Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1115 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MikeM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    This game is a beautiful game, no doubt, but it seems kinda slow at times. A little to slow.
  2. TuckerS.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    The game is good with minor flaws, including the learning curve of the controls. But overall, its a game to get.
  3. JamesM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and worth your while due to the gorgeous environments. There are a few downsides to this game. Sometimes when interrogating someone Altair wont kill them after listening to them talk this leads to the game to be playing but you cant move at all and its just focused on the guy waiting to be killed. Also there are a few instances where you counter kill or grab and end up glitching into the wall or out of the level. These are small blemishes on a amazing game. Its main outstanding feature is that there are no other games like this on the market. Expand
  4. BryonD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    The game itself is absolutely beautiful...streets are filled with people and the cities seem huge. Controls are great too...the only flaw is that the whole mission idea/structure seems like it neglected in favor of the controls and visuals.
  5. ShaunK.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Excellent game, but not without it's fair share of issues that somewhat hinder the enjoyment. Story is innovative and has a nice twist, blending future with past. Free-running is fun and really never gets old. Battles are not the fastest, but fun. They do get a bit stale after a while. There is, however, freezing and framerate issues to be had. Freezing only happens every once and a Excellent game, but not without it's fair share of issues that somewhat hinder the enjoyment. Story is innovative and has a nice twist, blending future with past. Free-running is fun and really never gets old. Battles are not the fastest, but fun. They do get a bit stale after a while. There is, however, freezing and framerate issues to be had. Freezing only happens every once and a while and the framerate is a TINY bit uncommon. Loved the game very much, I think you will to. Expand
  6. AlanO.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    Brilliiant and very involving game which throws you into a living medieval world and doesnt let you go untill the very end. recommended!
  7. BD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I was looking forward to this game for over a year. Leading into the release date i was disappointed with the reviews i read. I still bought it on its release. Immediately i was liking it a lot because of the running and climbing. After two hours of playing i was only OK with the game play. It seems, due to reading so many reviews, that each reviewed flaw in the game stood out and annoyed I was looking forward to this game for over a year. Leading into the release date i was disappointed with the reviews i read. I still bought it on its release. Immediately i was liking it a lot because of the running and climbing. After two hours of playing i was only OK with the game play. It seems, due to reading so many reviews, that each reviewed flaw in the game stood out and annoyed me. Now i am little past half way through the game and i am loving it. Once you earn more abilities and weapons and get your characters movements and fighting down the game is awesome. You look past the small flaws and take in how huge the city is as you're just sprinting, diving, and climbing along the rooftops. Just the act of getting from one end of the city to the other becomes fun as you take it to the rooftops. I don't get sick of that. It seems some small details were cut in able to make room for the vastness of area and size, which is fine by me. I tend to stand my ground in fights and take out the surrounding guards with ease. I also love waiting for an archer a couple buildings over to turn around and then run across rooftops and dive into him with a secret blade to the throat. The game plays very much like the prince of persia in an open environment (lot of acrobatics and climbing), mixed with the Hitman series (researching, blending, and assassinating). Expand
  8. SevK.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. So far (and I've finished the game) the only flaw would be the shortness in story length, although this is somewhat counter-balanced with flag collecting and templar killing. This game definitely does not deserve a 7.
  9. MarkN.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    You can't rush this game! I was trying to come up with some catch phrase that would explain how to truly get immersed in this game and find it a masterpiece..... It's not just "play it slow." It's actually.. "Play it like you would if you were really an assassin." IE be willing to sneak around and be patient... It's a thinking man's game... but at the same time.. You can't rush this game! I was trying to come up with some catch phrase that would explain how to truly get immersed in this game and find it a masterpiece..... It's not just "play it slow." It's actually.. "Play it like you would if you were really an assassin." IE be willing to sneak around and be patient... It's a thinking man's game... but at the same time.. be ready to be a bad arse and unleash heck in a way that Dynasty warriors and other Third person slashers have not been able to nail down in years. Expand
  10. NickK.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    I was pretty opened minded going into this game. I did not have any high expectations for it. I knew pretty much what they showed in the previews is what you will get. Finding out that it was / sci-fi was kinda disappointing and starting out the game wasn't what I had hoped but once I got through more of the game and then finished I was very impressed with the deep story and the I was pretty opened minded going into this game. I did not have any high expectations for it. I knew pretty much what they showed in the previews is what you will get. Finding out that it was / sci-fi was kinda disappointing and starting out the game wasn't what I had hoped but once I got through more of the game and then finished I was very impressed with the deep story and the action and freedom in the game. Although I wish they did more to the game, for what it was, was lots of fun to play and a story I can't wait to find out more about in the next one. I love to still go back and fly through the cities killing guards and whatnot. Templars are fun to find and hunt down. Expand
  11. SumD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    For all the hype it really is a very well put together.... repetive game with lots and lots of boring cut scenes... LOTS. but over all its a step forward in gaming.. cant wait for the sequel with many improvements!
  12. JasonL.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Now I don't think this is a perfect game, it is repetetive, but some of the aweful and unfair scores it has recieved makes me rate it a 10 instead of a 9. This is a fantastic game, it looks great the AI is fantastic both the enemies and civilians. The ability to go anywhere and climb anything is refreshing and the different tactics you have to use in order to assassinate your targets Now I don't think this is a perfect game, it is repetetive, but some of the aweful and unfair scores it has recieved makes me rate it a 10 instead of a 9. This is a fantastic game, it looks great the AI is fantastic both the enemies and civilians. The ability to go anywhere and climb anything is refreshing and the different tactics you have to use in order to assassinate your targets adds refreshing twists at each turn. If you are reading this you owe it to yourself to at least give this one a try; if you come in with an open mind you won't be dissappointed. Expand
  13. SamJ.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    I have to say that I am loving this game. It is beautiful, compelling, and entertaining. The controls are terrific and Altair's ability to travel through the cities is very impressive. It doesn't quite make a 10 though, because it does get a little repetitve and your new abilities you unlock don't change much in the game. But besides these flaws this game is entertaining I have to say that I am loving this game. It is beautiful, compelling, and entertaining. The controls are terrific and Altair's ability to travel through the cities is very impressive. It doesn't quite make a 10 though, because it does get a little repetitve and your new abilities you unlock don't change much in the game. But besides these flaws this game is entertaining and it breaks the mold of what a stealth game can be.... Expand
  14. BryceD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Awesome game!! Don't rush through it and you'll love it all the more. Don't trust that popular review site this is game you're gonna have to play for yourself.
  15. ZabbaB.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I love it, fighting is cool new and responsive with neat little cinematic kills (if you counter the right way) its like playing a movie, with the great graphics, good story, smooth gameplay and odd hiding spots (in a crowd) its an awesome new game, im sure whatever negatives it has will be fixed in the next games in the Franchise.
  16. HS
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing, the key to getting the most out of the game is not to rush around the place but ake things slowly and explore, then the game truly becomes excellent.
  17. LiamG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I've never played a game as addictive and compelling as Assassin's Creed. I'm a casual gamer, and most games i buy get a few hours play then are put on the shelf - I've got 30 or so 360 games and not completed a single one, but this one i've been playing every single second that i can, and it will definitely be my first 100% title!
  18. MichaelR.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Incredibly addictive. Stunning graphics and awesome combat.
  19. RobP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. If you don't want to do what the makers intended then draw a picture or something. This game doesn't even deserve a 7 rating let alone a zero. Expand
  20. Teej
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    I think all the criticism about the repetition is certainly valid, but it doesn't bother me in the slightest, because the things you're repeating are insanely exciting. I'm only partway through the game, but I'm completely engrossed by the graphics and the story, and once you get used to them, the controls are great. There's nothing like the feeling when you I think all the criticism about the repetition is certainly valid, but it doesn't bother me in the slightest, because the things you're repeating are insanely exciting. I'm only partway through the game, but I'm completely engrossed by the graphics and the story, and once you get used to them, the controls are great. There's nothing like the feeling when you finally master the high-profile running kill. And when you jump out of hiding with virtually no room for error and pull it off on a well-protected target before he even gets the chance to see you, it's a hell of a rush. It's definitely not for everyone, but it's my kind of game. Expand
  21. John
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Altair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and IAltair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and I have never played anything that comes close to this game. All the critics hating on the repetition of the investigations and poor storyline development need to look at the bigger picture. I'll put this simply. Assassin + swords + knives + concealed throat cutting blade = awesome. Expand
  22. Spartan117
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great game, excelent story and graphics, a real next gen game.
  23. John
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    I was so excited for this game. All the videos and the build up to this game got me psyched up for this. That being said, it led up to most of my expectations. Like what has been said by pretty much everyone. This is a very good game that has a lot going for it. It's nice to see a world that reacts realistically to your actions. The control scheme is great. The fights are fun to I was so excited for this game. All the videos and the build up to this game got me psyched up for this. That being said, it led up to most of my expectations. Like what has been said by pretty much everyone. This is a very good game that has a lot going for it. It's nice to see a world that reacts realistically to your actions. The control scheme is great. The fights are fun to watch and free running through the city is a joy. That being said, it can be repetetive. There are some things that looked like they got passed over when the game was being developed. But like I said overall a really good innovative game that has me excited for the already planned sequels. Expand
  24. RyanC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great, Really fun, but the investigation gets overly-repetitive. Also, an option to 'fast-forward' to the cities would be nice. I hate riding to the cities.
  25. paulanderson
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    look at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are anlook at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are an assassin and next minute its mario brothers? it makes sense to me the game repeats itself..look at games that doesnt, like the all famous bond games...inorder to break repetition they put in off the wall car chases and stupid things like that which makes the experience more like a game, and less like real life. this assassin dude does one thing, he assassinates...period. you collect info, you go bust the target...simple, beautiful, modern...next frickin gen. Expand
  26. DaveW.
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    Loving this game so far. Interesting storyline, excellent controls, and it is of course simply gorgeous. It can be repetative at times, but overall not enough to distract from the experience.
  27. BillyB.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    This game is the breakout of a new era. It is amazing, the movement of the characters, and how they interact. The best thing is how much you can interact with the environment. The only thing that stopped me from giving it a 10, was the set up of the story, they should have just stuck with the era of the crusades, rather than a futuristic view trying to go back in time. All in all, if This game is the breakout of a new era. It is amazing, the movement of the characters, and how they interact. The best thing is how much you can interact with the environment. The only thing that stopped me from giving it a 10, was the set up of the story, they should have just stuck with the era of the crusades, rather than a futuristic view trying to go back in time. All in all, if there was a 9.5, it deserves it, great game, I hope there's a part two....atleast. Expand
  28. JeffA.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Assassin's Creed tries to do something different where the safe thing to do is make a cookie cutter type game. Assassin's Creed not only tries to be different, it does it very well. Expand
  29. Shatananshnasha
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great Combination of Prince of persia, Shadow of colossus & Splinter cell. Altaïr is the coolest looking main character in a while!
  30. Amnesiac
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    Listen folks, this is a great game, it looks fantastic and you get that atmospheric feel, that sucks you in + the narrative is great and thought provoking. But it is too repetitive and to be honest the controls are at times a little annoying in two contradictory ways. First at times when climbing etc it seems a little simple, like you
  31. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Beautiful game, wonderful concepts and it's dependant on how you play the game. Where one man says repetition, I say change what you're doing. Yes, there are a limited number of side mission types, however despite this the game still manages to be exciting and enveloping. I for one enjoy the dual story line that is weaved throughout the game and enjoy playing the assassin and Beautiful game, wonderful concepts and it's dependant on how you play the game. Where one man says repetition, I say change what you're doing. Yes, there are a limited number of side mission types, however despite this the game still manages to be exciting and enveloping. I for one enjoy the dual story line that is weaved throughout the game and enjoy playing the assassin and listening to the other story. Expand
  32. Barry
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    It's just the perfect game. By far the best game graphically to ever come into the gaming world. Vast climbing environments makes it incredibly fun to jolt around off rooftops and performing leap off faiths from high up view points into hay. Free running is amazing, as is the gently pushing mechanism. Everything about Altair's body movements just oozes realism. Just look at the It's just the perfect game. By far the best game graphically to ever come into the gaming world. Vast climbing environments makes it incredibly fun to jolt around off rooftops and performing leap off faiths from high up view points into hay. Free running is amazing, as is the gently pushing mechanism. Everything about Altair's body movements just oozes realism. Just look at the way he gets his foot ready to walk across beams, the way he jumps off buildings into hay, the way he climbs and the interacting of AI & player. An epic game that you need to add to your collection. Truely amazing! Expand
  33. ClintK.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Simply incredible. It's like some of these reviewers are playing a different game. Maybe they've just been spoiled by so many great games this fall.
  34. MarkT
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Fabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians fromFabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians from the Holy Land? Interesting concept! Expand
  35. Anonymous
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Very driving game at first. Damascus is probably my favorite game level of all time. Although, after 12 hours or so, the game just falls from grace, and keeps falling. Word to the wise, to keep this game great: Only play 3-4 hours a day, to keep yourselves from tiring of it... Because once it starts feeling repetitive, it stays repetitive.
  36. GanaM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    I'm typing this from work, and I would like to say that the number one thing I'm looking forward to getting home is not a) my girlfriend, b) my HEROES dvd i just got in the mail c) that tri-tip i have in my freezer... it's d) Assassin's Creed. ;D
  37. MarkT.
    Nov 16, 2007
    8
    The game is very creative and fun to play but the repatition is felt to much in this game like ubisoft focused on some things but not others or payed to little attention to it....liek every time you save a citizen they usully say 1 of 4 things...makin every citizen say sumthing different would have been nice...but other then little things like that this game owns.
  38. AliG.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    This simply an amazing game. You will be wowed when you play it and trust me....5 hours into the game, it only gets better and better. Simply outstanding.
  39. YoshiH.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Sam Fisher step aside, there is a new hero in Town! Altair is rockin as an assassin! The graphics are supberb! The lighting in the game is amazing! The shadows in the game are great! What a fantastic game!
  40. larzB
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    I am so hyped about Assassins Creed! This game is great. I was excited when I first saw the videos with Jade Raymond describing the game but now that I have it and have been playing it .. OMG!!!!!I love all the interaction with the environment and the people. Ubisoft really blended all the great gaming elements that are popular right now. Great Job!!! Much LOVE
  41. JasonA.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Great game - story is strong, game play is very smooth and innovative, and overall just a great game. The controls can be somewhat challenging and complicated, and a few nits here and there, but overall I really, really love this game.
  42. ChrisM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This game is all about fun. Even the controls are fun....sounds crazy I know. Is it repetitive....umm I guess. But then again who doesn't want to a repeat of good old gaming fun.
  43. Nox
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Aslong as you arn't rushing through the game you'll enjoy it, if you are racing to the end you won't. A nice break from the hundreds of shooters this year.
  44. RichardM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    If I didn
  45. MaxG.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    So similar to Prince of Persia but so much better. It reminds me mostly of Theif (remember that one!) except the game is about a thousand times more complex. Plus, you can actually fight.
  46. NickolasB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Whoever says anything bad about this game will be assassinated by the swift hands of Altair! lol, kidding. but whoever doesn't like this game DOES need mental help. this game is worth every penny, and the replay value makes it so much more worthwhile. i finally beat the game last night and i'm going back to play it again for the fact that the story was that good. i want to Whoever says anything bad about this game will be assassinated by the swift hands of Altair! lol, kidding. but whoever doesn't like this game DOES need mental help. this game is worth every penny, and the replay value makes it so much more worthwhile. i finally beat the game last night and i'm going back to play it again for the fact that the story was that good. i want to relive the game again! you probably will too. Expand
  47. JoeS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    It was a good game, a little too short however.
  48. JeffY.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This is not a game to run through. You need to take your time and experiance it. Sure, you end up pickpocketing and easedroping and fighting a lot. But it only gets repetitive if your just playing the game to get to the ending. Shooting a gun in a FPS isn't repetitive? Yes it is, but that dosen't mean its not fun. Assassin's Creed is the type of game that you need to take This is not a game to run through. You need to take your time and experiance it. Sure, you end up pickpocketing and easedroping and fighting a lot. But it only gets repetitive if your just playing the game to get to the ending. Shooting a gun in a FPS isn't repetitive? Yes it is, but that dosen't mean its not fun. Assassin's Creed is the type of game that you need to take your time and enjoy the experiance. Expand
  49. DanN.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    This game is absolutley amazing. Yeah it does get a bit repetative, but what game doesn't. In the long run, the stoy is good, the visuals are gorgeous , and the controls are actually pretty intuitive once you give them a chance. I would have to say a must own on 360 and I pray they make a sequel.
  50. NellyF.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Based on accuracy of history, leaders who were actually assassinated, i can't believe how fun and dynamic this game is. the most original of its kind that I'VE EVER PLAYED.
  51. J.McUbermensch
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I understand the reasons why some don't like this game but it is what you make it. If you do ever job the same way then, yes, it will get rather ho hum but if you take your time and change it up a little then it is quite fun.
  52. J.M.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Amazing! if GTA, Crackdown, and Prince of Persia had a 3-way, Assassin's Creed would be the child they'd make.
  53. JamesC.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning graphics as well as gameplay and originality! This game takes the best elements of Splinter Cell and Prince of Persia and throws in the horse riding of Legend of Zelda and the sci-fi elements of The Matrix. All these parts together make for one very interesting and enjoyable game!
  54. JustinH.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    Very solid game. Won't win game of the year, but it won't be collecting dust for some time either.
  55. ScottD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Love the stealth features and the new controls.
  56. IanC.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I've got an advance copy from *ssshhhhhh*, so this isn't guesswork, I've played a load of this today. My feeling is this is a game that's being marked on expectations, rather than the real deal, and that's a little unfair, and maybe there's also a lesson or two for Ubisoft regarding just how much they reveal about a game or hype it prior to release - you I've got an advance copy from *ssshhhhhh*, so this isn't guesswork, I've played a load of this today. My feeling is this is a game that's being marked on expectations, rather than the real deal, and that's a little unfair, and maybe there's also a lesson or two for Ubisoft regarding just how much they reveal about a game or hype it prior to release - you gotta hold something back, right? So far I'm loving AC. It looks amazing, it feels amazing, and right now I'm having a ton of fun running, climbing, fighting, exploring etc etc. Isn't that the point? So it gets boring later? This might be news for a few reviewers, but fair few games don't get boring after a while. I think this is a tip top title, and worth your pennies. It's courageous, innovative, interesting, and very very clever at times. Yeah it's got some glitches, but give the coders a break will ya, look what else it does! I can climb a tower without the tower looking in anyway as if it's designed for me to clamber on, it's all so fluid and 'natural'. One final comment - why have so many reviewers absolutely insisted on spoiling the storyline? Expand
  57. SeanB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This game is brilliant in every way I can conceive. THe combat is fluid. The movement on the cities' rooftops is so much fun. While the basic free missions are repeated quite a few times, they are all so much fun, or the weave more to the story, or are so quickly accomplished that it doesn't bother me in the least. The storyline just a blast. Many facets as well as many things This game is brilliant in every way I can conceive. THe combat is fluid. The movement on the cities' rooftops is so much fun. While the basic free missions are repeated quite a few times, they are all so much fun, or the weave more to the story, or are so quickly accomplished that it doesn't bother me in the least. The storyline just a blast. Many facets as well as many things augmenting the atmosphere to make it feel more tangible. Expand
  58. ChrisK.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    First and foremost, i will say this game was a small let down. I disagree with the guy who did the review for IGN as it is not one of the top 5 disappointments of all time. It seems, instead, to be a niche game comparable in style to Shadow of the Colossus. AC probably isn't for everyone, but I still think there are a good number of people who can pick it up and enjoy it. --- What First and foremost, i will say this game was a small let down. I disagree with the guy who did the review for IGN as it is not one of the top 5 disappointments of all time. It seems, instead, to be a niche game comparable in style to Shadow of the Colossus. AC probably isn't for everyone, but I still think there are a good number of people who can pick it up and enjoy it. --- What the game does well --- 1) Graphics: This has got to be the most beautiful game made EVAR! The world is rich and detailed, avatars look very realistic, and the animations are very fluid and enjoyable to look at. I have been unable to find the tearing textures that the official reviewers speak of, and i have yet to have a framerate drop that is noticable. 2) Exploration: I almost wonder if this game would have been better titled as Assassin's Playground, because you have access to just about the entire world. Creative use of your ability to climb almost anything can make the game enjoyable by itself. 3) Combat: The combat system can get dull if you let it (Counter FTW!), but even if you choose to take the easy way out it can still be an enjoyable experience. Altair has a number of unique combat animations that are pretty cool. The only downside is that for each weapon there are about 15ish or so animations you will see a lot, but i argue that is a good deal better than most games 2 or 4. The fun of the combat comes from mixing things up. If you stay in defensive stance and counter all day you will not have fun. If you take to the offensive you can really do some fun stuff. --- What the sequel can do better --- 1) AI and 2) Repetative gameplay. 1) The AI can be dreadful at times. For example, i have just fought and killed about 9 guards (not all at once). A tenth guard approached the battle as it was ending and did not enter combat. As i sheath my dagger, he walks over to a dead body and shouts "WHO DID THIS? I'M GONNA FIND YOU!" For his stupidity i stealth assassinated him, but you see my point. That brings up another bug with the AI in regards to stealth assassinations. I have been able to, on a few occassions, clear out an entire section of the cities guards using the stealth assassinations on every one i find and not enter into escape mode. In some cases i will do it with another guard watching the act and he will not enter attack mode. The final major issue i have with the AI is with the Archers on the roofs. If one spots you he will give you "YOU AREN'T SUPPOSED TO BE UP HERE!" and notches an arrow. He wont fire, but he is ready on a moments notice. The problem here is that when given the moments notice, he still doesn't fire. I will charge at the archer 'loudly' and assassinate him and not get shot at once. 2) The repetative gameplay will probably kill the game for most people, as it did for Shadow of the Colossus. I think its excusable as most of it results in combat, which i enjoy, or provides some story. Granted, sitting and eavesdropping on some story is not going to be fun for most people. Nor will saving the same 12 citizens over and over, that will get boring pretty quick. While that could be what an assassin would do, it needs to be spiced up for a video game. --- Final Thoughts --- I recommend renting this game. It is definitely a 9, if not a 10, for those who will enjoy the game. Regretfully, it is probably about 5 or a 6 for a good number of the gaming community. The only advice I can give if you are not enjoy it is mix things up, Then game is a lot more fun that way. Looking forward to the sequel! Expand
  59. SteveT.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    So far So good. Don't pay attention to the critics that turded this game. It seems like there is a new trend for Negareviews. Anyways, I would say this game deserves high praise for originality and style. Awsome series and I already can't wait for more.
  60. BradW.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Great control scheme, though a little difficult to get used to. Awesome Story, voice acting, and Freerunning.
  61. CharlesC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    One of the best 360 games to date. Non-linear gameplay is exciting and unpredictable. Bit by bit gaming companies are inching closer to smarter and more realisticly acting A.I.
  62. TylerK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    It's fresh and just damn fun to play. It gives you the open ended options of a game like Bethesda's Oblivion with a bit more direction - you don't necessarily have to explore everything and do all side quests, but they're there if you want to.
  63. HarperB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I rented this game because i loved ubi's prince of persia and figured that this one would be very similar. it is similar, but it's completely different at the same time. the only similarities are some of the video techniques and the fact that the main characters are middle-eastern, but this game has a plot twist that will make you start the game over and play it again with a I rented this game because i loved ubi's prince of persia and figured that this one would be very similar. it is similar, but it's completely different at the same time. the only similarities are some of the video techniques and the fact that the main characters are middle-eastern, but this game has a plot twist that will make you start the game over and play it again with a whole new perspective. oh, and yes, i ended up buying it after renting it. you should probably skip buying it if you're interested. it's well worth the money. Expand
  64. DrewC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I heard several "interesting" facts about this game, but when I got to play it, it was intense! The running was a big favorite of mine, as well as the crowd and AI altogether. I really hope that they continue to please the crowd by making another successfull sequel.
  65. FredW.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Simply the greatest game the XBOX 360 has seen. And as far as this style of game goes, remember Metal Gear Solid 2? The way it made you feel in regard to gameplay and the story content? This one makes that look like an 8-bit video game's reach. Yes, it's that good. My new favorite game, hands down.
  66. MarkM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This one's for the big boys. ) Expand
  67. CodyB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this game when it comes to that area. The desire to know what happens next in the story overshadows the repitition and should make every other developer feel like they need to step it up. Expand
  68. TerryM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Crowd control! Why has none of the reviewers talked about the crowd interaction in this game? OMFG, it
  69. RobertP.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing game overall, with a good story, tight controls, stunning visuals and animations, and addictive gameplay. This is easily the Game of The Year.
  70. GrapeApe
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Best musical score of the year. I
  71. EdwardS.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Pleasing to say the least. Technically, this game plays great and looks amazing. Top notch graphics for sure. And as a GAME it
  72. FilipV.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Very good graphics, living environment, easy but rewarding combat system and real freedom (climbing on rooftops)
  73. ThomasW.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I love the graphics and the playstyle of this game. I have been waiting for a game where I could wander around and do whatever i wanted and be amazed by the visuals. I thought Shadow of the Collossus would be one of my faves for a while but assassins creed blew it away. the graphics are stunning and assassinating people was never as fun.
  74. ShaunaM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the city. And when things go bad, I want to be able to tear it up and fully assault my opposition. This game has all of that and more, I've never felt this close to the character in a game of this type. This may be the best thing since the Thief series, but even better because it's made for next-gen and LOOKS it. That's the other thing, this game looks and plays very well. It's a game I would recommend to anyone. Expand
  75. DavidT.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    Unforgettable experience.
  76. LordSergenteen
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    You the hell are all of these stupid people. Almost all critics are rating the good games bad and the bad games good this holiday season. My game stop just got their shipment in 1 hour ago and I am already an hour in. There is absolutly nothing wrong with this game and has way more two it than lesser games like COD4. If you own any major game and you want to own all of them, you needYou the hell are all of these stupid people. Almost all critics are rating the good games bad and the bad games good this holiday season. My game stop just got their shipment in 1 hour ago and I am already an hour in. There is absolutly nothing wrong with this game and has way more two it than lesser games like COD4. If you own any major game and you want to own all of them, you need to buy this. Expand
  77. TammyC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Great graphics, story, and replay factor.
  78. NathanC.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Awesome game! Great controls, nice fighting, everything!
  79. [Anonymous]
    Nov 13, 2007
    8
    It is a good game but i was hoping to be a real assassin but from the little i played and read in others reviews, it has factors that i don't like. a good assassin, action more than stealth, there is no night at least haven't seen it and a couple things more.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.