Assassin's Creed: Revelations Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 604 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Revelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, theRevelations follows master assassin Ezio Auditore as he walks in the footsteps of his legendary mentor, Altair, on a journey to recover five ancient seals that hold the keys to the future of the Assassins brotherhood. It's a perilous path - one that will take Ezio to Constantinople, the heart of the Ottoman Empire, where a growing army of Templars threatens to destabilize the region. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed: Revelations End of Beta Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Nov 18, 2011
    95
    It's an incredibly big game - the amount of secrets, side missions or challenges can be overwhelming even for an experienced fan of the series. What is surprising is a very high quality of almost all these elements. Beginning with an engrossing storyline, ending with a well done system of making your own grenades. With a project of that scale it was hard to be perfect - defending your hideouts could be made better and long loading screens can frustrate a little.
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    88
    Despite being another great installment in the series, Assassin's Creed Revelations lacks real innovation and is the first chapter of the franchise that can't live up to it's predecessor. Nethertheless its story is highly enjoyable and Revelations is a great conclusion for Ezios adventure.
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    82
    Assassin's Creed: Revelations is still an adventure that no fan should be without, if only because it leads right into the next chapter. At the same time, the underwhelming start to an otherwise intriguing story, alongside changes that seem more cosmetic than practical, makes it seem that the formula hasn't aged as well as Ezio has.
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    80
    While it brings some undeniable improvements to the series, Revelations feels like one step forward, two steps back. Its gameplay and multiplayer are still fantastic, but they come at the expense of a lackluster storyline and a shorter overall experience. Instead of being the exclamation point at the end of Ezio's story, Revelations feels more like an ellipsis.
  6. Nov 16, 2011
    75
    Coming across as more of an Assassin's Creed 2.2 than true sequel, Revelations provides for the same kind of experience as a yearly released sports title.
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    50
    Assassin's Creed Revelations is not an outright bad game, but neither is it a good one. In a series that has seen this many interesting ideas, such mediocrity amounts to a disaster. Thanks to slipshod implementation, none of the new features in Revelations improve the Assassin's Creed experience, and some make it noticeably worse. As such, the only thing that Revelations really adds to the series is the feeling of being cheated.

See all 77 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 156
  2. Negative: 19 out of 156
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    The game itself is awesome, yes it has used the same engine and is more of the same but the engrossing storyline and new additions make itThe game itself is awesome, yes it has used the same engine and is more of the same but the engrossing storyline and new additions make it fresh enough for me to give it a ten....Thanks Ubisoft keep the creed games coming :) Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, which improves in basically everything:story, gameplay , graphics and multiplayer. I really dont get why critics are so biasedAmazing game, which improves in basically everything:story, gameplay , graphics and multiplayer. I really dont get why critics are so biased against this Franchise, while praising Call of Duty and Battlefield. You know what: Assassins Creed 3 comes this year, so eat that metacritic. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    If you, like me, loved the past three games, you will think this game as amazing. Assassins creed Revelations answers many questions and keepsIf you, like me, loved the past three games, you will think this game as amazing. Assassins creed Revelations answers many questions and keeps up the plot that wants to make you keep playing. Yes there a some annoying missions (such as the annoying version of tower defense) but if you can past that, AC revelations is a great game. Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2011
    8
    Well 9.5 actually, the game makes various improvements to an already great formula established by the first three games. Although someWell 9.5 actually, the game makes various improvements to an already great formula established by the first three games. Although some additions may feel a little contrived such as the tower defense minigame, it does little to take away from the great experience. But my biggest surprise to the game was how different it felt from previous installments.The city feels much bigger, the graphics have seen a major facelift, the new weapons give more freedom in how you tackle missions and the storytelling has been vastly improved. All in all Revelations is a great game, but one must wonder how long ubisoft can keep its momentum with its annual release date of this franchise. Story:9.5 Gameplay:9.5 Graphics:9.2 soundvoice acting:9 Enjoyment :10 Replay value 10. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    7
    Assassins Creed Revelations didn't really push the series to new heights, or innovate on sandbox games. My main problem with this game is theAssassins Creed Revelations didn't really push the series to new heights, or innovate on sandbox games. My main problem with this game is the location it's set, Constantinople. It looked good, but felt uninteresting or unique. The story is one Revelations strong points, voice acting was still good, and the storytelling was decently paced. Still, I can't help but feel that this was just a weak spot in the franchise. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2011
    6
    "Assassin's Creed: Revelations" is not a great game; it's rather disappointing. The story has improved very much, and I won't say anything but"Assassin's Creed: Revelations" is not a great game; it's rather disappointing. The story has improved very much, and I won't say anything but it's really immersive and profound. BUT. The gameplay, voice acting and all those important stuff did not change a bit. It's the same controls, same assassination methods, same counter attacks and the same voice. It's fine for the obssessive AC fans, but really? I'm kinda tired of doing this **** all over again. Don't get me wrong; it's a good game for the AC newbies, but guys who played all 3 AC games, it's decent. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    I must give 0 points just to correct the average score...I know, the ones who liked the game gave 10 though it wasn't worth it neither.

    In
    I must give 0 points just to correct the average score...I know, the ones who liked the game gave 10 though it wasn't worth it neither.

    In fact it is a 75-85% Game!

    This game is far too short, it is far too easy and there is no **** story at all!
    AC2 ist one of my favorite gtames of all time. Brotherhood was also great. But it was for the reason, that both games combinded two Storys and many epoches. Not just the high medieval age and modern times, but any epoche thinkable with those glyphs.

    You'll miss it all in Revelations. Press two buttons and win the game in less than 3 or 4 Hours....
    Expand

See all 156 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.