User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 978 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 978

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KeZ.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Riveting story, beautiful graphics, fun gameplay. Assassin's creed masters all 3 aspects of a good game.
  2. HIroP.
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of objectives leaves a bit to be desires, but each (apart from Eavesdropping, really) presents it's own set of challenges, location not least among them. I wish they had made it possible to complete more of the game with less combat, but it's not intended as a stealth title, really. Expand
  3. AndyM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    I love the assassinations, but I hate having to get to that point.
  4. KimY.
    Apr 19, 2008
    8
    The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those scenes occurred I just blanked out or went to do something for the 20 minutes that they ran. The enemy AI are fools who attack one at a time watching their buddies get decapitated or whatever as they flail their swords and arms pretending to attack. overall, I'd prob not want to play through the game again in fear that I may get more bored of it even more. This is a renting game thats what I did and I still got bored in the 2 days that I had it. Expand
  5. BrennanM
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means it's grab-able. The Leaps of Faith from tall points are breathtaking, and I honestly cannot get enough. The game, when doing bare bones minimum (less achievements, but still get all the story), takes 10-15 hours, and my goodness, is it a good 10-15 hours. Expand
  6. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both games in it. Shanking guards, free running through medieval Jerusalem, or actually playing the game, Assassin's Creed is a very delightful game for those that enjoy a good long game. Expand
  7. ShaunaM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the city. And when things go bad, I want to be able to tear it up and fully assault my opposition. This game has all of that and more, I've never felt this close to the character in a game of this type. This may be the best thing since the Thief series, but even better because it's made for next-gen and LOOKS it. That's the other thing, this game looks and plays very well. It's a game I would recommend to anyone. Expand
  8. GrapeApe
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Best musical score of the year. I
  9. RobertP.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing game overall, with a good story, tight controls, stunning visuals and animations, and addictive gameplay. This is easily the Game of The Year.
  10. TerryM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Crowd control! Why has none of the reviewers talked about the crowd interaction in this game? OMFG, it
  11. CodyB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this game when it comes to that area. The desire to know what happens next in the story overshadows the repitition and should make every other developer feel like they need to step it up. Expand
  12. MarkM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This one's for the big boys. ) Expand
  13. TylerK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    It's fresh and just damn fun to play. It gives you the open ended options of a game like Bethesda's Oblivion with a bit more direction - you don't necessarily have to explore everything and do all side quests, but they're there if you want to.
  14. J.McUbermensch
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I understand the reasons why some don't like this game but it is what you make it. If you do ever job the same way then, yes, it will get rather ho hum but if you take your time and change it up a little then it is quite fun.
  15. DanN.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    This game is absolutley amazing. Yeah it does get a bit repetative, but what game doesn't. In the long run, the stoy is good, the visuals are gorgeous , and the controls are actually pretty intuitive once you give them a chance. I would have to say a must own on 360 and I pray they make a sequel.
  16. JoeS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    It was a good game, a little too short however.
  17. Anonymous
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Very driving game at first. Damascus is probably my favorite game level of all time. Although, after 12 hours or so, the game just falls from grace, and keeps falling. Word to the wise, to keep this game great: Only play 3-4 hours a day, to keep yourselves from tiring of it... Because once it starts feeling repetitive, it stays repetitive.
  18. MarkT
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Fabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians fromFabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians from the Holy Land? Interesting concept! Expand
  19. JeffA.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Assassin's Creed tries to do something different where the safe thing to do is make a cookie cutter type game. Assassin's Creed not only tries to be different, it does it very well. Expand
  20. paulanderson
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    look at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are anlook at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are an assassin and next minute its mario brothers? it makes sense to me the game repeats itself..look at games that doesnt, like the all famous bond games...inorder to break repetition they put in off the wall car chases and stupid things like that which makes the experience more like a game, and less like real life. this assassin dude does one thing, he assassinates...period. you collect info, you go bust the target...simple, beautiful, modern...next frickin gen. Expand
  21. RyanC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great, Really fun, but the investigation gets overly-repetitive. Also, an option to 'fast-forward' to the cities would be nice. I hate riding to the cities.
  22. John
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Altair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and IAltair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and I have never played anything that comes close to this game. All the critics hating on the repetition of the investigations and poor storyline development need to look at the bigger picture. I'll put this simply. Assassin + swords + knives + concealed throat cutting blade = awesome. Expand
  23. RobP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. If you don't want to do what the makers intended then draw a picture or something. This game doesn't even deserve a 7 rating let alone a zero. Expand
  24. LiamG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I've never played a game as addictive and compelling as Assassin's Creed. I'm a casual gamer, and most games i buy get a few hours play then are put on the shelf - I've got 30 or so 360 games and not completed a single one, but this one i've been playing every single second that i can, and it will definitely be my first 100% title!
  25. HS
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing, the key to getting the most out of the game is not to rush around the place but ake things slowly and explore, then the game truly becomes excellent.
  26. JohnnyQ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    What a challenge. Assasin
  27. NickV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, and if you don't rush the game, you can get really immersed in the plot. THE BAD THINGS: Details: Really, Ubisoft only failed in the details of this game. First and foremost is that there isn't much variety in dialogue out of the main quest lines, especially in regards to civilians and guards around the city. You'll hear a lot of comments over and over again. Repetition: This is the 2nd big issue reviewers seemed to have, and while it definitely could have used a bit more variety, isn't close to as bad as some might have you believe. I guess it's point of view. But I fail to see how this game gets the stigma of being repetitious, when FPS's (as in shoot-run-hide-repeat every 10 seconds) rarely seem to be branded as such. Overall, this is a 9.5 game, and just misses the perfect mark because of some details that could have used tweaking. Expand
  28. PhilipV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Very fun,open-ended,and stealthy;what is there NOT to love? (Besides the fact of repetitive side-missions...).
  29. TomE.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This is where the control system comes back into play. The subtle ability to counter and attack during combat is one of the most rewarding aspects of the game. Time it just right and you unleash an animation sequence that is impressive and different a majority of times it is activated. You have the ability to choose your objectives and the order you want to complete them. You have a vast kingdom to explore and many side quests are available if you have the time. The visuals and open world presentation are what truly sets this apart from other titles. Expand
  30. Max
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Story mode is great and graphics are amazing but the replay value is crappy. I made the mistake of buying this game but it is most definitely worth a rent.
  31. JH.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    This game is underrated. People complain because of "the repetitive missions", when clearly if all you care about is a storyline, get a game that needs one. The ability of free roaming, the graphics, and the environment are amazing. I'd advise this game to anyone who's intelligence can expand past being able to follow a linear story.
  32. MatthewH.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    A truly spectacular achievement that isn't for everyone. The repetitiveness that so many seem to enjoy bemoaning is something that I never had a problem with, but I just enjoyed the process of doing these tasks because everything else is so incredibly well done. The vastness and beauty of the cities you explore have to be seen to be believed. The story, while ambiguous at the end, A truly spectacular achievement that isn't for everyone. The repetitiveness that so many seem to enjoy bemoaning is something that I never had a problem with, but I just enjoyed the process of doing these tasks because everything else is so incredibly well done. The vastness and beauty of the cities you explore have to be seen to be believed. The story, while ambiguous at the end, only left me wanting more, not necessarily disappointed. Any every "contrived" element (for example, scholars walking only once you join them or 12th century people from Damascus speaking modern english) are explained and make since within the context of the story. And the virtual lack of load times is, in my opinion, one of the greatest achievements. While a critically adored game like Mass Effect has a minute-long load-time for practically every single room, Assassin's Creed loads an entire city of thousands of people in half the time. Go figure. Expand
  33. DanielT
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    I actually only played this game several months ago (instead of playing it on the spot like others) and was incredibly pleased with the result. From the moment I stepped into Desmond's shoes and until the end, I had an insane amount of fun (due to my inexperience and making mass incidents) on my first play-through. I watched this game closely from the moment it was announced, to when I actually only played this game several months ago (instead of playing it on the spot like others) and was incredibly pleased with the result. From the moment I stepped into Desmond's shoes and until the end, I had an insane amount of fun (due to my inexperience and making mass incidents) on my first play-through. I watched this game closely from the moment it was announced, to when it was released; so, of course, I knew the entire premise of it all. After beating the storyline and getting the achievements, I noticed that the mission structure was a bit repetitive. But, you know what? I didn't care. Sure, the way you get information on your targets is practically the same, the environments and the way to access you targets was unique in it's own way (my favorite being the execution stage mission: had a lot of fun with that one!). The *only* reason it's not a perfect ten is the controls were a bit too sensitive, regularly plunging me to my desynchronization. Not being able to swim does not count, as that is only a nitpick! - Number 4 on my "Greatest games of all time" - Expand
  34. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed is a great game and a must have any action/adventure gamer. Pros:

    Exploration: One of the highlights of the game is exploration. You can go anywhere, climb any building and ride a horse in any feild. In between locations is huge country and mountain side for you to explore or wreck havoc. The citites are huge and very enjoyable to search the place for nook and cranny.
    Assassin's Creed is a great game and a must have any action/adventure gamer. Pros:

    Exploration: One of the highlights of the game is exploration. You can go anywhere, climb any building and ride a horse in any feild. In between locations is huge country and mountain side for you to explore or wreck havoc. The citites are huge and very enjoyable to search the place for nook and cranny.

    Gameplay: The gameplay is very cool. There are no levels just assassination contracts. You could do them stealthly or all out swords.

    Grpahics: Graphics make use of the X-Box egine and is very detailed. The cities don't look generic but has a style of their own. Voice Acting/Plot: The voice acting is great and the plot is straight thriller satutes giving twist and turns.

    Cons:

    Combat: While the combat is very cool, you only get three different kind weapons. The Hidden Blade, a sword and a small dagger. Each weapon has a unique set of moves but their the same for the enitre game. Never improving and no unlockables.

    Weapons: There is no weapons system no upgrades for weapons except for damage. It would be cool to get other weapons.

    Minor Tecnical Glitches: There minor ones, when Altair goes on the view points his cape goes through the floorboards. Enemy AI can get stupid sometimes and you can lose them sometimes too quickly.

    Overall Consensus: AC's combat system is reaptive but it still provide thrills and a good refreshing entry into the action genre. 90%
    Expand
  35. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    Somewhat repetitive game play and missions, but the visuals and imaginative story line make for an enjoyable experience. The flag collecting felt dated, but makes for some each gamerscore accumulation
  36. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then andlets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then and thru history, including the assassin's who are the "good" guys who are trying to stop the templars. It gets deeper, but i don't want to ruin it for you. Also the setting is amazing! the detail that goes into the architecture is quite stunning, and there are three cities that the assassinations take place (Acre, Jerusalem and Damascus). CONS:( it can be very slow sometimes, it takes a measure of patience to play this game. What makes it slow is that you have to ride everywhere, walk (or climb) around the huge cities to get somewhere. another con is that even tho the detail that went into making the cities is amazing, its bland. What i mean is, is there is not a lot of color, for instance Acre is a cool, dark medieval city, and thats it. the weather is always overcast, then Damascus is like a desert town full of browns and oranges for coloring. Also i wish they would have put in weather affects, its an open world and i would have liked at least a night and day cycle. Another thing i wish was just a bit different is combat, now its satisfying when you counterattack and shove your sword thru someone's gut, but its slow attacking first is like hitting with the slowest attack you can throw at him, quite annoying after awhile. I give it an 8.2 out of 10. For stunning visuals and sound+
    Amazing story+
    Drags on during some parts-
    Combat is slow, but counterattacks are nice-
    Expand
  37. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    I picked this game up 2012 and i wasn't expecting it to be anything special. Once i started playing it and realized it came out in 2007 i was blown away, the smoothness of movement, interesting plot in "present." The game was flawed in many ways, the combat got very repetitive, the information mission were pretty repetituos and the random detections by the soldiers were really annoying.I picked this game up 2012 and i wasn't expecting it to be anything special. Once i started playing it and realized it came out in 2007 i was blown away, the smoothness of movement, interesting plot in "present." The game was flawed in many ways, the combat got very repetitive, the information mission were pretty repetituos and the random detections by the soldiers were really annoying.

    What AC did right was capture annoying beggars and the "disturbed" though the beggars sometimes shoved you and therefore soldiers would detect you. The smoothness of movement was really great, you really didn't jump where you didn't want to, which is much better than as example in Prince of Persia: Forgotten Sands. You also have to give credit to the player involvement in cut scenes/dialogue, the player was rarely cut off from the game watching a cut scene, instead what they added was a "memory error" a little interactive camera angle switch which kept the player aware. The only place where i felt the player was stripped of his control was finishers, i would have loved to actually get to press each move myself and not watch my guy just roll a certain animation in a canned film manner.

    Overall, AC was a entertaining package with its repetitiveness and solid game play.
    Expand
  38. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    1.
    1. lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society
    1.
    1. lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then and thru history, including the assassin's who are the "good" guys who are trying to stop the templars. It gets deeper, but i don't want to ruin it for you. Also the setting is amazing! the detail that goes into the architecture is quite stunning, and there are three cities that the assassinations take place (Acre, Jerusalem and Damascus). CONS:( it can be very slow sometimes, it takes a measure of patience to play this game. What makes it slow is that you have to ride everywhere, walk (or climb) around the huge cities to get somewhere. another con is that even tho the detail that went into making the cities is amazing, its bland. What i mean is, is there is not a lot of color, for instance Acre is a cool, dark medieval city, and thats it. the weather is always overcast, then Damascus is like a desert town full of browns and oranges for coloring. Also i wish they would have put in weather affects, its an open world and i would have liked at least a night and day cycle. Another thing i wish was just a bit different is combat, now its satisfying when you counterattack and shove your sword thru someone's gut, but its slow attacking first is like hitting with the slowest attack you can throw at him, quite annoying after awhile. I give it an 8.2 out of 10. For stunning visuals and sound+ Amazing story+ Drags on during some parts- Combat is slow, but counterattacks are nice-
    Expand
  39. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    I loved the story and it played so well. It's kinda of a little bit too easy though. The original does not compare to AC: Brotherhood, but it might be better than AC2.
  40. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    I had long dreamed of having an Assassin Creed's game, but it was only until now that I had a chance to buy one. I decided to start from the first one and here I am doing a review, consisting of my thoughts about half-way into the game.

    Gameplay is great all-around, but the fact is that it gets repetitive really quickly. Basically, for the bulk of the game, you have to go to one of the
    I had long dreamed of having an Assassin Creed's game, but it was only until now that I had a chance to buy one. I decided to start from the first one and here I am doing a review, consisting of my thoughts about half-way into the game.

    Gameplay is great all-around, but the fact is that it gets repetitive really quickly. Basically, for the bulk of the game, you have to go to one of the cities, investigate the area through pickpocketing, eavesdropping, interrogating and so on. After gaining enough info about a target, you get to kill the dude. The whole process is fun for two or three times, but becomes extremely tedious and annoying when you realise you have to do this for around 10 times for the whole game. Visiting view points and saving citizens becomes a chore and adds to the frustration. Also, the inclusion of flag-collecting serves no more than an achievement-oriented item. By the time you finish the story, there is absolutely minimal motivation in letting you replaying the game to collect the random collectables.

    Story-wise, the plot starts off promisingly but similar to the gameplay, it seems to lose it's direction and sense of progression afterwards. The whole plot seems to disappear in the middle part of the game as you just hunt down targets one by one, without any sort of twist or surprise in the story. The lack of subtitles is downright weird for a game with so many cutscenes and dialogues, which not only makes people hard to follow what they're talking about, but also deters people from becoming engaged in the story.

    Bearing in mind this was a 2007 game, the graphics are fantastic even when playing in the year 2012. The stunning graphics is what glues the game together, otherwise no one would be bothered to leap around the city and scale towers again and again. The views of the cities from up-top is fantastic and the kills are made to look rewarding.

    In conclusion, the core gameplay is excellent with great combat and free-running mechanics. It is visually breathtaking and dialogue/sounds are decent. However, it's biggest flaw is repetitiveness. If the game was 3-hours long, this would have been rated a 9 or even 9.5, but unfortunately it is not. The lack of replayablity, along with repetitiveness, means it downgrades an excellent game into a good game.
    Expand
  41. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Before I played Assassin's Creed i thought that it was going to be a cool game but wow they just blew me out of the water. I love so much about this game that it's difficult to even begin how amazing it is. That being said that there are a few flaws that detract from the game.
  42. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Though the missions get repetitive quickly, the sheer joy of stalking your target from the rooftops before sneaking in for a brutal assassination managed to keep me hooked the whole way through. The graphics are absolutely stunning, especially standing at the peak of a tower or church steeple and looking around you. Combat is deceptively simple and not hugely innovative, and it's theThough the missions get repetitive quickly, the sheer joy of stalking your target from the rooftops before sneaking in for a brutal assassination managed to keep me hooked the whole way through. The graphics are absolutely stunning, especially standing at the peak of a tower or church steeple and looking around you. Combat is deceptively simple and not hugely innovative, and it's the assassination feature that will really grab your attention. The storyline is gripping and intelligent and comes together with the rest of the features to create a hugely immersive and impressive title. Expand
  43. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The first installment of an amazing series. This is the game the started it all, it is a revolutionary achievement in gaming history. Assassin's Creed pulled me in and left me in awe, when I first played it four years ago. Although the graphics have improved over the series, I'll never forget that special feeling I had when I first interned the world of Assassin's Creed, beautiful.
  44. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 10
    Setting: 9
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 8
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 8.5/10 = A
  45. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    An original, creative and well thought action game which is quite different to others and can also provide some challenging and fun gameplay as well.
  46. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Very good game! Before this game I didn't know that I will ever like 3rd persone action games! Atmosphere in game is absolutely amazing! Story is intriguing and good! Thank you!!
  47. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Innovation is great in this Prince of Persia spin-off, a lot of things are historically accurate and it couldn't be better, though, the missions before assassinating are really boring and the game gets a little repetitive but who cares, it's so much fun messing around in this game that can be forgiven. Despite some weaknesses Assassin's Creed stands up and makes a good game.
  48. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    Having played this game in late 2008, I found myself excited at the prospect of stepping into the robes of a true Assassin named Altair. However, when I began the game, I was surprised to find that it was not a purely-historical game. Instead, there were strong science-fiction ties that had to do with memories of ancestor, and this only made it harder to put down. Of course, I was whollyHaving played this game in late 2008, I found myself excited at the prospect of stepping into the robes of a true Assassin named Altair. However, when I began the game, I was surprised to find that it was not a purely-historical game. Instead, there were strong science-fiction ties that had to do with memories of ancestor, and this only made it harder to put down. Of course, I was wholly inexperienced with the gameplay, causing my death many times during my first playthrough, but it hadn't detracted from the experience in the least. It became so natural that I was ending fights with only the hidden blade equipped. However, during the first three-quarters of the game, I realized how much I disliked Altair and how far he was away from I behaved. Becoming a Master Assassin early in life, he grew arrogant and selfish, but changed after killing another who was like him; who killed others just because he could. And so he transformed into one of my favorite characters.

    The single-funnest feature in the game for me was the act of parkour and free-running, which allowed Altair to scale buildings without much effort and travel the city in half the time it would take others. But it came at a cost; there were several instances that I was killed from the accidental turn of the camera because it was so sensitive. In addition to this, the second time I played, it was quite noticeable that the mission structure was (to use a common word) "repetitive", but I continued to play with vigor. Each assassination was actually unique in and of itself, so much that I ignored the like-mindedness of the structure. For a game series in its first outing, the game created my hunger for the rest of the games and even though it is not perfect, it is a great example of what can happen if you try new IPs.
    Expand
  49. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    not as good as ac2 and brotherhood but awesome. Things it had trouble with is a lot of repetiveness in missions and little trouble with the fight mechanics but altogether the game play was really great (love free running). Would've loved to see more customization of the character but at same time felt right in certain ways (felt more serious and less video gamey) Loved the sound and storynot as good as ac2 and brotherhood but awesome. Things it had trouble with is a lot of repetiveness in missions and little trouble with the fight mechanics but altogether the game play was really great (love free running). Would've loved to see more customization of the character but at same time felt right in certain ways (felt more serious and less video gamey) Loved the sound and story that leads to an epic ending where you feel Altaiir is the freaken man. Expand
  50. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed is truly a wonderful game. The visuals are gorgeous, (except the people--I'll get to that later), the cities teem with life and the ending will shock you to the core.

    However, the people are poorly done, or maybe it's just my PC. Their legs show through their robes when they walk, and their index and middle, ring and pinkie fingers are stuck together, making them look
    Assassin's Creed is truly a wonderful game. The visuals are gorgeous, (except the people--I'll get to that later), the cities teem with life and the ending will shock you to the core.

    However, the people are poorly done, or maybe it's just my PC. Their legs show through their robes when they walk, and their index and middle, ring and pinkie fingers are stuck together, making them look like aliens. It's also rather formulaic, with you completing the same types of things (flag challenges, stealth assassinations, stall destroying) over and over in different circumstances.

    It's great fun to just mess around, though. You don't have to follow the story after a certain point--you can just mess around and kill civilians if you so chose. Seriously, buy this game. You'll love it.
    Expand
  51. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game, the first in a line of greats, gave a great beginning to the Assassin's Creed story. The actions were something at the time never were available. The game although boring at times, had a very good story line that would give the designers the ability to develop it further. Overall not a great game, just good but nonetheless still a classic. Expand
  52. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I loved Assassin's Creed, it was an amazing story to play through, the controls were new and a little hard to get used to, but I played it hours on end, I would definitely recommend this game, great job once again Bioware.
  53. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Primo e grandissimo capitolo di una serie adventure/stealth che sicuramente tutti conosciamo!
    La trama del gioco riesce subito a rapirti ed è accompagnata con un comparto grafico davvero raffinato e ben fatto.Per quanto riguarda il gameplay intravediamo solo il sistema di combattimenti veloci che sono possibili nei capitoli come Revelations e Brotherhood ma comunque gli scontri
    Primo e grandissimo capitolo di una serie adventure/stealth che sicuramente tutti conosciamo!
    La trama del gioco riesce subito a rapirti ed è accompagnata con un comparto grafico davvero raffinato e ben fatto.Per quanto riguarda il gameplay intravediamo solo il sistema di combattimenti veloci che sono possibili nei capitoli come Revelations e Brotherhood ma comunque gli scontri risultano godibili, invece per quando riguarda il lato stealth del gioco troviamo anche qui un buon lavoro con situazioni che richiedono un minimo di pianificazione e un'accurato studio dell'ambiente circostante.
    Per molti la più grande pecca di questo splendido gioco e la sua ripetitività nelle azioni da svolgere ma che secondo il mio parere, questa peculiarità, è stata quasi voluta dagli sviluppatori per ricreare quella atmosfera scandita da dogmi e regole che viveva la setta degli assassini in quel periodo, il che comporta lo svolgere di precise azioni più volte da parte di Altair per sottostare al credo dell'assassino.
    Inoltre Assassin's Creed è ricco di riferimenti storici che danno ancora più valore a questo gioco ricreando tutte le varie atmosfere del tempo, che forse però, non tutti sono stati in grado di apprezzare nella loro minuziosa ricostruzione e resa grafica.
    Il tutto verrà nettamente migliorato e portato ad un'altro livello nel secondo capitolo ma il primo rimane sicuramente uno dei più belli grazie anche alla sua ambientazione medievale che dona all'opera un che di mistico che riesce ad affascinare il giocatore.
    Expand
  54. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Monotony may be a pervasive ailment of some of its letter moments, but "Assassin's Creed" does manage to successfully present a wholly gratifying stealth-action experience.
  55. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. Though people complain about its historical Inaccuracy its an amazing game and propelled the series. I suggest this game to anyone looking for a good RPG
  56. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    Although I didn't give this game a shot until 2011, I am very glad that I did! While the graphics don't hold up that well compared to recent releases, the gameplay and story line keep you entertained and eager to keep playing. If you were to run through the story-driven missions without taking any time to sight-see or attempt side missions, it is around a 10hr game. I took my sweet timeAlthough I didn't give this game a shot until 2011, I am very glad that I did! While the graphics don't hold up that well compared to recent releases, the gameplay and story line keep you entertained and eager to keep playing. If you were to run through the story-driven missions without taking any time to sight-see or attempt side missions, it is around a 10hr game. I took my sweet time and played much longer. There are fun weapons and ways in which you can "take care" of your targets. All in all, my favorite thing about the AC franchise is free running around the city and jumping off the tops of ancient wonders. Oh yeah, the historical accuracy in AC is quite riveting. As a history buff I thoroughly enjoyed seeing much of the game's story line and characters following their destiny. Great game. Expand
  57. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Assassin's creed is an enthralling, immersive, and incredibly atmospheric game. It's a classic for sure, but that's not to say it doesn't have its flaws. Let's talk about the good first. First off, it's very well written. It's one of those rare games that would actually make a decent movie, like Halo, or Half Life. It's world is incredibly detailed. The atmospheric music mixed withAssassin's creed is an enthralling, immersive, and incredibly atmospheric game. It's a classic for sure, but that's not to say it doesn't have its flaws. Let's talk about the good first. First off, it's very well written. It's one of those rare games that would actually make a decent movie, like Halo, or Half Life. It's world is incredibly detailed. The atmospheric music mixed with incredible visuals gives the game an almost hypnotic quality, and the climbing, free running, and fighting are all impressive. It also doesn't feel to short. A rare thing to find in games nowadays. On the other hand though, its story dips into some themes which are offensive to Christians, like myself. It can also be very repetitive. You keep having to do the same types of pre-mission missions like ease dropping, or pickpocketing. Fortunately though, the main assassinations are all varied greatly, and the game overall is so original, so fun, and so awe inspiring that it would be crazy to pass up, especially now when the price has been lowered. Collapse
  58. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Looking back at this game after playing Assassin's Creed 3, I can see why I originally loved it. In a way, the game is very arcade-like. You're given a mission to kill some guy, you research the guy, and then you kill the guy. Rinse and repeat. However, the way in which this process is executed is where things get interesting. Your targets are always harder and harder to get. While someLooking back at this game after playing Assassin's Creed 3, I can see why I originally loved it. In a way, the game is very arcade-like. You're given a mission to kill some guy, you research the guy, and then you kill the guy. Rinse and repeat. However, the way in which this process is executed is where things get interesting. Your targets are always harder and harder to get. While some might walk out into the open, acting like sitting ducks, others might hide away in castles, trying their best to avoid you. The simple and compelling gameplay is addictive and satisfying.
    Unlike later iterations of the Assassin's Creed franchise, the first game has a very basic plot. You play as Altair, you kill people, and you uncover various mysteries surrounding your order as you go along. It's interesting enough to keep you playing, but simple enough not to frustrate you with dumb plot points and details.
    The simplistic style and gameplay of Assassin's Creed makes it ridiculously fun to play, acting as one of the best games in the franchise.
    Expand
  59. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    I played AC2 before playing this so the game wasn't so good to me because obviously the mechanics are more dumbed down in this but even then I found so much fun in this game and spent hours on going to ever viewpoint, collecting every flag, help every citizens, this game was so good that this game made me want to 100% complete it which no game has ever made me done before...this is a mustI played AC2 before playing this so the game wasn't so good to me because obviously the mechanics are more dumbed down in this but even then I found so much fun in this game and spent hours on going to ever viewpoint, collecting every flag, help every citizens, this game was so good that this game made me want to 100% complete it which no game has ever made me done before...this is a must buy in the series Expand
  60. May 25, 2013
    9
    I first came across Assassin's Creed through Prince of Persia, Assassin's Creed's spiritual successor. and when I played this game, I knew it took the prince of Persia formula and made it even better. The story for the game is half and half for me. The story of Altair is great. it manages to tie everything together, and the plot twist at the game actually surprised me a lot. Desmond'sI first came across Assassin's Creed through Prince of Persia, Assassin's Creed's spiritual successor. and when I played this game, I knew it took the prince of Persia formula and made it even better. The story for the game is half and half for me. The story of Altair is great. it manages to tie everything together, and the plot twist at the game actually surprised me a lot. Desmond's story, however, isn't that great. or good. This story is seriously not needed in every possible way, and why it was even created or affected the main storyline in the past will always be a mystery to me. The gameplay is pretty nice. the open-world roaming and combat are fun and addicting, and it definitely shows relation to Prince of Persia. though I sometimes thought Altair wasn't fast enough. his climbing felt very slow, and didn't seem to run that fast. the music in the game is decent, but isn't very memorable. the graphics for the game are great. for a game that came out almost 2 years in the 360's life span, the graphics are really nice, especially for the first in a series of games. I did notice a few issues with character models, like lip-syncing, but that was little. Something I found very enjoyable with the game was the voice acting. Altair's voice actor fits perfectly, along with characters like Al Mualim, Malik, and even Desmond. Side missions in the game are passable. some can be simple, like eavesdropping, and others can get repetitive, like killing certain targets to clear an assassin. this game also has replay elements. for example, all side missions must be completed to get a full sync in a memory sequence, or section of the game. unfortunately, that involves flag collecting, which is the worst part of the game. I'm all about having things in a game to add replay ability, but the flags are not a good way of showing it. There are hundreds and hundreds of flags to collect, and by the time I got 60 flags, I was shut off of flag collecting. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great start to such an amazing series. the gameplay is awesome by taking elements from prince of Persia, the replay value is huge, and Altair's story is well-crafted. if you're a fan of action-adventure games, give Assassin's Creed a try. you may just end up loving it. Expand
  61. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    A cool take on past events and how they could have really happened if things had been different. Assassin's Creed blends stealth and action together in a great way showing that Splinter Cell isn't the only series capable.
  62. ChrisP.
    Oct 15, 2008
    8
    This game brings back memories of _Thief_ from years back. Jumping from roof top to roof top, making your way through ancient villages in search of your prey is pretty darn cool :)
  63. MarkT.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    The game is very creative and fun to play but the repatition is felt to much in this game like ubisoft focused on some things but not others or payed to little attention to it....liek every time you save a citizen they usully say 1 of 4 things...makin every citizen say sumthing different would have been nice...but other then little things like that this game owns.
  64. Amnesiac
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    Listen folks, this is a great game, it looks fantastic and you get that atmospheric feel, that sucks you in + the narrative is great and thought provoking. But it is too repetitive and to be honest the controls are at times a little annoying in two contradictory ways. First at times when climbing etc it seems a little simple, like you
  65. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    The original Assassins creed is still a great game. It does pale in comparison with the sequels but laid down the groundwork and fantastic concept that the rest follow.
  66. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed te da una buena oportunidad de disfrutar de los lujos de un mapa bastante grande en toda su exquisita forma (animales, personas, ambientes, enemigos) y una excelente manera de crear una historia, los gráficos son medios pero es un gran paso para Ubisoft.
  67. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    I played all the other versions of Assassin's Creed, and although I would probably say that this is my least favorite part of the franchise, it is still a very entertaining game. Initially I found it quite hard to get into the game, even taking a long break before I attempted another effort to continue. Slowly I started to enjoy the game more and more. Simply put, it is fun to climb andI played all the other versions of Assassin's Creed, and although I would probably say that this is my least favorite part of the franchise, it is still a very entertaining game. Initially I found it quite hard to get into the game, even taking a long break before I attempted another effort to continue. Slowly I started to enjoy the game more and more. Simply put, it is fun to climb and sneak around in the historical versions of Jerusalem, Acre, and Damascus and this game was the first one that allowed me to do so in such an easy and intuitively way. I liked doing the assassination missions, although the side quests leading up to these (eavesdropping, finding view points, etc) become very repetitive at some point. This repetitive mission structure and the weird story are the main weaknesses of a game, that is otherwise quite worth a go. Expand
  68. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    THEY NEED to remaster this on xbox one and get rid of the repetitiveness out of this game re do the missions but keep the story change the combat and free running to
    ac brotherhood and free running and story as impressive and fast paced as 2 and with actual knights Templars with the famous red cross across their chests like they was in this game the knights templar was one of the most
    THEY NEED to remaster this on xbox one and get rid of the repetitiveness out of this game re do the missions but keep the story change the combat and free running to
    ac brotherhood and free running and story as impressive and fast paced as 2 and with actual knights Templars with the famous red cross across their chests like they was in this game the knights templar was one of the most feared knights they was the highest skilled and never surrendered not even if they was greater numbers facing them they also defeated an army when the odds was like 4 to 1 against the templars they was also the best and most skilled fighters yet in assassins creed you never see this
    Expand
  69. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    There are some really good ideas in this game expressed in a very well designed environments with solid gameplay, the movement has an excellent flow to it, the combat and stealth also blend together perfectly. If you have looked at other reviews there is a big problem with repetitiveness and boring drawn out pointless donkey rides. Overall the game is a little let down by it's own ambitionThere are some really good ideas in this game expressed in a very well designed environments with solid gameplay, the movement has an excellent flow to it, the combat and stealth also blend together perfectly. If you have looked at other reviews there is a big problem with repetitiveness and boring drawn out pointless donkey rides. Overall the game is a little let down by it's own ambition and is really hoping you buy into the franchise to find out what the **** is going on with future Desmond but this is a great game, especially for people who like the concept of playing a game as an assassin ninja, which all gamers should. Expand
  70. Jul 9, 2015
    10
    Combat
    The combat is challenging and rewarding. People saying it's clunky are either lazy or should be seeing movies instead of playing videogames. They tend to not like challenges, and prefer to spam buttons and kill 10 people in 2 seconds like in newer AC games. This game takes a more realistic approach, where the counters have to be executed properly and well-timed combos feel very
    Combat
    The combat is challenging and rewarding. People saying it's clunky are either lazy or should be seeing movies instead of playing videogames. They tend to not like challenges, and prefer to spam buttons and kill 10 people in 2 seconds like in newer AC games. This game takes a more realistic approach, where the counters have to be executed properly and well-timed combos feel very rewarding. It may not have a high diversity of weapons, but they all feel rich, well thought, and with very good animations.

    Story
    The writing is superb. It elevates the whole game, and it was probably the inspiration for making this game. The emotions and voices are well done, and they did an excelent job to inmerse you in the world. The story is also full of interesting twistes that will keep you focused in the story.

    Gameplay missions
    It frustates me the amount of people I've heard saying it's repetitive, in which I completely disagree. Lets put the pickpocket missions as an example, (which you'll do around 10+ times during the game). The first time you pickpocket a guy may be fast and easy, but the next one you may need to hide between some monks to avoid some guards, or take a different shortcut to go past them to be able to pickpocket, or wait until he is alone to not get spotted. Then, once you get the item, sometimes it is a map that give you the coordinates of guard archers on rooftops that will be protecting your target. Other times it will be a letter written by your target that gives you the time and place of the event and helps you on the mission. THIS is why some missions may seem repetitive at first, but in reality they are all different and diverse. Take league of legends as an analogy to this missions, it may seem repetitive on the same map and killing the same nexus every game, but actually each game feels completely different due to your surroundings, positioning, and enemies.

    Graphics
    I don't get why people say they are old. The graphics engine is actually BETTER in visuals compared newer AC games, this is due their goal of being able to put 1000 bots in screen at the same time in newer AC titles. If you don't believe me, simpy get on top of the highest building on AC, then do the same in newer ACs. Then tell me which looks better.

    Overall 10/10
    If you read the whole review you'll understand why it earns a 10/10. No other AC to date can get even close to this one in terms of its Single player experience. This review is for all the people saying blindly that the combat is clunky, the missions are repetitive, or the graphics are old. Please grow some eyes.
    Expand
  71. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    Jerusalem, 1911 AD, in the time of the Third Crusaders. The streets sparkle with action, but within seconds you, the feared assassin (Altair), will change all this.

    You play as a man called Altair living in a very futuristic world, and you have tried to forget your past but someday a couple of people bring you to this machine called the Animus...that forces you to reenact all your past
    Jerusalem, 1911 AD, in the time of the Third Crusaders. The streets sparkle with action, but within seconds you, the feared assassin (Altair), will change all this.

    You play as a man called Altair living in a very futuristic world, and you have tried to forget your past but someday a couple of people bring you to this machine called the Animus...that forces you to reenact all your past days as an assassin...then the game begins.

    Personally i loved the way the creators of Assassin's Creed mingled history and science fiction together. As a first impression, in the first hour or so, the graphics and the gameplay was all i could think of for the couple of hours after switching the Xbox off. I got to say, the graphics are intense...i have never seen so much dedication to graphics before - it would seem just like you are watching a scene in a movie where the protagonist is walking through a very crowded area. I know it's hard to say...but the graphics are even better than GoW and GTA IV. Even if you look at a pot ona shelve or something you can see the same texture as you would with a real pot.

    At first you don't have many weapons and skills to fight and defend yourself but as the game wears on, you increase dramatically with your skill - in the game with the swords and your skill with the buttons on your controller. The storyline is also quite interesting because in each level you can do a number of things to choose your personality in the game. You can be a pickpocket, you can help helpless citizens, be violent and kill all the guards or be stealthy and try and avoid them - or even you can do all of these. But each level as a certain assassination that the masters give you and you have to find information throughout the level about this person...then kill him. All this seems so interesting but finish a couple of levels and kill hundreds of guards the storyline gets a little repetitive and boring...destroying the excitement of killing people.

    There is one thing in the game that I will never get tired of and that is while fighting off a large group of guards. What I love doing is holding my dagger in defense and then pressing 'X' to counter attack the guard. If you do that at a certain time, Altair will eliminate the guard in a very smooth and swift way...and there are many smooth and swift ways. Then, when the dagger goes through the body of the guard blood gushes out and increases the intensity of the graphics.

    The sound effects are also pretty impressive and exciting. The sound changes according to you status in the game, if you are unnoticed the sound will be cool, but if you are being chased by a large group of guards that music will change to something more drastic and fast. Then to loose that large group of guards you will have to hide in a haystack or a little box thingy with curtains...if you are hiding the music will change into a heart beat rhythm. Then again, it gets repetitive as you go further into the game.

    At many points in the game, the map doesn't show you objective and what you have to do next then it gets quite difficult to go on because the cities are really big. This gets really frustrating and you feel like quitting...but then after hours of search you might be able to find your objective. Also, the achievements are pretty hard to get.

    The cutscenes are also very cool and unique. They are unique because in the cutscenes of Assassin's Creed you can move around and change the camera views when there is a "glitch" in the game. (People who have played this game will know why I put "" around glitch).

    Lastly, my favorite thing about thing about this game is that you can climb up call building and synchronize with the city. The way the game shows the city when you synchronize with it is beautiful and very clever...i loved it. I also enjoyed climbing and jumping from building to building. Though the climbing can get pretty annoying because you have to be perfectly in line with the thing you are going to use next to climb with.

    Graphics = 9.5/10
    Storyline = 7/10
    Sound Effects = 8/10

    OVERALL = 8/10
    Expand
  72. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    Revolutionary! Loved it. May get a little repetitive, but it rewards you with a piece of the story once you get it right. Please play this before AC2. I hate when a game gets hate after it's sequel is released.
  73. Apr 3, 2015
    8
    A great start to a very successful series.

    This game is much more focused on the actual assassin part of the game, and it's this purity and charm that still makes it one of the best. Graphically superb for its time, you run around big detailed cities and countrysides, and the missions are well scripted and rewarding. The plot is somewhat confusing to start, and quite thin. The
    A great start to a very successful series.

    This game is much more focused on the actual assassin part of the game, and it's this purity and charm that still makes it one of the best.

    Graphically superb for its time, you run around big detailed cities and countrysides, and the missions are well scripted and rewarding.

    The plot is somewhat confusing to start, and quite thin. The plot keeps swapping between modern day and past, but once you are used to the basics its easier to follow.

    You play as Altair, a disgraced Assassin looking to return to glory and earn the respect once of again from his peers. The game takes about 10-15 hours to complete, and does a good job of mixing up the environments for each assassination.

    The main mechanic for this game is the free running ability. Its does a great job of giving you freedom to do anything, so you can assassinate any way you want to. You can literally climb or run across anything.

    The only problem is before each assassination can take place you must do smaller tasks, such as pick-pocketing information or eavesdropping on guards. These are the same for each mission, and you have to do them, essentially doing them 10 times in a row. This repetition can discourage a few players unfortunately.

    Enemy AI is OK, but the game is not hard by any means. Combat is particularly easy, as Altair can fend off sometimes 20 guards at a time!

    However it is a great game, and if you like adventure games that make you feel like a true dangerous assassin, this game is for you.
    Expand
  74. Jul 16, 2015
    8
    The prototype of the superb ACII. The story doesn't get interesting until the end and the game is quite repetitive. However, it was the beginning of one of the greatest videogame sagas.
  75. Jun 21, 2013
    0
    Assassin's creed is an enthralling, immersive, and incredibly atmospheric game. It's a classic for sure, but that's not to say it doesn't have its flaws. Let's talk about the good first. First off, it's very well written. It's one of those rare games that would actually make a decent movie, like Halo, or Half Life. It's world is incredibly detailed. The atmospheric music mixed withAssassin's creed is an enthralling, immersive, and incredibly atmospheric game. It's a classic for sure, but that's not to say it doesn't have its flaws. Let's talk about the good first. First off, it's very well written. It's one of those rare games that would actually make a decent movie, like Halo, or Half Life. It's world is incredibly detailed. The atmospheric music mixed with incredible visuals gives the game an almost hypnotic quality, and the climbing, free running, and fighting are all impressive. It also doesn't feel to short. A rare thing to find in games nowadays. On the other hand though, its story dips into some themes which are offensive to Christians, like myself. It can also be very repetitive. You keep having to do the same types of pre-mission missions like ease dropping, or pickpocketing. Fortunately though, the main assassinations are all varied greatly, and the game overall is so original, so fun, and so awe inspiring that it would be crazy to pass up, especially now when the price has been lowered. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.