Assassin's Creed: Revelations Xbox 360

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    74
    The game lacks a coherent story, visual polish, and meaningful new gameplay elements. Though running around and stabbing people is still fun, Revelations has lost some of the spark that made its predecessors feel so amazing.
  2. Jan 3, 2012
    70
    If you're an avid fan and follower of the Creed, you're sure to find plenty to please you but for those longing for answers and a step further for the series will find one step forward, two back, along with a thick fog covering up the path ahead.
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    70
    Revelations does add extra features to the series' existing template of great environments, atmosphere and visual flair propping up weak gameplay mechanics, which helps offset the effect of diminishing returns. Players who didn't mind the limited platforming and simple combat of the previous games will likely come back for more. However, we're hoping for a more radical overhaul and refocusing of the series by the time the next instalment arrives.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    70
    It's a shame the additions to Assassin's Creed: Revelations' single player aren't as impactful as before. Maybe it was inevitable considering the yearly release cycle, but the majority of its improvements are incremental at best, while the rest are disappointingly substandard.
  5. Nov 25, 2011
    70
    The thrilling gameplay that attracts fans is still here, although it's a bit obscured by too many mini-games that are less fun than or relevant to the core experience. The story is finally ended but we're still left wondering what's next for Desmond. Multiplayer is, as expected, awesome.
  6. Nov 24, 2011
    70
    It could have been great as a DLC for Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, but as a standalone game it doesn't work that well.
  7. Nov 16, 2011
    70
    It cannot be said enough that underneath all the padding remains that same excellent stealth assassination gameplay. Brotherhood's multiplayer returns largely unharried, and fans enamoured with the series will certainly be able to see through the surplus soft tissue to appreciate the singleplayer's unquestionable inner beauty. The rest will rightly conclude that Assassin's Creed: Revelations is the most disappointing entry in a spectacular series.
  8. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    If you're a dedicated fan and want more of the series, you'll have fun despite being disappointed at the lack of exposition. As for the casual players, there are unfortunately very few reasons to check this out.
  9. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    The elements added to Assassin's Creed: Revelations do make it feel like a more different and occasionally surprising experience compared to Brotherhood, which felt like an expansion pack. But at its core, we're still playing the same game for the third time.
  10. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    Revelations very much feels to me like a team checking off items from a list. Ezio, Altair, and Desmond are here; there's parkour; there's combat; there's a bad guy, eventually; there are puzzles; there's a big beautiful world to explore. The problem is, they never seem to cohere into a single experience, and the kind of passion and quality that has made this series so good in the past is missing.
  11. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    Despite the faults though, Revelations remains an intriguing proposition because of gaming's finest Italian hero after that plumber in dungarees. Seriously, if there was an Oscar for game characters Ezio would walk it more often than not. If you're less entranced by Mr Auditore then Revelations is a more difficult sale.
  12. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    At its core, this is the Assassin's Creed we've grown to love in recent years, and it still serves as a pretty good time sink -- plus, it's a necessary bridge to next year's already-announced follow-up. But obligation shouldn't be the primary reason to play something, and sadly, that's too often the case in this humdrum campaign.
  13. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    More than any other episode of the series, Revelations shows the limits of its gameplay - it is high time to revise. Yet Constantinople is a beautiful playground, full of things to do. The story provides some surprises and takes us into a pleasant adventure. All this is in addition to supporting a fully fleshed out multiplayer...But in the end it left a bitter taste left in my mouth.
  14. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    So, for the first time, a new Assassin's Creed game is worse than its predecessor, the first time the short development period has had a noticeable impact on the game's quality. It's a game of nearlies and might-have-beens: summed up by the hookblade, a supposedly key new feature which in practice merely extends Ezio's reach slightly, and allows him to glide down the occasional zipline.
  15. Nov 14, 2011
    70
    Where Brotherhood enhanced the thrill of being Ezio Auditore, Revelations distracts from it. Ezio may look old, but it's the series itself that really shows its age.
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    67
    Revelations' least noisy moments are its purest, and in the hot and crowded Constantinople, they feel few and far between.
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    60
    Not bad if you're looking for exactly what Brotherhood brought us and still a beautiful living world, but a lack of news, strained story and repetitive missions lowers the experience.
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    60
    Building on the foundation of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, Revelations had a fantastic opportunity. Sadly it is wasted on annoying mini games and uninspired escort missions.
  19. Dec 28, 2011
    50
    Assassin's Creed Revelations is not an outright bad game, but neither is it a good one. In a series that has seen this many interesting ideas, such mediocrity amounts to a disaster. Thanks to slipshod implementation, none of the new features in Revelations improve the Assassin's Creed experience, and some make it noticeably worse. As such, the only thing that Revelations really adds to the series is the feeling of being cheated.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 149
  2. Negative: 20 out of 149
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    "Assassin's Creed: Revelations" is not a great game; it's rather disappointing. The story has improved very much, and I won't say anything but"Assassin's Creed: Revelations" is not a great game; it's rather disappointing. The story has improved very much, and I won't say anything but it's really immersive and profound. BUT. The gameplay, voice acting and all those important stuff did not change a bit. It's the same controls, same assassination methods, same counter attacks and the same voice. It's fine for the obssessive AC fans, but really? I'm kinda tired of doing this **** all over again. Don't get me wrong; it's a good game for the AC newbies, but guys who played all 3 AC games, it's decent. Full Review »
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The game itself is awesome, yes it has used the same engine and is more of the same but the engrossing storyline and new additions make itThe game itself is awesome, yes it has used the same engine and is more of the same but the engrossing storyline and new additions make it fresh enough for me to give it a ten....Thanks Ubisoft keep the creed games coming :) Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    4
    This review is for the campaign only.

    This is not a sequel in any sense of the word except for the fact that it somewhat furthers the story.
    This review is for the campaign only.

    This is not a sequel in any sense of the word except for the fact that it somewhat furthers the story. Sadly, not much is really solved, and the game is very tedious. The mechanics to maintain "dens" are very annoying after the first handful of times because of how long it takes to get these dens secured by your own assassins. There's also a metagame in which you fight for control over the Mediterranean by sending your assassins off to complete missions and capture cities. Again, templars can retake anything you take, so expect to find yourself needing to stop the main quest repeatedly to take care of your fellow assassins and your duty as peacekeeper of the Mediterranean.

    Not much new is introduced. Bombs are very fun, but you'll likely end up just using the weaponry from Brotherhood. The enhanced climbing is nice, but it feels less solid than Brotherhood and AC2. I have found myself getting quite frustrated at Ezio jumping away from structures when I was very clearly pushing up on the joystick. Honestly, I can't think of anything else that is new. Oh, ziplines from building to building. In my opinion, the metagames have become more annoying and intrusive, and the new additions are not enough to outweigh how heavily this game feels like Brotherhood. I found Brotherhood to be a worthy sequel to AC2. It introduced much more to the series.

    I am giving this game a 4/10 as a sequel, and 9/10 as an expansion pack. I really cannot justify $60 for this game, though. Brotherhood, yes; a small expansion pack for Brotherhood, no. I have not played the multiplayer, but from what I have seen it appears very similar to Brotherhood with a few new modes.

    Rent this one if you want. Otherwise, just read up on the story. Ah well, maybe the next installment will be better.
    Full Review »