

    As most people have reviewed this game is plagued with bugs and glitches, now I actually am a game programmer myself (I even have a degree in it), and some of the bugs that have gotten through quality control are absolutely absurd. I had hoped that a few years down the road that most of the important and game break bugs would be fixed, but they aren't. I know the Xbox 360 doesn't have the most advanced hardware specs and given the size of the worlds the Assassin's Creed series has come to be known for, but this is a bit too much.

    I can't count the number of times I'll be walking (this is later in the game around sequence 9 for whatever reason) and I'll be incognito and walk past a guard and suddenly all the guards in the area will attack me as if I had been Notoriety Level 3. This is awful, because it happens repeatedly, and I'm not talking 1 or 2 guards, I'm talking upwards of 7 - 10, not all of them infantry that can be killed using simply counters. I've also seen (and took a picture, wish I could post it) a manikin sitting on the seat of a hay trailer, it's like the texture for whatever person was supposed to be there is missing so what I see if the plain white model of a human. Also something you'll notice and these are actually acceptable bugs considering the limitations of the hardware, but texture pop-ins are a thing you'll have to get used too. You can be riding your horse and getting to a bridge and clearly see that when your about 50 meters from the bridge the higher resolution texture will pop-in and if you're running in a grassy area you can see the grass actually grow right in front of you. They just overlay the ground ahead of the player with a texture of grass, then as you get closer to be able to interact with it they pop the model in, well it's like watching time move fast because the grass will grow right before your very eyes.

    I'm hoping that future iterations of the Assassin's Creed series will be benefited by the new hardware from the Xbox One and Playstation 4. I'd suggest you play this game only for the story to find what becomes of Desmond, but if you're looking for the charming character development like Ezio or anything like Brotherhood/II you'll be sadly disappointed.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    They succeeded in making the same game again. It's prettier now but it's essentially the same as the previous two with an even more boringThey succeeded in making the same game again. It's prettier now but it's essentially the same as the previous two with an even more boring combat system (the old one was already a zero threat snooze fest). Lots of glitches and bugs in this one as well. I've always found these AC games somewhat boring and easy but this one was much worse in respect to combat. I'm surprised there are so many positive reviews it makes me wonder how many employees have metacritic accounts. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2013
    0
    Yes a "0" for a score. I was very upset that the first sceen that I was in battle (Cornfields at the beginning), the guys carrying the chestYes a "0" for a score. I was very upset that the first sceen that I was in battle (Cornfields at the beginning), the guys carrying the chest were stuck behind an outhouse. They couldn't move, and I couldn't continue the quest. Also, the Autosave thing is annoying and I would prefer to save whenever I want. 3rd, try running through Boston and not accidently climb a building... Impossible... Expand

See all 343 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.