Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1072 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SevK.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This game is absolutely amazing. So far (and I've finished the game) the only flaw would be the shortness in story length, although this is somewhat counter-balanced with flag collecting and templar killing. This game definitely does not deserve a 7.
  2. MikeL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    0
    This was a total waste of time. I was expecting some middle aged cluture where I could be somebody else. The game has nothing going for it that other games havent done. Horses and Climbing -Shadow of the Collosus Stealth Action - Splinter cell Even when the game does get good two bumbling idiots take you out and make you walk over to your bed, go to sleep, and then watch an immensely This was a total waste of time. I was expecting some middle aged cluture where I could be somebody else. The game has nothing going for it that other games havent done. Horses and Climbing -Shadow of the Collosus Stealth Action - Splinter cell Even when the game does get good two bumbling idiots take you out and make you walk over to your bed, go to sleep, and then watch an immensely boring cutscene. Do not buy this game, in order to get the full effect rent it and play the first mission. After that its the same time nine times over again. Expand
  3. Dan
    Nov 27, 2007
    6
    Very fun and immersive gameplay. Extremely detailed world and realistic. However, the storyline was unconvincing and incohesive, and the finale was dissapointing. The artificial intelligence was very lacking in the "intelligence" department, and many of the features that you would think are really cool just end up being clunky or too inconvenient to ever use.
  4. JasonM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Just a beautiful game and a must own, especially for fans of the Prince of Persia series.
  5. KieferM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Sheer massive in scale, beautiful world, intense combat, lotsa neat tricks, skills and moves. and amazingly to my surprise, its got a bit of sci-fi thrown in there too... the only thing better would be... well, the sequel.
  6. JohnH.
    Mar 20, 2008
    5
    Once again it seems Ubisoft spoiled an over-hyped game. When Ubisoft showed Assassins Creed at E3, we all saw what we thought was going to be the sandbox game of the year. I, personally, was disappointed. The plot seemed to be dreamed out of Ubisoft Montreals Sci-fi/Religious fantasies, and the story outside of the Animous was so boring and irrelevant. To be fair, when I started the game, Once again it seems Ubisoft spoiled an over-hyped game. When Ubisoft showed Assassins Creed at E3, we all saw what we thought was going to be the sandbox game of the year. I, personally, was disappointed. The plot seemed to be dreamed out of Ubisoft Montreals Sci-fi/Religious fantasies, and the story outside of the Animous was so boring and irrelevant. To be fair, when I started the game, It was awesome. Good graphics, Breathtaking environments, a (seemingly) good AI system, all seemed to get boring after the 3rd hour of playing. Including from the fact that you can instantly kill anyone just by holding down the right trigger and pressing X at the right time, the combat AI was TERRIBLE. Honestly, if the 36 city guards surrounding you really did want to kill you, they could do better than just stand watching as you massacre their teammate. And another thing, everyone attacks ONE AT A TIME. The scripted sequences were boring, and they spoke for ages about nothing, while the most you could do was walk around dramatically making it look like something out of Home and Away. Not to mention the facial graphics. Don't get me started there. Please. Overall, a huge, over hyped, dissapointment. Don't buy, although renting for a day or two could be nice. Expand
  7. DannyM.
    Mar 7, 2008
    7
    Good, but not amazing. The stoyline quickly became old, and the assassinations became another old thing by the time you reached the end of the story. The graphics however are completly stunning. It really gets into the lives of people in that time of history.
  8. BillM.
    Jul 5, 2008
    6
    All the comments about graphics are valid. Easily the best-looking game for the 360 that I've seen, with the possible exception of COD4. Battle mechanics are also pretty good, if not superior. The story, even if you consider it a Matrix rip-off, isn't all that bad, especially given the glut of outright crap that's out there today. What ends up dragging the game down, All the comments about graphics are valid. Easily the best-looking game for the 360 that I've seen, with the possible exception of COD4. Battle mechanics are also pretty good, if not superior. The story, even if you consider it a Matrix rip-off, isn't all that bad, especially given the glut of outright crap that's out there today. What ends up dragging the game down, however, are the repetitive elements, graphics glitches, poor AI, and beyond-useless side quests. Repetitive: I go to four or five cities and hear the same people saying the same things. They went to all this trouble to create beautiful environments, but they couldn't find more than three (literally!) things for street merchants, town criers, bullies, and other city dwellers to say? Hard to believe, but that's exactly what happened. Graphics glitches: Can't tell you how many times I had a horse half in and half out of a hillside, ditto for guards and/or soldiers. A game that looks this good should not have this problem. Poor AI: The only time I was frustrated from being killed was when I knew I should have known better, because any enemies you fight have a standard way of fighting...and nothing else. Truly predictable to the point of being just a button-mashing exercise, and this game looks too good to resort to being a Mortal Kombat clone. Side-quests: This basically consists of collecting flags. That's it. In Jerusalem alone there are 100 of them, and I found 20. As nice as the scenery was, the AI and and repetitive dialogue completely removed any compulsion I might have had to continue looking for the other 80. Ditto for all the other flags and the 60 Knights Templar. I only blew $26 for this game on eBay, counting shipping. I'd be pretty unhappy if I'd paid $60. You can be sure I won't pay more than that for a sequel. Shame on any professional reviewer who gave this game more than a 7 on a 10-scale. Expand
  9. HarsitamoD
    Oct 23, 2009
    6
    Assassins Creed is a game you can both love and hate at the same time. One thing is that you have to climb and climb until you have scaled everything but because of the graphics it is worth getting to the top. Another is the fighting; killing people and not getting caught is extremely boring but stealth killing is so fun you'll kill civilians even though it will kill you. And the Assassins Creed is a game you can both love and hate at the same time. One thing is that you have to climb and climb until you have scaled everything but because of the graphics it is worth getting to the top. Another is the fighting; killing people and not getting caught is extremely boring but stealth killing is so fun you'll kill civilians even though it will kill you. And the worst part of the game us the investigations but if you do them you can plan your attack and pull off a stealth kill on your main target which is extremely fun. One thing good about this game that doesn't have a bad side is the sandbox after you win, you can run around and have fun without any consequences. For the reason everything has both a good and bad side I am giving this game a five and one point for the sandbox afterwards making it a six. Expand
  10. DominicL.
    Jan 6, 2009
    1
    Purely disappointing. After all the talk about this game i wasted my money. Don't buy this. Rent it and see if you like it. But personally to me i didn't like it. Once again, purely disappointing.
  11. Sindow
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    The only problem many people will have with this game is the lack of their own imaginations. While it seems the developers spent most of their time developing the engine the end result is well worth it. Once you learn Assassin's Creed is about doing awesome things for the sake of being fun instead of having a pop-up box telling you what you did was fun because you get points for it The only problem many people will have with this game is the lack of their own imaginations. While it seems the developers spent most of their time developing the engine the end result is well worth it. Once you learn Assassin's Creed is about doing awesome things for the sake of being fun instead of having a pop-up box telling you what you did was fun because you get points for it you will have a blast. Expand
  12. JustinK
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen ways for them to change things up to add replay-ability and more complex, rewarding side missions. It borders between a game you want to own because of the landmark graphics and "parkour done right", and a game you want to rent because of the extremely Awesome graphics, interesting storyline, initially fun gameplay. Too bad I got bored after the first two missions. I can think of a dozen ways for them to change things up to add replay-ability and more complex, rewarding side missions. It borders between a game you want to own because of the landmark graphics and "parkour done right", and a game you want to rent because of the extremely repetitive game play and zero replay value. Expand
  13. LowenS.
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    While this game is visually stunning, and has many other credits to it in terms of creative design, the end game play is highly repetitive and stale. After you have finished the first assassination mission, you have pretty much seen everything that this game has to offer. The combat in this game is horrible. You can beat any enemy by holding the block button and parrying. Also, I hope you While this game is visually stunning, and has many other credits to it in terms of creative design, the end game play is highly repetitive and stale. After you have finished the first assassination mission, you have pretty much seen everything that this game has to offer. The combat in this game is horrible. You can beat any enemy by holding the block button and parrying. Also, I hope you like the combat because the last 2 hours of the game is you fighting guards in waves of 10. There is no incentive to play this game stealthy or sneaky. Basically, you can run through town like a mad man (after you have done the boring pick-pocket missions, a sit on a bench and eves drop mission, and a punch somebody 5 times to get them to talk mission), kill your target, run back to home base, and loose the guards before going back inside. The story is also pretty lame. And I am not even talking about the whole Sci-Fi thing. The characters have some of the worst dialog I have heard in a game in a long time. I won't spoil the story in case you do want to play this, but I will say that it has the biggest anti-ending I have ever seen in a game. It didn't even end on a cliffhanger. It was just like the game said "Welp... see you later" and ended. This game is probably worth a rental, but I feel sorry for anyone who is duped in to dropping $60 on it based on the hype and inflated reviews. Expand
  14. FilipV.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    Very good graphics, living environment, easy but rewarding combat system and real freedom (climbing on rooftops)
  15. BryceD.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Awesome game!! Don't rush through it and you'll love it all the more. Don't trust that popular review site this is game you're gonna have to play for yourself.
  16. JamesM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and worth your while due to the gorgeous environments. There are a few downsides to this game. Sometimes when interrogating someone Altair wont kill them after listening to them talk this leads to the game to be playing but you cant move at all and its just focused on the guy waiting to be killed. Also there are a few instances where you counter kill or grab and end up glitching into the wall or out of the level. These are small blemishes on a amazing game. Its main outstanding feature is that there are no other games like this on the market. Expand
  17. BD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I was looking forward to this game for over a year. Leading into the release date i was disappointed with the reviews i read. I still bought it on its release. Immediately i was liking it a lot because of the running and climbing. After two hours of playing i was only OK with the game play. It seems, due to reading so many reviews, that each reviewed flaw in the game stood out and annoyed I was looking forward to this game for over a year. Leading into the release date i was disappointed with the reviews i read. I still bought it on its release. Immediately i was liking it a lot because of the running and climbing. After two hours of playing i was only OK with the game play. It seems, due to reading so many reviews, that each reviewed flaw in the game stood out and annoyed me. Now i am little past half way through the game and i am loving it. Once you earn more abilities and weapons and get your characters movements and fighting down the game is awesome. You look past the small flaws and take in how huge the city is as you're just sprinting, diving, and climbing along the rooftops. Just the act of getting from one end of the city to the other becomes fun as you take it to the rooftops. I don't get sick of that. It seems some small details were cut in able to make room for the vastness of area and size, which is fine by me. I tend to stand my ground in fights and take out the surrounding guards with ease. I also love waiting for an archer a couple buildings over to turn around and then run across rooftops and dive into him with a secret blade to the throat. The game plays very much like the prince of persia in an open environment (lot of acrobatics and climbing), mixed with the Hitman series (researching, blending, and assassinating). Expand
  18. AdamU.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    While I am waiting for this on PC I'm discouraged by the reviews so I rented the game and borrowed my nephews xbox360 to give it a shot. At first it's very fun, but then the typical console problems creep in real fast. The AI is down-right BAD. But frankly there isn't a modern game on any 'next gen' console that has good AI, and thats because the hardware just While I am waiting for this on PC I'm discouraged by the reviews so I rented the game and borrowed my nephews xbox360 to give it a shot. At first it's very fun, but then the typical console problems creep in real fast. The AI is down-right BAD. But frankly there isn't a modern game on any 'next gen' console that has good AI, and thats because the hardware just isn't built for it. Combat looks awesome, but it gets rather old, rather fast. Stealth for a stealth game is way to user unfriendly. Really maybe by the time the PC version comes out this game will be patched up and be decent. But right now with Mass Effect just coming out for consoles, and Crysis, Orange Box, CoD4 and UT3 all having just come out. If it came out on PC today I'd stay clear of it. Expand
  19. RobS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    The levels of immersion in this game are just immense. There are times when youll forget your in the Animus; and there are times when youll forget your playing a game, which is scary but awsome at the same time. The game is only repetitive if you plough through the story without exploring the game. The game in five words, SCALE, BLOODLUST, IMMERSION, DETAIL, FUN. A resounding 9 out of 10.
  20. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    the best game on any console. all you critics are really stupid. graphics are the best, storyline is good, the only con is finding flags for achievments, otherwise an almost perfect game.
  21. JosephE.
    Dec 2, 2007
    3
    The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine The graphics are outstanding. But the gameplay is repetitive and designed to be slow. Imagine playing a game where you're supposed to walk around at a crawl to "hide" - this is that game. Oh and when you can't crawl anymore there are random piles of hay for you to jump into to in case you're not an accomplished slow walker. With graphics like these, hopefully the engine will be used for a more immersive, compelling game. Expand
  22. MattF.
    Dec 7, 2007
    7
    Good game, great graphics, accurate physics and an original storyline. Becomes repetative after a while though and can also be frustrating.
  23. BrianK.
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    Graphics alone this is one of the best looking games I've ever seen on the 360. You really can't give this game enough praise in that department. Story is very take it or leave it. I personally could not appreciate the story that much, I really feel like the developers made the most obscure plot so that the fans could obsess about AC2 (yes, the sequel setup is already in place, Graphics alone this is one of the best looking games I've ever seen on the 360. You really can't give this game enough praise in that department. Story is very take it or leave it. I personally could not appreciate the story that much, I really feel like the developers made the most obscure plot so that the fans could obsess about AC2 (yes, the sequel setup is already in place, preorder now!) which is a huge letdown and doesn't command my respect, but it will sell games I guess... Gameplay wise, this is sandbox game. Sandbox games are different from many single player games, you have objectives, but largely you will spend your time doing things unrelated to the single player story. Think of games like GTA, Superman (360), or Saints Row and you have an idea of what AC is, but the styling of the game is so well done, you may not realize it until you're about an hour into the game. One of these things is rescuing citizens from corrupt guards, which means mastering the combat system which is engaging and well designed, but probably too tedious for the amount of combat they have put in the game to get your 100% completion satisfaction. This is not your God of War combat system, it's not so satisfying that you will want to spend gads of time fighting, however if you get creative you can stage fights on rooftops, fling soldiers to their death, and generally have fun with it, it's just too bad the primary obligatory combat in the game means you're always fighting in some street hall or corner. Another common activity is climbing around rooftops and towers, and yes, this is an absolute part of the game you must complete, or at least makes the game much easier when performed. This is probably the most fun activity in the game, it's tons of fun and fills in the gaps between the obligatory elements of pickpocketing, evesdropping, and of course, assassinating. Speaking of which you won't do much assassinating in this game, exactly 9 times to be exact, and a few side quests (and not too many really). And most of all that I found disappointing, most of the time your targets appear on your trusty minimap and have floating arrows above their heads. Yes, we all know your average gamer is clincally stupid, but this huge KILL ME sign wasn't really necessary and the gamer would have more fun if they had to pick out their targets. Imagine with me taking down a slave trader by skillfully eliminating his gang members one at a time, until the perfect moment to strike nears. That won't happen in AC, it's paint by numbers the whole way through. Expand
  24. DaxD.
    Jan 14, 2008
    8
    Great game that keeps rolling on. I am so tired of buying games for $60 buck that last under ten hours. This game even if you do not do every mission or find every view point will take you 20 plus hours of game play. This game gives you the best bang for your buck. The only other game I have played in the last 6 months that was better was Bioshock.
  25. ChrisP.
    Oct 15, 2008
    8
    This game brings back memories of _Thief_ from years back. Jumping from roof top to roof top, making your way through ancient villages in search of your prey is pretty darn cool :)
  26. ShanB.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Assasin's Creed is a great game, especialy those who are in to action games. The enviorment and characters all look stunning, the gameplay is fun and will keep you entertained even by just jumping across buildings. The only downside is that it does become a little repetitve near the end of the game. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great game that will not to dispoint.
  27. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. Assassin's creed breaks new gorund in graphics and evironments, but it lacks creative side missions, the game gets a bit repetitive and once beaten there isnt much replay value. Overal 9.3 rent or buy.
  28. AlexF.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    I think this game should rate 10 or at least 9 because you have so much freedom to do what you want and the fighting is just fantastic! and very realistic.
  29. WillS.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Very interesting 3rd person adventure game. It's very refreshing to see one of the big studios make something new for a change. Assassin's Creed has high art quality, and some of the best animation blending i have seen in a game. I like being able to climb on almost ever surface, plus things such as mounted combat and the crowd AI really adds to the gameplay. Worth the buy!
  30. LionelE.
    Feb 3, 2008
    7
    The game does some unique things, but doesn't live up to its promise. Some of the contextual controls are clumsy, the missions are repetitive and the stealth aspects are disappointing. Still, the premise is novel enough and parts of it are fun to play if you're willing to wade through the dross.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.