Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1046 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HectorS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    No doubt that the visuals are remarkable and the scope of the environment is incredible, but the depth of the game is so poor that I couldn't possibly rate it any higher.
  2. JosephE.
    Dec 2, 2007
    3
    The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine will be used for a more immersive, compelling game. Expand
  3. JayD.
    Feb 9, 2008
    2
    I really don't know where all the high rating are coming from. This game is a con. ive never know such a repetitive game, its just the same pointless little missions over and over again. pick pocket - evesdrop - intimidate - kill - YAWN!!! the free roaming is good and the graphics are excellent, but once GTA 4 is released I wouldn't see the point of even thinking about getting I really don't know where all the high rating are coming from. This game is a con. ive never know such a repetitive game, its just the same pointless little missions over and over again. pick pocket - evesdrop - intimidate - kill - YAWN!!! the free roaming is good and the graphics are excellent, but once GTA 4 is released I wouldn't see the point of even thinking about getting this game. Expand
  4. JamesL.
    Jul 1, 2008
    4
    Considering the hype...very dissapointing.
  5. AnonymousMC
    Jan 1, 2009
    2
    The things I didn't like about this game are too numerous to mention. Luckily they can be summed up by explaining one aspect of the game.

    You're forced to travel from city to city manually. The distance you have to cover is large and the route is peppered liberally with enemy soldiers. For some unfathomable reason, failure to slow to an absolute crawl by holding down a button
    The things I didn't like about this game are too numerous to mention. Luckily they can be summed up by explaining one aspect of the game.

    You're forced to travel from city to city manually. The distance you have to cover is large and the route is peppered liberally with enemy soldiers. For some unfathomable reason, failure to slow to an absolute crawl by holding down a button (whether on foot or horseback) when passing within metres of these soldiers will result in them chasing and attacking you. This obviously results in the choice between sprinting from area to area in an attempt to outrun them and therefore missing out on a good chunk of the game, or moving at a snails pace and struggling to stay awake. To sum it up you can play this game in one of two way, both of which suck.

    This game falls squarely within a new category of games I have christened "boredom simulators". Games which eschew the most important (in my opinion) element of a game, fun, in favour of "realism".
    Expand
  6. PensiveNinja
    Dec 16, 2007
    3
    If you are one of those people who like to play Grand Theft Auto just so you can run around beat people up, steal cars, shoot police, and not follow the story line at all then this is a game for you. While I do agree that the graphics are amazing and the world in which you play is vast and beautiful, the storyline is repetitive. Pickpocket for information, eavesdrop for inormation, punch If you are one of those people who like to play Grand Theft Auto just so you can run around beat people up, steal cars, shoot police, and not follow the story line at all then this is a game for you. While I do agree that the graphics are amazing and the world in which you play is vast and beautiful, the storyline is repetitive. Pickpocket for information, eavesdrop for inormation, punch beggars in the face, assaniate the target, repeat....9 times!!! After the third assassin I lost interest and just started running through the environment, scaling walls and picking fights with the guards just to see how long i could fight continuosly before dying. By the time I actually decided to complete the fourth assassination I was just plain bored, so i started my 4th campaign in Halo 3... Needless to say, I traded the game in. Word of advice. Don't get this game. Expand
  7. PeteZ.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    Fails to deliver on immense potential Repetitious, requires no skill whatsoever, boring at times This is an interactive movie (with non-skippable cutscenes) not a game.
  8. Zachary
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    This game is utterly one of the greatest disappointments of all times. Do not judge this game off of the high ratings because they are false. Trust me. To even say this game deserves a 10 amazes me. This game deserves nothing more than a 5. I BARELY made my self finish this repetitive nightmare. After the 4th assassination it really goes down hill and there are 9 or 10 or maybe 11 more. I This game is utterly one of the greatest disappointments of all times. Do not judge this game off of the high ratings because they are false. Trust me. To even say this game deserves a 10 amazes me. This game deserves nothing more than a 5. I BARELY made my self finish this repetitive nightmare. After the 4th assassination it really goes down hill and there are 9 or 10 or maybe 11 more. I am not sure of the specific value, because you don't count. You just want to get to the next assassination to be done with it, but no, you have to do side missions. There are 3 side missions, eavesdropping, informant, and interrogation. Eavesdropping is sitting on a bench and listening to 2 guys talk in which they say generally the same thing every time. Informant either makes you kill people, or makes you go and capture flags. Wait, capture flags? Are you serious? You are capturing flags in an assassination game? The A.I. is horrendous. The villagers mindlessly roam around the city. The guards attack you one at a time, and can do exactly the same acrobatic jumps across buildings as you can. You can't swim, an elite assassin, that is a master of the Olympics. Don't worry, the guards can't swim either. No one can swim. Did I mention the pick pocketing mission? You listen to do guys talk for 5 minutes, than you wait 2 seconds for the future pick pocket victim to look left and then right, than you press a button to pick pocket him. But in order to even find these missions, you will spend HOURS climbing the same looking tower, pressing Y on the amazingly convenient wooden planks on EVERY single Birds Eye View Location. When you fail on the Informant missions, which you will a lot because the timed ones are extremely hard, and the flag ones are just ridiculous. If you decide to re-do the mission, you will have to listen to the SAME cut scene, because if you didn't already know, you cannot skip ANY cuts scenes. There are some cut scenes in the game, that are 10 minutes long, and they are completely boring and unexciting. I would never replay this game for that reason alone much less all of the other reasons. Did I even mention it is buggy to the point to where some players can't even play it? This game tries NOTHING new, sure great graphics, but I can name lots of games that blow this game out of the water. Don't reward this under class game by buying it. I suggest renting something else, but if you really want to try and stay awake through this game in which I didn't even go through the mass x and x + right trigger combat system. Go right ahead....oh my gosh this game is bad. Expand
  9. Bender
    Nov 23, 2007
    1
    Don't beleive the hype. Assassins Creed is great for the first hour, but any longer it becomes very repetitive and boring. So boring I was compelled to play other games instead of finishing it. I suggest renting AC first.
  10. Shane
    Dec 18, 2007
    3
    Pretty pictures, great controls but boooooring repetitive game play. WTH is up with all these great reviews? If you play the game for more then 3 hours, you realize what a scam it is. People need to demand more from games and with reviews like this, we'll never get it.
  11. PabloG.
    Feb 16, 2008
    2
    An embarrassment. The game looks beautiful and the roof jumping is great.... and that's it. You pick-pocket, interrogate, collect flags, and other boring things NINE TIMES just to get to the actual fun part of the game. And don't get me started on the cut scenes. You can't skip them and they go on forever as the characters speak and speak about nothing. One of the biggest An embarrassment. The game looks beautiful and the roof jumping is great.... and that's it. You pick-pocket, interrogate, collect flags, and other boring things NINE TIMES just to get to the actual fun part of the game. And don't get me started on the cut scenes. You can't skip them and they go on forever as the characters speak and speak about nothing. One of the biggest disappointments in video game history. I'm on the 4th mission and I can't take doing the same thing over and over again. Expand
  12. ApocalypseB.
    Feb 22, 2008
    1
    Seriously pissed waiting for this crap, only for it to turn out one of the most over-rated games of all time, next to COD4! I mean forget the Matrix rip-off storyline, the gameplay is broken from the get go. Slash, spy, kill, climb buildings, all in this sequence for the next 15 hours will drive you insane. And the A.I.? I think its an insult to call it A.I., as brain dead cows would have Seriously pissed waiting for this crap, only for it to turn out one of the most over-rated games of all time, next to COD4! I mean forget the Matrix rip-off storyline, the gameplay is broken from the get go. Slash, spy, kill, climb buildings, all in this sequence for the next 15 hours will drive you insane. And the A.I.? I think its an insult to call it A.I., as brain dead cows would have better responses than those clowns. Avoid at all costs! Expand
  13. AbrahamL.
    Nov 19, 2007
    1
    Pathetic. It does look great but it is supposed to be a fun GAME! Not a stupid boring tech demo. You can't even pick up and throw objects like Sam Fisher with his bottles and cans for distraction or just for fun to see the reaction of the bad guys when you hit them with it. This could have been better then the Splinter Cell series, but this is so boring and falls flat on it's Pathetic. It does look great but it is supposed to be a fun GAME! Not a stupid boring tech demo. You can't even pick up and throw objects like Sam Fisher with his bottles and cans for distraction or just for fun to see the reaction of the bad guys when you hit them with it. This could have been better then the Splinter Cell series, but this is so boring and falls flat on it's face. Only three basic weapons? That's it? Where is the crossbow? An axe or spear would have been nice too. And no character or weapons upgrades? It would have been perfect for a game like this. The gameplay developers and testers should be fired for this piece of crap. It's totally not interactive or fun at all. Looks are deceiving and this game is unfortunately the perfect example. Beautiful to look at, very boring to play. Save your money for Devil May Cry 4 or Ninja Gaiden 2. Expand
  14. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion,Assassin's Creed starts out very promising, but ultimately disappoints. At first, you think you're embarking on what looks to be an engrossing, open-ended, fantastically rendered epic. Quickly, however, you realize that this adventure consists of doing the exact. same. thing. over and over and over again. Now, the same can be said about any open-ended game, to an extent. In Oblivion, Fallout, Mass Effect, etc., the missions all follow the same general arch, but they are least make the missions look and feel different. In Assassin's Creed, there is literally no variation in the actual tasks you have to accomplish in order to complete each mission. If you've done one mission, you've done them all. The game does have some fun elements, to be sure. Stealth kills never get old, nor do Leaps of Faith. But you simply can't play the game for extended periods of time without feeling like you're treading water, even if you're making significant progress. It gets boring fairly quickly, unless you are an achievement-driven completionist who lives for scouring every inch of the a game world for obscure and hidden objects. Expand
  15. Dec 29, 2011
    1
    This game gets 1 point for stunning graphics it is without a doubt the most boring game I've ever played being so repetitive i couldn't finish it because i was afraid of suicide never got to the second one because i would want to understand the story F*** Assassin's Creed
  16. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    The first few hours our alright in this game then it send you to do the exact same thing over and over and over again. You can save civilians and climb towers for bars of health, but after you max it out it becomes pointless to do. Sorry but I forced myself to complete this and after completing it, its one of the most boring games I have played in my entire life. Assassin's Creed 2.0/10
  17. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    The gameplay mechanics were great and one of the first examples of fluid free running mechanics. The world was a glorious scale and detail however the game was hindered by one of the most cripplingly linear and repetitive storylines. It's redeeming grace is it paved the way for some truly breathtaking sequels.
  18. Aug 23, 2010
    4
    Very well done in terms of the world size and the free running. Interesting way to tell a story also. Unfortunately the entire game is so insanely repetitive that I couldn't even finish. I literally was sick to my stomach from doing the same thing over and over again. You basicly repeat the same mission the entire game.
  19. GregS.
    Nov 28, 2009
    4
    Extremely repetitive. Doesn't use the awesome free-running and combat mechanics to its fullest. However, easy 1000/1000 gamerscore.
  20. MikeL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    This was a total waste of time. I was expecting some middle aged cluture where I could be somebody else. The game has nothing going for it that other games havent done. Horses and Climbing -Shadow of the Collosus Stealth Action - Splinter cell Even when the game does get good two bumbling idiots take you out and make you walk over to your bed, go to sleep, and then watch an immensely This was a total waste of time. I was expecting some middle aged cluture where I could be somebody else. The game has nothing going for it that other games havent done. Horses and Climbing -Shadow of the Collosus Stealth Action - Splinter cell Even when the game does get good two bumbling idiots take you out and make you walk over to your bed, go to sleep, and then watch an immensely boring cutscene. Do not buy this game, in order to get the full effect rent it and play the first mission. After that its the same time nine times over again. Expand
  21. Johnny
    Nov 13, 2007
    0
    A waste of time past the first 5 minutes when your wowed by the visuals only to find the games 'open ended nature' means doing exactly what the makers intended to do ad infinitum.
  22. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    This is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was boredThis is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was bored senseless. How this game got the reviews that it did I shall never know. I bet they were paid by Ubisoft to give those high scores because they knew they had made a crapfeast of a game.

    Lets look at it one by one shall we:

    Controls - what controls? The controls were the worst I have ever seen in gaming. My hand was aching after trying a couple of moves.

    Graphics - Worst I have ever seen. Biege biege biege with more biege and some biege on the side. Bland boring and horrible.

    Gameplay - What blooming gameplay there wasn't any. Evesdrop, pickpocket, blend, climb walls, collect flags ride horse rinse repeat ad infinitum.

    Story - what blooming story? There wasn't any. Some sci-fi junk about some bartender bieng an assassin in a previous life and that the human genome has memory! Do me a favour. Worst story ever.

    Voice acting - Terrible! you could tell that even the voice actors thought it was a dire script and were only there for the money.

    Overall worst game ever. How this disaster got the reviews that it did and 2 sequels I shall never know. Ubisoft wouldn't know how to make a game if it came up and bit it's face.

    STAY AWAY.
    Collapse
  23. DominicL.
    Jan 6, 2009
    1
    Purely disappointing. After all the talk about this game i wasted my money. Don't buy this. Rent it and see if you like it. But personally to me i didn't like it. Once again, purely disappointing.
  24. May 9, 2011
    3
    I was so looking forward to this game.Interesting lead character & setting,Good graphics,Mingling with the crowds,& Prince of Persia style free running.. What a disappointment though.. The more i saw of the game before release,the more i could sense something wasnt right with it.The odd targetting system,& the Matrix style glitch effects.My fears were all confirmed from what i heard whenI was so looking forward to this game.Interesting lead character & setting,Good graphics,Mingling with the crowds,& Prince of Persia style free running.. What a disappointment though.. The more i saw of the game before release,the more i could sense something wasnt right with it.The odd targetting system,& the Matrix style glitch effects.My fears were all confirmed from what i heard when the game was released.The game wasnt set during the crusades at all! No,the developers felt the need to create this whole pretentious,self satisfying concept that your playing this character 'Desmond'?! in the near future,& your plugged intoi this machine that lets you access 'memories' that are in your head,due to you being their ancestor.I'm sorry? what!!? one word.Why? The developers are trying to be too clever for they're own good i think,but all that nonsense seems so unnesassary & pointless.All it serves to do,is distance yourself from the historical setting,as your not actually in it,but re-living it.I was so disgusted by this design decision with the game,that i didnt buy it for the longest time,& when i did,it was only because i was able to pick it up next to nothing second hand.& even then,because the combat system & setting interested me.But even then,i just couldnt get past the whole ridiculus Animus/Desmond concept.It just bought the whole experience literally down..& i cant believe they're still including it in subsuquent titles.Even if i was able to get past that aspect,i was suprised to find that the game was totally repetitive,doing exactly the same things literally over & over & over again.. Great Combat mechanics(one of the best i've seen in fact,which is why i didnt rate it lower),Shame about the game(& Desmond)! Expand
  25. Sep 11, 2014
    0
    This game sucks i wonder how this **** got 80 points by metacritic.This game is so repetitive and soooooo boring and after some time u don't even want to play this game and even in the cutscenes suck ass with no subtitles.
    IF YOU WANT TO PLAY THIS GAME DO NOT BUY IT PIRATE IT BECAUSE ITS NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY!
  26. Dec 3, 2014
    0
    One of the most overrated games I've ever played. For a game about assassinating people, I haven't done much assassinating for the first few levels. Lots of walking around "blending" in. I.E. Moving VERY slow. The first guy I killed, I didn't even "assassinate". I couldn't get out of his way fast enough because if you do anything besides the slow, slow, prayer walk, the guards willOne of the most overrated games I've ever played. For a game about assassinating people, I haven't done much assassinating for the first few levels. Lots of walking around "blending" in. I.E. Moving VERY slow. The first guy I killed, I didn't even "assassinate". I couldn't get out of his way fast enough because if you do anything besides the slow, slow, prayer walk, the guards will just attack you. So he walks up to me and screams "YOU DARE CHALLENGE ME?!" and attacks. So I kill him then just...ran away? They could have gotten anyone to do that. Not a highly trained assassin.

    Oh, and look at that guy, trotting on his horse in the middle of the countryside...KILL HIM. I can only imagine they make you move so slow most of the time....was to pad the game out.

    Terrible game.
    Expand
  27. Sep 15, 2013
    1
    Please do not say AC reminds Thief series. It has nothing of it. There is not even 1% of the awesome gameplay and ambience that Thief had. Though I really wanted AC to be like this.

    I have never played such a boring and repetitive game as AC. When the game was announced I was eager to buy and play this asap. Unfortunately after 5th or so assassination I couldn't stand and continue so
    Please do not say AC reminds Thief series. It has nothing of it. There is not even 1% of the awesome gameplay and ambience that Thief had. Though I really wanted AC to be like this.

    I have never played such a boring and repetitive game as AC. When the game was announced I was eager to buy and play this asap. Unfortunately after 5th or so assassination I couldn't stand and continue so extremely easy and repetitive game. E.g. missions like:
    1. find 200 flags of Sir John and 150 flags of King Richard (wtf???)
    or
    2. Climb 40 towers in every city (for what? to see the view from eagles nest for hundred times?)
    I have no idea who the f. designed those missions and what for!

    This game is for 12yr old children who would like to be an assassin in the easiest way without any effort.
    Visuals/graphics are awesome but it's not enough, sorry. It makes me even more angry because of the spoiled potential.
    Expand
  28. Oct 10, 2013
    1
    In this day and age a video game without subtitles is like a building without wheelchair access. Throw in stealth components designed for impatient hyperactive teens and you have a miserable game masquerading itself as a game that is really just a glorified movie with a mediocre plot.
  29. Oct 19, 2013
    4
    Find some evidence, assassinate some guy, return to Masyaf. Repeat ad infinitum.

    Assassin'ss Creed is a good concept ruined by monotonous repetitiveness and shoddy A.I.
  30. Apr 9, 2014
    1
    Apesar de ter uma influência do Prince of Persia, a jogabilidade do Assassin's Creed é bastante limitada, a maioria dos movimentos é realizada quase automaticamente e você praticamente só tem a função de acompanhar o que se pede, já que os objetivos já ficam todos bem explícitos. Não há muito o que fazer em relação a liberdade que o jogador poderia ter, uma vez que o jogo em sí é umApesar de ter uma influência do Prince of Persia, a jogabilidade do Assassin's Creed é bastante limitada, a maioria dos movimentos é realizada quase automaticamente e você praticamente só tem a função de acompanhar o que se pede, já que os objetivos já ficam todos bem explícitos. Não há muito o que fazer em relação a liberdade que o jogador poderia ter, uma vez que o jogo em sí é um flashback, então basta seguir a história e nada mais. Em poucas palavras: é uma Visual Novel com belos gráficos. Expand
  31. Nov 15, 2014
    4
    I love the Assassin's Creed franchise, but I hate the first one, the game is old clunky and is very repetitive, you'll be doing the same thing over and over again: Listen over a conversation, find someone, interrogate someone ect... Its very boring and isn't worth a buy.
  32. Aug 28, 2015
    2
    Boring storyline, repetitive submissions, too much blah-blah-blah in Animus cut-scenes. Lack of entertainment all the way.

    You will not regret starting with Assassin's Creed 2.
  33. Apr 16, 2011
    0
    This is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was boredThis is without doubt the WORST game I have ever played. It is so pathetic it is beyond a joke. The graphics are abysmal, the controls stink and the padded out gameplay is as repetative as heck. This is nothing but a 1 level repeated ad infinitum padded out repetative as heck beta tech demo. I played it for 3 hours ( 1/12 hours not counting the unskippable cutscenes ) and I was bored senseless. How this game got the reviews that it did I shall never know. I bet they were paid by Ubisoft to give those high scores because they knew they had made a crapfeast of a game.

    Lets look at it one by one shall we:

    Controls - what controls? The controls were the worst I have ever seen in gaming. My hand was aching after trying a couple of moves.

    Graphics - Worst I have ever seen. Biege biege biege with more biege and some biege on the side. Bland boring and horrible.

    Gameplay - What blooming gameplay there wasn't any. Evesdrop, pickpocket, blend, climb walls, collect flags ride horse rinse repeat ad infinitum.

    Story - what blooming story? There wasn't any. Some sci-fi junk about some bartender bieng an assassin in a previous life and that the human genome has memory! Do me a favour. Worst story ever.

    Voice acting - Terrible! you could tell that even the voice actors thought it was a dire script and were only there for the money.

    Overall worst game ever. How this disaster got the reviews that it did and 2 sequels I shall never know. Ubisoft wouldn't know how to make a game if it came up and bit it's face.

    STAY AWAY.
    Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.