Assassin's Creed: Revelations Xbox 360

Assassin's Creed: Revelations Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 554 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Revelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, theRevelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, the heart of the Ottoman Empire, where a growing army of Templars threatens to destabilize the region. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    95
    It's an incredibly big game - the amount of secrets, side missions or challenges can be overwhelming even for an experienced fan of the series. What is surprising is a very high quality of almost all these elements. Beginning with an engrossing storyline, ending with a well done system of making your own grenades. With a project of that scale it was hard to be perfect - defending your hideouts could be made better and long loading screens can frustrate a little.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    88
    Despite being another great installment in the series, Assassin's Creed Revelations lacks real innovation and is the first chapter of the franchise that can't live up to it's predecessor. Nethertheless its story is highly enjoyable and Revelations is a great conclusion for Ezios adventure.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    82
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations is still an adventure that no fan should be without, if only because it leads right into the next chapter. At the same time, the underwhelming start to an otherwise intriguing story, alongside changes that seem more cosmetic than practical, makes it seem that the formula hasn't aged as well as Ezio has.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    While it brings some undeniable improvements to the series, Revelations feels like one step forward, two steps back. Its gameplay and multiplayer are still fantastic, but they come at the expense of a lackluster storyline and a shorter overall experience. Instead of being the exclamation point at the end of Ezio's story, Revelations feels more like an ellipsis.
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    75
    Coming across as more of an Assassin's Creed 2.2 than true sequel, Revelations provides for the same kind of experience as a yearly released sports title.
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    50
    Assassin's Creed Revelations is not an outright bad game, but neither is it a good one. In a series that has seen this many interesting ideas, such mediocrity amounts to a disaster. Thanks to slipshod implementation, none of the new features in Revelations improve the Assassin's Creed experience, and some make it noticeably worse. As such, the only thing that Revelations really adds to the series is the feeling of being cheated.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 151
  2. Negative: 20 out of 151
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Brilliant game; everything is perfect. Especially loved the first-person Desmond section of the game. The hookblade allows for some veryBrilliant game; everything is perfect. Especially loved the first-person Desmond section of the game. The hookblade allows for some very interesting, and enjoyable combat moves, as well, speeds up travel dramatically. The tower defense mini-game was a very fun addition as well. Definitely the best Assassin's Creed so far! Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, which improves in basically everything:story, gameplay , graphics and multiplayer. I really dont get why critics are so biasedAmazing game, which improves in basically everything:story, gameplay , graphics and multiplayer. I really dont get why critics are so biased against this Franchise, while praising Call of Duty and Battlefield. You know what: Assassins Creed 3 comes this year, so eat that metacritic. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The game itself is awesome, yes it has used the same engine and is more of the same but the engrossing storyline and new additions make itThe game itself is awesome, yes it has used the same engine and is more of the same but the engrossing storyline and new additions make it fresh enough for me to give it a ten....Thanks Ubisoft keep the creed games coming :) Collapse
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    We could have had two really great games. What we got instead were three "good" games. Revelations was an unneeded game. Not because it didn'tWe could have had two really great games. What we got instead were three "good" games. Revelations was an unneeded game. Not because it didn't bring some great things to the series (the story, specifically), but because they were things that should have been in Brotherhood. Obviously, hindsight is 20/20, and I'm sure some of the designers share my complaints. You never truly ship the "perfect" game you had in mind; there's always more that can be done.

    Assassin's Creed 2: The best in the series. Plenty of content. The story gave us a charming protagonist, and a sympathetic story of revenge. The biggest flaw? Not ending the Borgia plot. Instead, we were treated to a rushed climax, where Ezio simply decides to abandon his quest for revenge five minutes too soon. Brotherhood: I'm not saying Ezio should have killed the Pope in AC2. Every good character needs to make some mistakes to grow. But the Borgia plot in Brotherhood was just a bad case of deja vu. Hadn't the revenge themes already been explored? To its credit, Brotherhood added a great chunk of content, and refined all of the already great elements of AC2 without breaking the system.

    Revelations: The gameplay is exactly the same, for better or worse. Bombs are the only interesting addition. The hookblade is unneeded, and reeks of gimmick. Den Defense, however, is the worst thing to happen to the series. It absolutely ruins the pacing of the game, forcing players to engage in a mediocre (and horribly flawed) minigame whenever they gain too much Templar attention, a bar increased by trying to play the damn game.
    However, it easily has the best story of the trilogy. Sofia's relationship with Ezio grows naturally, and runs concurrently with the main plot, giving us a nice change of pace. Shows some great duality in Ezio's character: assassin vs. man, something that's been teased throughout the series. But the early story is a bit familiar: didn't we already start a Brotherhood? These Ottoman assassin's don't exactly treat me like Il Mentore, hero of all Italy. No, they treat me like a senile old retiree. "What do you mean, you don't have a hookblade? No bombs? Get with the times, old man." Instead of adding new weapons, how about new defenses against riflemen, a new and scary enemy of the Assassins? Adapting to a new world is an interesting theme explored in games such as Red Dead Redemption, and I would have loved to see them explored here. No such luck.

    My Recommendations:
    My additions to AC2 would purely be story based: none of the gameplay additions would be added until the sequel. The Christina Missions from Brotherhood should have been incorporated into AC2's plot. It gives us an anchor for an otherwise baseless story of revenge. It gives us an awareness for the passage of time, and the toll it has had on Ezio. It is the first example of my favorite theme in the series: a man giving all he has to an order (never fully explored until Revelations). AC2 would have ended with the Borgias. The main flaw of AC2 was a lack of closure, now achieved via the death of the Borgias. Instead of giving us a huge cast of conspirators to kill, the game should have limited our targets, incorporating the ending of AC2 and minimal plot of Brotherhood: ie: the plot to take down Italy via the papacy. This sort of streamlining worked great in Revelations. The next game would finish Ezio's story. The plot would largely resemble Revelations, with small changes. First and foremost: the world would need to be larger. Constantinople could serve as the hub world, with entire sequences taking place in smaller, newer areas (similar to multiple cities in AC2). Sequence 7 of Revelations does something similar, and was easily my favorite part of the game. We would get an idea of the global expansion of the Brotherhood, with a nice variation in mission structure. Simply put, this game would combine the gameplay innovations from Brotherhood with the superb story of Revelations. The best themes would be there: expansion of the Brotherhood, knowing a man's limits / place in the world, giving ones life to an organization, etc. It would be the perfect finisher. And yes, we would still keep the Altair missions.

    The Brotherhood / Revelations hybrid would have needed additional prep time. Personally, I would have been fine with not having Brotherhood and waiting until this year for the hybrid. It all boils down to planning. With time, the team could have come up with the perfect way of combining these games. It seems the crucial flaw of the series was maintaining a proper storyline across all games, and still giving each installment a sense of accomplishment and closure. Instead, we received three games where the protagonist never had a motive beyond revenge. A failure to develop a strong cast of characters (and even abandoning most of them in Revelations) gave the game a lack of heart, and a lack of direction.
    Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed Revelations is disappointing game. No were near as good as 2 or Brotherhood. Its put me of the series quite a bit. Now i'mAssassin's Creed Revelations is disappointing game. No were near as good as 2 or Brotherhood. Its put me of the series quite a bit. Now i'm not saying you should not buy this game... its just it won't be as good as the other 2 games. Great gameplay and story, new content is not great, tower defence is just annoying but it's optional tho. Bombs are not great either, cool idea... but never used them, but the hook you get is great and helps a lot. The start is boring starts getting good in the middle and great and sad at the end. Overall a decent game but could be better. Assassin's Creed: Revelations 7.2/10 Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2012
    6
    The game had a few new aspects that made it an enjoyable experience, the story still being very well made and all, but being the fourthThe game had a few new aspects that made it an enjoyable experience, the story still being very well made and all, but being the fourth installment in the Assassin's Creed series, it sort of felt a little repetitive, the gameplay and voice acting did not change very much since the first. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    I must give 0 points just to correct the average score...I know, the ones who liked the game gave 10 though it wasn't worth it neither.

    In
    I must give 0 points just to correct the average score...I know, the ones who liked the game gave 10 though it wasn't worth it neither.

    In fact it is a 75-85% Game!

    This game is far too short, it is far too easy and there is no **** story at all!
    AC2 ist one of my favorite gtames of all time. Brotherhood was also great. But it was for the reason, that both games combinded two Storys and many epoches. Not just the high medieval age and modern times, but any epoche thinkable with those glyphs.

    You'll miss it all in Revelations. Press two buttons and win the game in less than 3 or 4 Hours....
    Expand

See all 151 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.