Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1093 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NellyF.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    Based on accuracy of history, leaders who were actually assassinated, i can't believe how fun and dynamic this game is. the most original of its kind that I'VE EVER PLAYED.
  2. JeffY.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This is not a game to run through. You need to take your time and experiance it. Sure, you end up pickpocketing and easedroping and fighting a lot. But it only gets repetitive if your just playing the game to get to the ending. Shooting a gun in a FPS isn't repetitive? Yes it is, but that dosen't mean its not fun. Assassin's Creed is the type of game that you need to take This is not a game to run through. You need to take your time and experiance it. Sure, you end up pickpocketing and easedroping and fighting a lot. But it only gets repetitive if your just playing the game to get to the ending. Shooting a gun in a FPS isn't repetitive? Yes it is, but that dosen't mean its not fun. Assassin's Creed is the type of game that you need to take your time and enjoy the experiance. Expand
  3. NickolasB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Whoever says anything bad about this game will be assassinated by the swift hands of Altair! lol, kidding. but whoever doesn't like this game DOES need mental help. this game is worth every penny, and the replay value makes it so much more worthwhile. i finally beat the game last night and i'm going back to play it again for the fact that the story was that good. i want to Whoever says anything bad about this game will be assassinated by the swift hands of Altair! lol, kidding. but whoever doesn't like this game DOES need mental help. this game is worth every penny, and the replay value makes it so much more worthwhile. i finally beat the game last night and i'm going back to play it again for the fact that the story was that good. i want to relive the game again! you probably will too. Expand
  4. RichardM.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    If I didn
  5. SteveT.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    So far So good. Don't pay attention to the critics that turded this game. It seems like there is a new trend for Negareviews. Anyways, I would say this game deserves high praise for originality and style. Awsome series and I already can't wait for more.
  6. ChrisK.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    First and foremost, i will say this game was a small let down. I disagree with the guy who did the review for IGN as it is not one of the top 5 disappointments of all time. It seems, instead, to be a niche game comparable in style to Shadow of the Colossus. AC probably isn't for everyone, but I still think there are a good number of people who can pick it up and enjoy it. --- What First and foremost, i will say this game was a small let down. I disagree with the guy who did the review for IGN as it is not one of the top 5 disappointments of all time. It seems, instead, to be a niche game comparable in style to Shadow of the Colossus. AC probably isn't for everyone, but I still think there are a good number of people who can pick it up and enjoy it. --- What the game does well --- 1) Graphics: This has got to be the most beautiful game made EVAR! The world is rich and detailed, avatars look very realistic, and the animations are very fluid and enjoyable to look at. I have been unable to find the tearing textures that the official reviewers speak of, and i have yet to have a framerate drop that is noticable. 2) Exploration: I almost wonder if this game would have been better titled as Assassin's Playground, because you have access to just about the entire world. Creative use of your ability to climb almost anything can make the game enjoyable by itself. 3) Combat: The combat system can get dull if you let it (Counter FTW!), but even if you choose to take the easy way out it can still be an enjoyable experience. Altair has a number of unique combat animations that are pretty cool. The only downside is that for each weapon there are about 15ish or so animations you will see a lot, but i argue that is a good deal better than most games 2 or 4. The fun of the combat comes from mixing things up. If you stay in defensive stance and counter all day you will not have fun. If you take to the offensive you can really do some fun stuff. --- What the sequel can do better --- 1) AI and 2) Repetative gameplay. 1) The AI can be dreadful at times. For example, i have just fought and killed about 9 guards (not all at once). A tenth guard approached the battle as it was ending and did not enter combat. As i sheath my dagger, he walks over to a dead body and shouts "WHO DID THIS? I'M GONNA FIND YOU!" For his stupidity i stealth assassinated him, but you see my point. That brings up another bug with the AI in regards to stealth assassinations. I have been able to, on a few occassions, clear out an entire section of the cities guards using the stealth assassinations on every one i find and not enter into escape mode. In some cases i will do it with another guard watching the act and he will not enter attack mode. The final major issue i have with the AI is with the Archers on the roofs. If one spots you he will give you "YOU AREN'T SUPPOSED TO BE UP HERE!" and notches an arrow. He wont fire, but he is ready on a moments notice. The problem here is that when given the moments notice, he still doesn't fire. I will charge at the archer 'loudly' and assassinate him and not get shot at once. 2) The repetative gameplay will probably kill the game for most people, as it did for Shadow of the Colossus. I think its excusable as most of it results in combat, which i enjoy, or provides some story. Granted, sitting and eavesdropping on some story is not going to be fun for most people. Nor will saving the same 12 citizens over and over, that will get boring pretty quick. While that could be what an assassin would do, it needs to be spiced up for a video game. --- Final Thoughts --- I recommend renting this game. It is definitely a 9, if not a 10, for those who will enjoy the game. Regretfully, it is probably about 5 or a 6 for a good number of the gaming community. The only advice I can give if you are not enjoy it is mix things up, Then game is a lot more fun that way. Looking forward to the sequel! Expand
  7. SeanB.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    This game is brilliant in every way I can conceive. THe combat is fluid. The movement on the cities' rooftops is so much fun. While the basic free missions are repeated quite a few times, they are all so much fun, or the weave more to the story, or are so quickly accomplished that it doesn't bother me in the least. The storyline just a blast. Many facets as well as many things This game is brilliant in every way I can conceive. THe combat is fluid. The movement on the cities' rooftops is so much fun. While the basic free missions are repeated quite a few times, they are all so much fun, or the weave more to the story, or are so quickly accomplished that it doesn't bother me in the least. The storyline just a blast. Many facets as well as many things augmenting the atmosphere to make it feel more tangible. Expand
  8. JustinH.
    Nov 15, 2007
    8
    Very solid game. Won't win game of the year, but it won't be collecting dust for some time either.
  9. GanaM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    I'm typing this from work, and I would like to say that the number one thing I'm looking forward to getting home is not a) my girlfriend, b) my HEROES dvd i just got in the mail c) that tri-tip i have in my freezer... it's d) Assassin's Creed. ;D
  10. ChrisM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This game is all about fun. Even the controls are fun....sounds crazy I know. Is it repetitive....umm I guess. But then again who doesn't want to a repeat of good old gaming fun.
  11. YoshiH.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Sam Fisher step aside, there is a new hero in Town! Altair is rockin as an assassin! The graphics are supberb! The lighting in the game is amazing! The shadows in the game are great! What a fantastic game!
  12. AliG.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    This simply an amazing game. You will be wowed when you play it and trust me....5 hours into the game, it only gets better and better. Simply outstanding.
  13. BillyB.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    This game is the breakout of a new era. It is amazing, the movement of the characters, and how they interact. The best thing is how much you can interact with the environment. The only thing that stopped me from giving it a 10, was the set up of the story, they should have just stuck with the era of the crusades, rather than a futuristic view trying to go back in time. All in all, if This game is the breakout of a new era. It is amazing, the movement of the characters, and how they interact. The best thing is how much you can interact with the environment. The only thing that stopped me from giving it a 10, was the set up of the story, they should have just stuck with the era of the crusades, rather than a futuristic view trying to go back in time. All in all, if there was a 9.5, it deserves it, great game, I hope there's a part two....atleast. Expand
  14. DaveW.
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    Loving this game so far. Interesting storyline, excellent controls, and it is of course simply gorgeous. It can be repetative at times, but overall not enough to distract from the experience.
  15. Spartan117
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great game, excelent story and graphics, a real next gen game.
  16. John
    Nov 17, 2007
    8
    I was so excited for this game. All the videos and the build up to this game got me psyched up for this. That being said, it led up to most of my expectations. Like what has been said by pretty much everyone. This is a very good game that has a lot going for it. It's nice to see a world that reacts realistically to your actions. The control scheme is great. The fights are fun to I was so excited for this game. All the videos and the build up to this game got me psyched up for this. That being said, it led up to most of my expectations. Like what has been said by pretty much everyone. This is a very good game that has a lot going for it. It's nice to see a world that reacts realistically to your actions. The control scheme is great. The fights are fun to watch and free running through the city is a joy. That being said, it can be repetetive. There are some things that looked like they got passed over when the game was being developed. But like I said overall a really good innovative game that has me excited for the already planned sequels. Expand
  17. Teej
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    I think all the criticism about the repetition is certainly valid, but it doesn't bother me in the slightest, because the things you're repeating are insanely exciting. I'm only partway through the game, but I'm completely engrossed by the graphics and the story, and once you get used to them, the controls are great. There's nothing like the feeling when you I think all the criticism about the repetition is certainly valid, but it doesn't bother me in the slightest, because the things you're repeating are insanely exciting. I'm only partway through the game, but I'm completely engrossed by the graphics and the story, and once you get used to them, the controls are great. There's nothing like the feeling when you finally master the high-profile running kill. And when you jump out of hiding with virtually no room for error and pull it off on a well-protected target before he even gets the chance to see you, it's a hell of a rush. It's definitely not for everyone, but it's my kind of game. Expand
  18. Barry
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    It's just the perfect game. By far the best game graphically to ever come into the gaming world. Vast climbing environments makes it incredibly fun to jolt around off rooftops and performing leap off faiths from high up view points into hay. Free running is amazing, as is the gently pushing mechanism. Everything about Altair's body movements just oozes realism. Just look at the It's just the perfect game. By far the best game graphically to ever come into the gaming world. Vast climbing environments makes it incredibly fun to jolt around off rooftops and performing leap off faiths from high up view points into hay. Free running is amazing, as is the gently pushing mechanism. Everything about Altair's body movements just oozes realism. Just look at the way he gets his foot ready to walk across beams, the way he jumps off buildings into hay, the way he climbs and the interacting of AI & player. An epic game that you need to add to your collection. Truely amazing! Expand
  19. TimE.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Beautiful game, wonderful concepts and it's dependant on how you play the game. Where one man says repetition, I say change what you're doing. Yes, there are a limited number of side mission types, however despite this the game still manages to be exciting and enveloping. I for one enjoy the dual story line that is weaved throughout the game and enjoy playing the assassin and Beautiful game, wonderful concepts and it's dependant on how you play the game. Where one man says repetition, I say change what you're doing. Yes, there are a limited number of side mission types, however despite this the game still manages to be exciting and enveloping. I for one enjoy the dual story line that is weaved throughout the game and enjoy playing the assassin and listening to the other story. Expand
  20. Shatananshnasha
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great Combination of Prince of persia, Shadow of colossus & Splinter cell. Altaïr is the coolest looking main character in a while!
  21. ZabbaB.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I love it, fighting is cool new and responsive with neat little cinematic kills (if you counter the right way) its like playing a movie, with the great graphics, good story, smooth gameplay and odd hiding spots (in a crowd) its an awesome new game, im sure whatever negatives it has will be fixed in the next games in the Franchise.
  22. SamJ.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    I have to say that I am loving this game. It is beautiful, compelling, and entertaining. The controls are terrific and Altair's ability to travel through the cities is very impressive. It doesn't quite make a 10 though, because it does get a little repetitve and your new abilities you unlock don't change much in the game. But besides these flaws this game is entertaining I have to say that I am loving this game. It is beautiful, compelling, and entertaining. The controls are terrific and Altair's ability to travel through the cities is very impressive. It doesn't quite make a 10 though, because it does get a little repetitve and your new abilities you unlock don't change much in the game. But besides these flaws this game is entertaining and it breaks the mold of what a stealth game can be.... Expand
  23. NickK.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    I was pretty opened minded going into this game. I did not have any high expectations for it. I knew pretty much what they showed in the previews is what you will get. Finding out that it was / sci-fi was kinda disappointing and starting out the game wasn't what I had hoped but once I got through more of the game and then finished I was very impressed with the deep story and the I was pretty opened minded going into this game. I did not have any high expectations for it. I knew pretty much what they showed in the previews is what you will get. Finding out that it was / sci-fi was kinda disappointing and starting out the game wasn't what I had hoped but once I got through more of the game and then finished I was very impressed with the deep story and the action and freedom in the game. Although I wish they did more to the game, for what it was, was lots of fun to play and a story I can't wait to find out more about in the next one. I love to still go back and fly through the cities killing guards and whatnot. Templars are fun to find and hunt down. Expand
  24. MarkN.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    You can't rush this game! I was trying to come up with some catch phrase that would explain how to truly get immersed in this game and find it a masterpiece..... It's not just "play it slow." It's actually.. "Play it like you would if you were really an assassin." IE be willing to sneak around and be patient... It's a thinking man's game... but at the same time.. You can't rush this game! I was trying to come up with some catch phrase that would explain how to truly get immersed in this game and find it a masterpiece..... It's not just "play it slow." It's actually.. "Play it like you would if you were really an assassin." IE be willing to sneak around and be patient... It's a thinking man's game... but at the same time.. be ready to be a bad arse and unleash heck in a way that Dynasty warriors and other Third person slashers have not been able to nail down in years. Expand
  25. SumD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    8
    For all the hype it really is a very well put together.... repetive game with lots and lots of boring cut scenes... LOTS. but over all its a step forward in gaming.. cant wait for the sequel with many improvements!
  26. AlanO.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    Brilliiant and very involving game which throws you into a living medieval world and doesnt let you go untill the very end. recommended!
  27. ShaunK.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Excellent game, but not without it's fair share of issues that somewhat hinder the enjoyment. Story is innovative and has a nice twist, blending future with past. Free-running is fun and really never gets old. Battles are not the fastest, but fun. They do get a bit stale after a while. There is, however, freezing and framerate issues to be had. Freezing only happens every once and a Excellent game, but not without it's fair share of issues that somewhat hinder the enjoyment. Story is innovative and has a nice twist, blending future with past. Free-running is fun and really never gets old. Battles are not the fastest, but fun. They do get a bit stale after a while. There is, however, freezing and framerate issues to be had. Freezing only happens every once and a while and the framerate is a TINY bit uncommon. Loved the game very much, I think you will to. Expand
  28. BryonD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    The game itself is absolutely beautiful...streets are filled with people and the cities seem huge. Controls are great too...the only flaw is that the whole mission idea/structure seems like it neglected in favor of the controls and visuals.
  29. TuckerS.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    The game is good with minor flaws, including the learning curve of the controls. But overall, its a game to get.
  30. KyleG.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    I love Assassin's Creed. The environment is so dynamic and you really can put it to use wherever you are. The graphics are great(compared to those on my Wii) and the control system, while being slighty strange at first, is very intuitive and easy to use. Even if assination does get repetitive, climbing buildings is always fun and can last for ages given the size of the environments.
  31. KristofI.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Ok so its not a perfect game and it does get repetitive but did I think its ridiculously fun. I don't care if I am seeing something getting knifed in the top of the skull for 21398132 time, I still enjoy it equally. Its a little tedious to do all the side quests but hey, the game only makes you do an minimal amount before you can continue. I think people need to lay off and realize Ok so its not a perfect game and it does get repetitive but did I think its ridiculously fun. I don't care if I am seeing something getting knifed in the top of the skull for 21398132 time, I still enjoy it equally. Its a little tedious to do all the side quests but hey, the game only makes you do an minimal amount before you can continue. I think people need to lay off and realize how great this game is. I mean Ubisoft could of made another game that we have all played before just with prettier graphics. Instead they stepped up to the plate and tried something else. So its getting a 9 because its not perfect .. but man I can't wait till they make the sequel with a few adjustments! Expand
  32. DrealgrinV.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    The whole thing, beautiful... god this game is good... a little too easy once you get used too it, but that's a testament to the interface. in my personal experience if you don't start out fights good then they won't end well either, but running away from a fight is one of the more satisfying parts. i know that sounds insane but the amount of time they put in the free The whole thing, beautiful... god this game is good... a little too easy once you get used too it, but that's a testament to the interface. in my personal experience if you don't start out fights good then they won't end well either, but running away from a fight is one of the more satisfying parts. i know that sounds insane but the amount of time they put in the free running aspect must have been hell!!! Altair makes it look easy to scale just about anything as long as you have a kung fu grip. Expand
  33. Nathan
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    If you have to listen to user comments, do not pay any attention to the comments by Don J! Are you five? You can't hold two buttons while you are playing? Just because you are inept at games does not mean that a game is bad! This is a great game that will entertain the crap out of you!
  34. NickV
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Browsing through the comments, it's pretty evident that you're either going to REALLY like the game, or not at all.

    I think a lot of the negative comments about this game stem from people who were expecting something that Ubisoft never had any intention of delivering. To them, no multiplayer, no true stealth, no constant action, simplified controls and a lot of cutscene
    Browsing through the comments, it's pretty evident that you're either going to REALLY like the game, or not at all.

    I think a lot of the negative comments about this game stem from people who were expecting something that Ubisoft never had any intention of delivering. To them, no multiplayer, no true stealth, no constant action, simplified controls and a lot of cutscene "downtime" instantly triggers the "boring, there's nothing new here", hence the scattering of very negative comments.

    The other side of the story is for people who have a bit more patience. Is there multiplayer? No, but the game doesn't lend itself to that gamplay style. Instead you're treated to a really immersing single player game, which are few and far between these days. The dual storyline is very engaging providing people have some patience and actually listen to what is being said. If you know what's going on, the plot raises motive questions and also gives a sense of purpose to your missions. The complainers also take issue with the simplified controls, but this game is NOT about 1 vs 1 combat or frantically tapping out a sequence of buttons to save your ass in a swordfight. Instead, the simplified and innovative combat scheme gives the game a certain grace and pace to fighting. It really shines when you're outnumbered and surrounded by a contingent of guards. There's nothing quite like systematically and gracefully taking them out one by one in quick succession. There's a huge "I'll do what I want when I want - just try to stop me" aspect of the game...and with a bit of skill you can pull it off and really put yourself in Altair's role.

    And that's truly what the game has going for it.
    Expand
  35. NeilV.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    Pros: this game's graphics and sound are on par with any console game on the market. Additionally, the story is interesting and immersive. All of this adds up to fun, engrossing gameplay. Cons: Definitely repetitive. The early parts of the game (prior to you being granted most of your skills) are pretty dull and there is not enough variety and/or fun involved in the side missions. Pros: this game's graphics and sound are on par with any console game on the market. Additionally, the story is interesting and immersive. All of this adds up to fun, engrossing gameplay. Cons: Definitely repetitive. The early parts of the game (prior to you being granted most of your skills) are pretty dull and there is not enough variety and/or fun involved in the side missions. That said, the further you get into the game, the better it gets. Give it a chance and you will be pleased! Expand
  36. LukaB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    Artistically this game overcomes its short comings. the amount of freedom given to altair to just walk around and explore is almost entirely destroyed during target missions...this is where you go kill your target, unlike hitman...where you have countless ways to approach and kill your prey, AC turns from an open sand box game into a very linear, almost arcade like game. you get only one Artistically this game overcomes its short comings. the amount of freedom given to altair to just walk around and explore is almost entirely destroyed during target missions...this is where you go kill your target, unlike hitman...where you have countless ways to approach and kill your prey, AC turns from an open sand box game into a very linear, almost arcade like game. you get only one shot at your target, you cant improvise at all...you kill your prey, the same way the producers wants you to...and that just drives me crazy. what was supposed to be the meat and wine of this game becomes completely an afterthought...giving the only fun element in escaping the guards by jumping and climbing the amazing cities...but see, the game is not called THE GRAND MEDIEVAL ESCAPE ARTIST...its called "assassins creed"...so, what happened here? my score is very high, because im an artist, and i must appreciate the overall amazing design of it all...its clearly has alot going for it...everything except the very crucial parts unfortunately. Expand
  37. ReelWorld
    Dec 11, 2007
    8
    Great graphics, some nifty animations on jumping and climbing and some cool counter attack kills - but after a few missions, it becomes very very repetitive. As others have pointed out, the missions become very button mashing when you end up facing twenty guards at once. Definately worth a rent though. If there had been more variety to the missions and more control over combat, the score Great graphics, some nifty animations on jumping and climbing and some cool counter attack kills - but after a few missions, it becomes very very repetitive. As others have pointed out, the missions become very button mashing when you end up facing twenty guards at once. Definately worth a rent though. If there had been more variety to the missions and more control over combat, the score would have been higher. Expand
  38. JoelA.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    I found it fun and challenging exactly what i was expecting a very good game.
  39. JasonLong
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Aside from the repetitious critical remarks made by many people, this game is actually very good. I was initially turned off by bad reviews, whinging and people claiming it was a failure. I didn't buy it for a while before giving in. I figured why not try it and see for myself.

    Sorry guys. But this is an absolute blast of a game. The combat system is great, the game unlocks it
    Aside from the repetitious critical remarks made by many people, this game is actually very good. I was initially turned off by bad reviews, whinging and people claiming it was a failure. I didn't buy it for a while before giving in. I figured why not try it and see for myself.

    Sorry guys. But this is an absolute blast of a game.

    The combat system is great, the game unlocks it slowly for you, so you don't get BORED. Each assassination unlocks new moves, weapons and street skills.

    The historical depiction of the kingdom is fantastic. I visited the Church of the Holy Sepulchure, the Dome of Rock and other holy sites. The cities are brilliant, I found a real distinction between them. The church in Damascus is awesome.

    The story has been slammed by so many people. WHY? It is a great story and the extra plot device works so well. The ending is like an episode of Lost. Just awesome.

    Finally, yes it has its own set of faults and issues. Like many 'games', it is not like real life. What a shame.... Yes, some things are annoying and yes, the repetitive nature of the game is sometimes grating.... However, it was just so worth it. I finished it, and came away with an intense dislike for IGN's Hillary Goldstein. Funny that.

    I am waiting in immense anticipation for the next chapter. Whilst doing so, I intend to play this game again.
    Expand
  40. NickK
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    I would have to say that this would've been worth $100 if it was released at that price. Aside from the somewhat repetitive fighting system this game is at the top of my collection. The stunning graphics, in depth storyline and massive maps keep you wanting more from the game. I will be looking forward to a sequel.
  41. RaphaelP.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    This game is simply the best action game I have ever played. Its scenery its simply marvelous and astonishing. the freedom you experience while playing is simply the best! everyone should play this game!
  42. ShaneSmith
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Absolutely amazing game! Slightly repetitive, and some of the cut-scenes were a bit *too* long, but sticking with it is very rewarding.

    Sometimes it was frustrating trying to escape the guards, and you start to wonder whether you should just fight them every single time. But then you lose their line of sight, and find a place to hide, and breathe a sigh of relief. A tip - playing on
    Absolutely amazing game! Slightly repetitive, and some of the cut-scenes were a bit *too* long, but sticking with it is very rewarding.

    Sometimes it was frustrating trying to escape the guards, and you start to wonder whether you should just fight them every single time. But then you lose their line of sight, and find a place to hide, and breathe a sigh of relief.

    A tip - playing on the 360, don't expect to pack up when you see the credits or get the "finished Assassin's Creed" achievement - there's a bit more you'll want to have a look at afterwards...
    Expand
  43. KeZ.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Riveting story, beautiful graphics, fun gameplay. Assassin's creed masters all 3 aspects of a good game.
  44. HIroP.
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of objectives leaves a bit to be desires, but each (apart from Eavesdropping, really) presents it's own set of challenges, location not least among them. I wish they had made it possible to complete more of the game with less combat, but it's not intended as a stealth title, really. Expand
  45. AndyM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    I love the assassinations, but I hate having to get to that point.
  46. KimY.
    Apr 19, 2008
    8
    The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those scenes occurred I just blanked out or went to do something for the 20 minutes that they ran. The enemy AI are fools who attack one at a time watching their buddies get decapitated or whatever as they flail their swords and arms pretending to attack. overall, I'd prob not want to play through the game again in fear that I may get more bored of it even more. This is a renting game thats what I did and I still got bored in the 2 days that I had it. Expand
  47. BrennanM
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means it's grab-able. The Leaps of Faith from tall points are breathtaking, and I honestly cannot get enough. The game, when doing bare bones minimum (less achievements, but still get all the story), takes 10-15 hours, and my goodness, is it a good 10-15 hours. Expand
  48. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both games in it. Shanking guards, free running through medieval Jerusalem, or actually playing the game, Assassin's Creed is a very delightful game for those that enjoy a good long game. Expand
  49. ShaunaM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the Sneak kill! OH YEAH! As an assassin, I expect to have an arsenal at my disposal that fits the theme of what I do...assassinate. I also expect to have the skills and moves in the game to utilize my character in a way that's...well...assassin-like. I also want to feel like an assassin as I sneak up on my prey and take him out quietly, avoiding alerting the guards and people of the city. And when things go bad, I want to be able to tear it up and fully assault my opposition. This game has all of that and more, I've never felt this close to the character in a game of this type. This may be the best thing since the Thief series, but even better because it's made for next-gen and LOOKS it. That's the other thing, this game looks and plays very well. It's a game I would recommend to anyone. Expand
  50. GrapeApe
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Best musical score of the year. I
  51. RobertP.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Amazing game overall, with a good story, tight controls, stunning visuals and animations, and addictive gameplay. This is easily the Game of The Year.
  52. TerryM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Crowd control! Why has none of the reviewers talked about the crowd interaction in this game? OMFG, it
  53. CodyB.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this I agree with the gametrailers and game informer reviews. I think it is an innovative game a deffinately worth buying. The only complaints are the camera can get clunky at times and, yes, the A.I. is idiotic at times but the game play is engaging and the story is what truly makes this game. I am hooked. As far as the repitition. EVERY GAME IS REPITITIOUS!!! There is nothing wrong with this game when it comes to that area. The desire to know what happens next in the story overshadows the repitition and should make every other developer feel like they need to step it up. Expand
  54. MarkM.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This With a little more refinement, Altair could be Ubisoft's Master Chief. Assassins Creed is (hopefully) the beginning of a great new franchise. Impeccable art direction and (almost) sandbox freedom make Assassin's Creed a must buy. Beautiful, exhilarating, and a twist that rivals the best thrillers, Assassins Creed is a landmark game for the new gen of consoles. Sorry Wii. This one's for the big boys. ) Expand
  55. TylerK.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    It's fresh and just damn fun to play. It gives you the open ended options of a game like Bethesda's Oblivion with a bit more direction - you don't necessarily have to explore everything and do all side quests, but they're there if you want to.
  56. J.McUbermensch
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    I understand the reasons why some don't like this game but it is what you make it. If you do ever job the same way then, yes, it will get rather ho hum but if you take your time and change it up a little then it is quite fun.
  57. DanN.
    Nov 15, 2007
    9
    This game is absolutley amazing. Yeah it does get a bit repetative, but what game doesn't. In the long run, the stoy is good, the visuals are gorgeous , and the controls are actually pretty intuitive once you give them a chance. I would have to say a must own on 360 and I pray they make a sequel.
  58. JoeS.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    It was a good game, a little too short however.
  59. Anonymous
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Very driving game at first. Damascus is probably my favorite game level of all time. Although, after 12 hours or so, the game just falls from grace, and keeps falling. Word to the wise, to keep this game great: Only play 3-4 hours a day, to keep yourselves from tiring of it... Because once it starts feeling repetitive, it stays repetitive.
  60. MarkT
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    Fabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians fromFabulous game - only drops a point when compared to the genius of COD 4's story telling. But complaints about repetition notwithstanding, the thrill of the chase after a good assassination is fantastic.. the environments are beautiful, animation gorgeous, and unless you like nothing but twitching, AC's mini-games are very fun. So... Muslim assassin-hero chasing Christians from the Holy Land? Interesting concept! Expand
  61. JeffA.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Some of the negative reviews complain the game is too long and repetative. Most videogames are repetative so that's a mute point. As for the game being long, some reviewers complain when a game is too short. Assassin's Creed is great game and should not be missed. Some of the lower scoring reviews must be reviewers trying to make a name for themselves or get attention. Assassin's Creed tries to do something different where the safe thing to do is make a cookie cutter type game. Assassin's Creed not only tries to be different, it does it very well. Expand
  62. paulanderson
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    look at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are anlook at the magazine reviews above and look here for the REAL reviews...you know what i mean? we the people, the real gamers decide if this game is good or bad, not the so called critics. main bad word flowing around is that this game is repetative...yeah, and?...thats the idea, when you have a great idea and deliverance, you repeat that...what do they expect? one minute you are an assassin and next minute its mario brothers? it makes sense to me the game repeats itself..look at games that doesnt, like the all famous bond games...inorder to break repetition they put in off the wall car chases and stupid things like that which makes the experience more like a game, and less like real life. this assassin dude does one thing, he assassinates...period. you collect info, you go bust the target...simple, beautiful, modern...next frickin gen. Expand
  63. RyanC.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Great, Really fun, but the investigation gets overly-repetitive. Also, an option to 'fast-forward' to the cities would be nice. I hate riding to the cities.
  64. John
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Altair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and IAltair is one of the best characters ever developed. Who else jumps off of 300 foot tall Church steeples into bails of hay? That being said, this game is absolute perfection. I bought Assassin's Creed the day it came out, and the second I started playing it I wished I had been an assassin during the crusades. The interactive environment and fighting system were ridiculously good and I have never played anything that comes close to this game. All the critics hating on the repetition of the investigations and poor storyline development need to look at the bigger picture. I'll put this simply. Assassin + swords + knives + concealed throat cutting blade = awesome. Expand
  65. RobP.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. Lots of fun glad i got it over COD4, agreed that its a really nice break from shooters. I love the combat and hence repeating it is very satisfying. Not to mention great free running and graphics. In response to Johnny, have you ever played a video game? 'doing exactly what the makers intended to do' is exactly why there are people that make games... they make fun things to do. If you don't want to do what the makers intended then draw a picture or something. This game doesn't even deserve a 7 rating let alone a zero. Expand
  66. LiamG.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I've never played a game as addictive and compelling as Assassin's Creed. I'm a casual gamer, and most games i buy get a few hours play then are put on the shelf - I've got 30 or so 360 games and not completed a single one, but this one i've been playing every single second that i can, and it will definitely be my first 100% title!
  67. HS
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Simply amazing, the key to getting the most out of the game is not to rush around the place but ake things slowly and explore, then the game truly becomes excellent.
  68. JohnnyQ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    What a challenge. Assasin
  69. NickV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, and if you don't rush the game, you can get really immersed in the plot. THE BAD THINGS: Details: Really, Ubisoft only failed in the details of this game. First and foremost is that there isn't much variety in dialogue out of the main quest lines, especially in regards to civilians and guards around the city. You'll hear a lot of comments over and over again. Repetition: This is the 2nd big issue reviewers seemed to have, and while it definitely could have used a bit more variety, isn't close to as bad as some might have you believe. I guess it's point of view. But I fail to see how this game gets the stigma of being repetitious, when FPS's (as in shoot-run-hide-repeat every 10 seconds) rarely seem to be branded as such. Overall, this is a 9.5 game, and just misses the perfect mark because of some details that could have used tweaking. Expand
  70. PhilipV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Very fun,open-ended,and stealthy;what is there NOT to love? (Besides the fact of repetitive side-missions...).
  71. TomE.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This is where the control system comes back into play. The subtle ability to counter and attack during combat is one of the most rewarding aspects of the game. Time it just right and you unleash an animation sequence that is impressive and different a majority of times it is activated. You have the ability to choose your objectives and the order you want to complete them. You have a vast kingdom to explore and many side quests are available if you have the time. The visuals and open world presentation are what truly sets this apart from other titles. Expand
  72. Max
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Story mode is great and graphics are amazing but the replay value is crappy. I made the mistake of buying this game but it is most definitely worth a rent.
  73. JH.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    This game is underrated. People complain because of "the repetitive missions", when clearly if all you care about is a storyline, get a game that needs one. The ability of free roaming, the graphics, and the environment are amazing. I'd advise this game to anyone who's intelligence can expand past being able to follow a linear story.
  74. MatthewH.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    A truly spectacular achievement that isn't for everyone. The repetitiveness that so many seem to enjoy bemoaning is something that I never had a problem with, but I just enjoyed the process of doing these tasks because everything else is so incredibly well done. The vastness and beauty of the cities you explore have to be seen to be believed. The story, while ambiguous at the end, A truly spectacular achievement that isn't for everyone. The repetitiveness that so many seem to enjoy bemoaning is something that I never had a problem with, but I just enjoyed the process of doing these tasks because everything else is so incredibly well done. The vastness and beauty of the cities you explore have to be seen to be believed. The story, while ambiguous at the end, only left me wanting more, not necessarily disappointed. Any every "contrived" element (for example, scholars walking only once you join them or 12th century people from Damascus speaking modern english) are explained and make since within the context of the story. And the virtual lack of load times is, in my opinion, one of the greatest achievements. While a critically adored game like Mass Effect has a minute-long load-time for practically every single room, Assassin's Creed loads an entire city of thousands of people in half the time. Go figure. Expand
  75. DanielT
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    I actually only played this game several months ago (instead of playing it on the spot like others) and was incredibly pleased with the result. From the moment I stepped into Desmond's shoes and until the end, I had an insane amount of fun (due to my inexperience and making mass incidents) on my first play-through. I watched this game closely from the moment it was announced, to when I actually only played this game several months ago (instead of playing it on the spot like others) and was incredibly pleased with the result. From the moment I stepped into Desmond's shoes and until the end, I had an insane amount of fun (due to my inexperience and making mass incidents) on my first play-through. I watched this game closely from the moment it was announced, to when it was released; so, of course, I knew the entire premise of it all. After beating the storyline and getting the achievements, I noticed that the mission structure was a bit repetitive. But, you know what? I didn't care. Sure, the way you get information on your targets is practically the same, the environments and the way to access you targets was unique in it's own way (my favorite being the execution stage mission: had a lot of fun with that one!). The *only* reason it's not a perfect ten is the controls were a bit too sensitive, regularly plunging me to my desynchronization. Not being able to swim does not count, as that is only a nitpick! - Number 4 on my "Greatest games of all time" - Expand
  76. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    Somewhat repetitive game play and missions, but the visuals and imaginative story line make for an enjoyable experience. The flag collecting felt dated, but makes for some each gamerscore accumulation
  77. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    Having played this game in late 2008, I found myself excited at the prospect of stepping into the robes of a true Assassin named Altair. However, when I began the game, I was surprised to find that it was not a purely-historical game. Instead, there were strong science-fiction ties that had to do with memories of ancestor, and this only made it harder to put down. Of course, I was whollyHaving played this game in late 2008, I found myself excited at the prospect of stepping into the robes of a true Assassin named Altair. However, when I began the game, I was surprised to find that it was not a purely-historical game. Instead, there were strong science-fiction ties that had to do with memories of ancestor, and this only made it harder to put down. Of course, I was wholly inexperienced with the gameplay, causing my death many times during my first playthrough, but it hadn't detracted from the experience in the least. It became so natural that I was ending fights with only the hidden blade equipped. However, during the first three-quarters of the game, I realized how much I disliked Altair and how far he was away from I behaved. Becoming a Master Assassin early in life, he grew arrogant and selfish, but changed after killing another who was like him; who killed others just because he could. And so he transformed into one of my favorite characters.

    The single-funnest feature in the game for me was the act of parkour and free-running, which allowed Altair to scale buildings without much effort and travel the city in half the time it would take others. But it came at a cost; there were several instances that I was killed from the accidental turn of the camera because it was so sensitive. In addition to this, the second time I played, it was quite noticeable that the mission structure was (to use a common word) "repetitive", but I continued to play with vigor. Each assassination was actually unique in and of itself, so much that I ignored the like-mindedness of the structure. For a game series in its first outing, the game created my hunger for the rest of the games and even though it is not perfect, it is a great example of what can happen if you try new IPs.
    Expand
  78. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Primo e grandissimo capitolo di una serie adventure/stealth che sicuramente tutti conosciamo!
    La trama del gioco riesce subito a rapirti ed è accompagnata con un comparto grafico davvero raffinato e ben fatto.Per quanto riguarda il gameplay intravediamo solo il sistema di combattimenti veloci che sono possibili nei capitoli come Revelations e Brotherhood ma comunque gli scontri
    Primo e grandissimo capitolo di una serie adventure/stealth che sicuramente tutti conosciamo!
    La trama del gioco riesce subito a rapirti ed è accompagnata con un comparto grafico davvero raffinato e ben fatto.Per quanto riguarda il gameplay intravediamo solo il sistema di combattimenti veloci che sono possibili nei capitoli come Revelations e Brotherhood ma comunque gli scontri risultano godibili, invece per quando riguarda il lato stealth del gioco troviamo anche qui un buon lavoro con situazioni che richiedono un minimo di pianificazione e un'accurato studio dell'ambiente circostante.
    Per molti la più grande pecca di questo splendido gioco e la sua ripetitività nelle azioni da svolgere ma che secondo il mio parere, questa peculiarità, è stata quasi voluta dagli sviluppatori per ricreare quella atmosfera scandita da dogmi e regole che viveva la setta degli assassini in quel periodo, il che comporta lo svolgere di precise azioni più volte da parte di Altair per sottostare al credo dell'assassino.
    Inoltre Assassin's Creed è ricco di riferimenti storici che danno ancora più valore a questo gioco ricreando tutte le varie atmosfere del tempo, che forse però, non tutti sono stati in grado di apprezzare nella loro minuziosa ricostruzione e resa grafica.
    Il tutto verrà nettamente migliorato e portato ad un'altro livello nel secondo capitolo ma il primo rimane sicuramente uno dei più belli grazie anche alla sua ambientazione medievale che dona all'opera un che di mistico che riesce ad affascinare il giocatore.
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.